After 2 years as Minister…Irfaan Ali builds mansion with poolhouse

January 1, 2012 | By KNews | Filed Under News

The construction of a house at Leonora, West Coast Demerara, is the talk of neighbours who say that the property is owned by 31-year-old Irfaan Ali, the Minister of Housing and Water.
The house appears to accommodate eight bedrooms, a large living room, a detached kitchen and a walkway that runs around the front of the building. One resident described it as a mansion.
In addition to the home there is a multi-million-dollar pool house which makes the $69 million Corentyne office of the National Insurance Scheme office look like a garage.
The cost of the construction which is nearing completion is estimated at more than $300 million if the sums paid by the government for projects that have been advertised and completed, are a yardstick.
One contractor, using the same Government estimates, said that to fence the compound of that estate would be about $50 million.
Some have actually questioned Minister Ali’s wealth bearing in mind that he came from humble beginnings and has been a Minister for just about three years.

Originally posted by warrior:
could you belive this is what them collie people vote for.and the ppp say there is no couruption.boy jagan cannot rest in is grave

jagan surrounded himself with inept ppl. I blame him for all this breface thief. He himself cheated the ppl of Guyana. In a way he is a thief as well-he stole their abilities to see clearly.
Originally posted by seignet:
Originally posted by Sheik101:
How can a man on a govt. salary afford these things. I'm sure the spin doctors at OP will have a legitimate explanation for Mr. Ali's good fortune. So let's hear it. Let the bullshit begin. flag

he is very tight with presidents.
you mean his ass is tight with presidents
Originally posted by marlon:
We need to investigate the Middle East connection with the government, especially the muslim ministers. This is where the money is coming from according to some sources
this is a slap in the face for all ppp supporters,this man ministry is handling lots of money,with all the land deals going down.this is tax payers hard earn money.you know what burham would have don to this thief
Originally posted by randolph:
Time for Ramoutar to act. Investigate this commie and put him in jail for a loooooong loooog time
if this man is not investigate,we all know how the rest of the 5 yrs will go.bar--rat use to bull shit and say show me the couruption and he will investigate, well ramator have to do a different song and god have mercy on the guyanese people
Originally posted by marlon:
We need to investigate the Middle East connection with the government, especially the muslim ministers. This is where the money is coming from according to some sources
this is a slap in the face for all ppp supporters,this man ministry is handling lots of money,with all the land deals going down.this is tax payers hard earn money.you know what burham would have don to this thief

What Burnham would have done was to take his share which would be more than any of his ministers.

Ali should be investigated
could you belive this is what them collie people vote for.and the ppp say there is no couruption.boy jagan cannot rest in is grave

Are you saying that if you build a house you are corrupt? Why blacks can't build houses? Since Burham took away the coolie houses and gave them to his balck people, they never build one again. They want everything free.

Indians are a very peaceful and progressive people. You blacks can learn from them.
After 2 years as Minister…Irfaan Ali builds mansion with poolhouse

Shocking news. I did not believe until I see the photos.
How much did he pay for this lot? Who sold it to him? How much the mansion and pool house cost? How much the pool costs?
Rather than fighting each other about who becomes the speaker of parliament, APNU and AFC can get together and table a question in parliament for the Minister to say how many properties he owns since he became a minister, and let him state his income.
Do we know how many cars/jeeps he has?
This will be a good start to cooperate on bringing accountability.
Granger and Ramjattan, time to get working. End the fighting and name-calling.
Let me remind you that some time ago it was in the papers that Minister Ali was given a house lot in Pradoville 2, next to Bharrat Jagdeo's mansion. Did he take up that lot?
President Ramotar has to get to the bottom of this thing if he is serious about his message that he will deal with corruption.
comrade
Originally posted by Ramakant_p:

Are you saying that if you build a house you are corrupt? Why blacks can't build houses? Since Burham took away the coolie houses and gave them to his balck people, they never build one again. They want everything free.

Indians are a very peaceful and progressive people. You blacks can learn from them.[/QUOTE]
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Mi parents seh abie coolie been building big house since the Brit dazz, den moo big unda PNC dayz while nuff Afro bin buy Galant, Lancer and Austin Maxi and park am unda dem shack and abie coolie bin park abie recondition Morris Oxford unda abie mansion. Is datt true?
Originally posted by Sledgehammer:

Indians are a very peaceful and progressive people. You blacks can learn from them.

Mi parents seh abie coolie been building big house since the Brit dazz, den moo big unda PNC dayz while nuff Afro bin buy Galant, Lancer and Austin Maxi and park am unda dem shack and abie coolie bin park abie recondition Morris Oxford unda abie mansion. Is datt true?[/QUOTE]

Indos bin buying foodstuffs and eat with their hands,while afros bin buying knives and forks, toilet paper and a suit to attend funerals. No food to eat.

Mi parents seh abie coolie been building big house since the Brit dazz, den moo big unda PNC dayz while nuff Afro bin buy Galant, Lancer and Austin Maxi and park am unda dem shack and abie coolie bin park abie recondition Morris Oxford unda abie mansion. Is datt true?

Indos bin buying foodstuffs and eat with their hands,while afros bin buying knives and forks, toilet paper and a suit to attend funerals. No food to eat.

Leh we stick to da car and house story nah. You rass always digressing. Is datt true wah mi parents seh?

yes! to a certain extent. The cars were gifts from their children whom they sent abroad to study. Even the clothes they wore were gift from their children.

yes! to a certain extent. The cars were gifts from their children whom they sent abroad to study.

Yuh know, yuh piss me rass aff, yuh talk half and leff half. Is it true datt unda da PNC nuff Afros gatt Galant, Lancer and Austin Maxi and park unda shack wile coolie park old cyar unda dem mansion?

yes! to a certain extent. The cars were gifts from their children whom they sent abroad to study.

Yuh know, yuh piss me rass aff, yuh talk half and leff half. Is it true datt unda da PNC nuff Afros gatt Galant, Lancer and Austin Maxi and park unda shack wile coolie park old cyar unda dem mansion?

No!

No!

No to what, which??
Minister Ali rubbishes malicious KN article – says house was purchased from GuySuCo before he became minister
January 3, 2012

Housing and Water Minister Irfaan Ali has clarified details of his acquisition of a former GuySuCo-owned property at Leonora, West Coast Demerara, and at the same time condemned the Kaieteur News for misrepresenting the facts of the purchase in a β€œdevious and sensational” article on New Year’s Day.
In the article captioned β€œAfter two years as Minister…Irfaan Ali builds mansion with poolhouse,” KN described the construction of the house. The newspaper noted that the house appears to accommodate eight bedrooms, a large living room, a detached kitchen and a walkway that runs around the front of the building.
Kaieteur News said too that the cost of the construction which is nearing completion is estimated at more than $300 million β€œOne contractor, using the same government estimates, said that to fence the compound of that estate would be about $50 million,” KN wrote.
However, in response to the article, Ali clarified that the property in question was acquired before he assumed office as a minister of the government, and it has been almost four years now since he has been struggling to complete work on the property.
β€œThirdly, the house referred to as mansion house was an old wooden house owned by GuySuCo. After acquisition, it is the same property that was rehabilitated and retro-fitted.” Ali said that more 70 per cent of the house remained in the same material and style that was there on acquisition. He noted that the only completely new piece of construction was that referred to as the pool house.
Additionally, the minister said that the acquisition of the house was no β€œsecret or unscrupulous deal,” pointing out that the property was publicly advertised for sale before he became a minister.
β€œAs any other Guyanese, I placed a bid for the property and my bid was the highest bid price offered. So what is secret and unscrupulous about this?” he asked. Ali asserted that β€œThis devious act by Kaieteur News was aimed at a personal attack to my family and I. When someone builds a house, it is meant to be their home, a personal sanctuary where they feel secured and private. It is clear that the motive of Kaieteur News was to mislead and expose myself and family to security and other harm.”
Ali said it against this background that his lawyers would now look at the consequences of β€œthis personal invasion based on lies and mischief. Though the very essence of peace and security that my personal property was supposed to have offered me is destroyed, I will leave my faith in the hands of my lawyers and the judicial system so that justice can be done,” Ali asserted.
Ali noted too that the house actually consists of three bedrooms not eight as stated in the article and worse of all, the fence which is chain-link and wallaba on the side and back, and concrete with grill work on the front is incorrectly and maliciously estimated to cost $50 million.
β€œAs any other Guyanese, I placed a bid for the property and my bid was the highest bid price offered. So what is secret and unscrupulous about this?”

I agree that people have a right to buy property and own them. Ali is entitled to this. But as a government official he cannot get vex when other people question him, especially when he has been in so much controversy over money.
We must accept his explanation that he made a bid for an estate mansion. But he must say how much was the bid? Who else made bids?
Is this the only property that Ali bought?
It would be helpful if he gives as much details now and before people like Ramjattan and Ram get on his case.
comrade

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Mi parents seh abie coolie been building big house since the Brit dazz, den moo big unda PNC dayz while nuff Afro bin buy Galant, Lancer and Austin Maxi and park am unda dem shack and abie coolie bin park abie recondition Morris Oxford unda abie mansion. Is datt true?[/QUOTE]yes i see what you mean,ali collie parent build that mansion for him, i wonder what your collie parent build for you.maybe the berbice bridge.when i come to guyana this month i,i will ask them cane cutters what their collie parent build for them
Originally posted by Jalil:
Originally posted by Chief:
Comrade,
Can you explain where Manniram Prashad got 1.5million us $$$ from to purchase Palm Court?

Chief, Manni got it from Trade, Industry & Tourism.....and lil bit from Bu@@ering.
Yuh know he slept with de Champion!
manni and bar--rat come to toronto,and both of them was staying in the same room,but the room had one bed.my friend went to see manni for some thing and he tell me.he ask manni what going on and manni say they saying money