Why don't you ask the US Dept of Agriculture why they subsidize beet, sugar cane and other agricultural farmers? 

Because extremely wealthy and corrupt land lords extract money from the taxpayers while poor farmers become bankrupt.  In fact the USA would be better if sugar was no longer subsidized.

Please name foods that Indians consume that others don't. Please don't say wheat flour. Split peas can be grown in Guyana, or some other peas.  And in any case this isn't only consumed by Indians.

Where was the announcement that Granger planned to ban anything though?

Yes "black man a starve ahbe" screams.  I suspect that you wish a race war while you sit down in perfect safety in North America typing away in your underwear.

If they are returning to Burnhamism, you know the list. They haven't issued the list yet. History in the making.

Yes and in 2020 if Jagdeo wins history will be in the making again. He will close down West Dem factories and what remains of sugar in East Dem and then transfer the lands to his wealthy Indocrats who will build more gated communities.  He already did this on the East Bank.

Why don't you ask the US Dept of Agriculture why they subsidize beet, sugar cane and other agricultural farmers? 

Because extremely wealthy and corrupt land lords extract money from the taxpayers while poor farmers become bankrupt.  In fact the USA would be better if sugar was no longer subsidized.

Please name foods that Indians consume that others don't. Please don't say wheat flour. Split peas can be grown in Guyana, or some other peas.  And in any case this isn't only consumed by Indians.

Where was the announcement that Granger planned to ban anything though?

Yes "black man a starve ahbe" screams.  I suspect that you wish a race war while you sit down in perfect safety in North America typing away in your underwear.

Split peas is a winter crop. I don't think it can be grown in Guyana.

I will excuse you due to your lack of education and the after effects of the stench of the slop can. .. 

I think that you refer to yourself, given your main task of carrying Jagdeo's slop, which you sniff as part of your addictions.  

And you have never displayed any evidence that you have ever darkened the door of any educational institution since Saints kicked you out in 4th form.

I am highly accomplished education wise, you on the other hand may not have gone past primary school. Hence basement apartment and section 8 assistance. 

You guys can't wait for the govt ban items so you can be miserable eh, yall dumb rassoles making up story. Yall scon# don't feel good when anything positive is happening in the country. 

Bai like yuh forget Banum days. It coming back.

Govt. to clamp down on food imports that can be produced locally

The Government of Guyana (GoG) intends “to break the back” of the excessive and unnecessary import of a range of food items and other products, which were either previously manufactured in Guyana, or which can be easily manufactured here.

TRADE-GUYANA: Ban on Imports Brings Back Unpleasant Memories

Bert Wilkinson

GEORGETOWN, Feb 16 1999 (IPS) - When the then people’s National Congress (PNC) of Prime Minister Forbes Burnham stopped the importation of several items into Guyana at the turn of the 1970s, the opposition People’s Progressive Party (PPP) and the middle class led spirited opposition to that policy.

In a country with a land area of 215,000 sq km and with a population of just under 800,000, Burnham and his advisers had based the policy move on the need to encourage the development of local industries and minimise the use of valuable foreign exchange to purchase what they called non-essential items.

The policy did bear some amount of success as several business persons invested in producing substitute products for items like Tomato Ketchup. The restrictions, as well, allowed fishermen for example, to offer consumers tonnes of salted fish from species indigenous to the country instead of imported Codfish.

Today Guyana can supply most of its Caribbean neighbours with items ranging from beef to fresh fruits to cut flowers.

But observers say now just when the world is moving toward liberalisation the PPP is going down the path the PNC dared to travel back in the 1970s.

“The PPP’s current initiative in reintroducing the already failed and discredited policy of restricting imports, through devices such as import licensing is the latest of their bankrupt policies. There is nothing positive that could be argued for the introduction of import restrictions,” says a statement from the PNC.

The Janet Jagan administration, embarrassed that the local currency has slipped 40 points to the U.S currency in the last year and facing bitter criticism from all sections of the society, at the weekend announced the re-introduction of import licences for a range of products similar to those banned or restricted by the Burnham government.

The government says the move, effective Mar 3, is aimed at protecting the dollar which on Monday traded at 180 Guyanese dollars to one U.S. dollar.

Food prices have already started to escalate and everyone is now turning to Finance Minister Bharrat Jagdeo’s 1999 budget to see what further measures are in the pipeline.

“You know when we implemented that policy, the opposition laughed at us, scorned us and scoffed at us, ” says PNC General Secretary Oscar Clarke.” They did everything to subvert the success of that process. They encouraged farmers not to produce and now they are doing the same thing. We have come the full circle so to speak.”

The list requiring permits from the trade ministry includes pharmaceuticals, agro chemicals, explosives, frozen meats – including chicken, pork and mutton – cosmetics, films, sugar, rice, grapes, apples, pears, cut flowers and parts of any plant.

The umbrella Private Sector Commission (PSC) has made no effort to hide its resentment at government.

“It is a backward step. The last time they did that it made a lot of people very rich. It led to serious corruption. An economy is either free or not free. I am not certain what they are doing,” says head of the PSC Yesu Persaud.

Persaud, considered a government supporter, says the business community is also unhappy that the authorities have not had the courtesy to call them to a meeting to explain the situation and to advise how it will work in a region moving to liberalised economies.

Then too some business persons fear that the government will appoint one of its trusted supporters to run the department handing out licences.

This, they say, could lead to favouritism in a country where stories of people being discriminated against on the basis of their race or political affiliation are rampant.

People like Persaud are worried about this development as any controversy over who gets a licence and who does not could spark political problems and further sour the country’s investment climate, already affected by social unrest.

” We have to do something to get more foreign investment for Guyana,” says Persaud. “We cannot continue to be a primary producer of commodities,” he says referring to the uncertainties of the international market for gold, rice, sugar, bauxite and timber, Guyana’s major exports.

Among the firms that could be seriously affected under this new policy are the American fast food KFC Franchise and DIDCO Trading which holds the franchise for KFC products and also imports chicken and meat products on a large scale.

But the local poultry industry seems to be holding its own and many Guyanese have expressed a preference for locally produced chickens.

” If it is a subtle way to return the economy to trade regulations, such proposals are likely to be resisted by non- compliance as has happened in the past,” the PSC says, referring to the development of a billion dollar smuggling trade for banned or restricted items in the 1970s and 80s.

“The PNC is â€Ķopposed to this policy of import restriction, since it remains irreversibly committed to the maintenance of a free market based economic system,” the statement from the PNC says.

Suh wha the PPP was trying in 1999,looks like they were following Burnham footsteps.

bai django, you can't force the people to develop an appetite for local products. It has to come from either local pride or the local products being of high quality. I don't see any reason why the Guyanese people prefer imports of bottle water, soda etc in preference of local products. These people are their own worse enemy, they always had an appetite for foreign products. 

.. I don't see any reason why the Guyanese people prefer imports of bottle water, soda etc in preference of local products. These people are their own worse enemy, they always had an appetite for foreign products. 

Interesting they will employ Bajans by drinking their fruit juice which is only water and sugar added to Brazilian fruit concentrates.  Then they will wail that they cannot find jobs in Guyana.  If they don't want to buy Guyanese products what do they think will happen?

.. I don't see any reason why the Guyanese people prefer imports of bottle water, soda etc in preference of local products. These people are their own worse enemy, they always had an appetite for foreign products. 

Interesting they will employ Bajans by drinking their fruit juice which is only water and sugar added to Brazilian fruit concentrates.  Then they will wail that they cannot find jobs in Guyana.  If they don't want to buy Guyanese products what do they think will happen?

Same with Chinese/Mexican made products...we complain there is no production and no work for our people, yet we purchase inferior products from these countries. I personally read labels before I make a purchase.

Which reminds me. Just yesterday I went into a West Indian grocery store, while there I saw a Guyanese woman pick up Demerara sugar and she made the mistake of telling me it was the best. When I told her it aint from Guyana, the dam woman suck she teet and asked where I got that from..dam! Still in this day and age there are people ignorant of fact. I turned the package over and showed "Product of Mauritius" again the stupid woman suck she teet and said " it still good, it doan harden." (Oh oh mistake when talking to DaCain)  I replied telling her "sometimes things that harden is good."  I left her with a, "have a great day"