AddThis Social Bookmark Button

ashnisinghOne day before Guyanese workers celebrate Labour Day Minister of Finance Dr. Ashni Singh has said that some government employees will have to be let go as a result of the $20.9B cut in the national budget which has affected salaries for some entities.

He made the comment Monday at a news conference on the opposition’s adjustment of the $192.8B budget the government proposed a month ago.

“I can say with certainty that the funds that were intended to finance these people’s salaries are no longer available. I can say with certainty that some jobs will go,” the minister said when pressed about reports of impending job cuts.

Dr. Singh did not specify which entities will be downsized or how soon. Both the $130.4M subsidy and $15M capital works allocation for the Government Information Agency (GINA) were cut while the National Communications Network (NCN) will be without an $81M subsidy and $65M in capital expenditure. The latter, however, is a registered and pulled in some $508M in revenues last year.

Subsidies for the State Planning Secretariat ($105M), Ethnic Relations Commission ($99.4) and the Customs Anti-Narcotics Unit ($20M) were also cut out of the budget.

“I can tell you that we are in the process right now literally as you and I speak, several agencies and offices of government are considering the next step, what is to be done now.

You have some instances where budgets have ben cut to zero, we need o consider how that is dealt with, we have some instances where budgets were cut by a certain amount, we need to reconsider how those entities will continue operating with the loss of this fund source,” Dr. Singh said.

The minister added that they are considering the matter from all angles including the industrial relations one.

On the specific case of GINA the minister said they still need to disseminate government information and are committed to doing so and will be looking to find a way of fulfilling that in the absence of a budget allocation.

An allocation for contract employees under the Office of the President was also slashed by more than half from $297M to $147M.

The opposition parties in justifying cuts to the agencies to the two state media entities have pointed to what they say is the bias in favour of the government and have called for the agencies to be reformed. The APNU and AFC have also pointed to the government’s sloth in complying with the Auditor General’s recommendations that CANU be placed under the Home Affairs Ministry instead of Finance and that State Planning be merged with the latter ministry instead of being a separate entity.

The government has argued that both processes are underway.

Source: Demwaves

IT IS LAUGHABLE TO HEAR THAT AFTET 50 YEARS THESE DUNCES IN THE PNC/KFC PARTY(NOT PARTIES) ARE REALISING THAT CANA AND STATE PLANNING BELONG TO THE FINANCE MINISTRY. I HAVE NO CHOICE BUT TO CONCLUDE THAT THESE DUNCES WERE IN A COMA.

Dem seh wah di Auditor General recommendation, wah yuh gah lil brain freeze?

The working class Guyanese, especially those who were the sole breadwinners for their families are now out of a job?...the AFC/APNU demonstrated to be totally anti working class

Why did Ashnee not use the conusltative process to develop the budget? He could have save himself the embarrasment. Moses have delivered the people.

Cut! Cut! Cut!   ooops Cup! Cup! Cup!.

Why did Ashnee not use the conusltative process to develop the budget? He could have save himself the embarrasment. Moses have delivered the people.

Cut! Cut! Cut!   ooops Cup! Cup! Cup!.

Diss nah goa wuk wid da peeple.  Cut cut cut a gi alyuh orgasm but a gi wukkin peeple pain.  If alyuh waan laass, bettah come wid moo dann juss cut cut cut.

Originally Posted by martin Carter:

These three will bring Guyana to ruin and it should not be allowed to happen. Call a quick election and vote them out.

Patience and apt time.

The very opposition hypocrites who claimed there has been no development under the PPPC are prospering day in day out under the said Administration. Their assets have increased three-fold but they are shame to admit prosperity under the PPPC. David Granger is now receiving benefits of over $1 million per month, wow!
Corbin already has a spanking house in Republic Park, sprawling resort in the Essequibo, dredge and other operations. CN Sharma flourished under the PPP because of a conducive business environment, his children now have giant stores in Georgetown and several properties around the country, Carl Grenedge car cost the treasury $15 million duty-free, Basil Williams is building a $70 million house at Banks Housing Scheme and the list goes on.
Bitter Moses Nagamootoo should give up his Bel Air house. ll these bitter people devotees of hypocrisy should give up their salaries in Parliament and donate them to those who they have put out of jobs.

It is inevitable if free money is coming in through the begging bowl economy that there would be progress". As the drug dealer generate "business" by building Malls etc to  sell products cheaply or go into the "housing scheme" business to "wash" his  crooked earnings, worth is accrued by the society. Unfortunately it is the wrong kind. Our nation has no productive industry because these parasites do not know how to create, manage and run them well.  With sugar losing half its productive capacity do you think t hat results in "retrenching" and ;loss of  earnings to the "working class"?  This parasitic class has the audacity of constructing a ponzy scheme called LCDS to bootstrap our economy! Build something for a change!

Originally Posted by Conscience:

What do you think this girl would say" Obviously,she is a simple woman ( in the sense of a plain girl with no compunction for the facial decorations we wee with the other Revlon queens) and has lost her income.

That she was part of an propagandist inclined agency is not her fault. Hopefully, they take some of the free money they have in excess profits  and not simply line the pockets of their prime parasitic party crew like Kwame and keep this girl employed in some useful capacity.

That you use her so badly is ignoble, disingenuous and without a conscience. But then again, you are her task masters and your intent is simply to make her a minion not satisfy her need for a productive life and income commensurate with it.

Now that the political dust has settled, let us now move beyond these cuts.

Parliament has spoken and that is how the system works.

Now look towards the future:

1. Most of the cuts were justifiable and the savings from these cuts will benefit Guyana in the long run.

2. Some cuts were vindictive and will cost the opposition votes in the next election.

3. PPP will benefit politically in the next election since the opposition did a poor job in justifying their cuts to the people by not getting the media on their side.

4. These cuts demonstrated to the PPP that the political process in parliament does not give the PPP full control in decision making process in Guyana.

5. This will make the PPP more accountable.

6. We will all see a better Guyana.

Let us call a spade a spade

Originally Posted by TI:
Any ministers willing to take a pay cut to benefit the workers?

MP's will never take pay cuts.

It happened here in recently here in Canada where the government raised the age requirement for collection of pension but the did not touch their big fat pension packages.

My post above stands, we must send a message to politicians from time to time that they were elected by the people to represent the people.

Ask Granger if he is willing to give up part of his big fat package. He kept quiet after parliament passed his retirement package.