It was a serious error to treat a special package for the AG as a benchmark

Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo appears to have intended to dismiss the public’s response to the 50% salary increase for Cabinet members in describing it [the response] as “comparable to beating a dead horse”, adding that “this rage has run its course”. (SN Oct 22 `Pay hike necessary to offset ministers’ loss of earnings. The latest evidence to the contrary is a letter by Mr Nowrang Persaud in yesterday’s Sunday Stabroek (25-10-15) `Attorney General’s salary should have been red-circled’.

In his letter, Mr. Persaud refers to a report touching on the differential between the salary of the Attorney General and the rest of the Cabinet on the need some decades ago to ‘import’ a Guyanese legal luminary with unique competences. In his last week’s Stabroek News column on the subject of the increases, Mr. Ralph Ramkarran had identified the package offered by Prime Minister Burnham to Sir Shridath Ramphal. Mr. Ramphal was at the time working in a top law firm in Jamaica, and in his new position in Guyana would be designated responsibility for two disparate portfolios – Attorney General and Minister of State for External Affairs – with the additional task of drafting the emerging country’s Independence Constitution.

It seems from his writings that Mr. Ramphal did his best to discourage Mr. Burnham from employing him: he would only accept the position as a technocrat without party affiliation; was doing well financially in Jamaica with his family; if for any technical reason he had to sit in the Legislature, he wanted no vote and would not be subject to any party whip. But as he said, Forbes Burnham was not easily put off and agreed to all his conditions, presumably salary included.

While the assertion that Mr. Ramphal received a special package is correct, it is unlikely to be the source of the link between the salary of the AG and that of the Chancellor. There was no Office of Chancellor at the time in 1964. A senior PNCR member explained to me that the link came much later when Chancellor Keith Massiah accepted President Hoyte’s invitation to become Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs.

In both cases – and I do believe the comparable situation is Justice Mr. Massiah’s – the appointment and the link were unique. Accordingly, the link should have been discontinued a long time ago, and certainly by the Granger Administration which came in to office on a promise of change. The incumbent AG is an elected member, not a technocrat and not a former Chancellor, and would not otherwise qualify for any special package. In my view therefore it was a serious error to treat such a package as the benchmark against which the salaries of other Cabinet members should be adjusted.

Mr. Nagamootoo declares that “any numbers could have been agreed for me, for the Prime Minister and it would have been fine”. That is noble but it would have been more convincing to his Cabinet colleagues and the public if he had declined any increase for himself. Instead, it appears that it was the lawyers in the Cabinet, who are in a minority, who argued that since their previous incomes were higher than they were originally receiving as cabinet ministers, they were entitled to the substantial increases.

Clearly not all of the Cabinet members are lawyers or were otherwise engaged in employment earning hefty taxable income. But even if they were, are they any less willing to serve than Peter D’Aguiar who left his top job at the most successful public company at the time to become Finance Minister? Even as an avowed capitalist Mr. D’Aguiar placed country before self. He did not insist that his Ministerial salary must be comparable with his colleague Ramphal’s, or that he should receive compensation no less than what he was receiving as the Managing Director of Banks DIH Limited.

And while we focus on the 50%, let us not forget that the number of Ministers has been increased, partly by increasing the number of ministers in some ministries and partly by splitting ministries and reducing the workload of many of them. This is the case with the Office of the Prime Minister, the Ministry of Home Affairs, now separated into Citizenship and Public Security, and the Ministry of Commerce, Tourism and Industry now split into separate ministries of Business and Tourism. Effectively then, while the increase on the salaries is 50% for Cabinet Members, the overall cost to the country is much greater, particularly when all the perks, some of questionable lawfulness, such as the tax free salary for the AG and maid and gardener allowances are taken into account.

Now that a leader of the AFC has expressed a position, the most saddening part of the episode for me is the eloquent silence of the leadership of the Working People’s Alliance. It is a party with a deserved reputation for speaking out on issues of political morality, conflicts of interest, misuse of power and fairness to and for the working class. While it was with some relief that I learnt that the Executive of the party is unhappy with the decision by Cabinet, if they want to restore the party’s reputation, they will have to do more than bear their unhappiness in silence.

Yours faithfully,
Christopher Ram

More and more, as this saga keeps unfolding, it appears to me that the members of the coalition were and are still not ready for "big time" the first indication of this was the Cummingsburg accord that decided on who gets what position. No agreement on what policies and programmes that will make Guyana a better place. Since then, it has gone downhill.

Z

Why should the First Vice President earn less than what Anil Nandalall was compensated?

Yeak keep kissing Moses ass.  Maybe you have a chance at the trough too.  These were the people that were supposed to fix things NOT feeds themselves on the backs of the people.

Mr. Ram.

I had reservations about the AFC. The leadership consisted of men who were failures at governing Guyana. I believe the WPA would be a better choice. So I called Freddie Kissoon and enquired why much more wasn't being done to improved the image of the WPA. His reply, "I am busy right now, but a quick answer I can give. The WPA is finished." 

Suh, why is Ram hoping for the WPA to answer for the scampishness of the AFC. It would appear, all faith is lost in the Nagamootto camp. 

I see the Prime Minister is on tour again. Why do these people feel they have to be present at every stupidass conference. Doan they think they should be home solving Guyanese problems. 

Originally Posted by VVP:

Why should the First Vice President earn less than what Anil Nandalall was compensated?

Yeak keep kissing Moses ass.  Maybe you have a chance at the trough too.  These were the people that were supposed to fix things NOT feeds themselves on the backs of the people.

You never spoke up about Jagdeo feeding himself at the trough.  Why Should he earn more than the Granger? You lost that right to speak up now. Would accept less than what Dindial was making for his position and responsibilities?

Mitts, please retread the article and then repost. By the way, what is the job description of the first vice president? Does it justify the increase and salary differential?

Z
Originally Posted by Zed:

Mitts, please retread the article and then repost. By the way, what is the job description of the first vice president? Does it justify the increase and salary differential?

Was Nandalall worth what he was paid? The Vice President is second in command. No?

You never spoke up about Jagdeo feeding himself at the trough.  Why Should he earn more than the Granger? You lost that right to speak up now. Would accept less than what Dindial was making for his position and responsibilities?

I guess you could only think in terms of PPP/PNC.  Unless you are a really dumb rass you should realize I am not a PPP supporter.  Didyal was my friend, but not anymore since I found out what he did to the people of Guyana.

And you can only think in terms of PPP/C. Was it not Jagdeo and Corbin who created the anomaly?

u full od shit he was your friend Originally Posted by VVP:

u full of shit he was your friend and did not now what he was doing u was the one feeding at the trough 

PLAIN, SIMPLE, FACTUAL!!!!!!!!!

LOL. Hope you guys can say what should be the benchmark other than what the PPP/C created for setting the salaries.

bai nehru drink up the rum u have a long fight ahead of u the ppp under bar-rat will break their own record of 28 yrs 

The First Vice President shouldn't make more that the Attorney General. The Coalition government can't use Anil Nandalall's compensation as a guide since they believed prior to May 11th that he was grossly overpaid. The Coalition government promised the Guyanese people during the elections that they will fix things. They will wipe out corruption and bring integrity to the government. For them to keep their promise, they should have dismantled all the overpayments including the AG's, structure the compensation accordingly so that the First Vice President is compensated better then the AG.

Instead, they kept all the PPP corrupted compensation packages and add some more to it since they are now saying that the PPP were underpaying themselves.   

Was Nandalall worth what he was paid?

NO. Therefore the new AG should be getting less than Nandalall, not the same or more. Adjusting the AG pay would have made the First Vice President pay more than the AG.

When Compared to Civil Servant minimum wage......How much was Burnham Paying one of his Advisors ...... can you shed some light.

Yes bai I have first hand knowledge.  My brother was
a Special Political Assistant and couldn't afford to properly feed his family.  Burnham use to take 1 month salary as donation to Congress.  Y'all learning from Jagdeo nat Burnham.

Moses is Guyana's Fat Pig.

Yes bai I have first hand knowledge.  My brother was
a Special Political Assistant and couldn't afford to properly feed his family.  Burnham use to take 1 month salary as donation to Congress.  Y'all learning from Jagdeo nat Burnham.

Many Indians became rich under Burnham. Ask Drugb and Yugi22. Is wuh wraang wid yuh brother?