Here are my reasons why: Despite some of the many wrong things he did as president - he transformed Guyana by giving businesses and citizens the confidence in spending and building the country to what it is today. Confidence is of utmost importance to any economy. He went ahead and build the Providence Stadium that highlighted the spirit of sports and entertainment. The undertaking of the Amelia Hydro-Power Plant was greater than the cost at a time when Guyana's would have enjoyed the benefit of clean and cheaper energy. CJIA is our national gateway and it must be the first impression when citizens and foreigners enter Guyana. Jagdeo scores big but many of those major projects met with challenges from the opposition. There were other important undertakings that were in the works. (Let me add that I remember who were picketing and objecting to his progress. I also know who were making objections to concrete houses vs wood houses). 

Despite the unfinished work, Jagdeo raised the standard for Guyana and Guyanese. I hope he can continue his vision through Irfaan Ali to further develop Guyana into a true oil economy country of the future. 

Petal

So how come it's still above Haiti .

Providence Stadium ,Re-modeled Airport ,Berbice Bridge -with the largest tolls ,White Elephant Skeldon Sugar Factory and Marriot Hotel  are hallmarks of visionary leader.

Let's add Narcotics Trade ,Gun running ,money laundering, Corruption ,tax evasion and other Social ills all under Jagdeo ,visionary indeed.

Some people need to take of the blinders.

All listed in the second paragraph ,was curtailed within the last five years of the Coalition Government.

@Django posted:

Providence Stadium ,Re-modeled Airport ,Berbice Bridge -with the largest tolls ,White Elephant Skeldon Sugar Factory and Marriot Hotel  are hallmarks of visionary leader.

Let's add Narcotics Trade ,Gun runings ,money laundering, Corruption ,tax evasion and other Social ills all under Jagdeo ,visionary indeed.

All listed in the second paragraph ,was curtailed within the last five years of the Coalition Government.

I said - Despite some of the many wrong things he did as president. I am focusing on the good he has done to Guyana and hopes that his vision continues to shine. In every great person, there are challenges he/she must face. 

Let us co-operate for Guyana
Let us co-operate for our land,
Let us resolve to fight together
See we do it right together
Can we do it? Yes we can.

Each man must do his bit with his comrades,
Each man must do his bit for his land,
Each must resolve to help another,
Learn to call his neighbor 'brother'

Each group must do its best for the region,
Each group must do its best for the land,
Each group must sacrifice a little
Learn to do without a little

The regions must unite for the country,
The regions must unite for the land,
Each region has its chosen mission
But they all have one ambition

Let us co-operate for Guyana
Let us co-operate for our land
Let us resolve to fight together
See we do it right together

@Django posted:

Let's add Narcotics Trade ,Gun running ,money laundering, Corruption ,tax evasion and other Social ills all under Jagdeo ,visionary indeed.

Take off your blinders ... is Marriot Hotel and Providence a white elephant. Let’s speak of Durban Park where billions was spend and is unaccountable. Let’s speak of the airport that was reduced in size and billions more pump into it and is not functioning properly.
In the last five years, APNU squander billions of dollars left in the treasury by PPPC and we are at a deficit of minus 92 billion dollars. Where did all this money go? Where is the good life? 

Take off your blinders ... is Marriot Hotel and Providence a white elephant. Let’s speak of Durban Park where billions was spend and is unaccountable. Let’s speak of the airport that was reduced in size and billions more pump into it and is not functioning properly.
In the last five years, APNU squander billions of dollars left in the treasury by PPPC and we are at a deficit of minus 92 billion dollars. Where did all this money go?

Where is the good life? 

Comprehension is a bad thing.

Good life will be back for Money Launderers ,Tax evaders ,Corrupted excise officials...etc.

This thread is to give credit to Jahdeo for all things he makes possible for Guyana. But let's not drift away for the people's representation. I understand that what a president does when he is in office belong to the country, where everyone can benefit from. A bridge that spans a river gives people access to cross, do business and trade, etc. Isn't the same procedure should be used to all citizens of Guyana under new leadership?  

In the last five years, APNU squander billions of dollars left in the treasury by PPPC and we are at a deficit of minus 92 billion dollars. Where did all this money go? Where is the good life? 

This is all propaganda. What about pink elephant Skeldon Estate? Why is it more Indians migrated during the PPP rule?

Guyana Net Migration Rate 1950-2020

Source - https://www.macrotrends.net/co...guyana/net-migration

Chart and table of the Guyana net migration rate from 1950 to 2020. United Nations projections are also included through the year 2100.

• The current net migration rate for Guyana in 2020 is -7.146 per 1000 population, a 3.87% decline from 2019.
  • The net migration rate for Guyana in 2019 was -7.434 per 1000 population, a 3.73% decline from 2018.
  • The net migration rate for Guyana in 2018 was -7.722 per 1000 population, a 3.75% decline from 2017.
  • The net migration rate for Guyana in 2017 was -8.023 per 1000 population, a 3.63% decline from 2016.
Guyana - Historical Net Migration Rate Data
YearNet Migration RateGrowth Rate
2020-7.146-3.870%
2019-7.434-3.730%
2018-7.722-3.750%
2017-8.023-3.630%
2016-8.325-3.490%
2015-8.626-3.380%
2014-8.928-3.260%
2013-9.229-8.280%
2012-10.062-7.650%
2011-10.895-7.100%
2010-11.728-6.630%
2009-12.561-6.220%
2008-13.394-5.040%
2007-14.105-4.790%
2006-14.815-4.580%
2005-15.526-4.370%
2004-16.236-4.200%
2003-16.947-6.650%
2002-18.154-6.230%
2001-19.361-5.870%
2000-20.569-5.540%
1999-21.776-5.250%
1998-22.9837.080%
1997-21.4637.620%
1996-19.9438.240%
1995-18.4248.990%
1994-16.9049.880%
1993-15.384-13.240%
1992-17.732-11.690%
1991-20.080-10.470%
1990-22.428-9.480%
1989-24.776-8.660%
1988-27.1241.510%
1987-26.7211.530%
1986-26.3181.550%
1985-25.9161.580%
1984-25.5131.600%
1983-25.1109.980%
1982-22.83211.080%
1981-20.55412.460%
1980-18.27614.240%
1979-15.99816.600%
1978-13.720-1.820%
1977-13.974-1.780%
1976-14.227-1.750%
1975-14.481-1.720%
1974-14.734-1.690%
1973-14.9883.370%
1972-14.5003.480%
1971-14.0123.620%
1970-13.5233.740%
1969-13.0353.890%
1968-12.54714.090%
1967-10.99716.420%
1966-9.44619.630%
1965-7.89624.440%
1964-6.34532.330%
1963-4.79521.860%
1962-3.93527.970%
1961-3.07538.830%
1960-2.21563.470%
1959-1.355173.740%
1958-0.495102.040%
1957-0.245-5,000.000%
19560.005-98.030%
19550.254-49.600%
19540.504-33.160%
19530.754-24.900%
19521.004-19.940%
19511.254-16.570%
19501.5030.000%

@Django posted:

Two things I agree could have been better:

The capital structure of the Bbce bridge causing high tolls. PPP should subsidize it and bring down tolls.

Skeldon was not the best use of funds. The Indians would have done a better job. 

The rest are not valid and speculation.  The drug runnings in Guyana were largely Columbian cartels with local collaborators, (I believe) many in the security forces.

The capital structure of the Bbce bridge causing high tolls. PPP should subsidize it and bring down tolls.

Skeldon was not the best use of funds. The Indians would have done a better job. 

The Berbice River Bridge will be back as milking scheme for some folks.

Let's see what will be done to Skeldon Sugar Factory.

The rest are not valid and speculation.  The drug runnings in Guyana were largely Columbian cartels with local collaborators, (I believe) many in the security forces.

That''s why yall need to be proactive in a country's development to give inputs. Let's not cry over spilled milk. Running a country is like running a business. It's risks, cost, and spending, and hope the returns are profitable. The major downfall is to hire big paying management who can't do the job.

That''s why yall need to be proactive in a country's development to give inputs. Let's not cry over spilled milk.

Running a country is like running a business. It's risk, cost, and spending, and hoping returns are profitable.

In a country, the people benefits with well managed spending ,curtailing the thieving more can be done.

@Django posted:

PNC put them deh.

@Django posted:

That's what his supporters wanted ,Irfaan is the puppet , will he be allowed to govern the country again thru the back door ? we will find out.

The Leader of the Party will have a say in everything, just like the Russians.  Remember he was educated in Russia and he was the best and most intelligent President in the history of Guyana.

I bet Donald Trump Loves him.

@Django posted:

Bhai, when you don't like a man, you always give him a basket to bail a leaking boat. The PNC is no altar boy. The drug trade is still profitable. Look how many PNC mules got caught with cocaine pellets in their stomachs. That's where the campaign financing took a big hit.

That''s why yall need to be proactive in a country's development to give inputs. Let's not cry over spilled milk. Running a country is like running a business. It's risks, cost, and spending, and hope the returns are profitable. The major downfall is to hire big paying management who can't do the job.

Running a country is NOT like running a business.  And I’m not the one crying over spilt milk.