Africans are criminalized for doing what other ethnic groups are celebrated for

January 31, 2014 | By | Filed Under Letters 

Dear Editor,
I hereby give full solidarity to the people of Number 48 for taking the simple, democratic and non-violent stance to block the road, your road, the people’s road to dramatize your disgust at the extreme criminality and inaction of the police. All Guyana should applaud those villagers. I also commend the PPP and the government for supporting the right of citizens to block the roadways when the feel that the authorities are not listening to and defend them. I commend the police, even in the face of abuse by the protestors, for not shooting down ordinary people who block the roadways in self-defence.
But I recall when the people of Linden blocked the road/bridge to democratically dramatize their grievance, they were criminalized and three of them were murdered and many others wounded. I recall when the people of Agricola democratically blocked the road to dramatize their disgust against police overreach they were criminalized and beaten off the streets and Nigel Hughes was lynched by the PPP, the government and their acolytes, while the Opposition remained silent. I recall just a few weeks ago when the Colwyn Harding story broke, the government and its police hierarchy sought to cast doubt on the victim’s story. I recall when one David Hinds, in the face of the murder of three Lindeners, asserted that should other communities be visited with the same violence by the state, they should follow the example of Lindeners and block the roadway, he was challenged by the Commissioner of Police to meet him on the frontlines. The PPP, the government and their acolytes lynched him, while the Opposition remained silent.
Maybe, the people of Number 48 are heeding David Hinds’ call.  Maybe they have learned from the people of Linden and AgricoIa. Or, maybe they have learned from the people of Albion some years ago who took to the streets some years ago to demonstrate their disgust against the police. Then, government ministers rushed to the scene and swift action was taken against the ranks. Now at Number 48, PPP leaders rush to the scene to associate themselves with blocking the roads. And the Minister of Home Affairs and the Commissioner of Police have taken swift action against the police.
I have waited two days and more for the experts on violence to condemn the actions of the people of Number 48 as violent, unpatriotic and aimed at overthrowing the government. Not a word. Only Wintress White, an ordinary sufferer has the courage to speak up and out on what she sees as “two Guyana’s. She said in her letter that she would no longer stand when the national anthem is being played. She speaks for me and I hereby join her simple act of protest.
As an African Guyanese I am angry that Africans are criminalized and murdered for doing what other ethnic groups are celebrated for. I continue to believe that this government gets away with using the government and the state to practice institutional racism because the society, particularly the leadership of African Guyanese, allows it to do so. The current African Guyanese leadership, all of them, is the most timid, confused and un-African that Guyana has witnessed since the Middle Passage. And the current PPP leadership and government are the most racially unfair and anti-African since the colonialists left Guyana.
David Hinds

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

They did not just blocked the road at Agricola, they murdered and robbed innocent people. Is this what David meant by _"democratically"?

So what? Can't have revolution without some heads getting knocked in.

They did not just blocked the road at Agricola, they murdered and robbed innocent people. Is this what David meant by _"democratically"?

government ministers rushed to the scene and swift action was taken against the ranks. Now at Number 48, PPP leaders rush to the scene to associate themselves with blocking the roads. And the Minister of Home Affairs and the Commissioner of Police have taken swift action against the police.

Originally Posted by kajol:

Ramjattan is from No. 48 Village. maybe coincidence

Joker from 48, he is an off-spring from Burnham dougla plan.  Thanks to the PPP, Burnham dream is now alive in 48 village.

Meh taat he grow up in Kitty.

Maybe for school but born in No.48 and his relatives from that village. Am not remotely supportive of  KishanB's vile comments, I just making the observation that maybe it is just merely coincidental that he is from that area as we think of the  problems with police neglect and the reaction of villagers form those surrounding areas

Welcome to political Kajol...keep an eye on some of these fellas...but ah sure you can handle yuself

His parents had a cake shop and Grocery Store near Lamaha and Baar. He ran the place  in his youth and when his father was away teaching.

When I mentioned Ramjattan, I was referring to Khemraj Ramjattan. You might be talking about his late father's late brother, the Baron products guy? Ask khemraj himself!  he always seemed proud of his corentyne, no. 48 heritage. 

Not so important anyway

When I mentioned Ramjattan, I was referring to Khemraj Ramjattan. You might be talking about his late father's late brother, the Baron products guy? Ask khemraj himself!  he always seemed proud of his corentyne, no. 48 heritage. 

Not so important anyway

His grandparents and parents from #48. His Cousin of Baron Products, stayed with them there and helped in the store. Both of these guys were very bright in High School.

48 does not have black people. It has about 400 Indo and a couple of Chinese maybe a family of 3 or 3. When and where would black folks move in? The land is taken up and whether we like it or not them indians are not letting black folks move in. All of the traditional villages remained the same. The last black village may be  Union. 51, 52 are also black villages. 76 and 77 are the mixed up village. Springlands is about 1/4 black

To say that Indians are not letting Black people move into #48 village is a serious charge of racism. Charges like this should not be allowed to go unanswered. Danyael should show us real evidence of Blacks trying to move into #48 village and have been stopped from doing so.

Look ah yu nah bad talk #48 village. Me tink me still get relatives who alive deh.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

48 does not have black people. It has about 400 Indo and a couple of Chinese maybe a family of 3 or 3. When and where would black folks move in? The land is taken up and whether we like it or not them indians are not letting black folks move in. All of the traditional villages remained the same. The last black village may be  Union. 51, 52 are also black villages. 76 and 77 are the mixed up village. Springlands is about 1/4 black

Guyana is racially intermingled not integrated. You folks may not like that but that is a fact. All of its racial layout is the same. I noted the land is taken up  and which Indian would sell to black person if they are moving out? Same with black villages.

#48 is primarily owned by a few prominent East Indian families for generations and the properties have been handed down to immediate families.  As Danyael said, there are a few Chinese; there are a few Amerindians and that is because of Inter marriages. Blacks may prefer neighboring #51 village, where it might be easier for them to acquire a house lot.