Mental Illness

I get the feeling that there are no jobs in Guyana. I guess they still have sugar plantations and rice fields. What about a clerk or secretary with a High School education. I'm 48 now and I have failed to succeed in America with a Job and in I think 1981 after I graduated High School in the Bronx I went back to Guyana at 18 to stay. I soon came back to my parents home when I ran out of money. I know some electronics but didn't know how to find work in Guyana, if there was work. I guess you can be a policeman or join the military right? I know I would not qualify to be a policeman with my mental illness or that there would be too much competition. Why has not foreign companies invested in my beloved Guyana. The government privatizes businesses? I think there is some subservsive element to the economic failure that was constructed intentionally to cause the people not to succeed and if we interrogate the American government we would have the answer. We are made to believe that our failure is rational and that there are logical reasons for it. DELUSION.

That would be a major concern for me being a schizophrenic. If I could find work in Guyana I would go there but only if I was fairly sure I wouldn't relapse--but how can I be sure? Hmm--a major concern for me. You are implying that Guyana is so backward with their mental health system--this shouldn't be. My paranoia suggests that there is political persecution that was engineered for the country's failure economically and socially probably because the White race does not want the Indian race to control them. Unfortunately I have to mention the ethnic group to express my beliefs.
I hope you are not that mad man that does be on Benschop website. He calls himself the Honorable Prince. One time he was going around Georgetown making speeches saying that he got a special connection to the American marines and all he has got to do is to press a special button that he has and the American marines will invade Guyana and get rid of the government. The sad thing is some Guyanese people believed that mad man.

Anyway if you are for real and not the Honorable Prince then I really sorry for you brother and wish you the best of luck in the future.
Originally posted by Ronald Arjune:
That would be a major concern for me being a schizophrenic. If I could find work in Guyana I would go there but only if I was fairly sure I wouldn't relapse--but how can I be sure? Hmm--a major concern for me. You are implying that Guyana is so backward with their mental health system--this shouldn't be. My paranoia suggests that there is political persecution that was engineered for the country's failure economically and socially probably because the White race does not want the Indian race to control them. Unfortunately I have to mention the ethnic group to express my beliefs.

Guyana is a 3rd world nation which is dependent on agriculture and mining, both highly competitive industries. I don't agree that the country is an economic failure, they are doing the best with what the cards that they were dealt and quite a few entrepreneurs are experiencing a higher standard of living than the expats like yourself who migrated a long time ago. If you are an entrepreneur with solid ideas, you can do well. However the schitzo part may cause problems when dealing with shady characters as is the norm in many 3rd world nations.
Mental Illness

I get the feeling that there are no jobs in Guyana. I guess they still have sugar plantations and rice fields. What about a clerk or secretary with a High School education. I'm 48 now and I have failed to succeed in America with a Job and in I think 1981 after I graduated High School in the Bronx I went back to Guyana at 18 to stay. I soon came back to my parents home when I ran out of money. I know some electronics but didn't know how to find work in Guyana, if there was work. I guess you can be a policeman or join the military right? I know I would not qualify to be a policeman with my mental illness or that there would be too much competition. Why has not foreign companies invested in my beloved Guyana. The government privatizes businesses? I think there is some subservsive element to the economic failure that was constructed intentionally to cause the people not to succeed and if we interrogate the American government we would have the answer. We are made to believe that our failure is rational and that there are logical reasons for it. DELUSION.

talk to that friken idiot Reverend Al he says PPP made substantial capital investments in Guyana and that Clown ramoutar will create more foreign capital investments for Guyana's development . And I say , if the people are not organized to become a better functioning labor force all the invested billions will be pi55ed away on developments which will fall into decay due to lack of effective and efficient labor force. Govt has to create conditions and environments for private sector to invest , take the risk , create competition and great rewards NOT THE FRIKEN GOVT ! The PPP invites capitalism but wants socialist control - well they can F2ck off cause it aint gonna happen.
Originally posted by BGurd_See:

Guyana is a 3rd world nation which is dependent on agriculture and mining, both highly competitive industries. I don't agree that the country is an economic failure, they are doing the best with what the cards that they were dealt and quite a few entrepreneurs are experiencing a higher standard of living than the expats like yourself who migrated a long time ago. If you are an entrepreneur with solid ideas, you can do well. However the schitzo part may cause problems when dealing with shady characters as is the norm in many 3rd world nations.

dude who been shuffling the pack and dealing the cards for the past 20 years ? come man stop the blame game and get reals . And stop this 3rd world bullsh1t . it is a bad word it is a demeaning word and it influences people to inaction and inertia .

if anyone is repatriating they should not return with a wage earner mentality unless they have some direly needed skill, unless you join the PPP overseas group and claw your way through overseas Guyanese organizations to get selected for a govt job in Guyana by some top PPP guy.You an expat going back fuh minista wuk betta mek sure yuh know which criminals govt in bed with or yuh ra55 end up like Minista Sat.
Originally posted by kidmost:

if anyone is repatriating they should not return with a wage earner mentality unless they have some direly needed skill, unless you join the PPP overseas group and claw your way through overseas Guyanese organizations to get selected for a govt job in Guyana by some top PPP guy.You an expat going back fuh minista wuk betta mek sure yuh know which criminals govt in bed with or yuh ra55 end up like Minista Sat.

Kid do not discourage expats from repatriating. You have had failures in Guyana for one reason or another, let someone else try and find out for themselves rather than corrupt their minds based on your own missteps. Remember there are thousands of Guyanese who are excelling there as we speak, not because you turned out to be a failure there means everyone else will.

dude who been shuffling the pack and dealing the cards for the past 20 years ? come man stop the blame game and get reals . And stop this 3rd world bullsh1t . it is a bad word it is a demeaning word and it influences people to inaction and inertia .

Kid, Guyana is what it is, a 3rd world nation burdened with ailing infrastructure and competitive disadvantage. The PNC drove away investors in the first 10 years of PPP rule with their slow fiah mo fiah and freedom fighters crime spree. After Jagdeo phantomized these criminals the country slowly turned the corner albeit with a few missteps such as the Skeldon plant and other investments which govt should not be involved in. It is up to the private enterprise to get Guyana out of the funk, not govt as you are suggesting. Govt job is to facilitate not run industry.
Mental Illness

Ronald Arjune ,

Welcome to the forum .As mentioned before by others in this thread , your best bet is to stay in the USA . Do not go to Guyana , your chance of a relapse is high .

In the us ,as I am sure you are well aware , you have access to free healthcare which covers medications as well as social and support services.

I admire your courage in dealing with schizophrenia. Looking at your video online , I can see that you have approriate affect . You seem well modulated and you seem to be doing a great job in dealing with schizophrenia . On the basis of your post here , you also seem to have high insight into delusions vs reality and your intellect seems high . Can't say this about many posters here .

To repeat what others have said : " Stay in the
USA " . Hopefully, You are receiving a monthly check from SSI .

One final caution : Stay away from smoking ! On your webpage , you mention your desire to smoke . Stay away from smoking . You have a lot to deal with . If you are addicted to cigarettes , just ask your doctor for nicotine patches and nicotine gum . I wish I could show you some slides of lung tissue which clearly illustrates the harmful effects of long term smoking .

With your mental illness I would suggest staying in the US where you would get proper treatment and access to social services. In Guyana, one relapse would land you in the Berbice Mad House, a place you don't want to be.

I was hoping that you would have recommended him to your physician that Is doing a hell of a job in trying to make you into something of substance.
Originally posted by Fu Real:
I was hoping that you would have recommended him to your physician that Is doing a hell of a job in trying to make you into something of substance.

Who are you? I don't recognize you as any poster of substance that could survive a battle with the great drugb. I suppose fleas have a place on this earth too.
Originally posted by Wally:
Ronald I think that you should either stay in the US or migrate to Canada where mental health care is free. Going back to Guyana means that you run the risk of becoming homeless and living on the streets because there are not many resources and services available for the mentally ill.

Thank you for the suggestion Wally, it's at my level and I can identify with it. I get SSI and would like to keep it by being here in America and I have to thank the taxpayers of this country. Until I get a job and maintain a resistance to psychosis, I have to stay put. Mental health services are good here although they deny any relevance to paranoid beliefs. I would have liked to go back to Guyana to work. I would like an awara to eat. I remember playing banga with the seed at Cromarty village.
I am glad to be of help Ronald. Everyone on this board miss Guyana and want the best for our country But like I told Demerara Guy recently as human beings we must always make sure our basic needs are met. Are we going to be physically, emotionally and economically safe in Guyana if we return. There is no guarantee of this.

For example: the boxer Terence Ali who fought for the World title against some of the greatest fighters the world has ever seen such as Julio CÃĐsar ChÃĄvez and who stayed in some of the best hotels in the world during his boxing days. He returned to Guyana at the end of his boxing career and became almost homeless and jobless. American reporters found him living in absolute abject poverty a few years ago in the land of his birth.
Originally posted by Mitwah:
Ronald are you related to the Arjunes at #48 Village?

No. I am related to my grandfather Arjoon from 69 village, his brother Jochulall from the same village, his brothers Ramsaywack and Roon from 68 village. My father's name is Balram Arjoon (a former policeman of Guyana from 69 village) and he lives with my mother in the Bronx. I live at Green Hills Estates adult home in Haverstraw, Rockland County, NY, USA. I married the daughter of Vincent Ramkissoon of Bloomfield village, Corentyne in 1985 and got divorced in 1989.

What do you think about the job prospects in Guyana, I don't know much about it--like nothing is definite? A lot of land is available for corporations and I don't think the government will nationalize them. The Guyanese would be good workers.

Mental Illness
Originally posted by raymond:
If the man wanna smoke...it's his right.
If he want to go to Guyana, it will be tough because of the mental illness...mentally ill people in Guyana get a real hard time...
MKight as well tough it out in the US...maybe if he got some US dollars and is receiving SSI, he can retire in Guiyana

Smoking is his right , but according to his webpage , he does so because he feels that there are no harmful effects . He could not be more wrong ..smoking does severe damage to multiple organ systems over time . He needs to understand this !

Also , Guyana is NOT the place for him to retire . That would be a big mistake for him given his illness.
Ronald I think that you should either stay in the US or migrate to Canada where mental health care is free. Going back to Guyana means that you run the risk of becoming homeless and living on the streets because there are not many resources and services available for the mentally ill.

Thank you for the suggestion Wally, it's at my level and I can identify with it. I get SSI and would like to keep it by being here in America and I have to thank the taxpayers of this country. Until I get a job and maintain a resistance to psychosis, I have to stay put. Mental health services are good here although they deny any relevance to paranoid beliefs. I would have liked to go back to Guyana to work. I would like an awara to eat. I remember playing banga with the seed at Cromarty village.

glad to see you want to enjoy the simple things in life...do you have any kids?
Originally posted by Guyanese4eva:
If he want to go to Guyana, it will be tough because of the mental illness...mentally ill people in Guyana get a real hard time...
MKight as well tough it out in the US...maybe if he got some US dollars and is receiving SSI, he can retire in Guiyana

Smoking is his right , but according to his webpage , he does so because he feels that there are no harmful effects . He could not be more wrong ..smoking does severe damage to multiple organ systems over time . He needs to understand this !

I am sure they have already told him this numerous times....

Well , clearly , " they " haven't done good enough of a job of educating him about the disastrous effects of long term smoking . He has to appreciate the disastrous effects of smoking which are scientifically proven and not hypothetical as he claims on his webpage.
He seems like an intelligent guy....I am sure he has processed the information given and come to his own conclusions

His conclusion is wrong .
Nicotine has indded shown to be beneficial in sensory modulation in neurochemical imbalances , but can wreck havoc on the other organ systems . I suggest he gets nicotine patches and gum .
He seems like an intelligent guy....I am sure he has processed the information given and come to his own conclusions

His conclusion is wrong .
Nicotine has indded shown to be beneficial in sensory modulation in neurochemical balances , but can wreck havoc on the other organ systems . I suggest he gets nicotine patches and gum .

I don't doubt any of what you say...nevertheless, Arjune seems like a grown intelligent fella, I am sure he can figure what is good for him...

I don't have any kids Raymond, if I did I probably would have had a complicated situation. I can't retire with SSI in Guyana because according to my social worker here, if I leave the country (USA) for more than 30 days I will loose my SSI. You can keep Social Security. Also, I don't think I would be able to get the psychotropics I am getting now in Guyana. As far as smoking is concerned, I smoke three cigarettes a day at specific times. I think the reason smoking is dangerous is because the Spirit is programmed according to the beliefs associated with the scientific knowledge which is operating with incorrect mathematics. Five is really four because the first unit should be zero in the count. So you may say that we have four fingers on each hand or that a ten (10) dollar bill is a 9 dollar bill.

Kid do not discourage expats from repatriating. You have had failures in Guyana for one reason or another, let someone else try and find out for themselves rather than corrupt their minds based on your own missteps. Remember there are thousands of Guyanese who are excelling there as we speak, not because you turned out to be a failure there means everyone else will.

Dude I was never a failure anywhere in Guyana or the USA . Success and prosperity are in my DNA but moreso, I subscribe the very high ethical standards and practices something guys like you are so willing to compromise for the sake of protecting your own agendas. I am not discouraging expats from repatriating all I am saying is Guyana does not need anymore wage earner mentality people , Guyana needs people who are willing to make capital investments which can provide employment . You backward jacka55es dont read and understand that not the civil service cannot hire every swinging dick in Guyana and the private sector cannot grow and expand until and unless Govt take a handsoff policy and stop using politics to stick their hands in everyones' pocket or determine their party alliance .

Kid, Guyana is what it is, a 3rd world nation burdened with ailing infrastructure and competitive disadvantage. The PNC drove away investors in the first 10 years of PPP rule with their slow fiah mo fiah and freedom fighters crime spree. After Jagdeo phantomized these criminals the country slowly turned the corner albeit with a few missteps such as the Skeldon plant and other investments which govt should not be involved in. It is up to the private enterprise to get Guyana out of the funk, not govt as you are suggesting. Govt job is to facilitate not run industry.

we saying the same ting but you not understanding . How long have I not been saying politics and govt have to get out of conrolling the public sector or tainting the public sector with their corrupt dirty nasty politics . If you are in business and openly dont like the Govt they penalize you . The PNC and PPP /Govts have been the sole reason for Guyana economic problems .
I don't have any kids Raymond, if I did I probably would have had a complicated situation. I can't retire with SSI in Guyana because according to my social worker here, if I leave the country (USA) for more than 30 days I will loose my SSI. You can keep Social Security. Also, I don't think I would be able to get the psychotropics I am getting now in Guyana. As far as smoking is concerned, I smoke three cigarettes a day at specific times. I think the reason smoking is dangerous is because the Spirit is programmed according to the beliefs associated with the scientific knowledge which is operating with incorrect mathematics. Five is really four because the first unit should be zero in the count. So you may say that we have four fingers on each hand or that a ten (10) dollar bill is a 9 dollar bill.

now...yuh getting too deep for me banna Big Grin

Arjune, in software engineering it quite common for the first offset to be 0. However if you a unit with a specific value like a dollar, then you can not presume the first dollar value begins at zero. Reason being that the first 99 cents would have to be in negative territory, ie values -.99 thru -.1 then the 100th cent would be zero. In your warped mind there is some logic but it is based on incorrect premises.

Ron maybe yuh need some kids to complicate yuh situation and stimulate yuh brain I kyant imagine a person not having kids , to me it is unimaginable. Your social worker dont know what they talking , once a US citizen you can live anywhere in this world and arrange to have your SSI direct deposit . As for smoking , I subscribe to CBS that being Ciggies beer and sex but all in moderation in conjunction with exercize, diet and positive thinking . I smoke 20 ciggies of less per day give or take a few , 2 to 3 beers per day and about 24 beers on the weekend and walk a straight line. But I have kids , lots of kids and I have family dinners every weekend plus I have family gatherings with relatives as often as I could , plus I enjoy helping young people progress , plus I am a gym freak and really really enjoy me work and all my hobbies . Word is if yuh dont enjoy how yuh live , wuh you doin and share your joy of life then yuh up the proverbial creek without a paddle ...look dude life is a one way ticket ..live enjoy and have fun !