Iran Warns U.S. Against Sending Aircraft Carrier Back to Gulf

Iran will block oil shipments through the Strait of Hormuz if sanctions are imposed on its crude exports, as the U.S. and European Union have threatened, the state-run Islamic Republic News Agency said on Dec. 27, citing Vice President Mohammad Reza Rahimi.

The head of Iran’s army warned the U.S. against sending an aircraft carrier back to the Persian Gulf after it passed through the Strait of Hormuz a week ago.

“We usually don’t repeat our warning, and we warn only once,” Ataollah Salehi was cited as saying by the state-run Fars news agency. “We recommend and emphasize to the American carrier not to return to the Persian Gulf.”

The USS John C. Stennis, which Iran said it spotted during naval exercises, passed eastward through the Strait of Hormuz on Dec. 27 on a routine voyage and was operating in the northern Arabian Sea, said the U.S. 5th Fleet, which has a base in Bahrain. Salehi spoke today at a ceremony to mark the completion of 10 days of maneuvers by the Iranian navy on the east side of the strait in the Gulf of Oman.

Iran will block oil shipments through the Strait of Hormuz if sanctions are imposed on its crude exports, as the U.S. and European Union have threatened, the state-run Islamic Republic News Agency said on Dec. 27, citing Vice President Mohammad Reza Rahimi. Navy Commander Habibollah Sayyari said the blockage would be “easy,” according to the country’s Press TV.

About 15.5 million barrels of oil a day, or a sixth of global consumption, passes through the Strait of Hormuz between Iran and Oman at the mouth of the Persian Gulf, according to the U.S. Energy Department.

The U.S. Navy said Dec. 28 that it won’t tolerate a disruption to shipping in the strait.

Iran, the world’s third-largest oil exporter, is facing new trade restrictions aimed at halting what the U.S. and allies say is a plan to build nuclear weapons. Iran says its atomic program is for peaceful purposes.

Inspectors from the International Atomic Energy Agency are expected to visit Iran soon, the Fars news agency cited Foreign Ministry spokesman Ramin Mehmanparast as saying in Tehran today.

Originally posted by Lucas:
I never thought that in my lifetime I would see the sinking of a US carrier by a Muslim nation. Big Grin
A carrier is able to put up a curtain of lead between itself and any incoming missile long enough for its systems to target and neutralize any source of such missiles. The Iranians will simply commit suicide if they target a carrier in international waters. They will not be attacking the US alone but many nations that rely on non belligerent gulf traffic.
I never thought that in my lifetime I would see the sinking of a US carrier by a Muslim nation. Big Grin

Hats off to Iran for standing up to the bully Obama and the US
Originally posted by raymond:
Originally posted by TI:
Last night just after the vodka and martini kicked in.

Lucas like he dining with Abindinajad (sp) Big Grin

Dem Iran bais gettin' nuff powah. Dem Chinee and Russians gon back dem up. Dem gon gi America nuff nuff headache. America mek one big big big mistake wid Iraq. Iran gon control da Mid-east in 10 years.
Originally posted by TI:
This reminds me of Saddam and Ghaddafi when they were talking bad.

Prablim, Saddam nevva expect America will invade cazz he was di front against Iran. He nevva thought how stupid Bush was. Gadhafi mis-calc domestic anti-regime sentiments. Dem Irans gat no illusion, dem know America, Israel and dem Arabs gon attack and wipe dem out without second thought so dem wuking wid datt in mind. Dem gatt Iraq unda control, dem gat di Chinee and Russians pun deh side and me tink dem closer to di bomb dan we realise.
Originally posted by warrior:
like IRAN want to be a black hole.the AMERICAN can wipe it off the face of the map
Yep, and the Americans will rename the Persian Gulf to something like "Lake Al-Amerikiya"
Originally posted by Chief:
Why is Russia and China in Iran corner?

They are just pretending. They know this war could extent for 20 years, after which time the US will be in total bankruptcy. So they tell the Americans not to do it, so that the American will jump into it even faster to show their power. If you tell the cowboy not to shoot, he will shoot twice and make a big noise.
like IRAN want to be a black hole.the AMERICAN can wipe it off the face of the map
Yep, and the Americans will rename the Persian Gulf to something like "Lake Al-Amerikiya"
who the hell care what they name it,this world can do with out crazy fanatics.a country like IRAN should be looking to develop their country to give they people a better way of life,than to be looking for a war that they cannot win
They are trying to develop their country without the help of the Americans, but that' what got the Americans upset. Now, Iranians know that if they accept American help the best they can be is like another Mexico.
IRAN support terroistism,the free world cannot trust these people with nuclear weapons.i hope you is part of the free world,well i am.why must the free world live in the 21 century under these people threats.let them reform and in their action the world will know if they can be trust.with country like these, we in the free world have to say thanks to AMERICA