We seen Chanderpaul pushed down the batting lineup.

Bishoo has been shoved out of the bowling line up and not groomed by the WI and Sarwan, despite a great batting average and going though a bad patch lately being dropped as a result while losers like Sammy cannot justify his place in the WI line up, begs the question:

Is race or racism holding back WI cricket ? 

Are Indo WI cricketers being shoved aside in favour Afro WI players ?

Please be civil and constructive in your response.

We seen Chanderpaul pushed down the batting lineup.

Bishoo has been shoved out of the bowling line up and not groomed by the WI and Sarwan, despite a great batting average and going though a bad patch lately being dropped as a result while losers like Sammy cannot justify his place in the WI line up, begs the question:

Please be civil and constructive in your response.

you really need shut up about things you know nothing about...Shiv wants to bat at #5...Sarwan needs to get his head straight, he has been failing a lot lately...Permaul, Narine and Shillingford are all ahead of Bishoo...Sammy being the captain is just because no one else wanted the captaincy ( he is a shitty teat player anyway, better at ODI and T20.

Deo has gotten multiple chances, he is in the side, Permaul is in the side, Ramdin (fails a lot), is in the side, Narine is in the T20 and ODI side, Fudadin is in the A team...what the rass you talking about racism?

Name Indo players you think that should be in the test side, and whom should they replace before you chat shit

==========

yuji:

If you are interested in cricket---feel free to join the cricket fans over at Chairman Krishna's site---click on the link:

http://www.westindiesforum.com...my-generation-warne/

RE: EAST INDIANS

The truth is yuji---the East Indians like Sarwan, Deonarine, Bishoo, and Permaul are downright mediocre----they have been given a chance but have failed to deliver.

RE: SHIV CHANDERPAUL

Here you have an ordinary bhai from Unity village---he goes about his business with no flair or flamboyance---but after 19 years this ordinary bhai has put up great numbers.

In 149 tests Shiv has scored 10,897 runs at an average of 51.89 with 28 hundreds and 61 fifties.

This coming week---in the same test Tendulkar will be playing in his 200th and final test---the outstanding Shiv will be playing in his 150th test.

NO WEST INDIAN IN HISTORY HAS PLAYED MORE TESTS THAN SHIV.

And it looks like he is good for another 3 years.

BOTTOM LINE:

The East Indian players other than the amazing Shiv are not good enough yuji.

http://www.westindiesforum.com...my-generation-warne/

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Chanderpaul has been in the WI team for nearly twenty years now. That's far too long.

* 20 years for Chanderpaul in the WI team is too long you say ?

* George Headley played 24 years for the WI. Was that too long ?

* Listen! Shiv remains the best batsman in the West Indies and is currently the #3 ranked batsman in the world ?

* So why shouldn't he continue playing ?

I guess it will pain you to see Shiv become the highest run scorer in the history of WI cricket---that's why you want to see him go---he needs 1057 runs to become the highest WI run scorer in tests.

Originally Posted by raymond:

wha happen Rev...yuh fraid to send the man to cc.com...them fellas might chew him up and spit him out

* CC is not as vibrant and spirited and engaging as it once used to be.

* Back in the old days when you had the LPA(lara Protection Agency) and the EIRM(East Indian Resistance Movement)----CC used to be a lively cricket site.

* Today CC is tedious and boring---half the posters are Sammy haters; the other half are Sammy lovers.

* CC has lost its edge.

* The Chairman's site is alive and interesting----here it is again:

http://www.westindiesforum.com/the-pitch/

PS. Do you post over at Krishna's or is your navel string buried at CC ?

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Chanderpaul has been in the WI team for nearly twenty years now. That's far too long.

* 20 years for Chanderpaul in the WI team is too long you say ?

* George Headley played 24 years for the WI. Was that too long ?

* Listen! Shiv remains the best batsman in the West Indies and is currently the #3 ranked batsman in the world ?

* So why shouldn't he continue playing ?

I guess it will pain you to see Shiv become the highest run scorer in the history of WI cricket---that's why you want to see him go---he needs 1057 runs to become the highest WI run scorer in tests.

If a batsman is making runs and blunting the opposition he should be given a chance to play even if he is 100 years old! Chanderpaul has shown that he is among the best. He may want to bat at number 5 but if the team asks him to move up then he has to comply. He has not been effective in the last Test as he should have been.   

Here are some stats on Sarwan. It is all about numbers, remember ?

Ramnaresh Sarwan      

Full name Ramnaresh Ronnie Sarwan

Born June 23, 1980, Wakenaam Island, Essequibo, Guyana

Current age 33 years 141 days

Major teams West Indies, Gloucestershire, Guyana,Guyana Amazon Warriors, Kings XI Punjab, Leicestershire,Stanford Superstars

Playing role Batsman

Batting style Right-hand bat

Bowling style Legbreak

Ramnaresh Ronnie Sarwan
Batting and fielding averages
 MatInnsNORunsHSAveBFSR100504s6sCtSt
Tests871548584229140.011248446.79153174714530
ODIs181169335804120*42.67766375.7453848058450
T20Is181632985922.92286104.190219670
First-class215364261322129139.11  3370  1520
List A262248418337120*40.27  1148  680
Twenty207469911517019.181101104.54058128240
Bowling averages
 MatInnsBallsRunsWktsBBIBBMAveEconSR4w5w10
Tests875620221163234/377/9650.563.4587.9100
ODIs18125581586163/313/3136.626.0536.3000
T20Is181121022/102/105.005.006.0000
First-class215 43682351566/62 41.983.2278.0 10
List A262 11301001355/105/1028.605.3132.2010
Twenty20742182222/102/1011.007.339.0000
Career statistics
Test debutWest Indies v Pakistan at Bridgetown, May 18-22, 2000 scorecard
Last TestWest Indies v India at Bridgetown, Jun 28-Jul 2, 2011 scorecard
Test statistics<form action="" enctype="application/x-www-form-urlencoded" method="get"><select class="guruDropdown" name="guru" size="1"><option selected="selected" value="">- Statsguru Test analysis -</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=1;type=allround">Player analysis menu/filter</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=1;template=results;type=allround;view=match">Test match list</option><option value="">---------------------------------</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=1;template=results;type=batting">Batting career summary</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=1;template=results;type=batting;view=innings">Batting innings list</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=1;orderby=batted_score;template=results;type=batting;view=innings">High scores</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=1;template=results;type=batting;view=series">Batting series averages</option><option value="">---------------------------------</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=1;template=results;type=bowling">Bowling career summary</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=1;template=results;type=bowling;view=innings">Bowling innings list</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=1;template=results;type=bowling;view=match">Bowling match list</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=1;orderby=wickets;template=results;type=bowling;view=innings">Best innings bowling</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=1;orderby=wickets;template=results;type=bowling;view=innings">Best match bowling</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=1;template=results;type=bowling;view=series">Bowling series averages</option><option value="">---------------------------------</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=1;template=results;type=fielding">Fielding career summary</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=1;template=results;type=fielding;view=innings">Fielding innings list</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=1;orderby=caught;template=results;type=fielding;view=innings">Most catches in an innings</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=1;template=results;type=fielding;view=series">Fielding series statistics</option></select></form>
ODI debutEngland v West Indies at Nottingham, Jul 20, 2000 scorecard
Last ODIIndia v West Indies at The Oval, Jun 11, 2013 scorecard
ODI statistics<form action="" enctype="application/x-www-form-urlencoded" method="get"><select class="guruDropdown" name="guru" size="1"><option selected="selected" value="">- Statsguru ODI analysis -</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=2;type=allround">Player analysis menu/filter</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=2;template=results;type=allround;view=match">ODI match list</option><option value="">---------------------------------</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=2;template=results;type=batting">Batting career summary</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=2;template=results;type=batting;view=innings">Batting innings list</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=2;orderby=batted_score;template=results;type=batting;view=innings">High scores</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=2;template=results;type=batting;view=series">Batting series averages</option><option value="">---------------------------------</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=2;template=results;type=bowling">Bowling career summary</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=2;template=results;type=bowling;view=innings">Bowling innings list</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=2;orderby=wickets;template=results;type=bowling;view=innings">Best innings bowling</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=2;template=results;type=bowling;view=series">Bowling series averages</option><option value="">---------------------------------</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=2;template=results;type=fielding">Fielding career summary</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=2;template=results;type=fielding;view=innings">Fielding innings list</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=2;orderby=caught;template=results;type=fielding;view=innings">Most catches in an innings</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=2;template=results;type=fielding;view=series">Fielding series statistics</option></select></form>
T20I debutSouth Africa v West Indies at Johannesburg, Sep 11, 2007 scorecard
Last T20IWest Indies v South Africa at North Sound, May 20, 2010 scorecard
T20I statistics<form action="" enctype="application/x-www-form-urlencoded" method="get"><select class="guruDropdown" name="guru" size="1"><option selected="selected" value="">- Statsguru T20I analysis -</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=3;type=allround">Player analysis menu/filter</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=3;template=results;type=allround;view=match">T20I match list</option><option value="">---------------------------------</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=3;template=results;type=batting">Batting career summary</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=3;template=results;type=batting;view=innings">Batting innings list</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=3;orderby=batted_score;template=results;type=batting;view=innings">High scores</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=3;template=results;type=batting;view=series">Batting series averages</option><option value="">---------------------------------</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=3;template=results;type=bowling">Bowling career summary</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=3;template=results;type=bowling;view=innings">Bowling innings list</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=3;template=results;type=bowling;view=series">Bowling series averages</option><option value="">---------------------------------</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=3;template=results;type=fielding">Fielding career summary</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=3;template=results;type=fielding;view=innings">Fielding innings list</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=3;orderby=caught;template=results;type=fielding;view=innings">Most catches in an innings</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/52969.html?class=3;template=results;type=fielding;view=series">Fielding series statistics</option></select></form>
First-class debut1995/96
Last First-classNorthamptonshire v Leicestershire at Northampton, May 15-18, 2013scorecard
List A debut1996/97
Last List AIndia v West Indies at The Oval, Jun 11, 2013 scorecard
Twenty20 debutGuyana v Montserrat at Coolidge, Jul 21, 2006 scorecard
Last Twenty20Jamaica Tallawahs v Guyana Amazon Warriors at Port of Spain, Aug 24, 2013 scorecard

On Bishoo:

Devendra Bishoo      

Full name Devendra Bishoo

Born November 6, 1985, New Amsterdam, Berbice, Guyana

Current age 28 years 5 days

Major teams West Indies, Barbados Tridents, Berbice,Guyana, West Indies A

Batting style Left-hand bat

Bowling style Legbreak

Devendra Bishoo
Batting and fielding averages
 MatInnsNORunsHSAveBFSR100504s6sCtSt
Tests111981432613.0033143.200014180
ODIs1372106*2.002638.46002020
T20Is410000.0010.00000000
First-class45802062547*10.41  00  290
List A2915511352*11.30  0113290
Twenty20311310268*8.6625104.00002030
Bowling averages
 MatInnsBallsRunsWktsBBIBBMAveEconSR4w5w10
Tests112030461582405/908/15239.553.1176.1210
ODIs1313666476203/343/3423.804.2833.3000
T20Is44949864/174/1716.336.2515.6100
First-class45811037152101756/6410/12029.773.0159.2891
List A292914701006536/366/3618.984.1027.7110
Twenty203131658724414/174/1717.656.6016.0100
Career statistics
Test debutWest Indies v Pakistan at Providence, May 12-15, 2011 scorecard
Last TestWest Indies v Australia at Bridgetown, Apr 7-11, 2012 scorecard
Test statistics<form action="" enctype="application/x-www-form-urlencoded" method="get"><select class="guruDropdown" name="guru" size="1"><option selected="selected" value="">- Statsguru Test analysis -</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=1;type=allround">Player analysis menu/filter</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=1;template=results;type=allround;view=match">Test match list</option><option value="">---------------------------------</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=1;template=results;type=batting">Batting career summary</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=1;template=results;type=batting;view=innings">Batting innings list</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=1;orderby=batted_score;template=results;type=batting;view=innings">High scores</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=1;template=results;type=batting;view=series">Batting series averages</option><option value="">---------------------------------</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=1;template=results;type=bowling">Bowling career summary</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=1;template=results;type=bowling;view=innings">Bowling innings list</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=1;template=results;type=bowling;view=match">Bowling match list</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=1;orderby=wickets;template=results;type=bowling;view=innings">Best innings bowling</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=1;orderby=wickets;template=results;type=bowling;view=innings">Best match bowling</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=1;template=results;type=bowling;view=series">Bowling series averages</option><option value="">---------------------------------</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=1;template=results;type=fielding">Fielding career summary</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=1;template=results;type=fielding;view=innings">Fielding innings list</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=1;orderby=caught;template=results;type=fielding;view=innings">Most catches in an innings</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=1;template=results;type=fielding;view=series">Fielding series statistics</option></select></form>
ODI debutEngland v West Indies at Chennai, Mar 17, 2011 scorecard
Last ODIBangladesh v West Indies at Dhaka, Oct 15, 2011 scorecard
ODI statistics<form action="" enctype="application/x-www-form-urlencoded" method="get"><select class="guruDropdown" name="guru" size="1"><option selected="selected" value="">- Statsguru ODI analysis -</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=2;type=allround">Player analysis menu/filter</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=2;template=results;type=allround;view=match">ODI match list</option><option value="">---------------------------------</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=2;template=results;type=batting">Batting career summary</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=2;template=results;type=batting;view=innings">Batting innings list</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=2;orderby=batted_score;template=results;type=batting;view=innings">High scores</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=2;template=results;type=batting;view=series">Batting series averages</option><option value="">---------------------------------</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=2;template=results;type=bowling">Bowling career summary</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=2;template=results;type=bowling;view=innings">Bowling innings list</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=2;orderby=wickets;template=results;type=bowling;view=innings">Best innings bowling</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=2;template=results;type=bowling;view=series">Bowling series averages</option><option value="">---------------------------------</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=2;template=results;type=fielding">Fielding career summary</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=2;template=results;type=fielding;view=innings">Fielding innings list</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=2;orderby=caught;template=results;type=fielding;view=innings">Most catches in an innings</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=2;template=results;type=fielding;view=series">Fielding series statistics</option></select></form>
T20I debutWest Indies v Pakistan at Gros Islet, Apr 21, 2011 scorecard
Last T20IEngland v West Indies at The Oval, Sep 25, 2011 scorecard
T20I statistics<form action="" enctype="application/x-www-form-urlencoded" method="get"><select class="guruDropdown" name="guru" size="1"><option selected="selected" value="">- Statsguru T20I analysis -</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=3;type=allround">Player analysis menu/filter</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=3;template=results;type=allround;view=match">T20I match list</option><option value="">---------------------------------</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=3;template=results;type=batting">Batting career summary</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=3;template=results;type=batting;view=innings">Batting innings list</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=3;template=results;type=batting;view=series">Batting series averages</option><option value="">---------------------------------</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=3;template=results;type=bowling">Bowling career summary</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=3;template=results;type=bowling;view=innings">Bowling innings list</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=3;orderby=wickets;template=results;type=bowling;view=innings">Best innings bowling</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=3;template=results;type=bowling;view=series">Bowling series averages</option><option value="">---------------------------------</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=3;template=results;type=fielding">Fielding career summary</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=3;template=results;type=fielding;view=innings">Fielding innings list</option><option value="/ci/engine/player/341593.html?class=3;template=results;type=fielding;view=series">Fielding series statistics</option></select></form>
First-class debutGuyana v Combined Campuses and Colleges at Providence, Mar 7-10, 2008scorecard
Last First-classGuyana v Jamaica at Providence, Apr 10-12, 2013 scorecard
List A debutGuyana v Leeward Islands at Enmore, Oct 28, 2009 scorecard
Last List AGuyana v Jamaica at Providence, Apr 7, 2013 scorecard
Twenty20 debutGuyana v Windward Islands at Bridgetown, Jul 23, 2010 scorecard
Last Twenty20Antigua Hawksbills v Barbados Tridents at North Sound, Aug 13, 2013scorecard
Recent matches
Bat & BowlTeamOppositionGroundMatch DateScorecard
8*, 0/14Tridentsv HawksbillsNorth Sound13 Aug 2013T20
3/39, 28Guyanav PakistanisGeorgetown11 Jul 2013Other OD
3/51, 0, 0/50, 1Guyanav JamaicaProvidence10 Apr 2013FC
11, 1/33Guyanav JamaicaProvidence7 Apr 2013LA
2/31, 11*Guyanav Comb C&CProvidence4 Apr 2013LA
4*, 1/26, 3, 2/41Guyanav Comb C&CProvidence30 Mar 2013FC
52*, 1/57Guyanav Trinidad & TPort of Spain11 Mar 2013LA
0/54, 4, 0/65, 47*Guyanav Trinidad & TPort of Spain6 Mar 2013FC
16, 5/67, 24, 3/19Guyanav Windward IsKingstown27 Feb 2013FC
1/44Guyanav Windward IsKingstown24 Feb 2013LA

Devendra Bishoo is a legspinner who has risen through the ranks since his debut in the 2008 season. He cut his teeth at the first-class level and courted immediate success, snaring four five-wicket hauls, and ten in one match, in his first couple of seasons. His attacking style of bowling had a major impact in the 2010 Caribbean T20 where he finished with ten wickets in four games at the mean average of 8.20, conceding just 5.12 runs an over. His Man-of-the-Series award in that tournament tipped him as one of the players to watch out for in the Champions League Twenty20.

• Read More

Gibson demands more from batsmen

Nagraj Gollapudi

November 10, 2013

Comments: 42 | Login via  | Text size: A | A

Darren Sammy had no reply to Mohammed Shami's pace and swing, India v West Indies, 1st Test, Kolkata, 3rd day, November 8, 2013
Darren Sammy was one of several West Indian batsmen who failed to apply themselves in Kolkata ÂĐ BCCI 
Enlarge

Related Links
Players/Officials: Ottis Gibson
Series/Tournaments: West Indies tour of India
Teams: West Indies

Ottis Gibson, the West Indies coach, was expecting to spend Sunday watching his team fight in front of a full house at Eden Gardens, as the first Test went into the fifth day. Instead, he was overlooking a three-hour training session under a harsh sun at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. The innings-and-51-run defeat in Kolkata was West Indies' first inside three days during Gibson's tenure. He was unimpressed.

"There is only so much talking any coach can do," Gibson said, after his batsmen had wasted starts in both innings of the first Test. "When you play five batsmen, and you sit down and stress the importance of those five batsmen, and you set yourself a challenge of batting a day and a half in the first innings, it is then up to those five batsmen to negotiate whatever the opposition bowlers throw at them and hang around for five days.

"(But) When you have a run-out and a couple of soft dismissals within those five batsmen then it puts pressure on everybody else. That is exactly what happened. We have to get better. We have to learn those mistakes and try not to repeat them."

Marlon Samuels scored the only half-century for West Indies in the first Test. He was also the only batsman with a valid reason for his dismissals. In the first innings, Samuels was bowled by Mohammad Shami after the ball was changed and suddenly began to reverse swing. In the second, he was hit on the pad by another reverse-swinging delivery from Shami and was given lbw by umpire Nigel Llong, though the ball appeared to be going down leg side. The other batsmen had no such excuses.

The top-order batsmen Kieran Powell, Chris Gayle and Darren Bravo paid for playing loose shots. Shivnarine Chanderpaul was ineffective in the absence of stable partners. As for Denesh Ramdin, did he even turn up in Kolkata?

"Try and bat three days," Gibson responded, when asked how the West Indies batting could improve. "We won the toss in good batting conditions and we batted 70-odd overs. That is just not good enough. We know in India you have to bat long, put runs on the board, 400 minimum in the first innings really. So the 234 that we made was pretty average.

"We were little bit rusty coming in but we are not going to use that as an excuse. We still had our opportunities to make scores - we had six or seven guys who got starts and did not carry on. Only one guy got a half-century. When India batted only one or two of those guys got starts and made hundreds. And that was the difference."

According to Gibson, the five-batsman strategy is a recent one and it has worked for West Indies. Its success, however, depended on every player sticking to the plan, Gibson said. "When you look at the result you sort of want to think that way (whether the five-batsmen plan works). That line-up is the one with which we have played the last three or four Test matches. We backed those guys and they did not perform as well as they did in the past. It is a two-match series so we have to look at the combination to make sure we still believe strongly that we can win here."

Originally Posted by Ronald Sugrim:

If a batsman is making runs and blunting the opposition he should be given a chance to play even if he is 100 years old! Chanderpaul has shown that he is among the best. He may want to bat at number 5 but if the team asks him to move up then he has to comply. He has not been effective in the last Test as he should have been.   

Click on the link--it will take you to the Chairman's cricket site---the Rev explains why Shiv should remain at #5.

http://www.westindiesforum.com...ul-have-a-problem-!/

Is WI cricket headed to the washroom as they are crushed to Choka by India ?

yuji:

Despite getting mauled by India, did you know that this poor a$$ West Indies team is ranked #6 in the world---they are currently ranked higher than Sri Lanka, New Zealand, Bangladesh and Zimbabwe. So they are not exactly in the basement.

See Link:

http://www.espncricinfo.com/ra...ent/page/211271.html

The way the Rev sees things---as long as Shiv Chanderpaul continues to do well---I couldn't give a rat's a$$ if the West Indies lose.

By the way, when the WI decided to drop Shiv from the oneday team---I stopped supporting them---it's a joy to see them getting slaughtered in onedayers.

In tests as long as Shiv plays I'll root for the WI.

Join the cricket discussion here:

http://www.westindiesforum.com...-40-average-batsmen/

Is WI cricket headed to the washroom as they are crushed to Choka by India ?

yuji:

Despite getting mauled by India, did you know that this poor a$$ West Indies team is ranked #6 in the world---they are currently ranked higher than Sri Lanka, New Zealand, Bangladesh and Zimbabwe. So they are not exactly in the basement.

See Link:

http://www.espncricinfo.com/ra...ent/page/211271.html

The way the Rev sees things---as long as Shiv Chanderpaul continues to do well---I couldn't give a rat's a$$ if the West Indies lose.

By the way, when the WI decided to drop Shiv from the oneday team---I stopped supporting them---it's a joy to see them getting slaughtered in onedayers.

In tests as long as Shiv plays I'll root for the WI.

Join the cricket discussion here:

http://www.westindiesforum.com...-40-average-batsmen/

Comprando. I now get your point on the the great Shiv and WI cricket.

Despite the averages Dravid is not wrong to suggest that Shiv moves up the order. Cricket is not only about averages. WI batting lacks consistency. They are rated number 5 or 6 because they beat some weak teams. WI is playing India, one of the stronger teams around and sometimes its horses for courses. You must be able to chop and change to create a winning side. To be beaten inside 3 days in a Test calls for changes in the batting as a start.    

How about a change in management ?

Cricket is not only about averages. WI batting lacks consistency.

Cricket is a numbers game my friend---so you cannot say cricket is not only about averages.

You obviously did not read the thread over at Krishna's cricket site where I explained that Bravo averages 43 at the #3 batting position; Samuels averages 44 at #4 and Shiv averages 57 at #5, so it makes no sense to move Shiv up the order.

Also, if you had read the posts in that thread---I pointed out that Shiv averages 34+ at both the #3 and #4 batting positions.

RE: AVERAGES AGAIN

* There are 5 Indian batsmen who average 40 and above and 2 Indian bowlers who average less than 30 in bowling---that's 7 40/30 players

* There are 3 WI batemen who average 40+ and 0 WI bowlers who average 30 or less with the ball.

http://howstat.com/cricket/Sta...ryTeamComparison.asp

THE REV'S THEORY

In a contest between 2 tests team---the team with the greater number of 40/30 players will nearly always emerge victorious in a series.

India with 7 40/30 players will always maul WI with 3 40/30 players.

I read your thread before i made the comment. The point is that Shiv may have a lower average than Bravo or Samuels in certain positions but that does not mean that you can't change things around. That was what I meant about averages. If your team is beaten inside three days you have to experiment with changes, in the batting and bowling departments. If WI is in India just for Sachin's farewell then they are making a bad job of it because they are not in the game long enough for the great man to enjoy his farewell.

Secondly, while all the attention is on Sachin we have Shiv who will play his 150th Test in Mumbai. What will the WI Board do to honor that achievement? To date no one has played more Tests for WI than Shiv. It will take a very long time for anyone to reach that 150th landmark. 

Mr Sugrim there are many Issues and questions here

But the most Important Questions are

(1) Is Race Holding back

or Destroying West Indies Cricket?

Although I do not support

Ewe-gee and Kwame being Crab Louse

and bending over their backside

for Jagdeo & Ramotar

I think he has asked a fair Question here.

(2) Is the Management of West Indies

Cricket Today holding back

and destroying our team?

(3) In the case of Guyana,

Has Jagdeo & Ramotar appointing Clive LLoyd

as a Million Dollar a Month

Advisor to the President

Helped our cricketers if there is either

(1) A Racial Problem or....

(2) A WICB Management Problem...

Ronnie put PPP politics aside

and show us you are different

from Ewe-gee, Kwame or Rev...

I feel Rohan Kanhai,

Carl Hooper & Alvin Kalicharran....or Roger Harper

together will do more for our cricket

and the four together would cost less...

As you know....

I Do not Support or Understand

Why Black House Of Israel Thugs

or PNC Stooges were given these Positions

by Jagdeo & Ramotar....

Do You think by Giving these Top Jobs to

Kwame, Lloyd and Lamumba

has helped the Country, The Govt

or the PPP in any way

Sunil Gavaskar? 

JB:

Why don't you register over at The Chairman's site and list your Top 5 pick ?

Gavaskar was outstanding---first batsman ever to score 10,000 test runs---but he and Richards played in the same era---and Gavaskar was pedestrian compared to the dominant Richards.

The Rev's first 4 picks were based on batsmen who dominated their respective eras---for example, Bradman dominated 1928-1948.

Here's the link again:

http://www.westindiesforum.com...as-top-five-batsmen/

This shows that averages is not everything. It's how you play the game as well. We can argue forever about the best batsman. Some players have put Tendulkar  above Bradman while others do not see Chanderpaul as great. And what about Kallis who can go to become one of the all time greats, if he is not there already? 

This shows that averages is not everything. It's how you play the game as well.

That's a nice clichÃĐ---"it's how you play the game."

And yes---how you play the game impacts how you are perceived by fans.

For example Lara averaged 50+ at a 60+ strike rate---he is perceived as a true great---he was dominant; Shiv averaged 50+ but his strike rate is only 43---he is perceived as being very good---he was not dominant---he was more pedestrian.

But when all is said and done---cricket is a NUMBERS game.

* Batsmen score runs---and runs per innings adjusted for not outs give batting average.

* Bowlers take wickets---and runs conceded divided by wickets taken give bowling average.

BOTTOM LINE:

Teams that win are team whose players put up better numbers than the opposing team.

This shows that averages is not everything. It's how you play the game as well.

That's a nice clichÃĐ---"it's how you play the game."

And yes---how you play the game impacts how you are perceived by fans.

For example Lara averaged 50+ at a 60+ strike rate---he is perceived as a true great---he was dominant; Shiv averaged 50+ but his strike rate is only 43---he is perceived as being very good---he was not dominant---he was more pedestrian.

But when all is said and done---cricket is a NUMBERS game.

* Batsmen score runs---and runs per innings adjusted for not outs give batting average.

* Bowlers take wickets---and runs conceded divided by wickets taken give bowling average.

BOTTOM LINE:

Teams that win are team whose players put up better numbers than the opposing team.

Your bottom line is not wholly accurate. Lara has put up some high numbers than the opposing but how many victories did this bring WI? 

I don't think you are comprehending the Rev clearly!

* Lara and Chanderpaul have both put up great numbers individually----they both average 50+ in tests.

* But I said cricket is a team sport---there are 11 players in a team.

* So even with Lara and Shiv excelling----the WI has been perennial losers---because the other players didn't deliver.

* When I mentioned teams that win---I meant teams where 11 players in one team put up superior stats to the 11 players in an opposing team---the team putting up superior numbers wins.

Rev, thanks for the invitation to your cricket thread on the other forum. I have however been banned from there after a small minded narcissistic individual of questionable sexuality showed a bout of crocodile tears and ran to admin after I questioned her integrity and the accuracy of some aspect of a situation she tried to spin in her favour so that she could come across as the victim, instead of the offender. I don't mix with low lifers of that sort. Even the despicable DrugB on GNI still has a drop of integrity remaining in comparison. And that's really saying something.

Rev why all de Funny Fellas

frighten fuh call a spade a spade

West Indies Cricket suffering from

Mis-management & Corruption

Similar to Jagdeo & Ramotar Govt.

Do not be afraid to speak the Truth...

WHO VEX ....VEX

The West Indies Cricket Board

keep making bad decisions

which cause them to lose

like Jagdeo & Ramotar...

WHO VEX ....VEX

Why Choose Kwame, Lamumba, Hamilton,

Bynoe, Bishop Edhill,

Kit Nascimento, McClean, Jerry Gouviea...

WHO VEX ....VEX

Why choose Black PNC Thugs,

Bugger Batty, Thiefman ,

Indian Killers & Rapist

WHO VEX ....VEX

Why pay Clive Lloyd 1Million Dollar per month

and all he brings to the table

is memories of Burnham...

WHO VEX ....VEX

Read PNC/ACDA article below.... 

ACDA Column:     Burnham: a vision, a legacy

guyanacaribbeanpolitics.com

It was his interventions(Burnham)

in getting Clive Lloyd back

into the West Indies team

much to the displeasure of Sir Garfield Sobers

that produced the standard  of modern cricket.

WHO VEX ....VEX

The Million Dollar Monthly

Jagdeo & Ramotar paying Clive Lloyd

could have paid Kanhai, Hooper, Kalicharran

and Roger Harper too

and our cricket would have gained more

WHO VEX ....VEX

http://www.guyana-cricket.com/...ds-political-mistake