Kaieteur News bent on distorting Amaila Falls scenario

Wednesday, 16 October 2013 21:21, Source

KAIETEUR News recently published an aerial photograph showing a limited flow of water streaming from the Amaila Falls which is earmarked to be the water source for the Amaila Falls Hydro Power station.

In August 2013, the Government of Guyana issued a press release and a 70 page expert hydrology report prepared by Halcrow, a UK based internationally recognized engineering consultancy group. The public is invited to refer to the report located at www.privatisation.gov.gy.

That report clearly indicates that October is in fact one of the driest months of the year and as such, water flow will be limited. It also clearly indicated that the reservoir to be built as part of this project will be used to store water and protect against dry periods such as the one currently being experienced. The reservoir will enable the station to provide a continued source of power. The estimated energy that will be supplied has been based on various expert firms which used multiple sources for their analysis including 40 years of flow data and conclusively demonstrates that the project is entirely feasible and practical. The study clearly shows that the operation of a reservoir allows the supply of energy to be managed to effectively minimize the impact of the dry season water flows.

Using the figures in the Halcrow report (pg. 44), the following energy levels are expected from the base line water flows. Using GPL’s average 2012 generation costs of US19 cents, the equivalent annual savings in US$ are estimated at:

Amaila Site Annual Energy Yield (GWH)
GPL Avg. Costs for Generation (US cents)
Equivalent Annual Value in US$
Minimum
Average
Maximum

Regardless of the impact of the dry season water flows, based on the hydrology report, the projected costs of the project and GPL’s generation costs, Amaila will allow an annual net savings of approximately US$100 M. At the end of the 20 year concession period, Guyana will own Amaila, a project that can last 75 to 100 years, free. Additionally, Amaila will allow Guyana to eliminate approximately 90% of its greenhouse gas emissions from electricity generation.

Kaieteur News deliberately ignored any reference to the August press release and Halcrow report that were covered in various papers, including their own. One can only conclude that the objective of Kaieteur News is to avoid presenting information in a fair, objective and balanced manner and prefer instead, to distort and misrepresent for their personal objectives.

The editors/reporters seem to be confused with the basic concepts for hydroelectric projects with the following features:

1. run-of-the-river flow conditions; and,

2. storage reservoirs to regulate/manage flows.

ASS WIPE WILL BE ASS WIPE.  I DONT EXPECT BETTER FROM A HIGH SCHOOL DROP OUT EDITOR!!!!!!!!!!!

The above supplied no information to substantiate its claim .The true cost of the plant would have followed statistically real life examples and would have exceeded it budget by a third to a half its stated value. That they would have been the first to do it within budget is majical thinking. It has already increased over 30% since its first planning.

Also, there is no hard data supplied to us as to the volume of the reservoir and the rate at which it replenishes itself based on usage. The idea that they can come up with cost per Khr needs to be taken in lieu of projections for the Berbice river bridge. That toll is over 500$ of its initial estimate.

Calling people asswipe is easy when you do not use your latent gifts to express intelligently why you came to a specific conclusion. But that has and will always be your habit. It is mainly due to the air in your head. You have to let some out least you lift off

The editors/reporters seem to be confused with the basic concepts for hydroelectric projects with the following features:

Then tell us where and how they are confused. You are the one with the wealth of data so you can express them in cogent terms if you are up to t he task. But like nehru above, you find it easier to snipe that write good sense.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

Then tell us where and how they are confused. You are the one with the wealth of data so you can express them in cogent terms if you are up to t he task. But like nehru above, you find it easier to snipe that write good sense.

Read and understand carefully my statement before you babble your usual idiotic views.

What more cogent terms you need than what I provided in the comments?

Read and understand carefully my statement before you babble your usual idiotic views.

HEHEHE DG Fish up the IDIOT.

Your statement is its usual dessicated sniping. It is absent information. You are an engineer, speak in as an engineer delivering a message as why a thing is of benefit.

The cogent information that is lacking here is the volume of water necessary for sustained consumption by the plant and the ability for nature to keep it coming. Those information is absent. It is hinted at but never supplied. You can be the first to put it into public domain.

You are as shallow as you present yourself to be.

Your statement is its usual dessicated sniping. It is absent information. You are an engineer, speak in as an engineer delivering a message as why a thing is of benefit.

The cogent information that is lacking here is the volume of water necessary for sustained consumption by the plant and the ability for nature to keep it coming. Those information is absent. It is hinted at but never supplied. You can be the first to put it into public domain.

Continued babbling relative to my statement on the gist of the issues.

The volume of water, the ability to maintain the flows during operation plus other information are in the reports.

Read them carefully to understand the issues before blaring your nonsense.

DEn you at the bottom of the Pacific.

It is understood the mind of a fool he is a wise man. The learned know the difference since they would have had some information to work with. You are absent that

The volume of water, the ability to maintain the flows during operation plus other information are in the reports.

those fictive reports again.

And, you are the sole authority.  

Deh presser Foot like to think he knows everything. I cant stand FOOLS like him!!!!!!!!!

Before you can claim to reflect on something that affirms your authority that thing has to be in the public domain. It must not be state secret. I am telling you the necessary information to draw the requisite conclusion as to the viability of the project is not in the public domain.

Deh presser Foot like to think he knows everything. I cant stand FOOLS like him!!!!!!!!!

Do you think if you make these braying sounds you will not be considered an ass? What are you talking about. You are begging the question on non existent information. Now that is the hall mark of idiocy.

BLA BLA BLA   NANANANANANANANAN

Before you can claim to reflect on something that affirms your authority that thing has to be in the public domain. It must not be state secret. I am telling you the necessary information to draw the requisite conclusion as to the viability of the project is not in the public domain.

Danyael's continued braying.