No reduction in VAT; no 20% salary increase for public servants – PPP told at budget consultations

July 25, 2015 6:03 am Category: latest news A+ / A-

Finance Minister Winston Jordan [center) and his team, meeting with PPP’s officials for Annual Budget consultations

Finance Minister Winston Jordan (center) and his team, meeting with PPP’s officials for Annual Budget consultations

[www.inewsguyana.com]

The Opposition People’s Progressive Party (PPP) says its delegation was informed during the budget 2015 consultation with Finance Minister, Winston Jordan that there will not be any reduction in the Value Added Tax (VAT) as was promised by the new APNU+AFC government in its 100 days plan.

According to a statement issued by the PPP on Friday, July 24, General Secretary, Clement Rohee, together with former Ministers Robeson Benn, Pauline Sukahi, Juan Edghill and member of the Executive Committee, Dharamkumar Seeraj represented the Party at the meeting.

The statement further noted that Minister advised that his Ministry is preparing a three month budget which is likely to be laid in the National Assembly in mid August 2015.

“The budget, he explained will project a three percent economic growth and will concentrate on boosting aggregate demand. The delegation was advised that Cabinet had its first look at the budget last Tuesday,” according to the PPP statement.

The Party is also claiming that in response to a question in connection with government’s 100 days plan for implementation, the delegation was informed that it is unlikely that the plan will be fulfilled within the first hundred days and that the Minister advised that there will not be a 20% increase in salaries for public servants.

“The delegation was further advised that there will be no reduction of the Value Added Tax,” the PPP statement says.

Speaking on behalf of the delegation, Rohee informed Minister Jordan that the PPP decided to accept the invitation having regard to the “unfortunate state of affairs obtaining in the country since the APNU+AFC assumed office.”

In this regard, “the Minister’s attention was drawn to the everyday violation of the rules and regulations pertaining to public expenditure management. Rohee advised the Minister of the Party’s rejection of the pervasive ethnic cleansing and the political and social discrimination as well as the continuing arbitrary dismissal of persons once employed by the PPP/C administration.”

It was also noted by the PPP that the Minister’s attention was drawn to the government scaring away of foreign and local investors and the persistent haranguing of local private sector enterprises of being involved in money laundering, corruption and other and illegal activities.

“These positions adopted by government, the Minister was advised will not in any way help to restore confidence and optimism in the economy.”

Rohit Parmanand

The modus operandi of the current government seems to be unplanned canny and out of control. i think they are overwhelmed by the challenges of government and their inability to cope is getting the best of them. While the President is busy with weekly overseas engagement, Mr Harmon is left to carry the mantle of government and he is clearly not doing a good job, devoid of basic responses we see daily blunder after blunder. What amazes me more however in as much as i like many guyanese savour change,the composition of the supposedly change agents are quiet, amidst the slaughter of the poor people many of whom supported the change process. The AFC component that allowed for that change is unassumingly lost in its power overwhelming moment. What is AFC and Naga/Khem saying about this social genocide is anybodys guess.Firstly Nagas has taken on a decorative role and will have to be dusted off very often as is with the AFC. The OLPF may have been a charade and a front for deceptive undertakings when it was conceptualised, it however created employment for a number of persons majority of whom are supporters of the Coalition, and people who have no other source of income. Before Harmon jumped on the high pedestal and say that they are dealing with 2103 files in 2015 he should have asked the simple question, can these ppl be absorbed in other agencies? The security sector requires significant manpower at the IT level and most of these ppl have more than the basic knowledge to be absorbed. How can Harmon on one hand justify the laying off of these ppl and embraced an enormous government apparatchik and all these presidential advisors? It seems that the advice is simply devoid of substance and intellectual depth. I did not expect this level of irresponsibility from a Government that says it is for the ppl. AFC should savour the moment and show that it has weight in the decision making of the Coalition. From what i see the government will have to savour its electoral gains for the next 4 years and they will never be able to win the confidence of the ppl on any front racial or plural. The 100 days blunders have been rooted in revenge politics, it is not right and has no place in the making of a new Guyana. There are many issues that are more urgent but not given any major attention as is observed. CLICO, NIS, BERBICE BRIDGE.i I had a laugh no VAT Reduction No 12% for Public servants.

I wonder when the Butcher of Guyana (the man with the chopper) will come out and say no increase for the Pensioners too, or no reductions in the rate for the Berbice River Bridge. (Guess 0nly A Matter of Time)

Would appear that these scumbags is just as bad as the PPP/C

HAHAHA  The stinking, lying PNC and their two House Slaves sold the Brooklyn Bridge to many FOOLS on GNI.  Raise Al Yuh hand and stand PROUD IDIOTS!!!!!!!!!!!

It would seems like those two fools would accept every and anything that the APNU dishes out to them.

I have been warning Folks about the return of the old PNC, that the PNC are Wolves in Sheep clothing and many here Cuss, Bad up and Chatpatie.  NOW, look at Abee POOR Guyana.

Please GOD help the Guyanese People!!!

The House Slaves are just that, so they have to be quiet and listen to instructions.  House Slave #1 went to Corentyne and told the People VAT is killing them, NOW this certified House Slave quiet like a lamb.  BLOODY SHAMELESS, DISGRACEFUL Parasite.

No reduction in VAT; no 20% salary increase for public servants – PPP told at budget consultations.

Maybe later we will hear, no reduction in the Berbice River Crossing, No reduction in the Personal Income Taxes. No increase for the poor and destitute in their Pension.

Originally Posted by asj:

No reduction in VAT; no 20% salary increase for public servants – PPP told at budget consultations.

Maybe later we will hear, no reduction in the Berbice River Crossing, No reduction in the Personal Income Taxes. No increase for the poor and destitute in their Pension.

YOU GAT IT RIGHT.

All the things they promised were achievable goals. But Granger forgot about his request in prayers and went ahead with the surroundings of the wicked.

He said, he was not fighting flesh and blood. Suh he knows too well what he is up against.

APNU/AFC committed the biggest con job in Guyana's history.

Where are all of the AFC's loud mouths ?

They are all Afraid of the Butcher of Germany.

Supremacist Jordon has them quiet like church mouse. Guyanese jumped from the frying pan into the fire.

You was one of dem, why you twiss yuh mouth da other side.  Is weh all them smart man [shadow] Finance/Economist experts who offered volumes of advise and criticism over VAT, Bridge tolls, salary increase, economic modeling.

Everyone now scratching they two heads with mouth-open [in shock and awe style] while the foam dries from their mouth leaving white-mouth. 

You was one of dem, why you twiss yuh mouth da other side.  Is weh all them smart man [shadow] Finance/Economist experts who offered volumes of advise and criticism over VAT, Bridge tolls, salary increase, economic modeling.

Everyone now scratching they two heads with mouth-open [in shock and awe style] while the foam dries from their mouth leaving white-mouth. 

Base, I respect Asj for being honest. I wish more can be like him.

I call it like I see it, I am not indebted to anyone or owes anyone a favor.

You can do the same rather saying me say so, me say this and that. Be objective bai.

I guess stupidity could be an acceptable excuse in politics.

SOme of these fellas have no clue to objectivity....

I reserve my judgement for the coalition, will give them some more time to get things going

See you in 2020 Ray.

There is a difference between objectivity and stupidity.  Baseman, even tough in favor of the PPP, also had some harsh words especially regarding cronyism and addressing issues of the very poor. No one is perfect so I criticize where it was due.  You can check any of my posts on this.

Yes, you have been objective...so is asj

Politicians!!! They all lie to get some milk and honey. The PNC/APNU/AFC is no different. They are about ME. Throw all the bastards in the Demerara River and let the sharks take care of them.

Good call Asj.

I wonder when the Butcher of Germany Auschwitz (the man with the chopper) will come out and say no increase for the Pensioners too, or no reductions in the rate for the Berbice River Bridge. (Guess 0nly A Matter of Time)

do you actually believe that Joseph Harmon is making policy independent of cabinet and David Granger?

the irrationalities on this thread seem personal and unconnected to governance

your rhetoric marrying coalition policies to Auschwitz and the Holocaust is outside the boundaries of decency

I wonder when the Butcher of Germany Auschwitz (the man with the chopper) will come out and say no increase for the Pensioners too, or no reductions in the rate for the Berbice River Bridge. (Guess 0nly A Matter of Time)

do you actually believe that Joseph Harmon is making policy independent of cabinet and David Granger?

the irrationalities on this thread seem personal and unconnected to governance

your rhetoric marrying coalition policies to Auschwitz and the Holocaust is outside the boundaries of decency

like leprous vagina?

Politicians!!! They all lie to get some milk and honey. The PNC/APNU/AFC is no different. They are about ME. Throw all the bastards in the Demerara River and let the sharks take care of them.

Good call Asj.

Time for ASJ to light up the fire on APNU's tail.