Jagdeo brushes off US envoy's concerns about Guyana's narco-image.
Written by Denis Scott Chabrol - Monday, 29 August 2011 11:11

President Bharrat Jagdeo on Monday brushed aside concerns about the image of Guyana as a country heading for narco-statehood and his administration appearing unwilling to fight the drug trade.

Confidential United States diplomatic cables recently released by the whistleblowing site, Wikeleaks, saw the then American Ambassador Roland Bullen weighing in on the reasons why an office of the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) was not yet opened in Guyana.

Speaking with Demerara Waves Online News ( www.demwaves.com ), Jagdeo relied on what he said was the United States’ refusal to confirm that the communication are American diplomatic cables.

He said his presidency and the country’s profile would be unaffected by Wikileaks’ revelations.

“If I allow an American ambassador’s view to put a damper on my feeling or my image, then I wouldn’t be fit to run this country. This is their opinion about what is taking place in Guyana,” he said.

Against the background of Bullen telling Washington that Guyana was heading for narco-statehood and government was lukewarm to the narco-fight, Jagdeo dismissed such assertions and questioned the credibility.

“I just want it to come out because it’s interesting to see ambassadors’ perspectives… I find a lot of amusing; it is like ambassadors speaking, their opinion, nothing is substantiated so I’m looking forward to more fun with Wikileaks, “ he said

Guyana heading for narco-statehood; govt lukewarm about drug trade-- Wikileaks.
Written by Demerara Waves Saturday, 27 August 2011 13:47.

The United States (US) badly wants a Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA) office in Guyana because the South American country is approaching narco-statehood, already resulting in drug seeping into almost all layers of the society.

“Post requests the formal establishment of a DEA office at Embassy Georgetown. Guyana is well on its way to narco-statehood -- a prospect that poses a real threat to U.S. interests,” said then American ambassador, Roland Bullen.

The cable was dispatched on May 24, 2006 to, among others, the US Secretary of State, DEA Headquarters in Washington. "The level of narco-trafficking influence on the political, judicial and economic systems in Guyana creates ripe conditions for the emergence of a narco- state,” the Grenada-born ambassador told his principals as well as counterparts in Trinidad, Suriname and Venezuela.

The American envoy believed that a DEA presence in Guyana would significantly improve the US government’s ability to fight drug trafficking in Guyana.

Bullen noted that while Guyana, with a population of 750,000 people and an official Gross Domestic Product (GDP) of less than US$1 billion does not attract much US government attention, narco-traffickers regarded Guyana where they can “operate with impunity” partly because of its geography, law enforcement corruption and a government that is less than enthusiastic about smashing the drug trade.

“They see a country with porous borders, corrupt and ineffective law enforcement, little or no control over its airspace, vast swaths of uncontrolled land, ready access to the Caribbean, North America, and Europe, and a government that has been lukewarm about clamping down on the drug trade,” Bullen said in his missive.

In an earlier cable dated January 6, 2006, Bullen noted that the two countries have been talking about setting up a DEA office here since 1999 and questioned the Guyana government’s sincerity in wanting one. “The current stumbling block is the GoG's inability or reluctance to give approval for basic logistical details. Post's position remains the same -- the USG is ready to work with and advise the GoG as soon as the GoG is fully prepared to move forward in its fight against narco-trafficking.”

The Guyana government has, over the years, complained bitterly that countries like the US have been reluctant to provide enough funding and other rescources to combat the narco-trade. Guyana expects support through the one-year old US-Caribbean Basin Secuity Initiative (CBSI) to fight the narcotics trade and money laundering.

In the May 24, 2006 cable , the American envoy described as “an especially disturbing development” was Guyana’s involvement in “drugs for arms; financing for insurgent groups like the FARC throughout the region.

In addition, large-scale Autodefensas Unidas de Colombia (AUC) infiltration into Venezuela has led to their playing a significant role in narcotics smuggling activities on the Guyana/Venezuela border, he said.

The US embassy’ primary objective in 2008 of disrupting criminal organisations was, he said, difficult by the lack of a permanent DEA presence in Guyana. The office in Trinidad is fully pre-occupied with the counter-narcotics initiatives in their host nation.

Describing the narco-situation in Guyana as “severe”, he said the DEA could work more effectively to accomplish the critical MPP counter-narcotics objectives and provide more sustained support to local law enforcement agencies in Guyana.

The DEA was expected to establish a vetted counter-narcotics unit in Guyana but the ambassador told the Secretary of State that he was worried that it could become infected by corruption.

“An important challenge facing this unit is the pervasive corruption in the country, which has undermined previous Guyanese counter-narcotics initiatives,” he said, adding that establishing a DEA office will allow close and constant monitoring of the vetted unit to help alleviate this problem.
Originally posted by Tola:

President Bharrat Jagdeo on Monday brushed aside concerns about the image of Guyana as a country heading for narco-statehood and his administration appearing unwilling to fight the drug trade.

Confidential United States diplomatic cables recently released by the whistleblowing site, Wikeleaks, saw the then American Ambassador Roland Bullen weighing in on the reasons why an office of the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) was not yet opened in Guyana.

Speaking with Demerara Waves Online News ( www.demwaves.com ), Jagdeo relied on what he said was the United States’ refusal to confirm that the communication are American diplomatic cables.

He said his presidency and the country’s profile would be unaffected by Wikileaks’ revelations.

“If I allow an American ambassador’s view to put a damper on my feeling or my image, then I wouldn’t be fit to run this country. This is their opinion about what is taking place in Guyana,” he said.

Against the background of Bullen telling Washington that Guyana was heading for narco-statehood and government was lukewarm to the narco-fight, Jagdeo dismissed such assertions and questioned the credibility.

“I just want it to come out because it’s interesting to see ambassadors’ perspectives… I find a lot of amusing; it is like ambassadors speaking, their opinion, nothing is substantiated so I’m looking forward to more fun with Wikileaks, “ he said
This is such an arrogant, self affirming fU&%! He might not care that we have acquired such a disparaging label but we do. His hapless government has left us with that legacy now we are viewed by the first world powers as just another banana republic with a empty puffed up fool as a leader. For his information, that label assigned us by the ambassador is simply a reiteration of what is clear to most who are not with their heads up this fools rear end.
Why is Jagdeo saying that he finds the posts of the American Ambassador 'amusing?' It is these comments from the Ambassador that would determine US policy toward Guyana. Surely he should know that.
Originally posted by D2:

This is such an arrogant, self affirming fU&%! He might not care that we have acquired such a disparaging label but we are. His hapless government has left us with that legacy now we are viewed by the first world powers as just another banana republic with a empty puffed up fool as a leader. For his information, that label assigned us by the ambassador is simply a reiteration of what is clear to most of not with their heads up this fools rear end.

I dont believe Jagdeo's limited intelligence fully comprehend where he has left Guyana and her people for future generations.
He has seen structural improvements, but no connection to the ordinary man, who continue to struggle for their daily survival.
Originally posted by cain:
Words could never describe how I feel as I read what that butthead Jag said. Is Jagdeo and SuperMike the same person?

Man i love how Dr Jagdeo diss this gadaha BULL-IN in this statement...bullin and obama should try and stop drugs...am..am lets say in DC alone...just a couple blocks away from the white house...dem rass should try to clean up their house before dem come push dem ass in other people wan..don't even tink about NY and Baltimore...juss clean up DC. cheers
Originally posted by SuperMike:
did the little piggy say whee! whee! whee! all the way home? But I guese this one is a fatted cow given he is an expert at graft, nepotism and corruption!
Originally posted by D2:
This is such an arrogant, self affirming fU&%! He might not care that we have acquired such a disparaging label but we do. His hapless government has left us with that legacy now we are viewed by the first world powers as just another banana republic with a empty puffed up fool as a leader. For his information, that label assigned us by the ambassador is simply a reiteration of what is clear to most who are not with their heads up this fools rear end.

The US give a lil 10K US funding for fighting drugs in Guyana and they expect miracles. I wish they had the same expectations about Miami, NY and the many other states the the narco trade flourish and corrupt officials are in collusion with drug lords. hahhahhahhah The lesson is : don't throw stones if you live in glass houses.
Originally posted by BGurd_See:
Originally posted by D2:

The US give a lil 10K US funding for fighting drugs in Guyana and they expect miracles. I wish they had the same expectations about Miami, NY and the many other states the the narco trade flourish and corrupt officials are in collusion with drug lords. hahhahhahhah The lesson is : don't throw stones if you live in glass houses.
Why should it give the facilitators of the drug trade money to fight the trade? The crooks would simply pocket the loot.

We go after drug king pins here. None of them live openly here. Secondly, there are aggressive publicly funded drug treatment and prevention programs here.
Originally posted by Alexander:
Why is Jagdeo saying that he finds the posts of the American Ambassador 'amusing?' It is these comments from the Ambassador that would determine US policy toward Guyana. Surely he should know that.

If u have noticed the tirades of the man, then u must know is another Biblical Nabal.
The HONORABLE Prez Jagdeo is a Statesman of high calibre. Not an ASS Kisser like you. Like he said the American Ambassador is entitled to his opinion but Prez Jagdeo IS THe SUPREME Leader of Guyana > Naive People like you respect everything the Americans say about the negative aspect of our Country. Either you people are not smart enough or simple worshiping the Americans.
Originally posted by D2:

Originally posted by Nehru:
The HONORABLE Prez Jagdeo is a Statesman of high calibre. Not an ASS Kisser like you. Like he said the American Ambassador is entitled to his opinion but Prez Jagdeo IS THe SUPREME Leader of Guyana > Naive People like you respect everything the Americans say about the negative aspect of our Country. Either you people are not smart enough or simple worshiping the Americans.
Originally posted by D2:

Tell me whose ass I kiss? I do not have to ask you that question since you have jagarat tattooed on you lips. I doubt you have the intellectual wherewithal to discern wisdom from ignorance.
Originally posted by D2:

Alyuh gatt nuff mouth, datts why the PNC ruled for 28 years. The US finally felt confortable to let the PPP have their day in 1992 and alyuh gatt fatt talk after all the debt forgiveness. The US has seen the PPP for who they always were, an anti-US, anti-West bunch. The US will keep Guyana at subsistence existance and no one, not the Chinese nor Russians, no one can do anything. No strategic development will take place, the oil and gas will be mapped and capped with no major development. Guyana's best talent will find a home on the regional neighbours, including Surinaam, all will develop and leave Guyana rivaling Haiti, and almost the Somalia of South America. Alyuh PPP Commies like to play bad, so the US will keep alyuh right deh, slapping mosquitoes.
Traitors and Naive Scumbags always take such paths!!!

Wow, I never thought of you as such. But it's good you see the light. You will grow old and grey and impotent (if not already) and be spewing the same swill.

Guyana is on the path of the PPP, why complain.
Guyana has never been BETTER and Snakeoil Salesmen like you are NOT going to FOOL the Guyanese People. One thing I know about Guyanese is that we are very bright and NOT Stupid to be taken down the road of destruction and neglect.
Originally posted by baseman:

Wow, I never thought of you as such. But it's good you see the light. You will grow old and grey and impotent (if not already) and be spewing the same swill.

Guyana has never been BETTER and Snakeoil Salesmen like you are NOT going to FOOL the Guyanese People. One thing I know about Guyanese is that we are very bright and NOT Stupid to be taken down the road of destruction and neglect.

You promise to mek your first trip after elections? Dem not stupid alright, they have their hands on that passport waiting for that visa.
Everyone in the World getting Passports. It is a sign of Progress and Prosperity.

You promise to mek your first trip after elections? Dem not stupid alright, they have their hands on that passport waiting for that visa.
Originally posted by BGurd_See:
The US give a lil 10K US funding for fighting drugs in Guyana and they expect miracles.

They wanted to give more but your PPP didnt want it, as it would huve entailed the DEA locating operations in guyana. Now it would have been quite embarrassing for PPP ties to narco businessmen to have bene openly revealed.
What else is there to say? In the Red Rood, they teach you. keep your head low when facts are being fired. It will pass.

Brush off = it will pass.

People strave = it will pass.

Corruption and Sqnadermania galore = it will pass.

Stealing from the people == it will end.

Good always overcome evil.

Who ever thought that a half naked man would have over thrown the British empire where the sun never set? It happeen and it has passed.

“They see a country with porous borders, corrupt and ineffective law enforcement, little or no control over its airspace, vast swaths of uncontrolled land, ready access to the Caribbean, North America, and Europe, and a government that has been lukewarm about clamping down on the drug trade,”

As a commissioned officer based in the NW in the 1970's I made mention of all of the above including Jonestown cultivation of cannabis and the exportation of it freely , the foreign planes coming in to export gold illegally etc and was threatened to be sent to Tanzania. Now with a govt which has less control of military law enforcement coupled with corruption and the fact locals are now proving to be dangerous drug gangs Bharrat needs an enema to wake him up. But I guess he is leaving all this shyte for Donald who of course aint worried as long as he gets what he wants before he chokes on a curry chicken bone .
Originally posted by kidmost:
“They see a country with porous borders, corrupt and ineffective law enforcement, little or no control over its airspace, vast swaths of uncontrolled land, ready access to the Caribbean, North America, and Europe, and a government that has been lukewarm about clamping down on the drug trade,”

As a commissioned officer based in the NW in the 1970's I made mention of all of the above including Jonestown cultivation of cannabis and the exportation of it freely , the foreign planes coming in to export gold illegally etc and was threatened to be sent to Tanzania. Now with a govt which has less control of military law enforcement coupled with corruption and the fact locals are now proving to be dangerous drug gangs Bharrat needs an enema to wake him up. But I guess he is leaving all this shyte for Donald who of course aint worried as long as he gets what he wants before he chokes on a curry chicken bone .

NW eh, as a lil bai I lived on Hosororo hill then later in Wauna.
Originally Posted by Tola:

This is fine, he can brush from now for the next 3 years.  Once he lose power, the diplomatic passport gets pulled and then is when UNCLE SAM will move in on the FIRST FAG.

You people use your time to throw dirt at the administration instead of offering solutions to problems. Demanding that the gov't be removed is unjustifiable if the alternative has no solutions to the problems we face.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

You people use your time to throw dirt at the administration instead of offering solutions to problems. Demanding that the gov't be removed is unjustifiable if the alternative has no solutions to the problems we face.

Look at Rohee & Jagdeo Record

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/co...eddi-jagan-airport-1

Now .....

Why Yuh want keep them Thief...

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/me...ons-in-guyana-report

Who must find De Solution?