Quite illogical and pure nonsense’ – Jagdeo tells Gov’t on efforts to drive economic boom by celebrating Independence

March 28, 2016 8:11 am Category: latest news A+ / A-

It is quite illogical to envision that the 50th Independence anniversary celebrations will drive an economic boom, according to Opposition Leader Dr Bharrat Jagdeo, who remains adamant that the coalition government must implement more serious measures to foster economic growth.

Opposition Leader. Bharrat Jagdeo.

Opposition Leader, Dr Bharrat Jagdeo

Government officials on several occasions have contended that these celebrations will generate widespread spending and money will be circulating in abundance owing to the thousands of overseas-based Guyanese who will be returning home to join in the festivities.

But the Opposition Leader explained that spending will only increase for that brief celebratory period, and therefore questioned what will happen when the celebrations are over.

“What happens after? Okay, so the hotels get a little more (money) during that period, there will be some increased spending in the economy in that period, but after that what happens? Why did they shut down our Mashramani if that stimulates the economy,” Dr Jagdeo posited.

“It’s pure nonsense that you can drive an economic boom by celebrating Independence. If that’s the case, every country would be celebrating every day!” he declared.

The former President said the government appears to be doing the exact opposite of implementing measures to stimulate economic growth.

“You can’t say, ‘Oh, we gonna celebrate Independence and have an economic boom’. How does that translate into an economic boom except for that period when there will be a little more money circulating in the economy? If you are taking away money from people through higher taxes; you are taking more money away by renewing (raising) licences for trade and economic activities, you have to show that you paid taxes in the last seven years; you have to pay more for tyres… how will you increase disposable income and encourage spending?” Dr Jagdeo questioned.

He explained that though Finance Minister Winston Jordan highlighted three external factors that may threaten the country’s economic growth, he (Jordan) did not indicate what measures he will put in place to prevent the country from being affected.

Jagdeo did not get into much details but posited that there are many steps government can take to ensure the economy grows despite global downfalls. He, however, lamented the fact that the current administration seems to be doing absolutely nothing but engaging in unnecessary spending.

Mainly the productive sector needs help in order to compete on the global market, Jagdeo pointed out. (Devina Samaroo)

When i read the heading "Jagdeo trying to help idiots"  I thought Jagdeo was helping you, and the restah dem PPP bies dem with their income tax.

I am not surprise and I dont think it is the Dope, you were simply born without a brain!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

When i read the heading "Jagdeo trying to help idiots"  I thought Jagdeo was helping you, and the restah dem PPP bies dem with their income tax.

You are being kind. Brain rot is brain rot. No cure for that exists.

Dutty Leela, Is who took your brain out???

I guess this dutty leela is your mama so you do have a maternal problem with this locating your morals in women.

Dutyy Leela you were at Mabaruma making Cassave bread while yuh mama was out????

Oi man Nehru Easter Monday is for Kite flying and not what you're doing..that's called "Shyte flying"

Dat is why I am staying far from you, yuh flying all over the place.

Dutty Leela, Is who took your brain out???

I guess this dutty leela is your mama so you do have a maternal problem with this locating your morals in women.

Dutyy Leela you were at Mabaruma making Cassave bread while yuh mama was out????

I am beginning to believe you are on the spectrum for Asperger syndrome. Unfortunately do you do not come with the usual attendant genius for productive task but is instead possessed of a moronic fixations with useless words and nonsensical repetition of peculiar phrases. That you think these things mean much is your unfortunate delusion.

Quite illogical and pure nonsense’ – Jagdeo tells Gov’t on efforts to drive economic boom by celebrating Independence

March 28, 2016 8:11 am Category: latest news A+ / A-

It is quite illogical to envision that the 50th Independence anniversary celebrations will drive an economic boom, according to Opposition Leader Dr ffected.

Jagdeo did not get into much details

That says it all. Why doesn't Jagdeo explain to the nation that high gold prices, drug trafficking, and money laundering don't lead to sustainable growth.

Jagdeo squandered money on Skeldon, encouraged rice farmers to increase production, and then dependent on the market of a failing economy, and an enemy at that.

Jagdeo should cease screaming, because he is merely a lot of noise, but no content!

I am beginning to believe you are on the spectrum for Asperger syndrome.

I got banned for explaining Nehru's condition. That being what the moderator said, but we know better.

Best thing to do with that troll is to put him on ignore. He is easily the poster on GNI who posts the most nonsense.

I got banned for explaining Nehru's condition. That being what the moderator said, but we know better.

Best thing to do with that troll is to put him on ignore. He is easily the poster on GNI who posts the most nonsense.

I think he Ugli, and SkeldonApe are in a fierce competition for the bottom rung of the useful post ladder.

You are a CERTIFIED RACIST, AHOLE AND JACKASS!!!!

Ha ha ha... you as the one who certifies does not say much!!!!

Ugli, and SkeldonApe are in a fierce competition for the bottom rung of the useful post ladder.

These two are quite useful as they keep us informed of the PPP bottom house chatter, like the fact that Jagdeo wanted to sell off Guyana to Maduro, because he was angry that he lost the election. 

Who can forget their screams when they claimed that Exxon installed Granger, the SAME rhetoric that Maduro used.

Ha ha ha... you as the one who certifies does not say much!!!!

You see why I say that Nehru is useless!   He is so dumb that he cannot even properly relay Jagdeo bottom house rants the way that the other two can.

Mr.T posted:

Nobody is competing for his attention. He exposes himself all the time out of his own free will.

The only attention you seek is the members of the British Parliament on weekends,