Israel’s governing party, opposition sign unity government deal

Share on Facebook
Tweet on Twitter
Benny Gantz and Benjamin Netanyahu agreed to a coalition to tackle the coronavirus crisis

(BBC)-Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu and his political rival, Benny Gantz, have signed an agreement to form an emergency unity government.

The deal will reportedly see the pair rotating the leadership of the country, with Mr Netanyahu going first as PM.

It brings political certainty to Israel after three inconclusive elections and a year of political paralysis.

Both men had faced calls to avoid a fourth election and form a coalition to help tackle the coronavirus pandemic.

The Israeli health ministry has reported 13,654 confirmed cases of Covid-19 and 173 associated deaths. Some 150 patients are in a serious condition in hospital.

Mr Netanyahu and Mr Gantz signed the agreement in the prime minister’s residence in Jerusalem on Monday night, as Israel remained in near-total lockdown.

Mr Netanyahu tweeted a picture of the Israeli flag and a statement from his Likud party saying the deal established a “national emergency government”.

“We have prevented a fourth election. We will protect democracy. We will fight coronavirus and care for all Israel’s citizens,” Mr Gantz tweeted.

The agreement is expected to see Mr Netanyahu remain as prime minister for 18 months, during which time his delayed trial on corruption charges is due to start. He has denied any wrongdoing.

Mr Gantz will reportedly start off as defence minister, before taking over as prime minister late next year.

The BBC’s Tom Bateman in Jerusalem says the agreement between the two men marks an end to one of the most turbulent periods in Israeli political history and amounts to a victory for Mr Netanyahu, who stays in office despite a criminal indictment and a country deeply divided over leadership.

Mr Gantz, our correspondent adds, has ditched half of the political alliance he built in challenging Mr Netanyahu – some of his former allies have accused him of a betrayal by joining his former adversary in government.

This can be an interesting proposal in the context of Guyana. But, lets not rush to judgment because it would be like comparing oranges and apples. Guyana's problem are uniquely different, complicated by a government that wants to steal an election, and a racial problem that cries for a win-loose solution. Conceivably, the corona virus is considered a national emergency (or can lead to one), but political leaders are not ready to form such an alliance that proposes a rotating presidency.

The current impasse has no end in sight...its going to take months to complete this recount and validation process.

There was an election and the Government lost.  They stole the ballots and stop counting when they realised that the Coalition Government of Granger and Kakamootoo cannot win. Now they are saying  let's talk and form a partnership.    You don't break into a man's house and the next day you phoned him and say, "let's have coffee"  This is absurd. I hope Jagdeo does not agree to a unity Government under the PNC.  It would be the most stupid thing anybody has done since Chedi B. Jagan agreed to PR.

Israel did not sign a unity government. What they have there is the right wing parties and the moderate parties in a coalition. The left parties like the labor party are not in the coalition.

Election is the democratic right of the people to vote for a government of their choice . APNU/AFC was the people's choice in 2015, they did a terrible job and now the people have chosen PPPC to be the next government, and that is democracy. APNU never consider share government in 2015, and they never discuss this subject prior to March 2020 election.In fact, the PNC cabals were undecided of their PM candidate with AFC, its revised governance coalition accord saw a reduction in seats for AFC. Who will want to be associated with APNU/PNC. 

Our Democracy freedom is held hostage by APNU/PNC/AFC for greed of power. They are going around in circles to avoid a recount. If the leadership of APNU had the nation's interest at heart, they would have produce their SOPs to match PPPC over a month and respect the will of the people, but their priority is themselves and not even their supporters in this crisis ... they have NOT reach out to them with a single hamper. 

Gary Best who is fighting for survival and is hoping the PNC cabals is in position to help him in his judicial troubles .He was in Linden recently spewing PNC propaganda that the coalition win the election and it was the PPPC who wants to rig the recount.

" When God wants to destroy evil, he first makes them mad" and we are seeing this with APNU/AFC. 

# we shall overcome.

Who is posting with Dave's handle? Perhaps, his handlers gave him the composition to post? The parlance  is way above Dave's kinder garden level.

While you was travelling in Zoom admiring men I had the opportunity to improve my " parlance" under your roof. 

Who is posting with Dave's handle? Perhaps, his handlers gave him the composition to post? The parlance is way above Dave's kinder garden level.

Now, Now wah level you deh pan, Stupidee!!

Who is posting with Dave's handle? Perhaps, his handlers gave him the composition to post? The parlance is way above Dave's kinder garden level.

Now, Now wah level you deh pan, Stupidee!!

My sincere apologies. In the past, I assumed that you were a male poster. Sorry Miss Krissy.

Election is the democratic right of the people to vote for a government of their choice . APNU/AFC was the people's choice in 2015, they did a terrible job and now the people have chosen PPPC to be the next government, and that is democracy. APNU never consider share government in 2015, and they never discuss this subject prior to March 2020 election.In fact, the PNC cabals were undecided of their PM candidate with AFC, its revised governance coalition accord saw a reduction in seats for AFC. Who will want to be associated with APNU/PNC. 

Our Democracy freedom is held hostage by APNU/PNC/AFC for greed of power. They are going around in circles to avoid a recount. If the leadership of APNU had the nation's interest at heart, they would have produce their SOPs to match PPPC over a month and respect the will of the people, but their priority is themselves and not even their supporters in this crisis ... they have NOT reach out to them with a single hamper. 

Gary Best who is fighting for survival and is hoping the PNC cabals is in position to help him in his judicial troubles .He was in Linden recently spewing PNC propaganda that the coalition win the election and it was the PPPC who wants to rig the recount.

" When God wants to destroy evil, he first makes them mad" and we are seeing this with APNU/AFC. 

# we shall overcome.

Gary Best and Edward Collins were Janet Jorgan's darlings. They could not do any bad. These people got unity beyond belief.