The fact that Jagdeo is ineligible for election to the Presidency also makes him ineligible to be appointed Prime Minister.

One can reasonably surmise that the recent noise about making Jagdeo an elected MP and this challenge to the Term Limits Act would seem to lead right to the Office of the Prime Minister.

There used to be a show called "No Big Ting", which eventually became the Link Show.

The notion that the PPP approved a constitutional amendment and now claim that this amendment has me rolling on the ground.  Ramotar is as likable as a toad and so they are terrified that he will make it easy for many disgruntled PPP supporters to just stay home, even more than did last time.

I wonder when the PPP will start telling us that holding the election on May 11 is also illegal.

I would love to be a fly on the wall when the results come in showing massive turn out in PNC areas, and dismal turnout in PPP areas, allowing a PNC 151k vote to beat the PPPs 150k vote.  Janet is going to become a jumbie and enter Gail's body and lash them with licks. 

Burnham's jumble will jump into one of the House of Israel thugs and start laughing at them, and asking whether they think that he Burnham rigged the election.

DG will retire from GNI just as Rev did when the Obama victory humiliated him.  I note he seems scarce now.  Maybe his "data" indicates that a PPP loss is indeed possible.

::[QUOTE]::

101. (1) The President shall appoint an elected member of the National Assembly to be Prime Minister of Guyana.

(2) The Prime Minister shall be the principal assistant of the President in the discharge of his executive functions and leader of Government business in the National Assembly.

102. (1) The President may appoint Vice-Presidents for the purpose of assisting him in the discharge of his functions.

(2) If his is not otherwise the holder of an office of Vice-President, the person holding the office of Prime Minister shall, by virtue of holding that office, be a Vice-President, and he shall have precedence over any other Vice-President.

103. (1) The Prime Minister and every other Vice-President shall be a Minister of the Government of Guyana.

(2) Subject to the provisions of article 101 (1), Vice-Presidents and other Ministers shall be appointed by the President from among persons who are elected members of the National Assembly or are qualified to be elected as such members.

104. Articles 101 (1) and 103 (2) shall have effect in relation to any period between a dissolution of Parliament and the day on which the next election of members of the Assembly is held pursuant to the provisions of article 61, or between a dissolution of a regional democratic council or of the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs and the day on which the next election by that council or by the Congress is held pursuant to the provisions of paragraph (3) or (4) of article 60, as the case may be, as if Parliament of that council or the Congress, as the case may be, had not been dissolved.

Source - Constitution of Guyana.

::[UNQUOTE]::

=================================

The constitution is quite clear that a former President can become, if elected, an MP.

If he is elected a member with the PPP/C in power, former president Bharrat Jagdeo could become one of the Vice-Presidents similar to the composition of the PNC government from 1964 to 1992.

The constitution is quite clear that a former President can become, if elected, an MP.

If he is elected a member with the PPP/C in power, former president Bharrat Jagdeo could become one of the Vice-Presidents similar to the composition of the PNC government from 1964 to 1992.

Yuh mad or whah man?

Did you miss the whole point of this thread the opening post?

Why are you bringing up something that is irrelevant and not even in dispute?

No one doubts he can be MP. No one also doubts he can be appointed Second, Third, Fourth, Fifth, or Sixth Vice President.

My point, dear Senile Pakistani, is that he cannot become Prime Minister at this juncture without a constitutional change affecting the Presidential term limits. Namely its abolition.

The President should have done that before he prorogued the House of Parliament.

He needs on 2/3 majority to do that.

No 1. There is no "House of Parliament." What a very very strange thing to say.

No. 2. While a constitutional change of some articles do necessitate a 2/3 vote, this is not the matter at hand. He is alleging that the proper procedure for altering the constitution in this case vis a vis term limits amendment for the presidency was not followed as a referendum is required to alter the fundamental rights article. It is an interesting and meritorious argument.

From my initial comments, it is clear that former president Bharrat Jagdeo, with non-voting privileges and a non-elected member of parliament, can become a Vice-President, as outlined in the constitution.

PPP General Secretary said Bharat Jagdeo may return to parliament and support the PPP in other capacity, while the former President said he's not interested in a third term as president. This tells me he's is not running for president, but he can hold (MP) position in the house of parliament. We shall see the development as election approaches.

103. (1) The Prime Minister and every other Vice-President shall be a Minister of the Government of Guyana.

(2) Subject to the provisions of article 101 (1), Vice-Presidents and other Ministers shall be appointed by the President from among persons who are elected members of the National Assembly or are qualified to be elected as such members.

From my initial comments, it is clear that former president Bharrat Jagdeo, with non-voting privileges and a non-elected member of parliament, can become a Vice-President, as outlined in the constitution.

PPP General Secretary said Bharat Jagdeo may return to parliament and support the PPP in other capacity, while the former President said he's not interested in a third term as president. This tells me he's is not running for president, but he can hold (MP) position in the house of parliament. We shall see the development as election approaches.

sure as a opposition MP in camp st jail 

house of parliament.

Minor point. There is no such expression as the "House of Parliament" to describe a unicameral body such as the Guyana Parliament.

The term "Houses of Parliament" is appropriate to the UK and Canada where Parliament is bicameral (it has two houses).

Rama just threw in a term he made up to make his opinion sound all smarty pants. And as you can see, he failed.

Aha, as I thought. There is no provision for an unelected member to be vice president. It is the PPP trying to bamboozle the electorate that the vp can be a non-elected mp. Bharat would first have to be elected as an mp. Qualified to be elected is not the same as being non-elected or un-elected.

Correct Cobra.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Aha, as I thought. There is no provision for an unelected member to be vice president. It is the PPP trying to bamboozle the electorate that the vp can be a non-elected mp. Bharat would first have to be elected as an mp. Qualified to be elected is not the same as being non-elected or un-elected.

Read carefully ...

Succinctly, "Vice-Presidents can be appointed from non-elected members of parliament".

Of note, there are Ministers who are non-elected members of parliament.

Is he allowed to double dip?

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

They could be using this to distract from their corruption and poor performances.

We shall see the development as election approaches.

Correct Cobra.

WOW! I don't know how you two manage to always dazzle us with such profound statements offering such deep insights.

Shaitan, D_G is a brilliant man with many years of experience. He also have knowledge on Guyana's politics. You also seem knowledgeable in the political area, but I am not doubting anyone at this time. After election, some of us will be wrong and some will be right about the constitution and (BJ) return to parliament. Stay tune...

We shall see the development as election approaches.

Correct Cobra.

WOW! I don't know how you two manage to always dazzle us with such profound statements offering such deep insights.

Shaitan, D_G is a brilliant man with many years of experience. He also have knowledge on Guyana's politics. You also seem knowledgeable in the political area, but I am not doubting anyone at this time. After election, some of us will be wrong and some will be right about the constitution and (BJ) return to parliament. Stay tune...

LMAO LMAO

Maybe in his younger less senile years