Insel Air flight grounded after refusing to transport Indian Nationals

August 7, 2015 6:06 am Category: latest news A+ / A-

InselAir

[www.inewsguyana.com]

The Central Immigration Office, Timehri has decided to ground an Insel Air carrier, which was scheduled to depart the Cheddi Jagan Internarional Airport (CJIA) at 06:45 hrs on Thursday, August 06.

According to a statement from the CJIA, the aircraft was not permitted to depart the airport until arrangements were made to transport eight Indian nationals out of the jurisdiction.

Airport authorities noted that the nationals arrived in Guyana on July 19, 2015 but were refused entry into the country for various immigration reasons and have been in the custody of the Guyana Police Force since then.

“The management of CJIA is investigating the incident and regrets any inconvenience caused to passengers booked on the said flight,” the CJIA statement noted.

iNews understands that the flight was cancelled to Aruba after the pilot indicated to immigration that he could not accommodate the Indian nationals since the plane was full.

Aircraft was fully booked and full at time of departure, cannot accommodate more. But yet these scumbags at the Timehri Airport grounded the Aircraft.

The Current APNU/AFC Government should be made to pay for this Stupidity.

iNews understands that the flight was cancelled to Aruba after the pilot indicated to immigration that he could not accommodate the Indian nationals since the plane was full.

Originally Posted by asj:

ASJ, do you think that immigration authorities would have refused entry of African nationals into Guyana? Not sure but just asking.

Originally Posted by Dondadda:

ASJ, do you think that immigration authorities would have refused entry of African nationals into Guyana? Not sure but just asking.

Don, I do think that Immigration Authorities in Guyana, would have accepted African Nationals and checked their papers to make sure that all is in order.

And for some reason or the other if their papers are not in order, then possibly immigration authorities would have send them back to where their last port of entry were, before coming to Guyana.

But then again that is only my opinion, Immigrations Officials, do not all act alike. 

Don, I do think that Immigration Authorities in Guyana, would have accepted African Nationals and checked their papers to make sure that all is in order.

And for some reason or the other if their papers are not in order, then possibly immigration authorities would have send them back to where their last port of entry were, before coming to Guyana.

But then again that is only my opinion, Immigrations Officials, do not all act alike. 

Thank you for being candid.

An airline is responsible for ensuring that passengers have the necessary documents to be allowed entry into the destination.  If passengers are denied entry for reasons of inadequate documentation then the airline is responsible for taking them out.  

This is standard practice.  This is why before boarding they want to see your travel documents, or if booking online then such info has to be included before a boarding pass is issued.

Now you can scream your Indo KKK chants, but when Nigerians were deported from Guyana under the PPP, I don't recall any screams from black people.

These Indians don't like you all, so stop pretending that you are Indian.  You are Indo GUYANESE.

Guys, for the record. It's not a racial thing. I have to agree with asj. It's the same procedure a JFK. If your papers are not in order, you will go back on the next available flight from the airport.

ASJ, do you think that immigration authorities would have refused entry of African nationals intoGuyana? Not sure but just asking.

Bhai,why you asked them tough questions,what you

have in mind you think they will be allowed entry.

Guys, for the record. It's not a racial thing. I have to agree with asj. It's the same procedure a JFK. If your papers are not in order, you will go back on the next available flight from the airport.

Cobby,when you was a sailor if you didn't have

proper entry permits,the farthest you could go was

on the warf.

That's correct. No one gets off until immigration boards the ship and issues D2 passes to everyone. If your passport expires, you stay on the ship until you renewed it from a consular with jurisdiction of your country.

Indian nationals sent off

August 8, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 

– Insel Air mulls legal action The government of Guyana may soon find itself faced with a lawsuit by airline company, Insel Air. The company is contemplating legal action after its outgoing flight, 81-791, to Aruba and other connecting destinations, was cancelled and the aircraft grounded on Thursday due to reasons it maintains were misdirected.

Captain Gerald Gouveia

Immigration Officers had ordered Insel Air officials to take eight Indian Nationals out of the jurisdiction after they were refused entry to Guyana on July 19. They had arrived on an Insel Air flight from Curaçao and the pilot of an Aruba-bound Insel aircraft refused. As he spoke of the likely lawsuit, Managing Director of the Roraima Airways, Captain Gerald ‘Gerry’ Gouveia said that as a result of Thursday’s episode, the airline was faced with a series of disrupted flights and an overwhelming number of peeved customers who booked across multiple-destinations. Gouveia related that the eight Indian Nationals at the centre of the controversy sparked, have since departed Guyana. Gouveia’s company serves as the Ground Handling Service and General Sales Agents for Insel Air and he said the passengers who were similarly stranded because of Immigration’s actions have also been transported to their various locations. Gouveia went to great lengths to explain to this publication that Insel Air Aruba and Insel Air Curaçao are different. He said while it was the Insel Air Curaçao carrier that brought the men on July 19, it was the Aruba carrier that was being bombarded by Immigration to facilitate their deportation. The Managing Director said the men would have traveled through several destinations before landing in Guyana. It was directly after spending a few hours in Curaçao that the men ventured to Guyana where their trip took a different turn. Though they had no Visa, Gouveia explained that many Indian nationals travel to this part of the world without visas and would be issued with Visas-on-Arrival usually after a successful interview with an Immigration Officers. It is the right of the Immigration Officer to refuse landing, Gouveia said. The authorities, he said, should have ensured that the men were deported on an Insel Air Curaçao carrier. “They are two different companies. If the men were taken to Aruba, they would have been sent back to Guyana since they never landed there. Insel Air Aruba had nothing to do with it,” Captain Gouveia explained. He said, instead, a prolonged argument ensued and the pilot’s duty time expired, hence the flight on Thursday did not depart until yesterday morning. “Immigration had no reason to interfere with that flight. A lot of passengers were upset, but this is not an Insel Air Aruba or Insel Air Curaçao’s problem at all,” Gouveia emphasized. Insel Air is an airline which hosts a series of integrated flights and the Managing Director explained that Thursday’s disruption had far-reaching effects. “It’s an airline of integrated flights so when they disrupted that flight, there were persons stranded in various locations across the Caribbean, South America and other international locations. The disruption caused a backlog throughout the network,” Gouveia clarified. The flight to Aruba was scheduled to leave Guyana at 06:45hrs, with connecting flights to Curaçao, Miami and other destinations. Many of the passengers had been at the airport for hours. Immigration made a huge blunder, according to Gouveia. “The airline is thinking of suing Guyana,” said the Roraima Airways Managing Director, who emphasized that Thursday’s disruption caused “massive problems.” Gouveia said that the company has already written to the Guyana Police Force (GPF) concerning the issue. Minister of Citizenship, Winston Felix, had said that the men were refused entry because they had no visas and the fact that they were travelling on one-way tickets. Gouveia is saying however that the men had two-way tickets since they had booked the outgoing leg of their journey with Panama-based Copa Airlines. The men, it was further claimed, could not show evidence of how they would have been able to sustain themselves during their stay in the country. The men were kept in police custody and Felix had maintained that it was the airline that was responsible for the men’s return to their originating destination. Local authorities had taken the decision to have the men placed on an Insel Air flight departing for Aruba since they had no legal standing in Guyana. As the men were about to board the aircraft, the crew refused to let them on the plane leading to a stand-off, with local immigration maintaining their position that the airline take the men back to where they had brought them from. Eventually a decision was made for the flight to be cancelled as the airline also refused to budge. As a result, several other passengers who were scheduled to depart on the aircraft were left stranded. Some passengers that were peeved by the situation had hinted that they might be suing the airline.

Gouveia said. The authorities, he said, should have ensured that the men were deported on an Insel Air Curaçao carrier. “They are two different companies.

Gouveia went to great lengths to explain to this publication that Insel Air Aruba and Insel Air Curaçao are different. He said while it was the Insel Air Curaçao carrier that brought the men on July 19, it was the Aruba carrier that was being bombarded by Immigration to facilitate their deportation.

We had a similar situation when Jagdeo was president.  The Afros were allowed  into the country but left after they couldn't find jobs. 

Insel Air Curacao should be made to suffer for their infringement. the Custom/Immagration Officials should be aware of this.

They should lose their frig ging job for this high handed actions. No wonder Guyanese are being sometimes like dirt at other country airports.

We had a similar situation when Jagdeo was president.  The Afros were allowed  into the country but left after they couldn't find jobs. 

you are a disgusting liar

P.U.S.S.Y!  You didn't apologise.  You are getting more stupid by the hour.

You are a recurring decimal. 

nah . . . i am simply quite skilled in checkmating miserable worms like u who shit in public then try to hide

You low life culture is duly noted.

you are a disgusting LIAR!

You low life culture is duly noted.

banna, your mek attempt with the easy lie is now exposed

my job here is [nearly?] done

Gouveia said. The authorities, he said, should have ensured that the men were deported on an Insel Air Curaçao carrier. “They are two different companies.

Gouveia went to great lengths to explain to this publication that Insel Air Aruba and Insel Air Curaçao are different. He said while it was the Insel Air Curaçao carrier that brought the men on July 19, it was the Aruba carrier that was being bombarded by Immigration to facilitate their deportation.

Gouveia is full of nonsense.  Insel Air Aruba is an affiliate of Insel Air Curacao.  In addition they fully code share, so an Aruba flight is also a Curacao flight.  Curacao failed to ensure that the men had the necessary documentation, and therefore were responsible for taking the men back.

BOTH Aruba and Curacao are part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, so aren't separate jurisdictions, as he pretends.  They both carry Dutch passports.

All the airline had to do was ask for volunteers to give up their seats, for some compensation, and accommodated these people on another flight. 

I want them to have this happen in the USA, and so how successful a law suit will be.  If the plane is full they are doing well out of Guyana, so aren't doing us any favors. 

Insel Air Curacao should be made to suffer for their infringement. the Custom/Immagration Officials should be aware of this.

They should lose their frig ging job for this high handed actions. No wonder Guyanese are being sometimes like dirt at other country airports.

Guyana is very familiar with this procedure.  Guyanese arriving in Barbados and refused entry are made to fly back on LIAT if they arrived on that airline, as most do.  And in this instance Guyanese do not need visas to enter Barbados, and have valid passports, so its harder for the airline to assess the possibility of being refused entry.

These guys lacked documentation, and Insel should have verified this before transporting them.

I am willing to bet that passengers flying Insel to the USA are well scrutinized before boarding, as they know exactly what the USA will do if they lack appropriate visas, or if their documents are considered bogus.

If the USA refuses entry to Insel passengers, not only will they have to take them back to the point of embarkation, but might even have to pay a FINE!

Indian nationals sent off

August 8, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 

. The men, it was further claimed, could not show evidence of how they would have been able to sustain themselves during their stay in the country. The men were kept in police custody and Felix had maintained that it was the airline that was responsible for the men’s return to their originating destination.

Standard procedure.  You bet that Haitians, Dominicanos, Guyanese, Jamaicans, Colombians, and Venezuelans who enter Aruba or Curacao and who cannot prove that they can sustain themselves, are immediately deported, and the airline which brought them has to take them to the point of origin.

The pilot was an arrogant twit and his company should sue him for jeopardizing the operations of the company.   Bet he didn't even call H/Q to ask for advice and an alternate plan.

The guys were to fly on COPA to Panama.  Suppose Panama refused them entry?  They would be sent back to Guyana.

Caribj, your argument is full of flaws, when these Indian National came via

Intel Curacao, why they were not check by the Custom/Imigrations and then put them back in that same plane and send them back from where they came.

Why wait to make a Federal Case?

You can twist your argument, to any way you want, take any racial point of view that you feel like. Its not my dead, I only give an opinion.

take any racial point of view that you feel like. Its not my dead, I only give an opinion.

Who is making it racial.   YOUn and the Indo KKK who are ranting about Afros and Indos!

They were not admitted into Guyana and are now being deported.  This is the normal procedure.

Let Insel Air carry that attitude to the USA and so how fast their license to operate into the USA is rescinded.

And if you concerned about race, why doesn't this site clamp down on all those who make this place look like a white supremacist site?

take any racial point of view that you feel like. Its not my dead, I only give an opinion.

Who is making it racial.   YOUn and the Indo KKK who are ranting about Afros and Indos!

They were not admitted into Guyana and are now being deported.  This is the normal procedure.

Let Insel Air carry that attitude to the USA and so how fast their license to operate into the USA is rescinded.

And if you concerned about race, why doesn't this site clamp down on all those who make this place look like a white supremacist site?

I do not know what the USA would have done, I do not want to pre guess,

but since you know............I think that your analysis is wrong from the start and it is still wrong now.

When an airplane is full, simple there is no space for others, now you want to overload eight more passengers, if you think an airplane is a mini bus, then you are still wrong my friend. You are putting that airplane in danger and as well as the passenger's life in danger.

If a plane captain says that there is no more space then that is the end of the matter. He alone is responsible for the maximum amount of passengers a plane can take off with, which he judges by the amount of seats taken and the fuel he is carrying in order to be able to satisfy international requirements on the distance the plane can travel.

The authorities, he said, should have ensured that the men were deported on an Insel Air Curaçao carrier.
....... but this is not an Insel Air Aruba or Insel Air Curaçao’s problem at all,” Gouveia emphasized. 

Gouveia is such a crook!!! Can't get his story straight! What was the name of that other fly-by-night budget airline he was touting where the guy's now in jail???

Of course there will be Intel Aruba/Curacao/Bonaire etc..... This is how the screw over passengers ......

heh heh heh heh. Suh who borrow Cobra id fuh post, eh? Come on, fess up now!

Originally Posted by Jungle Girl:
The authorities, he said, should have ensured that the men were deported on an Insel Air Curaçao carrier.
....... but this is not an Insel Air Aruba or Insel Air Curaçao’s problem at all,” Gouveia emphasized. 

Gouveia is such a crook!!! Can't get his story straight! What was the name of that other fly-by-night budget airline he was touting where the guy's now in jail???

Of course there will be Intel Aruba/Curacao/Bonaire etc..... This is how the screw over passengers ......

Quote "Gouveia said. The authorities, he said, should have ensured that the men were deported on an Insel Air Curaçao carrier. “They are two different companies."

So you want to say that Gouveia is lying when he says that Insel Air Curacao and Insel Air Aruba are two different Companies? You do not know for sure that they are one company or do you?

If they are two different Companies then it stands to reason that the Aircraft Insel Air Curacao who brought in the 8 Indian Nationals from

Curacao should be the Aircraft to take back those Indian National to Curacao or where ever they originated from: From the little that I know is that when Passengers embark an Aircraft they are promptly check by Immigrations/Customs, if these 8 Indian Nationals were promptly checked as required by the Customs/Immigration then Immdiately they would have known that these 8 Indian National were not to be allowed in Guyana and they (customs/immigrations) would have send them back to the Aircraft Intel Curacao almost immediately. But in Guyana parlance we would say that they scratch their balls, dig their batty, go drink water half a dozen times and wash their hands, and the day was almost finished......by that time Aircraft Intel Curacao the Airport was on its way to the other Airports.

In order to blame someone or share the blame game, Custom/Immigration decides to Ground Insel Air Aruba after the Captain indicated that the Aircraft is filled to capacity and there is no place for others.

My argument is that the Guyana Immigration/Customs is to be blamed, they should not and I repeat not ground Insel Air Aruba, causing the Company to lose thousands of US Dollars. More they could have done is to Jail the 8 Indian Nationals and let Insel Air Aruba go on its way.

Now when Insel Air Curacao get back to Guyana then the Official should have ground that Aircraft and let the Captain know of their infringement.

I cannot put this in a more simple and readable language, unless that there are so many dunces that are around and English is a foreign language to them.

Well I know that Caribj does not understand anything, he does understand his own babblings.

I do not know what the USA would have done, I do not want to pre guess,

but since you know............I think that your analysis is wrong from the start and it is still wrong now.

When an airplane is full, simple there is no space for others, now you want to overload eight more passengers, if you think an airplane is a mini bus, then you are still wrong my friend. You are putting that airplane in danger and as well as the passenger's life in danger.

Well You don't know but I know.  When an airline brings in people who are denied entry, then it is obligated to remove them.  This is standard procedure.  Why do you think that airlines check passports and visas before they issue boarding passes?

Furthermore, before an airline lands they have to furnish the names of passengers on that aircraft, and other pertinent information.

Insel didn't adequately verify that these people had adequate documents and so is responsible for removing them.

You don't know, so listen to some one who does.

If the plane is full then Insel would have had to make space by denying boarding to some passengers, or offering an incentive.  The planes was overbooked by 8 passengers.

Insel can jump and scream but they would dare not carry that nonsense to the US authorities.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

If a plane captain says that there is no more space then that is the end of the matter. .

Let him tell that to the US authorities and you will see how fast they will slap a fine on the airline, and maybe withdraw his rights to fly into USA space.

Let some airline bring in any one who the USA doesn't want and there will be NO debate on the matter.  The pilot will simply have to bump other passengers off.