http://www.caribnewsdesk.com/n...o-be-paid-late-again

UG workers to be paid late again

• Thursday, 20 June 2013 16:28

For a second straight month, University of Guyana workers are not going to be paid on time because the tertiary institution does not have sufficient money.

A circular to all staff issued on Thursday by Personnel Officer Jeffrey Walcott states that every effort is being made to pay salaries by June 25.

β€œSince we have received an inadequate subvention, we are unable to make payments as planned,” said Walcott.

That correspondence almost immediately sparked off industrial unrest on campus with staffers under the umbrella of the University of Guyana Workers Union (UGWU) holding a meeting and picketing exercise.

President of the UGWU, Bruce Haynes said a sit-in and picketing demonstration are planned for Friday. "We have to continue the process and we have to resist it," he said.

Minister of Education, Priya Manickchand said β€œthe matter is being addressed by the Ministry of Finance.”

Demwaves was told that UG is normally provided a subvention of an estimated GUY$60 million but the institution has been asking for about GUY$120 million.

The UGWU President explained that the university needed additional cash at the end of the semester to pay part time lecturers' emoluments, and study and vacation leave allowances in addition to other expenses.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

dem bannas get enough money fuf mek hotel to fund babby and edward and geeta, abd brazzi et al and not enough to keep our only university running.

As it is, govt already subsidizes the university too much, what is now required is a rise in tuition to fill the gap. You get what you pay for with subsidized education.  What you should be calling for is a private university to give students and teachers options.

dem bannas get enough money fuf mek hotel to fund babby and edward and geeta, abd brazzi et al and not enough to keep our only university running.

As it is, govt already subsidizes the university too much, what is now required is a rise in tuition to fill the gap. You get what you pay for with subsidized education.  What you should be calling for is a private university to give students and teachers options.

As noted, the had there been less of a leeching some cash flow would be available to aid students who are already not remotely ever to be able to access the institution were they to depend on the normal wages in the society.

As noted, you still advocate for entitlement while sitting in your armchair in the West where even public universities have skyrocketing tuition. It is easy to pass judgement when you have no vested interest.

Better we give it to our children than to bobby, brazzi,et al.  What qualifies you as having "valid" interests?

Me indoG you whiteman pretending to be AmerindianG

Me Amerind..you lunatic.

Danyael, do you realize if you were to stop any discussion with that fool, he won't have anyone one to speak to? No one converses with that bimbo.

He tried with carib but it was the same shit over and over, speaking with that sicko gets you nowhere.

he blocked most of the board...or says he did so I guess I am the only one left.

Danyael, do you realize if you were to stop any discussion with that fool, he won't have anyone one to speak to? No one converses with that bimbo.

He tried with carib but it was the same shit over and over, speaking with that sicko gets you nowhere.

he blocked most of the board...or says he did so I guess I am the only one left.

Tell cocaine to apologize publicly and then I may consider unblocking him. People should consider it a privilege to discourse with other posters and not an entitlement. He lonely for my attention but I have already marked him as spoiled goods. 

heh heh heh heh . . .

drugabeer