BIG UP to the INDOGUYANESE Community of Richmond Hill Queens. Tonight on PBS on the Program "No Passport Required" Chef Samuelson has selected the vibrant, cultured and innovative Community of Richmond Hill. He has been very impressed with the high level of Entrepreneurship, Leadership and Community development. Tonight 9 PM on PBS. Be there or be square!!
NO PASSPORT REQUIRED, New Six-Part Series Hosted by Chef Marcus Samuelsson, Premieres Tuesdays,
July 10-August 14, 2018 on PBS
Explore America Through the Culture of Food in Six U.S. CitiesβQueens, NYCβ - Tuesday, July 31, 9:00-10:00 p.m. ET
In New York, Marcus learns about the Indo-Guyanese community. This double-diasporic community from Guyana and the Caribbean has roots in India, influences from Africa, China, Portugal, and has now settled in Richmond Hill, Queens. Marcus eats Trinidadian roti and doubles, visits a cross-cultural bush cook, plays cricket and learns how to make a traditional Guyanese chicken curry in honor of springtime festival Phagwah.
The cricket game tonight will be more interesting. I might record it and check it out later.
Well, it is a toss up for me, but I will keep flipping the channels.
ah hope he goto brooklyn to learn bout the other half of Guyana
Thanks for the heads up
Thanks Nehru, watched the show on line and it was great .
Link is below if any one interested.
Aired: 07/31/18
Expires: 08/29/18
Hey hey hey...dem need foh drink lil less rum and mek less noise and play dem music foh demselves. Lil less wite rice and roti go help too. Hey hey hey...
Labba posted:Hey hey hey...dem need foh drink lil less rum and mek less noise and play dem music foh demselves. Lil less wite rice and roti go help too. Hey hey hey...
hahahahahahaha.....you speak from experience Fat Albert
Ray posted:ah hope he goto brooklyn to learn bout the other half of Guyana
Thanks for the heads up
I am sure PBS had its reasons to choose the progressive and cultured Community of RICHMOND HILL. PROUD to be a member of the Community!!!
Nehru posted:Ray posted:ah hope he goto brooklyn to learn bout the other half of Guyana
Thanks for the heads up
I am sure PBS had its reasons to choose the progressive and cultured Community of RICHMOND HILL. PROUD to be a member of the Community!!!
And loud music progressive? Hey hey hey...
And drunken coolies pissing in public. How cultured.
RH was an Italian community when we migrated in '77.
Sheik101 posted:And drunken coolies pissing in public. How cultured.
You always living in the past? I have not seen that for years. Annd there will always be a few, like when you visit
Labba posted:Nehru posted:Ray posted:ah hope he goto brooklyn to learn bout the other half of Guyana
Thanks for the heads up
Yes, music is vital in our Culture, who dont like it go live elsewhere!!!
Nehru posted: Yes, music is vital in our Culture, who dont like it go live elsewhere!!!
The Italians packed up and ran; then the Guyanese bought their houses.
Leonora posted:Nehru posted: Yes, music is vital in our Culture, who dont like it go live elsewhere!!!The Italians packed up and ran; then the Guyanese bought their houses.
EVERYONS IS FREE TO PACK UP AND RUN!!
i CURRENTLY BLASTING IN THE BACKYARD
Nehru posted:Labba posted:Nehru posted:I am sure PBS had its reasons to choose the progressive and cultured Community of RICHMOND HILL. PROUD to be a member of the Community!!!
You are so correct,out do your neighbor with a bigger boombox and selection of music.
Quite a unique culture.
Nehru posted:Labba posted:Nehru posted:Ray posted:ah hope he goto brooklyn to learn bout the other half of Guyana
Thanks for the heads up
Hey hey hey...meh hope de police start charging and tek away dem boom box. Hey hey hey...
eVERY mONDAY IS cOURA, eVERY mONDAY IS rIVER, IS WHA DEH RAJA SEH hAND IN THE AIR JUMP UP
Sheik yuh off today, come leh we buss ah lime
Sheik101 posted:And drunken coolies pissing in public. How cultured.
Only Guyanese(not all) in NY.
One of meh neignba just seh the music too loud but he spot the corona in the Ice Bucket and ask if he can get one, friggin Bastard.
Nehru posted:One of meh neignba just seh the music too loud but he spot the corona in the Ice Bucket and ask if he can get one, friggin Bastard.
They beg too?
Nehru posted:eVERY mONDAY IS cOURA, eVERY mONDAY IS rIVER, IS WHA DEH RAJA SEH hAND IN THE AIR JUMP UP
Sheik yuh off today, come leh we buss ah lime
Yeah, but I got to go airport. Mother inlaw heading back to GT. She watch the program tho. Said it was nice.
I watched Samuels and Dre Russ (my favorite T20 player) put lash pun Bangladesh last night. Iβll watch that show tonight as I recorded it. Any of you GNIβers featured on the show? Iβd be very much surprised if Vishnu didnβt somehow push himself in for a cameo.
Mars posted:I watched Samuels and Dre Russ (my favorite T20 player) put lash pun Bangladesh last night. Iβll watch that show tonight as I recorded it. Any of you GNIβers featured on the show? Iβd be very much surprised if Vishnu didnβt somehow push himself in for a cameo.
They didn't cover the Muslims...Chief like he slack off
Liberty / Lefferts Blv....reminds me of Guyana... walking down Lefferts towards Liberty is music galor and cuss down by neighbors or husband and wife , you guys bad fo days lol ... I enjoy those crush ice cart .
walk in a few bars on Liberty, everyone wants a drink ... I does mek a U turn
Them wedding house is like back home.. love it.
Dave posted:walk in a few bars on Liberty, everyone wants a drink ... I does mek a U turn
Meh thought yuh is a muslim.
Mitwah posted:Dave posted:walk in a few bars on Liberty, everyone wants a drink ... I does mek a U turn
Me a wan Hari bold, wanna joint me at Iskcon
Hey Mit enjoy ...
Mars posted:I watched Samuels and Dre Russ (my favorite T20 player) put lash pun Bangladesh last night. Iβll watch that show tonight as I recorded it. Any of you GNIβers featured on the show? Iβd be very much surprised if Vishnu didnβt somehow push himself in for a cameo.
I watched the most anticipated show " No Passport Required" Cricket took second place, it was that good. Richmond Hill ROCKS. PBS has eyes for progressive, cultured and intelligent Communities.
Dave posted:Mitwah posted:Dave posted:walk in a few bars on Liberty, everyone wants a drink ... I does mek a U turn
Me a wan Hari bold, wanna joint me at Iskcon
You don't have to be ashamed of your religion. I think you are confusing me with the Grand Wizard of the brown boys KKK, Yugli.
Good show. I watch similar shows all the time, like those by Anthony Bourdain and Andrew Zimmern.
Ray posted:ah hope he goto brooklyn to learn bout the other half of Guyana
Thanks for the heads up
he deals with the Afro Caribbean by featuring Haitians in Miami. Afro Guyanese are a subset of the English speaking Afro Caribbean population so do not dominate those parts of Brooklyn the way that Indo Guyanese do in RH and its environs. Where Afro Guyanese live there are usually large populations of Jamaicans, Haitians, Trinidadians (usually more numerous).