Following criminal charges…Carvil Duncan’s status on constitutional bodies questioned

February 3, 2016 | By | Filed Under News 

Former Board member of the Guyana Power and Light Inc., Carvil Duncan, who is currently facing the

Carvil Duncan

court on larceny charges, is consulting with his attorney with respect to the impact the court proceedings will have on his tenure on several Constitutional Service Commissions.
Duncan, who is presently the Chairman of the Public Service Commission, and who also serves on the Judicial and Police Service Commissions, was slapped with three charges, related to monies from the Guyana Power and Light Inc.
His position is being questioned by some observers who believe that Duncan’s tenure in the above mentioned Commissions could become controversial since he will be dealing with issues that involve persons in conflicting positions.
“Imagine he is appearing before a Magistrate, who will be subjected to decisions made by him as a member of the Judicial Service Commission. Additionally, he was charged by ranks of the Guyana Police Force, whom he may have to be deal with at the level of the Police Service Commission, of which Duncan is also a member,” an attorney-at-law told this newspaper.
But Duncan does not see it that way.
“I do not see it that way. The matter is being looked at by my lawyer,” Duncan told Kaieteur News in an invited comment yesterday.
Duncan was on Tuesday last placed on $1M bail after he pleaded not guilty to the three charges.
Police alleged that on March 31, 2015 at Georgetown, he stole GYD$984,900, property of GPL; on the same day at Georgetown, he conspired with GPL’s then Deputy Chief Executive Officer, Aeshwar Deonarine to steal $984,900, property of the power company and that he conspired with Deonarine to commit a felony that is to say between May 7 and 8 at Georgetown he conspired to steal GYD$27,757,500, property of that utility company.
According to Duncan the charges are merely allegations. “Anybody is innocent until proven guilty,” he said.
Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo believes that it’s up to the embattled Duncan to do the honorable thing and remove himself from the Constitutional Commissions he currently sits on.
“I would expect that there would be a public interest side of this. I’m not judging him because a man is presumed to be innocent until proven guilty. But it’s maybe up to him to withdraw from all of these positions,” the Prime Minister told this newspaper in an invited comment last Saturday.
“I don’t know of any law that tells me that you could remove someone if they are charged and placed before court….I haven’t looked at the scenario and I’m not aware that government has looked at it,” Prime Minister Nagamootoo added.
One letter writer, an attorney at law, in yesterday’s edition cited the ‘dictat’, which speaks to public officials who have been charged for some offence to be interdicted from duty until the conclusion of the matter.
The writer noted that depending on the result of the matter, the official is either fired or reinstated.
“This rule seems to be honoured more in the breach than in the observance as in this classic case of a serving member of the Judicial Service Commission and the Police Service Commission, both constitutional bodies that are advocates of the law,” the letter writer stated.

Vishnu do you remember when Ravi Dev Indian Jihaji Boys made Jagdeo crawl thru the Dutty Toilet floor at Herman Singh Place in Richmond Hill?

Were you there?

The Acting CEO of GPL Colin Welsh  was allegedly caught taking bribe.

He is still working. As per your intelligence, Moses, Granger is part of this... right. 

Was you promised a job and didn’t have the qualifications, so you vomit your scorn on Jagdeo .

Zed posted:

I thought that he was Moses friend also when the the serf was a leading member of the PPP. 

Who was Moses Friend...."De President who crawl on the Toilet Floor?"

ian posted:

He is still working. As per your intelligence, Moses, Granger is part of this... right. 

Was you promised a job and didn’t have the qualifications, so you vomit your scorn on Jagdeo .

Welch is a questionable fella,the current board is looking in to the allegations.

ian posted:

Ian as sharma would say.... "Allegedly"..... who was the alligator?

Like Ian vex.....

"Moses & Granger".....cleaning up "Jagdeo & Ramotar Thiefing" .

Bhai Kwame saying Ian get lucky....

he Love Jagdeo and the getting marry in Camp Street.

So Ian keep yuh love fuh Jagdeo to yuh self.....

Do not let every one know.

Jalil you are back.

Yuh think "De Engineer" gon Remember....

he told us how Ravi Dev Jihai fellas.....

mek Jagdeo crawl thru De Toilet at Herman (our Friend) place

on Atlantic Avenue in Richmond Hill.....

It wasn't no Fullaman Involved.....

Ravi Dev Hindu Bhai real wicked....

One ah dem pee pon prezie.

Jalil posted:

Vishnu do you remember when Ravi Dev Indian Jihaji Boys made Jagdeo crawl thru the Dutty Toilet floor at Herman Singh Place in Richmond Hill?

Were you there?

Was TK one of them bais?

Jalil you are back.

Yea yea, the wutliss fullah club back in full attendance.  Now alyuh natt relegated to cussing out Hindus, Christians and Jews in alyuh Masjid on weekends.  Alyuh can come here, but cutlass and belna gon fly pon alyuh rass!!!

baseman posted:

Jalil you are back.

Yea yea, the wutliss fullah club back in full attendance.  Now alyuh natt relegated to cussing out Hindus, Christians and Jews in alyuh Masjid on weekends.  Alyuh can come here, but cutlass and belna gon fly pon alyuh rass!!!

Bhai we respect Decent Hindus..... Pandit Ramlall is a good man.

Pandit Gee go to Jail fuh PPP.

ian posted:

Welch is a questionable fella,the current board is looking in to the allegations.

Correct, while he's working. Why wasn't he send on leave. 

Jalil posted:
ian posted:

Like Ian vex.....

Jalil, your follow up comments prove your intelligence.

You prove me wrong.

ian posted:

Yeah DEm gun look and look and look!!!!!!!!!!

ian posted:

Yeah DEm gun look and look and look!!!!!!!!!!

That chap Badal nah guh find nothing.

Jalil, I was referring to the friendship between Moses and Duncan. 

Also, you seem obsessed with Jagdeo, were I fFreudian, I would say that this might be a sexual obsession. Obviously by your statements, you had some connections to Jagdeo in the past. Got rejected? No job offers from him?

Z
Zed posted:

Also, you seem obsessed with Jagdeo, were I fFreudian, I would say that this might be a sexual obsession. Obviously by your statements, you had some connections to Jagdeo in the past. Got rejected? No job offers from him?

Ha Ha, though the same ...

Jalil posted:
ian posted:

Like Ian vex.....

Zed posted:

Now them PPP antyman exposing dem backside more by trying to say Duncan was Moses Friend.

Who Appoint Duncan De Thiefman , the Chairman of the Public Service Commission, ......IS IT MOSES

Who Appoint Duncan De Thiefman ,  on the Police Service Commission, ......IS IT MOSES?

Who Appoint Duncan De Thiefman , on the Judical Service Commission, ......IS IT MOSES?

Who Appoint Duncan De Thiefman , #2 Person On  the Guyana Power & Light Board, ......IS IT MOSES?

Who Appoint Duncan De Thiefman , on all these Important Constitutional Commissions, ......IS IT MOSES?

Jagdeo got all aya scratching & Itching....both Frontside & Backside now

look no matter who appointed him to these positions, Moses and him were buddies in the labour movement. Look at the muted comments Moses made when he was asked about Duncan resigning.

Furthermore, I was not aware I was with the PPP or that I was your aunty's man. What, are you taking over from one of the posters here who keeps pimping his aunties? I see that you eyes are always on the men when and where they are scratching. Something does not seem right with this. Personally, I look at the other sex but, I guess, each to his own. 

Z
Zed posted:

look no matter who appointed him to these positions, Moses and him were buddies in the labour movement. Look at the muted comments Moses made when he was asked about Duncan resigning.

Furthermore, I was not aware I was with the PPP or that I was your aunty's man. What, are you taking over from one of the posters here who keeps pimping his aunties? I see that you eyes are always on the men when and where they are scratching. Something does not seem right with this. Personally, I look at the other sex but, I guess, each to his own. 

Next Zeb will claim Moses is friend with Lamumba, Joe Hamilton, Bynoe, Kit Nascimento, Norman McClean, Jerry Gouviea,  Kwamie and all them Black House of Israel Thugs.

Look like Zeb was busy Scratching and Itching when Jagdeo move them Black House-of-Israel Jihaji into Freedom House and Office of the President.

You cannot deny the obvious so you post a lot of crap. Do you see me defending of those of whom you have a sexual, body activities  or  sexual obsession? This about the convenient memory loss that politicians have once they get into power and about you believing that the present government's actions is justified by the previous government's actions.

i will send you some  blinders that jackasses wear so that in your journeys, you will not be distracted by all of these scratching and itching that men do. Must be really distracting.

Also, to tell you the truth, I miss that you were not here for a while because I missed the graphics, the Gobbels approach to propaganda and the good laugh I get with your posts. 

Z