Kaieteur News attacks credibility of recycling plant developer using unverified info from competing developer

Thursday, 14 November 2013 18:20 administrator
Print PDF

By Romel Roopnarine

Today's Kaieteur News sought to create uncertainty regarding the US $30M recycling project which was recently inked between the GoG and a Canadian based Guyanese who apparently is the driving force behind the company Natural Globe Inc.
The newspaper uses as its source, the competing developer who lost out in his bid to gain the government's approval to poke holes at the credibility of Natural Globe Inc. and its owner Mohamed Osman. I hold no brief for Osman, he will have to explain himself to the public and outline the details.
However, a prominent contradiction stands out from the statements of the ‘source’ in the KN report which clearly escaped the attention of the reporter.
According to the source (Mr. Mosgrove),…… “He (Osman) speaks about a US$30M plant in Guyana that is expected to service Georgetown, East Coast Demerara and the East Bank Demerara. That plant would probably serve around 250,000 persons which is nowhere close to being a national provider”
The Kaieteur news report also quoted the source; Mr. Mosgrove as saying, “for any company to invest $30M to service such a small market something is definitely wrong.”
But just a few lines after, the very Mosgrove is quoted by the reporter as saying that his company invested US$26M to construct and outfit a 30,000 square foot modular facility in the St James Parish, Jamaica.

It does not end there; a quick glance at Mosgrove’s website - Panther Recycling Corporation and we will see that his only claim to fame are two projects, one in Guyana and the other in Jamaica. When one clicks on the Guyana link, this is what pops up – “Currently in Progress: Coming soon to Guyana a full scale recycling program and facility.”

The impression the company is giving is that it was/is already a done deal in Guyana.

For the Jamaica link, we are told that “Panther has already cleared the land and is now making plans to ready the site for construction of the 26 million dollar plant.”
However, if we are to believe Mr. Mosgrove, this plant should have been completed since last year.
A Jamaica Gleaner article on June 24 2012, quoted him as saying that “the recycling center should be in operation by September (2012) as the company will not be using the traditional construction methods.”
More than one year later, the company’s website is telling us that the ‘land has been cleared for construction.’

Bear in mind, according to the Kaieteur News article TODAY as quoted above, he is stating that his company has already ‘INVESTED…….’ If US26 million was used to clear the land we can only imagine the cost of constructing the complex.

But then again we should have sensed something ‘smelly’ when next to the names and experience of the Company’s President and Vice President (the only two persons featured) were pictures of two unrelated buildings (one in Dubai) and not their images.

BOASTING

Regarding its “COMPLETELY Modular design Powered by solar!!!!” the company boasts that….“Built in Canada and delivered by ship-lines, average time start to production 6 months that's why Panther is the leader in the Caribbean.”
Let us stress on the last few words, “Panther is the leader in the Caribbean”. Of what? They have not delivered on any of their promises to date in the Caribbean as can be verified from their very own web site. So what are they the leaders of?
Raising further eyebrows, neither their web site nor Kaieteur’s ‘source’ have specifically indicated one single project in Canada that they are currently engaged in. This is as much as we know, “Panther has now entered into an agreement to convert coal fired plants to solid waste.” Who, what, where, when, how…..are all missing.

The reason I took about an hour to research this on the internet is the simple fact that, Kaieteur’s source which the reporter and editor allowed to be published made a number of disparaging remarks about the integrity of the company and owner who was successful in obtaining government approval.
A recent lesson learnt by the world rated CBS 60 minutes teaches us the value of verifying the authenticity of the information provided by our source before we publish. The KN reporter by her own admission did go on the internet to research but apparently only on the company which won the bid and not to verify her source.
A simple glance at the website would have raised eyebrows. But then again the urge to attack any and every Government project is such an enticing prospect for Kaieteur News that nothing else matters, including the truth.

Unverified my behind...the company is a ghost company. As the fellow they rejected said, he cannot get the company name in Canada since they just registered. He claimed it was Canadian registered.

If the PPP is wants to prove to us the Kaiteur news is up to dastardly deeds, let them post a capability statement from this company. That will never happen.

Why didn't the writer of this article tell us what Mr. Osman has built? Apparently nothing, since he hasn't even built a website for his company. His company has no trace of even being in existence. All this is saying is that the government was dealing with two bogus companies and chose one bogus company over another. Another Fip Motilall fiasco in the making and more enrichment for the PPP fat cats.

Originally Posted by Mars:

Why didn't the writer of this article tell us what Mr. Osman has built? Apparently nothing, since he hasn't even built a website for his company. His company has no trace of even being in existence. All this is saying is that the government was dealing with two bogus companies and chose one bogus company over another. Another Fip Motilall fiasco in the making and more enrichment for the PPP fat cats.

Wait, Obama hired Fip Motilall???

Originally Posted by Mars:

Wait, Obama hired Fip Motilall???

Fip laughing at everybody today. He didn't even have to complete the road and he got paid for it. Plus the millions he made from Sithe Global for the Hydro Plant licence. Not bad for a puja shop owner. 

HEHEHEHE   I rest my case. ASS WIPE ANYONE?????

Oh rant banna is why you does go round calling yourself, asswipe?

Cain, Opium mess yuh brain no one expect you to get it.

HEHEHEHE   I rest my case. ASS WIPE ANYONE?????

Oh rant banna is why you does go round calling yourself, asswipe?

Cain, Opium mess yuh brain no one expect you to get it.

sometimes I wonder if yuh does act stupid or yuh really stupid

There are two sides to every story. But we still need verification on claims about a registered Canadian company. Let us move Guyana forward but it must be transparent for all to see.

We must all be vigilant but honest in our posts.

Dem boys seh…Guyana like mad people

November 14, 2013 | By | Filed Under Dem Boys Seh, Features / Columnists, News 

Guyana just tie up a deal wid a Canadian company which is a Guyanese company which got a Canadian owner who is a Guyanese man. Dem boys confuse when dem hear all that. Dem can’t understand what Ganga de Parsad; No man  de Tikka and Rob de Earth brother, OId King Croal try fuh tell people when dem sign de agreement wid de Canadian who is a Guyanese. Wha ketch dem eye is de money. De man tell dem how he coming wid US$30 million fuh recycle de nonsense and try fuh pick any sense that might come out dem mouth. When people check dem can’t find de company nowhere. It ain’t deh pun line neither de hook. It ain’t deh pun de internet. De biggest laugh dem boys get was when dem ask he how nobody can find he on de internet. He tell dem that he ain’t deh pun de internet because he don’t put he company ad pun de internet. Well dem boys want to know if DDL, Banks DIH, de Waterfalls paper and de Ministry of Public Works does put dem company ads pun de net. De madness nah stop deh. De Canadian who is a Guyanese seh that he got personnel people all over de Caribbean. When people ask which part of de Caribbean he seh that he can’t talk because he company gun get blow away. This is de same man who sit down wid de Minister and mek big plan and sign deal. When dem boys ask Ganga de man seh that he satisfy wid wha de man talk. He seh that de government happy fuh deal wid mad people and con men. Ganga recommend and de government happy. He seh that dem only concern wid a part of de US$30 million. Once dem get dem cut, de man can put down coconut plant, artificial plant and even cocoa plant. Is that same attitude mek Brazzy and Bharrat bring Fip. Dem see de hydro money and dem didn’t care wha kind of hydro Guyana get. It coulda been hydro seed wha some of dem already got. Ask Brazzy and Fip. Birds of a feather.

Talk half and see wha kind of plant dem putting down.

There are two sides to every story. But we still need verification on claims about a registered Canadian company. Let us move Guyana forward but it must be transparent for all to see.

I applaud you for what you've written here. Our views coincide on this issue.

The onus is on the Minister of Local Government and Mr Osman to provide full information on the bona fides of the company in question.

It is now confirmed a registered Canadian company. 

the guy who was rejected said his lawyers registered the name since he felt conned.

Case closed. Toilet Paper reporting once again from KN.

AFC councillor details widespread corruption within party

WEDNESDAY, 11 SEPTEMBER 2013 15:38 ADMINISTRATOR
PrintPDF

By AFC Region 6 Councillor Haseef Yusuf

AFC Councillor, Haseef Yusuf

The ‘top guns’ in the AFC need each other’s support badly. They complement each other’s corrupt practices, as they try to outsmart their members and supporters.
However, recently there was a desperate attempt to get rid of me by the National Executive Committee of the AFC since I am not part of the corrupt ‘jahaaji’ network. 

Ironically, it was the same Councillor who submitted exhaustive evidence of cronyism and corruption against an AFC MP at an inquiry, who claimed that he spent in excess of $4.5M on ‘bigan’ and ‘curass’. That was a ‘whitewash inquiry’ and even the Chairman of that inquiry, the then General Secretary Mr Sextus Edwards, was not aware of the press release which concluded that the entire episode was one of ‘misunderstanding and miscommunication.’ You cannot go against your own kind!

I will just itemize a few instances:

- Certain top members of the AFC will go abroad (Canada, USA) and members in the diaspora will hold fund- raisers and give monies collected to these members who will not submit the same in its entirety since proper accounting records are not kept. I was utterly shocked when the unaudited financial statement for 2012 showed that in one year the AFC only collected $22,087,500 from its chapters in the UK, Canada, USA, etc. During the 2011 campaign alone; one of the chapters in Canada sent $55,000 Canadian or $11,000,000 (Guyana dollars). I have evidence of this.

- Certain top AFC members will collect donations and not make any recordings in any receipt book or any document whatever.

- Monies are being spent with no proper bills or vouchers;

- I saw a top AFC member collect monies and issue a receipt but on looking closer I saw that there was no carbon sheet, hence no duplication made. How was the balancing done?

- Everything was donated for a fund-raiser in Berbice and it made a loss!

- On Election Day 2011, food and drinks were diverted to some AFC members’ homes for their private use while some AFC polling agents went hungry;

- During the 2012 AFC convention, a motion was passed for AFC groups to bank all monies collected in a party account, this was never done. In fact, it was I who raised that motion which was unanimously passed. So much for accountability!

- During the 2011 elections there were three factions in Berbice and all were accusing each other about theft, mismanagement and corruption, but no investigation was done. T

- Article 15(9) of the AFC Constitution stated that the National Executive Committee shall appoint an auditor annually yet the AFC presented an unaudited and inaccurate financial statement at the AFC 2012 Convention. There is no shortage of accountants and auditors within the AFC, so why no audited accounts?

- The financial statement which ended on February 2012 showed a surplus of $464,643 yet members were told after the 2011 Elections that the AFC owed Mrs Cathy Hughes a sum in excess of $ 7,000,000 and that the AFC MPs will have to make contributions towards offsetting that liability. How can there be a surplus when monies are owed? In other words, there were no bills to support the spending of $ 7 million! The financial statement did not speak of any liability! Here is a party that is preaching accountability but is utterly devoid of that concept in its internal dealings.

Is this the party that wants to run this country? 

I believe in what the Great Mahatma preached- do not be afraid to speak out against corruption even if you are alone. History will judge and absolve me for speaking out against cronyism and corruption within my party. I will have to clean my house before I clean my neighbour’s. Let us remove the ‘beam’ from our own eyes then we can see to remove the ‘speck’ from our brother’s.

Case closed. Toilet Paper reporting once again from KN.

that is on stabroeknews. Further, you can check.

Minister’s daughter to invest US$15M as business partner – says Canadian investor Mohamed Osman

November 15, 2013 | By | Filed Under News 

Govt. inks US$30M MoU with ‘Ghost Company’ for recycling plant…

- Company only registered three months ago, not six years as claim

- Media scaring away foreign investors – Govt.

Natural Globe Incorporated, the company, with which Government has signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU), to set up a US$30 Million recycling plant here, was only registered in Guyana three months ago.

CEO of Natural Globe Inc., Mohamed Osman

This is a clear contradiction to what the CEO of the Company, Mohamed Osman, told this newspaper on Wednesday. He had previously claimed that the company is six years old but public records have since revealed this as not being factual and that Osman only registered the company, Natural Globe Inc., three months ago, on August 13, 2013. He had said too that the proposal for the recycling plant was submitted 14 months ago. Osman yesterday told Kaieteur News that the company, registered locally, has as its directors himself, his son and another female, whom he refused to name. But in a surprising twist of events, the public records disclosed that the other director and shareholder is in fact Adrianna Webster, the daughter of the Human Services Minister, Jennifer Webster. The names on the business registration were Mohammed Osman, Adrianna Webster and Imzamam Osman. Adrianna Webster also resides in Canada. Osman told this publication that it is he and this female investor that would be putting US$15M each. He said that they are not looking for other investors and that they had all of the required cash and are just waiting on the ‘go-ahead.’ Asked about the source of his finances to back such an ambitious project, Osman claimed that he is the Vice President of a Canadian Company, Mogford Enterprises, and that he owns half of this company along with a man he identified as John Mogford. As he made this claim, a Kaieteur News reporter commenced an online search, to no avail, as no website for this company could be found and Osman was at a loss to give an explanation. Pressed further on the source of his share of the financing, he said that Mogford Enterprise is the parent company for a subsidiary called the Tadger Group International. While there was no website found for the parent company, one was located for what he claimed is the subsidiary. When questioned further about this company; details such as contact information, among other things, Osman said he could not recall at the time and would text Kaieteur News the information.

Minister Jennifer Webster

Efforts yesterday to contact the Minister of Local Government and Regional Development, Ganga Persaud proved futile. A woman identifying herself as the Minister’s Secretary repeatedly claimed that Persaud was in a meeting. The Minister however released a public missive yesterday evening which in itself exposed Osman and again contradicted his claims. According to the Minister’s statement, “Osman is also an active member of the Tadger’s Fuel Economy Solutions, which is also a key player for environmental management in Ontario, Canada…Mr. Osman serves in the capacity of Technical Adviser to this agency.” On Wednesday this newspaper had done a search throughout several Canadian business registration listings and nothing was found on Osman or his company. Head of the Presidential Secretariat, Dr Roger Luncheon in announcing the MoU last week, had said that it was a Canadian Company. The Company was later identified as Natural Globe Inc., registered in Guyana, with Osman as a shareholder. Osman had told Kaieteur News that Natural Globe Inc., has a Canadian parent company with several branches.  He was however unable to give this publication a name for this company, only to say that it operates in Ontario, Canada. When asked about the fact that none of the companies he mentioned can be found on the internet, Osman then said that they do not do any “internet ads.’ He said that this was because his company “uses innovative techniques which persons could steal.” Local Government Minister Ganga Persaud on Wednesday last had also said that he could not say for sure whether Dr Luncheon made a mistake by saying the company was Canadian. According to the Minister, he does not know if the company is registered in Canada, but he knows that it has a Guyanese registration. Questioned about whether any investigation was undertaken by the Ministry into the background and ability of the Company to undertake what it has promised, Persaud responded that government is “satisfied” with all the information which was submitted by the company. “We just needed a recycling plant which is in keeping with the needs we outlined,” the Minister said.   He said that he does not know about the technical capabilities of the company, or about its business in Canada. Meanwhile, the Ministry of Local Government in its public missive deemed the articles written by both this newspaper and the Stabroek News as incorrect, mischievous and misleading and questioned the intention behind the articles. The Ministry questioned if the articles were meant to scare investors from Guyana.

Is it operational? Where?

LOL! Ganga gone into hiding.

Minister’s daughter to invest US$15M as business partner – says Canadian investor Mohamed Osman

November 15, 2013 | By

Natural Globe Incorporated, the company, with which Government has signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU), to set up a US$30 Million recycling plant here, was only registered in Guyana three months ago.

This is a clear contradiction to what the CEO of the Company, Mohamed Osman, told this newspaper on Wednesday. He had previously claimed that the company is six years old but public records have since revealed this as not being factual and that Osman only registered the company, Natural Globe Inc., three months ago, on August 13, 2013.

Last edited by Mitwah

November 15, 2013 | By

This is a clear contradiction to what the CEO of the Company, Mohamed Osman, told this newspaper on Wednesday. He had previously claimed that the company is six years old but public records have since revealed this as not being factual and that Osman only registered the company, Natural Globe Inc., three months ago, on August 13, 2013.
He had said too that the proposal for the recycling plant was submitted 14 months ago.
Osman yesterday told Kaieteur News that the company, registered locally, has as its directors himself, his son and another female, whom he refused to name. But in a surprising twist of events, the public records disclosed that the other director and shareholder is in fact Adrianna Webster, the daughter of the Human Services Minister, Jennifer Webster.

The names on the business registration were Mohammed Osman, Adrianna Webster and Imzamam Osman.
Adrianna Webster also resides in Canada. Osman told this publication that it is he and this female investor that would be putting US$15M each. He said that they are not looking for other investors and that they had all of the required cash and are just waiting on the ‘go-ahead.’
Asked about the source of his finances to back such an ambitious project, Osman claimed that he is the Vice President of a Canadian Company, Mogford Enterprises, and that he owns half of this company along with a man he identified as John Mogford.
As he made this claim, a Kaieteur News reporter commenced an online search, to no avail, as no website for this company could be found and Osman was at a loss to give an explanation.
Pressed further on the source of his share of the financing, he said that Mogford Enterprise is the parent company for a subsidiary called the Tadger Group International.
While there was no website found for the parent company, one was located for what he claimed is the subsidiary.
When questioned further about this company; details such as contact information, among other things, Osman said he could not recall at the time and would text Kaieteur News the information.

MINISTER'S DAUGHTER DENY FALSE CLAIMS IN KAIETEUR NEWS REPORT

The Daughter of a serving government minister has issued a statement in which she denies claims linking her as a financier of a multimillion dollar recycling project in an article published by the Kaieteur News. Operated by a former PNC propagandist, Kaieteur News has been on a relentless campaign to derail every developmental project embarked upon by the government or by private individuals with the government's blessing as in this case.

Here is the statement issued below:

... I wish to categorically state that I AM NOT THE FEMALE INVESTOR PROVIDING US15M FOR THIS PROJECT AS WAS STATED IN THE KAIETEUR NEWSPAPER .

I am a director of the locally registered company Natural Globe Inc. I reside and live in Canada for many years. I am a Information Technology Consultant with the firm Mogford Enterprises. Mr.Osman is the Vice President of Technologies for MogFord Enterprises, and Mogford Enterprises is the parent company of TGI and ETS. I wish to clearly state, that I am an independent person in my own right and my area of expertise is to design software and provide information technology solutions for various companies.

My work is in no way influenced by Ms. Jennifer Webster, Minister of Human Services and Social Security in the Government of Guyana. I have my own income and my own liabilities and my decision to work with the firm is merely on a professional basis . I denounce any attempt to assassinate my character and my mother's character in any form or sort. The proposed solid waste recycling project to be undertaken in Guyana, of which I am a registered director of the company-- Natural Globe Inc, is purely being undertaken by the company . In fact, the financing for this project is already in place.

Yours Sincerely,

Andriana Webster

Osman yesterday told Kaieteur News that the company, registered locally, has as its directors himself, his son and another female, whom he refused to name. But in a surprising twist of events, the public records disclosed that the other director and shareholder is in fact Adrianna Webster, the daughter of the Human Services Minister, Jennifer Webster.

The names on the business registration were Mohammed Osman, Adrianna Webster and Imzamam Osman. Adrianna Webster also resides in Canada. Osman told this publication that it is he and this female investor that would be putting US$15M each. He said that they are not looking for other investors and that they had all of the required cash and are just waiting on the ‘go-ahead.’

One could predict with a degree of accuracy that there was a minister relative or some shell company holding assets for a PPP crony was on the other side of this deal. Many stated as much and it is exactly what we find. The PPP are parasites of a very voracious sort. They will not stop thiefing until they are out of office. When they are, we will have them in jail. That's for sure.