antabanta posted:

Ayuh coolie owe an apology to afros for slavery.   Ayuh better start apologizing now. 🙄🙄

Whites owe blacks an apology for slavery that occurred several centuries ago. Blacks today owe themselves an apology for all the ills in their communities. Lots of us are undermined but we find a way to kick the shackles away and move on and move up.

Black people are subjected to systematic discrimination for complex reasons but still subjected. There is ample evidence of this from the school to prison pipeline to housing discrimination to workplace discrimination, etc. A few may have opportunities to kick the shackles but for the rest, life is reduced to mere existence and survival. The only way to learn, not actually know, but just learn a little of their travails is to read material produced by black authors. For all of you who casually dismiss the travesty of black people in America, I urge you to read a few books - Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison, Home by Toni Morrison, The Child By Tiger by Thomas Wolfe. You cannot judge the situation of black people from a distance.

I can't buy this Anta. I came here with $25 which is all the money that the PNC government back then would allow. You know me, our family as well as your own family who are my family so you must know that we found ways to get what we have. Check how many jobs your cousin tried out since she arrived here in 1987. Her daughter did not become a PA at 23 by sleeping late and missing school. Sure there are systems out there but that goes for all of us. After 9/11, Muslims wished they had non-Muslim names if they were seeking jobs. But they still woke up on time and kicked the pavement to make things happen. Making excuses for blacks inaction or ill actions does not do then any good. If it is racist to comment on blacks not doing enough to improve their lives, then so be it. If they work slow, that is not anyone else fault but their own. I do accounting and there are times I go into my office at home to get work from my workplace done. I know a certain black who says that as long as it is not 8 to 5 Monday to Friday, she doesn't care if the workplace burn down. I don't know where she expects to go the next morning at 8 if the workplace burned down. Those are truths and screening them causes those folks to continue in their same dire condition. That said, no one is saying that there is no systemization discrimination out there. Even Volda Lawrence said that she was looking to hire a doctor that looks like her. 

When I moved to Miami in 1988, I had the responsibility to get to work for 8AM. But I also had to take my mom and two sisters to work. This is how my morning went. I leave home and hopped onto the Turnpike at SW184th Ave heading north. I exit at SW88th Av to drop my mom to work. Then I hopped onto the Palmatto at SW88th Av heading north and exit at SW 24th St so I can drop my youngest sister to work. Then I drove a bit back in our direction to drop my other sister to work at 28th and US1. Then I take the US1 and head back almost home to my workplace around 175th Ave. Without taking care of my mom's and two sisters' commute, I could have been at work in about 10 to 15 minutes but the one I was stuck with was over an hour. Now at the end of our workday, I retraced my steps from the morning. That is what I had to do. I didn't complain or desert anyone because we all wanted to get somewhere. No excuses because excuses keep people back. If I didn't make excuses for me, why would I make any for blacks who sleep late and squander their lives. And this would be the same for anyone else who waste their life but this topic is about blacks. And I did that for nearly a year before we moved to California. When we got to California, we were still sharing cars and driving others to work but we did not make excuses that we had car problems. We do what we had to do to get to work on time and protect our jobs. just like we did in Miami in 1988.

antabanta posted:

It seems like they want the whole world to feel guilty for their suffering during the times of slavery.  

The world is run by elite white, the same elite white who prospered from the Atlantic Slave Trade. Why do you say black people want the whole world to feel guilty?

Dude, get a grip, we all had tribulations and baggage to carry around. The excuses for failure will only cause people find reasons to justify not trying.  All other races pull themselves by the bootstrap to overcome adversity. You need to preach a different message to your people rather than to follow the excuse makers who subscribe to the mental shackles.  

Yugi, Baseman, Skeleton man and so on will be here to offer their celebratory thoughts to the white invaders.

This is very historical, in pictures too...even better for Skeleton Man and KP...who might have difficulty reading.

Ivan Van Sertima was a Guyanese, who wrote an interesting book, They Came Before Columbus.....its on my list of books to read when I get a chance. 

Why don't you cross your legs and shut you cunny? You come here as a PNC mole. I bet you are a negro or mixed negro and parade with a Hindu name so we think you are Indian. Gwan dah side you mangy mama daag.

American Afros will not touch an illiterate, ignorant piece of garbage like you with a 100 yd Pole!!!

He is a few inches away before Bossman throws him with this dirty Panty out of here.

That's your only hope, relying pon yuh fren to do what you can't do. Dis is how alyuh roll, corruption top down. Dat's why Guyana is like dat. Traitorous, corrupt society relying pon "friends" do do dirty deeds  instead of on law and order.

Yugi Bhai, why the obscenity and vulgarity?

I am now like Charandass, fighting fire with fire.

So you are now GNI fire raas Santa dropping yuh pants... What's that on tip of the other Santa finger? 

This fella Yugi pretends he is some indian holy man. Multiple graphics of beeties and fingers. Wouldn't be surprised if he is a dig and smell "man". lol

Black people are subjected to systematic discrimination for complex reasons but still subjected. There is ample evidence of this from the school to prison pipeline to housing discrimination to workplace discrimination, etc. A few may have opportunities to kick the shackles but for the rest, life is reduced to mere existence and survival. The only way to learn, not actually know, but just learn a little of their travails is to read material produced by black authors. For all of you who casually dismiss the travesty of black people in America, I urge you to read a few books - Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison, Home by Toni Morrison, The Child By Tiger by Thomas Wolfe. You cannot judge the situation of black people from a distance.

I can't buy this Anta. I came here with $25 which is all the money that the PNC government back then would allow. You know me, our family as well as your own family who are my family so you must know that we found ways to get what we have. Check how many jobs your cousin tried out since she arrived here in 1987. Her daughter did not become a PA at 23 by sleeping late and missing school. Sure there are systems out there but that goes for all of us. After 9/11, Muslims wished they had non-Muslim names if they were seeking jobs. But they still woke up on time and kicked the pavement to make things happen. Making excuses for blacks inaction or ill actions does not do then any good. If it is racist to comment on blacks not doing enough to improve their lives, then so be it. If they work slow, that is not anyone else fault but their own. I do accounting and there are times I go into my office at home to get work from my workplace done. I know a certain black who says that as long as it is not 8 to 5 Monday to Friday, she doesn't care if the workplace burn down. I don't know where she expects to go the next morning at 8 if the workplace burned down. Those are truths and screening them causes those folks to continue in their same dire condition. That said, no one is saying that there is no systemization discrimination out there. Even Volda Lawrence said that she was looking to hire a doctor that looks like her. 

Us and our ancestors were not subjected to centuries of oppression and persecution. We did not grow up in an environment where everyday we were pummeled with the idea that we're less than human and undeserving of basic human rights and dignity. Think about it. A child exposed to the mildest of any form of abuse carries that baggage around for the rest of their life. What do you happens to an entire ethnic group that is subjected to centuries, and ongoing, of extreme mental, physical, emotional, and spiritual abuse? How can someone who lives with the fear that if they leave home in the morning they might not return for no reason other than the color of their skin, how can that person pursue your idea of success when for that person success is limited to surviving being stopped in the street by police or any white with a gun? I don't think anyone looking in from the outside can understand the sentiments of black Americans. After a few years of abuse, a child would need therapy for the rest of their life. What therapy is available for black Americans to help shed their centuries of trauma, and I mean trauma that you and I can't possibly imagine? I'm not making excuses for black inaction. It's reality and the effect of a cause. You cannot target and criticize the effect without addressing the cause.

antabanta posted:

Us and our ancestors were not subjected to centuries of oppression and persecution. We did not grow up in an environment where everyday we were pummeled with the idea that we're less than human and undeserving of basic human rights and dignity. Think about it. A child exposed to the mildest of any form of abuse carries that baggage around for the rest of their life. What do you happens to an entire ethnic group that is subjected to centuries, and ongoing, of extreme mental, physical, emotional, and spiritual abuse? How can someone who lives with the fear that if they leave home in the morning they might not return for no reason other than the color of their skin, how can that person pursue your idea of success when for that person success is limited to surviving being stopped in the street by police or any white with a gun? I don't think anyone looking in from the outside can understand the sentiments of black Americans. After a few years of abuse, a child would need therapy for the rest of their life. What therapy is available for black Americans to help shed their centuries of trauma, and I mean trauma that you and I can't possibly imagine? I'm not making excuses for black inaction. It's reality and the effect of a cause. You cannot target and criticize the effect without addressing the cause.

I have some sympathy for that argument!

antabanta posted:

The MIND is a place of its own.

Success depends on how it is molded.

I know a number of Africans, all preachers. And they always lament, "What is wrong with Black ppl." Especially when they review the success of other races of ppl in America. 

The way you carry on is understandable, you read too many depressing books. Read Obama or Michelle on how to overcome. Doan go LOW go High.

Rise above ruinous thoughts. I am certain you are one of those uppity blacks in America.

antabanta posted:

I would submit that if I run into 10 black folks today, none of them would know anything about what took place in the Americas centuries ago. The arguments of what happened back then are usually used by others to provide excuses. Btw, making excuses are not bad for black communities only. It is terrible for any community. What happened centuries ago is not responsible for many black men making babies and abandoning them into abject poverty with no structure for that child to succeed. More blacks killed are killed by other blacks than by whites or police. A child needing therapy is usually one directly affected by trauma, not some distant incident experience by someone else. The black folks I am referring to don't need therapies or excuses. They need to start taking responsibilities for their actions. LeBron James was born to a 16 years old mother and a irresponsible father who was never in his life did not use that immediate trauma for an excuse. 16 years later when all the guys who entered the league with him are washed up, he is still the most sought for employee in his field. And he is black.

antabanta posted:

I would submit that if I run into 10 black folks today, none of them would know anything about what took place in the Americas centuries ago. The arguments of what happened back then are usually used by others to provide excuses. Btw, making excuses are not bad for black communities only. It is terrible for any community. What happened centuries ago is not responsible for many black men making babies and abandoning them into abject poverty with no structure for that child to succeed. More blacks killed are killed by other blacks than by whites or police. A child needing therapy is usually one directly affected by trauma, not some distant incident experience by someone else. The black folks I am referring to don't need therapies or excuses. They need to start taking responsibilities for their actions. LeBron James was born to a 16 years old mother and a irresponsible father who was never in his life did not use that immediate trauma for an excuse. 16 years later when all the guys who entered the league with him are washed up, he is still the most sought for employee in his field. And he is black.

Well said!

antabanta posted:

You would be hanging around stupid black people because every one I meet would not only have an inkling on American history since it is a slave history and they are fully attuned to it. And what happened in the past does affect people today. The institutions built up in the past ie jim crow had to be broken down. Native Americans are not in their tribal regions but were gathered up by the indian removal act and dumped in some of the most godforsaken places and packed together. History does have lasting impact and the mental ones like Fanon spoke of can be hard to break.

I gather your idea of knowing black people does not include t he works of post cononial wrtiters like AimÃĐ CÃĐsaire, Leon Damas ( west Indian) ,LÃĐopold SÃĐdar Senghor, Chiek Anta Diop and dozens of others which any educated American black person would know intimately.  You need to get to know them or this nonsense you try to convey in blaming black disposition for their predicament as the impoverished will not persist. It will be to your virtue also. I think you need to begin with Edward Said ( Arab) to get a grip of how one can miss the obvious.

Richmond hill is akin to any black community. I go into SE DC our supposed ghetto and it is tens of times better t han RH where it is filthy and full of trash and drunks. There are good and bat every where you go.

You are ignorant of of black fathers. The CDC in 2013 has a report that put the idea of absent black fathers to lie. A significant number of black fathers are not married to their children's mother but they are involved never the less. 

If you are in a depressed area closely packed like crabs in a barrel there will be violence in excess and of course it is your own you will kill. This is in no way a reason for a comparison with blacks being killed by police. That is conflating two distinct issues and plainly ignorant.  You need to blame some of the persisting injustices and attitudes as yours which is uninformed. 

You would be hanging around stupid black people because every one I meet would not only have an inkling on American history since it is a slave history and they are fully attuned to it.

Maybe. But that is their problem, not mine. I came from Guyana with $25.00 which was all the money allowed by the PNC government back then. I immediately went looking for work and made several moves to improve my situation. I eventually moved back to Florida in 1995 and promptly bought a house in Miami. I didn't mind that the public school was not the best as I intended to send my daughter to the Muslim school which went to 8th grade back then but goes to 12th grade now. She was not comfortable with going there so I needed to send her to public school. But because I didn't want her going to the one associated with where I lived, I moved to Pembroke Pines where the schools are better but my mortgage was now three times the one in Miami. I made sacrifices giving up vacations and other excesses to make that home mortgage free. Today our kids are benefiting from the decisions and sacrifices that their two parents made. I am not educated and rich like the rest of you but I was blessed with being able to make sound and beneficial decisions. So it is all about choices. Excuses keep people exactly where they are. And we don't see anyone seeking to make the same excuses for any other group of people although others have also suffered traumatic experiences.

You would be hanging around stupid black people because every one I meet would not only have an inkling on American history since it is a slave history and they are fully attuned to it.

Maybe. But that is their problem, not mine. I came from Guyana with $25.00 which was all the money allowed by the PNC government back then. I immediately went looking for work and made several moves to improve my situation. I eventually moved back to Florida in 1995 and promptly bought a house in Miami. I didn't mind that the public school was not the best as I intended to send my daughter to the Muslim school which went to 8th grade back then but goes to 12th grade now. She was not comfortable with going there so I needed to send her to public school. But because I didn't want her going to the one associated with where I lived, I moved to Pembroke Pines where the schools are better but my mortgage was now three times the one in Miami. I made sacrifices giving up vacations and other excesses to make that home mortgage free. Today our kids are benefiting from the decisions and sacrifices that their two parents made. I am not educated and rich like the rest of you but I was blessed with being able to make sound and beneficial decisions. So it is all about choices. Excuses keep people exactly where they are. And we don't see anyone seeking to make the same excuses for any other group of people although others have also suffered traumatic experiences.

Ksaz, Life was tough for most of us who came here early. I came on a student visa. I paid nonresident fees, worked for $1.90/hr, took the bus everywhere. Immigration was looking for anyone who was working and going to school. We worked nights only. I know it was not easy when you first got here. You, unlike me, had a family to support.

Actually I didn't have a family to support in 1987. I am not as old a head as you.   I just think that too many people too easily excuse irresponsible behaviors of blacks today pinning something that occurred centuries ago as the cover. I know anta so I am sure that his contributions to this topic are honorable. I just largely disagree with him because personal responsibilities is mostly the factor for the current conditions of some black people. This is the same with any other community although people don't make excuses for other communities in the same way.

is this sophomoric "submit" above part of the bigot illiteracy informing your dunce vomit that "n igger" refers only to a specific "characteristic" of Black people?

What you talkin' about Willis?

Why only Blacks are allowed to use the N word and it's OK.??

Looks like you need to replenish your oxygen. Sorry I am not interested in indulging you today. I am only responding here so you are aware of my intent. However, you are free to continue but you would be effectively talking to yourself.

I am not interested in indulging you today. I am only responding here so you are aware of my intent.

huh?

lol

What you talkin' about Willis?

you need to caucus mo' regularly with your 'intellectual' kinsman

try to keep up

You're joking. As recent as 20-something years ago a black man was dragged behind a truck for no reason other than being black. Currently, black people are shot, jailed, harassed for no reason other than being black of which there is documented evidence. As recent as 60 years ago, a black person could not even sit in certain seats on the bus and eat in certain restaurants. I can guarantee you that in almost every case a child who suffered abuse will pass that onto their children. You're missing some glaring significant factors such as this civilization we enjoy was built by the blood of black people. What happened centuries ago is very pertinent today because white privilege is real. Where do you think it comes from? You can never understand the plight of black people by being on the outside and passing judgement. How can you suggest there is nothing wrong with the proven discrimination against blacks in all areas - banking, housing, education - and that the onus is upon them to rise above such oppressive and repressive discrimination. You are still looking at the symptoms of the problem. Black men make babies in abject poverty for the same reason that Indo-Guyanese in abject poverty in rural areas produce more children than anyone else. The idea that black men abandon their families (still the symptom of a problem) has been proven incorrect. It is nothing more than another aspect of the narrative we have been bombarded with. I'm glad you mentioned Lebron James because the existence of successful blacks destroys the myth of black laziness and black refusal to take responsibility for their actions. Their triumph in a system geared to ensure their failure is an indication of the innate strength and perseverance of black people, although there is no reason why we should need another indication considering the atrocities they have endured. Perhaps we should demand white people start taking responsibility for their actions - for robbing and stealing and destroying whatever little they can't have; for intentionally eradicating entire nations in pursuit of wealth; for bombarding us with propaganda about their superiority and our inferiority; for taking credit for the great USA that was built by the blood and on the backs of others.

Last edited by antabanta

American blacks are getting wind of alyuh racist, exclusionary ways though. And whenever I can, I make sure I do my part for them to see that you all are not to be trusted in the US, especially politically. Your hatred of blacks is KNOWN!

This is why Indo Guyanese attempts to win electoral office in NYC have been thwarted.  This isnt to say that the candidates themselves are racists.  This is to say that the blacks living east of Van Wyck know how many Indo Guyanese racists live west of it.

. If I didn't make excuses for me, why would I make any for blacks who sleep late and squander their lives. 

And of course all 40 million blacks in this country sleep late and squander their lives in your opinion. You know this because your white "savior" told you and of course you must believe him.

I know a number of Africans, all preachers. And they always lament, "What is wrong with Black ppl." Especially when they review the success of other races of ppl in America. 

Maybe they need to tell us why all the problems in so many African countries. Of course you will quote the type of Africans who are as enthralled with the white man as you are.

Looks like you need to replenish your oxygen. Sorry I am not interested in indulging you today. I am only responding here so you are aware of my intent. However, you are free to continue but you would be effectively talking to yourself.

Any way thank you for indulging in your racist diatribe.  This is 100% of the type that I will see on a KKK site, and then you wonder why I Christian the Indo KKK.

No worries today I am engaging in dialogue with blacks who are involved in all sorts of progressive activities. I can only wonder why you are so isolated that you cannot meet these people.

Maybe they need to tell us why all the problems in so many African countries. Of course you will quote the type of Africans who are as enthralled with the white man as you are.

If Columbus did not facilitate your current georgraphy, you would have been blessed being ignorant of progress and education.

That is the Whiteman's gift to all peoples of the world.

Somehow, u r using the whitemans language and inventive education to present assinine logics.

anta, those forces do not affect blacks only. Others are also affected but it seems that only blacks are continually given excuses. That is actually not beneficial to them but if they want to continue living off those excuses, they are free to do so. No one is denying the incident like where the man was dragged behind the truck but for that one drag, many blacks have killed other blacks. But what I am mostly referring to is that no one is holding a gun to any black man's head forcing him to impregnate a black woman and then leaving her and the child to suffer. That is more widespread and that is where blacks need to take personal responsibility rather than hide behind excuses.

If Columbus did not facilitate your current georgraphy, you would have been blessed being ignorant of progress and education.

That is the Whiteman's gift to all peoples of the world.

Somehow, u r using the whitemans language and inventive education to present assinine logics.

There are two issues you are pathetically ignorant of:

1. There was adequate progress and education in the non-European world pre-Columbus. There was logic and language before the white man. The white man's language is infused with words and concepts from other cultures. Even you must know where the decimal numbering system originated from.

2. Only a warped mind would consider the death and destruction that accompanied the white man as gifts.