Jamaica, Trinidad Sex Workers to receive training in Guyana

August 26, 2014 12:19 pm Category: Business A+ / A-

By Kurt Campbell

Executive Director of the Guyana Sex Worker Coalition and Co – Chair of the Caribbean Sex Work Coalition, Miriam Edwards

[www.inewsguyana.com] – Over a dozen Sex Workers from several regional countries are getting set to travel to Guyana in October where a meeting of Sex Workers from across the Caribbean will take place.

While the meeting will see a vast exchange of the challenges that beset the minority community in the respective jurisdiction, it will also see the sex workers being trained to do better advocacy for the trade.

Among the countries from which Sex Workers are expected are: Trinidad and Tobago (2), Jamaica (4), Suriname (2), Grenada (3), Antigua (2), and Dominican Republic (3).

Some ten Sex Workers from Guyana are also expected to participate in the meeting which kicks off on October20 and runs for four days.

During an interview with iNews, Executive Director of the Guyana Sex Worker Coalition and Co – Chair of the Caribbean Sex Work Coalition, Miriam Edwards said it was important to have Sex Workers trained in Human Rights and also the rights afforded to them in their local constitution.

She explained that currently there are consultants in several Caribbean countries that are a part of the Caribbean Sex Work Coalition, working to strengthen sex workers organizations, set up organizations where there is none with the aim of ultimately encouraging a more structured advocacy for the trade.

Edwards says it is a fact that Sex Workers across the Caribbean face a lot of discrimination when accessing social services and don’t know how to deal with it.STL14WORKERS_336690k

She said the countries participating in the training are mapping their sex work locations in their respective communities which will be reported on, along with the risk, among other issues when the meeting convenes.

Meanwhile, Edwards who is a former Sex Worker herself, said a local campaign is currently underway to seek the decriminalization of sex work in Guyana.

She explained that the campaign is funded by the Caribbean Vulnerable Committee Coalition (CCVC/COIN) and will see the organization lobbying Parliamentarians and speaking out on the issues affecting sex workers.

She highlighted that violence is a major challenge to sex workers; adding that it continues to spiral on a daily basis.

Edwards says she will ensure that the law makers understand their obligation to protect the minority community from Stigma and discrimination.

http://www.inewsguyana.com/jam...-training-in-guyana/

Two thumbs up for Guyana. We have to done away with prostitutes and welcome organized sex workers in the oldest industry known to man. We can never get rid of sex workers no matter how hard we try. We have to give them licenses and medical check up every six month or so. They say if you can't beat them, we should join them. To be a sex worker is tough, but no one should be dragged in to the profession, or to recruit underage. If this is the job women chose, then its their right to do so and be protected by law. Las Vegas is doing great since they legalized male and female sex workers. I am all for it.         

Nehru, is a very satisfied customer in the innocent days done by, and he still butting anything that shakes. 

Executive Director of the Guyana Sex Worker Coalition and Co -- Miriam Edwards.

Gilbakka is hereby serving notice to Miriam Edwards. He is organizing a "Clients of Guyana Sex Worker Pressure Group" because some sex workers are sheer scamps.

A sex worker ran away with Gilbakka's $20 thirty-five years ago and up to now he ent get back he money.

The girl asked Gilbakka to buy a beer for her at the Sunset Strip Bar on Church Street GT, then she offered the thing for $20 up front.

After Gilbakka pony up the Malali she said: "Wait right hey. I goin to fix up a room."

Room wheh? Gilbakka wait and wait and the scamp didn't return. That was 1979.

There are many unfortunate clients with similar mishaps. Now dem barefaced bitches form coalition.

Gilbakka is hereby serving notice to Miriam Edwards. He is organizing a "Clients of Guyana Sex Worker Pressure Group" because some sex workers are sheer scamps.

A sex worker ran away with Gilbakka's $20 thirty-five years ago and up to now he ent get back he money.

The girl asked Gilbakka to buy a beer for her at the Sunset Strip Bar on Church Street GT, then she offered the thing for $20 up front.

After Gilbakka pony up the Malali she said: "Wait right hey. I goin to fix up a room."

There are many unfortunate clients with similar mishaps. Now dem barefaced bitches form coalition.

You mussy prappa rub on plenty chinee blush heh? Rass, wah happen afta de wait? 

Gilly, sorry for your misfortune, but things are changing for the better. BTW, you can't call them bitches these day. You may get sued. They're working girls with the title, sex. 

So you did get screwed not physically, monetarily in 79 $20 bill was still the largest note around   

ball
Originally Posted by Mars:

Finally, we are leading the Caribbean in something - whoring.

You're far from reality. When men and women cheat on each other that is whoring as well. Wake up and smell the coffee!

Adultery and prostitution are not the same Numbnuts.
Please consult your dictionary for some help.

You mussy prappa rub on plenty chinee blush heh? Rass, wah happen afta de wait? 

Glad you asked, Skelly.

I waited on a bar stool sipping a beer. The girl never returned. A guy next to me said "Man, yuh look worry, wha happen?"

I told him. He asked me to describe the girl. I did.

He said: "Same whore" and then told me the girl ran away with his $20 too a week before. He said he was searching for her to get back his money.

I said "She was right hey half hour ago."

So, the fella formally introduced himself to me: "I am Sergeant M, chauffeur to President Chung."

We bought each other beers and chatted about all sorts of things, as people do in a bar.

I used to see him by chance after that in a red car with the President's coat-of arms. He would give me a high five and say: "I still looking fo dat teefing whore."

Explain what they do differently? It is the same sin they're indulging in. If there was a forum in Guyana for adulterers, you would have still blame Guyana for encouraging adultery.

You are too dumb to understand the difference.

Gilly,reading the predicament you were in 1979,i could not help

crackinkg up.. mind you no hard feelings it's how you narate

the story.

I accept that I am dumb, yet you can't answer the question, why adultery is accepted and prostitution is not.

Originally Posted by Django:

Gilly,reading the predicament you were in 1979,i could not help

crackinkg up.. mind you no hard feelings it's how you narate

the story.

Now, read my answer to Skelly.

I accept that I am dumb, yet you can't answer the question, why adultery is accepted and prostitution is not.

You have to be real stupid if I have to explain to you how prostitution and adultery are different. Adultery is accepted? That's news to me. Maybe it's acceptable to you if your spouse cheats but that's not an acceptable form of behavior in my household.

I know the difference and my point is still the same where extramarital sex is concern. Monetary or not, the act is consider sinful for both cheaters and sex workers. Sex workers are exposed, but our homely men and women are secretive until they're caught. To me, if a man sex a married woman knowingly, that is whoring. When a woman's vagina is open to every Tom, Dick, or Harry, that is whoring.

BTW, sex workers comes from family too. Some has husband and children as well.

I know the difference and my point is still the same where extramarital sex is concern. Monetary or not, the act is consider sinful for both cheaters and sex workers. Sex workers are exposed, but our homely men and women are secretive until they're caught. To me, if a man sex a married woman knowingly, that is whoring. When a woman's vagina is open to every Tom, Dick, or Harry, that is whoring.

A man or a woman can commit the act of adultery without being with a prostitute. An unmarried man or woman can use the services of a prostitute and the act would not be classified as adultery. Prostitution and adultery are very different. Read up on the definitions before you spout nonsense.

it's a sin only if you believe in God...and your God considers it a sin

Originally Posted by raymond:

funny thing some of you lambast women as whores but just snicker when men fool around

I know the difference and my point is still the same where extramarital sex is concern. Monetary or not, the act is consider sinful for both cheaters and sex workers. Sex workers are exposed, but our homely men and women are secretive until they're caught.

Early revelation of your political naievety. Now you gone with the AFC. The same gon happen to you

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Early revelation of your political naievety. Now you gone with the AFC. The same gon happen to you

Billy, I really wanta cuss you, but because yuh show me yuh big teeth I restrain myself.

Suffice to state this: Gilbakka does not f@#$ with Guyana'a politics and the destiny of the nation. He takes politics seriously; has always done so for the past 45 years.

what a dummy,nehru need to take you to garmount for you to see what is a whore and what is a affair 

Bookman you need to start operating like one of them Jewish or Mormon bankers and see it as a loan then start calculating 10% yearly compounded interest on the 20 dollars from 1979 to present.

Originally Posted by Wally:

Bookman you need to start operating like one of them Jewish or Mormon bankers and see it as a loan then start calculating 10% yearly compounded interest on the 20 dollars from 1979 to present.

Wally, 35 years after that episode, I doubt if I could collect compound anything from that young woman. Chances are, she is probably dead from gonorrhea, syphillis, AIDS or a brutal beating.

If you've read my follow-up post in reply to Skelly, that brute robbed other innocent men. She got away from me and Sergeant M but she might not have been lucky with others.

Originally Posted by Wally:

Wally, 35 years after that episode, I doubt if I could collect compound anything from that young woman. Chances are, she is probably dead from gonorrhea, syphillis, AIDS or a brutal beating.

If you've read my follow-up post in reply to Skelly, that brute robbed other innocent men. She got away from me and Sergeant M but she might not have been lucky with others.

The woman was a pro. You make me laugh when I read your little escapade. I said to myself "You mean wan smart man like Gilly mek wan hoe rab am $20.00"?

Goatman to announce

DE Latest Organisation

Joining his colation....

KWAMBE CONFIRM

MIX & MATCH

BUGGER KING SIGN ON....

ROHEE BRAGGING
"WE WILL NOT BE UNDER-SOLD"

2 fuh 5

Free Chicken Sandwich from Burger King

Front & Back-side

Mix & Match