Janet Jagan will forever have a special place in the hearts of those who love Guyana
- President says at remembrance ceremony

Georgetown, GINA, October 20, 2011
Source - GINA

President Bharrat Jagdeo and Advisor to the President on Governance, Gail Teixeira at the remembrance ceremony in honour of Mrs. Janet Jagan

Former President and one time leader of the People’s Progressive Party Civic Janet Jagan was remembered at a ceremony at her Bel-Air residence, by family and party members.

Those gathered shared memories of a Janet who devoted her life to fight for the rights of the working class and grassroots, and further mentioned that had she been alive today, at the age of 91, she still would have continued in the struggle for the rights of all Guyanese

President Bharrat Jagdeo said quite a bit has been documented about her, and her contributions will never be diminished, as she is the pioneer for the Guyana today.

A section of those gathered at the remembrance ceremony in honour of the late Mrs. Janet Jagan

“It is not just the events themselves that make her unique, but it is the era that evolved from the colonial period to today and the specificities of the evolution and the different stages in the development that greatly magnify her contributions to Guyana,” President Bharrat Jagdeo said.

Gail Teixeira, advisor to the President on Governance, in her reflections of Mrs. Jagan said she remembered her as a lovely young woman, who fought for the rights of Guyanese after Independence, and has sacrificed her life towards the struggle for the grassroots.

Teixeira also alluded to the fact that Mrs. Jagan along with Mrs. Philomena Sahoye-Shury are champions as they have made outstanding contributions not only to the lives of Guyanese, but they have also blazed the trail and set standards for women in politics.

A section of those gathered at the remembrance ceremony in honour of the late Mrs. Janet Jagan

This evening’s event is the third of its kind, done annually in October 20, the date of her birth, in commemoration of the outstanding contributions she has made towards Guyanese.

Mrs. Jagan came to Guyana in 1945 and soon after challenged women to fight for their rights, and has been at the fore front of that fight, gaining significant grounds for both women and all Guyanese.

Mrs. Jagan in 1946 founded the Women’s Political and Economic Organization and co-founded the Political Affairs Committee.

After Cheddi Jagan's death, Janet Jagan was sworn in as Prime Minister as well as First Vice President on March 17, 1997. Mrs. Jagan was the presidential candidate of the PPP in the December 1997 election. After the PPP won the election, she became the first female Latin American president to be democratically elected. Janet Jagan became the first female President of Guyana.

Originally posted by Nehru:
And the problem IS???
Originally posted by baseman:
Maybe, but while dem throwing mala, dem packing suitcase.

A lack of knowledge on your part!
Unquestionably, Janet Jagan contributed to the social and economic upliftment and welfare of hundreds of thousands of workers, farmers and other sections of the dispossessed class.
Particularly, she gave women back their voices and confidence to fight for their just rights. I have enduring respect and admiration for her.
The report above states that Janet Jagan arrived in Guyana in 1945. In fact, it was 1943.
B
Gail Teixeira, advisor to the President on Governance, in her reflections of Mrs. Jagan said she remembered her as a lovely young woman, who fought for the rights of Guyanese after Independence, and has sacrificed her life towards the struggle for the grassroots.

How could Miss.Wiki Leaks remember Janet as a young woman ? Janet was twice the age of Gail...
Bhai Churchill, Yuh Wutliss yuh kno. I like the Nick you gave her. Wink
Originally posted by Churchill:

How could Miss.Wiki Leaks remember Janet as a young woman ? Janet was twice the age of Gail...
It is rather crass to suggest those who do not love JJ somehow do not love Guyana. Too often the text is mistaken for context and all these laudatory effusions from those in her inner circle taken as de facto the reality for all.

This woman is the cause of our loss of some 50 years of history. Had overwhelming control on the formation of the Cheddi consciousness and it made him and incomplete man where our politics is concerned. No one could figure out his intentions and as not to abjure communist and offend her he tried to straddle the fence in a either them or us war between the East and West.

Instead of stating exactly where he stood ie he was not a faith believer in the pronouncement of Lenin that the imperative is to overthrow the Bourgeois west by all means necessary we would not have Kennedy pragmatically conclude to be safe than sorry and orchestrate his exit to the outhouse and our country into the land of limbo where it remains. She is not a heroine of mine.
Originally posted by Jalil:
Originally posted by Nehru:
Bhai Churchill, Yuh Wutliss yuh kno. I like the Nick you gave her. Wink

Nehru u mean Gail got "De Leak".....
Hope she get treated and dont spread it bhai.
We Know Jagdeo, Ramotar & PPP all suffering from "de leaks"

Wish her and Jagdeo/Ramotar PPP well.
Originally posted by kidmost:
White skin blonde hair blue eyes marries coolie bai and become the maha lakshmi of all the coolies. And they still worship white !

Weren't one of you ancesters white?
Originally posted by Bookman:
Unquestionably, Janet Jagan contributed to the social and economic upliftment and welfare of hundreds of thousands of workers, farmers and other sections of the dispossessed class.
Particularly, she gave women back their voices and confidence to fight for their just rights. I have enduring respect and admiration for her.
The report above states that Janet Jagan arrived in Guyana in 1945. In fact, it was 1943.

And she made sure she destroyed it all before she died. Just by promoting Jagdeo and Ramotar.

She was a racists, who found that ppl of colour could no fend for themselves. She hated blacks and dark skinned indians. Cheddie loved blacks and had no patience with indians. Cheddie even let some black get rick by allowing them to steal from poorer indians. They both had no patience and tolerance for ctiticism-arrogance was their guardian-they made many indians cower-Nagamootoo is the classic case.

Now, everybody goan get on my case. But you all doan the whole truth. The man and woman you all gloryfing had only one agenda-the communist case.

Go and read Dr. Ishmael accounts of the era.

And please read it carefully, then read the West on Trial.
Originally posted by seignet:

And she made sure she destroyed it all before she died. Just by promoting Jagdeo and Ramotar.

She was a racists, who found that ppl of colour could no fend for themselves. She hated blacks and dark skinned indians. Cheddie loved blacks and had no patience with indians. Cheddie even let some black get rick by allowing them to steal from poorer indians. They both had no patience and tolerance for ctiticism-arrogance was their guardian-they made many indians cower-Nagamootoo is the classic case.

Now, everybody goan get on my case. But you all doan the whole truth. The man and woman you all gloryfing had only one agenda-the communist case.

The lady fought for the rights of women in Guyana. She fought the british and helped Guyana to be free of those leeches.

She did a lot for Guyana.. What did you do, besides admired your father who worked for the PPP.
Originally posted by Ramakant_p:

The lady fought for the rights of women in Guyana. She fought the british and helped Guyana to be free of those leeches.

She did a lot for Guyana.. What did you do, besides admired your father who worked for the PPP.

And what do you know.

My father died a PPP supporter and I worked along side him in promoting the PPP when they were created in 1950.

I know of THEIR mischievous deeds. I canvassed for the CUP in 1953 and pitched slogans for the Limeys to go home and peddled their communist rhetoric.

When old enough to know better, I accuse them of being the architect of the destruction of Guyana.

Many of u here are into CULT WORSHIP.

AND ONE MORE BAD WORD FROM U, I AM COMING TO BRAMPTON AND SLAPPED U LIL ASS> Smile

And what do you know.

My father died a PPP supporter and I worked along side him in promoting the PPP when they were created in 1950.

I know of THEIR mischievous deeds. I canvassed for the CUP in 1953 and pitched slogans for the Limeys to go home and peddled their communist rhetoric.

When old enough to know better, I accuse them of being the architect of the destruction of Guyana.

AND ONE MORE BAD WORD FROM U, I AM COMING TO BRAMPTON AND SLAPPED U LIL ASS> Smile

What are you a pervert?

I asked a simple question.. What did you do for the women of Guyana??

And what do you know.

What are you a pervert?

I asked a simple question.. What did you do for the women of Guyana??

I think u misread 'CULT'. It is a 'L' not an 'N'.

The women of GT had organizations to help them long before Janet arrived in GT. AS for the women on the estates(mostly East Indians), their lot in life were not influenced by the Jagans. The estate system provided for their care with hospitals and dispensaries. They planted kitchen gardens and made life while the Jagans were planning their ultimate bondage to the Soviets.
White skin blonde hair blue eyes marries coolie bai and become the maha lakshmi of all the coolies. And they still worship white !

Dude there are north indians who looked more white than whites but they were indians. All my ancestors as far back at 1812 were indians , some were white looking some were brown and some were really really dark.

Rama I have a book title for Janet "Love among the Jungle Darkies in Guiana " Big Grin
Originally posted by Eric's_Revenge:

Rama I have a book title for Janet "Love among the Jungle Darkies in Guiana " Big Grin

There are no bush Negroes in Guyana.

A very good observation there Churchill. Maybe the guys on the board here should change your name to "Sherlock Holmes Churchill".
without the support of people like Rai , Eusi & thousands others & organizations like the BGEIA etc Cheddi and Janet would never have become the Indians Dieties .

You are absolutly right there Kidmost. Yet at the end of the day what all these people got was a good using, hateful curse out, bad wishes and kicking from the Jagans. Then some serious verbal and physical abuse from the Jagan Royal Court of subjects, followers and worshippers.
Originally posted by Demerara_Guy:
Janet Jagan will forever have a special place in the hearts of those who love Guyana
- President says at remembrance ceremony

Georgetown, GINA, October 20, 2011
Source - GINA

President Bharrat Jagdeo and Advisor to the President on Governance, Gail Teixeira at the remembrance ceremony in honour of Mrs. Janet Jagan

Former President and one time leader of the People’s Progressive Party Civic Janet Jagan was remembered at a ceremony at her Bel-Air residence, by family and party members.

Those gathered shared memories of a Janet who devoted her life to fight for the rights of the working class and grassroots, and further mentioned that had she been alive today, at the age of 91, she still would have continued in the struggle for the rights of all Guyanese

President Bharrat Jagdeo said quite a bit has been documented about her, and her contributions will never be diminished, as she is the pioneer for the Guyana today.

“It is not just the events themselves that make her unique, but it is the era that evolved from the colonial period to today and the specificities of the evolution and the different stages in the development that greatly magnify her contributions to Guyana,” President Bharrat Jagdeo said.

Teixeira also alluded to the fact that Mrs. Jagan along with Mrs. Philomena Sahoye-Shury are champions as they have made outstanding contributions not only to the lives of Guyanese, but they have also blazed the trail and set standards for women in politics.

This evening’s event is the third of its kind, done annually in October 20, the date of her birth, in commemoration of the outstanding contributions she has made towards Guyanese.

Mrs. Jagan came to Guyana in 1945 and soon after challenged women to fight for their rights, and has been at the fore front of that fight, gaining significant grounds for both women and all Guyanese.

Mrs. Jagan in 1946 founded the Women’s Political and Economic Organization and co-founded the Political Affairs Committee.

After Cheddi Jagan's death, Janet Jagan was sworn in as Prime Minister as well as First Vice President on March 17, 1997. Mrs. Jagan was the presidential candidate of the PPP in the December 1997 election. After the PPP won the election, she became the first female Latin American president to be democratically elected. Janet Jagan became the first female President of Guyana.

Very pleased to see this honoring of a woman who gave up her industrialized world to come to a country that so badly needed her wisdom. But of course, we know she could not have succeeded without the support of the Guyanese people. And indeed, they embraced her widsom - to work side by side with her husband and to bring her intelligence to the scene. She was instrumental in so many ways - fighting for freedom and democracy in then British Guyana and after the PNC regime.
She is very well documented and is an international figure and an icon Guyana's political, social and economic history.
Very please to see she was honored at this time in our history. We must look at the past to know how far we have come as a nation and now take this strength and move towards a greater Guyana.
Hats off to Jagdeo for carrying the torch. Now, onwards and upwards with Ramotar...
The Jagans have left a great legacy of their many sacrifices. No one can take the facts away... The records are proof. And the international community recognizes this.
Janet Jagan - what a selfless woman.
C
Catherine she could only have become someone in this underdeveloped world called Guyana because she had coolies who worship white to make her their Maha Lakshmi. In the USA she would have lived and died a nonentity! Do you know how many indian women named their daughters after Janet J?
There are more Janets in Guyana than anywhere else.When you brown skin fools gonna stop worshipping white as superior?