Lack of national unity has impaired development – Pres Granger

President David Granger addressing Parliament

Guyana’s 50th year of Independence should be seen as a tool to perpetuate national unity and Guyana’s political sphere has an important role to play in promoting such an advent.

This is according to President David Granger who made the statement as he addressed Guyana’s Parliament on Thursday May 12.

The President indicated that over the last 50 years the absence of National Unity has done nothing but promote strife adding that it is now time for a change.

“We have a country to develop, a territory to defend and the prospect of prosperity to be pursued,” the President stated as he opened his speech in Parliament.

“The absence of national unity has impaired national development it has led to the trickle of migration…it contributes to national and political fatigue,” Mr Granger added.

He made it clear that the National Assembly must take the first steps on the long road to social cohesion and political inclusion.

This can be done by repairing damage done in the past and restoring trust

“We can construct a more cohesive society by doing more to eradicate” poverty, the President noted adding that addressing issues of gender equity and access to information.

Referring to social disunity, the President stated “that system belongs to the past…it is now dangerously fatal,” noting “let us use this special year to usher in an era of social peace…use the Opportunity of Guyana’s 50th anniversary to unite our people.”

http://demerarawaves.com/2016/...opment-pres-granger/

Cobra posted:

Can someone state some of the facts as to why Granger is losing the battle on national unity that is impairing developments in the nation?

Guyana is no less united than it was when the PPP was in power. 

Just because you can no longer boast that "blackman will never rule Guyana" doesn't change that fact.

Why dis man only talk talk talk. 

The way he dealt wid the Brian Tiwari issue was an insult to the Indian Fella.

And he wants unity. The bruddah has the wrang approach.

To get unity all parties should want that.

The PPP, and by extension its support base, only want "national unity" if it is one dominated by the 5% Indo elite! 

They just cannot see the Africans, and Amerindians should gave equitable opportunities to determine the direction that Guyana takes.

This asswipe surely must not be serious. He conveniently forgot to mention the effect of mo fiah slow fiah and pnc nationalization  were the factors behind lack of development. Not to mention the pnc supported crime spree under the Jagdeo administration.

The President indicated that over the last 50 years the absence of National Unity has done nothing but promote strife adding that it is now time for a change.

“We have a country to develop, a territory to defend and the prospect of prosperity to be pursued,” the President stated as he opened his speech in Parliament.

“The absence of national unity has impaired national development it has led to the trickle of migration…it contributes to national and political fatigue,” Mr Granger added.

Lack of national unity has impaired development – Pres Granger, in News, Politics May 12, 2016 2 Comments

http://demerarawaves.com/2016/...opment-pres-granger/

Perhaps, with specific reference to the 1964 - 1992 period when the PNC was in absolute power.

Did he forget, he led the charge to block Amelia.  This was a transformational initiative which would have brought about a sea change in Guyana for the benefit of all.

So what is the big bacannal for when Guyana is like it was in the 60's.

Granger is a hypocrite!!

ba$eman posted:

Did he forget, he led the charge to block Amelia.  This was a transformational initiative which would have brought about a sea change in Guyana for the benefit of all.

Granger is a hypocrite!!

Sport and bacchanal are fortes of the PNC criminals squatting in office. 

When it comes to new development ideas, Demerara Guy is starving for updates on the thread he created. Zero so far. That apologist Mars try to pass of Durban park temporary sun burn spectator stands as evidence of new development under the PNC.

ba$eman posted:

Granger is a hypocrite!!

When it comes to new development ideas, Demerara Guy is starving for updates on the thread he created. Zero so far. That apologist Mars try to pass of Durban park temporary sun burn spectator stands as evidence of new development under the PNC.

The apologists are doing a really pathetic job.  Everyone sees through their antics.

This asswipe surely must not be serious. He conveniently forgot to mention the effect of mo fiah slow fiah and pnc nationalization  were the factors behind lack of development. Not to mention the pnc supported crime spree under the Jagdeo administration.

Brown bai KKK screaming as usual about savage blacks.  No wonder the PPP lost.

ba$eman posted:

Did he forget, he led the charge to block Amelia. .

Two words led Amalia being blocked.

Fip Motilall.  Avoid that scandal as you wish but if they couldn't even select a competent contractor to build the road, how much confidence did this engender for what was a very complex project.

ba$eman posted:

Did he forget, he led the charge to block Amelia. .

Two words led Amalia being blocked.

Fip Motilall.  Avoid that scandal as you wish but if they couldn't even select a competent contractor to build the road, how much confidence did this engender for what was a very complex project.

Two words alight, "political partisanship"!!

You are a joker and a clown, and not too good at it either!!

And where is he wrong?

ba$eman posted:

Granger is a hypocrite!!

So let us look at PPP ideas of development.

Skeldon. Providence Stadium.  Marriott.  The road to Amalia build by a thief, who couldn't even build his driveway, with millions lost as a result.  Buddy's.  Berbice bridge which has put the NIS in stress, and where Jagdeo's buddies were guaranteed profits, with minimal investment.

And Timehri airport with EIGHT jetways.  Hmmmm.  Between 5AM and midnight today only 7 planes land, and the PPP thinks that we need 8 jetways.  

I am just confused as to why you think that the PPP did a good job.

Luckily for Guyana the economy is in private hands, and this limits the damage that the PPP could do.

Look at Guysuco. 1/2 BILLION US dollars in bailouts over 10 years, and they still couldn't meet payroll, pay suppliers or contribute to NIS.  APNU AFC had quickly inject money to prevent the collapse of GuySICKO.

ba$eman posted:

And where is he wrong?

Brown bai KKK screaming as usual about savage blacks.  No wonder the PPP lost!

ba$eman posted:

Fip Motilall.  .

Yes Fip 100% explain political partisanship.

No one who knows the interior would award a multimillion road project to a novice. They should have rounded up some vendors to do the job.  At least nothing would have been achieved more cheaply.

ba$eman posted:

Fip Motilall.  .

Yes Fip 100% explain political partisanship.

No one who knows the interior would award a multimillion road project to a novice. They should have rounded up some vendors to do the job.  At least nothing would have been achieved more cheaply.

You are a joker.  If the PNC brings such a project, all the people you vilify now is who the PNC will turn to to make it happen.  Harmon has already given a hint who he will work with!!

YOU are the epitome of what's so wrong with Guyana!!

ba$eman posted:

You are a joker.  If the PNC brings such a project, all the people you vilify now is who the PNC will turn to to make it happen.  Harmon has already given a hint who he will work with!!

If the PNC awards a major project to a market vendor, merely because they are black, and loyal, I will have the same thing to say as I do about Fip, whose only qualifications was being Indian, and loyal.

That racist partisanship I leave to you. You know full well that I say lots negative about the PNC.  In fact even yesterday you agreed with my comments about Granger and his "soulja bai" cronyism, instead of working with competence.

I warned you that I would remind you of this, and here we are!

ba$eman posted:

If the PNC awards a major project to a market vendor, merely because they are black, and loyal, I will have the same thing to say as I do about Fip, whose only qualifications was being Indian, and loyal.

That racist partisanship I leave to you. You know full well that I say lots negative about the PNC.  In fact even yesterday you agreed with my comments about Granger and his "soulja bai" cronyism, instead of working with competence.

I warned you that I would remind you of this, and here we are!

We talking much about nothing!  The PNC has done little and in doing whatever little, they have learned to embrace the PPP boys!

Why are you picking on Fip, many of the others the PNC now embrace you said was because of them being Indian!  One day the occasion will arise, and you will see them embracing Fip!

And yes, i do agree that Granger needs to place competence and capability over political payback!  I think we will see more and more of this anyway!

ba$eman posted:

Granger is a hypocrite!!

So let us look at PPP ideas of development.

Skeldon. Providence Stadium.  Marriott.  The road to Amalia build by a thief, who couldn't even build his driveway, with millions lost as a result.  Buddy's.  Berbice bridge which has put the NIS in stress, and where Jagdeo's buddies were guaranteed profits, with minimal investment.

And Timehri airport with EIGHT jetways.  Hmmmm.  Between 5AM and midnight today only 7 planes land, and the PPP thinks that we need 8 jetways.  

I am just confused as to why you think that the PPP did a good job.

Luckily for Guyana the economy is in private hands, and this limits the damage that the PPP could do.

Look at Guysuco. 1/2 BILLION US dollars in bailouts over 10 years, and they still couldn't meet payroll, pay suppliers or contribute to NIS.  APNU AFC had quickly inject money to prevent the collapse of GuySICKO.

God bless the PNC they are doing a wonderful job carrying on PPP projects. No new ideas of their own so far. Meanwhile you have conceded that the do nothing PNC is better than the PPP forging ahead with the above mentioned projects.    You have a point about the squandering by the PPP but what is the PNC doing to move the nation forward? You haven't answered this yet as you are content to accept mediocrity from these new breed of crooks in office solely based on the fact they are Black. 

Cobra posted:

Can someone state some of the facts as to why Granger is losing the battle on national unity that is impairing developments in the nation?

It's people with mindsets like u on both sides of the fence.  this is a two way street chap, Guyanese must want to unite as a nation, not as individual races. Once that is achieved, we as a nation can go places.
We need to close ranks and hold the line. Enough of this blame game and finger pointing.

Does anyone really think that the Pharaoh Granjer see all Guyanese as being equal? If yes. Then I got a large aging floating bridge to sell you.This is just a speech with words. Never fall for the photo op and the speech.

ba$eman posted:
.!

Why are you picking on Fip, many of the others the PNC now embrace you said was because of them being Indian!  One day the occasion will arise, and you will see them embracing Fip!

And when they embrace Fip that wil be further proof that the PNC=PPP.  I have said this numerous times.

Now are you claiming that wasting millions of dollars on a man who couldn't even build a drive way was good economic policy on the part of the PPP.

And if the PPP couldn't handle the simple part of the project, building the road, then why your shock that most Guyanese were skeptical that they could actually build and maintain the dam, which was a US$1 billion+ project.

The PPPs track record on mega projects is extremely disgraceful, and the Fip fiasco proves that Amaila would have been an even bigger scandal than Marriott, the Berbice Bridge, Skeldon, Provident stadium, Guysuco, Buddy's Hotel, and the mega airport.

Does anyone really think that the Pharaoh Granjer see all Guyanese as being equal? If yes..

You only care about Indians so don't give the slightest that Jagdeo thinks that blacks are jungle animals.  In fact he and his buddies hold their noses if they enter a bar and see too many blacks.

., Guyanese must want to unite as a nation, .

Most Guyanese do want to unite as a nation, as evidenced by the claps from both Indians and blacks when ever this is mentioned.

However they will not unite as Guyanese, until they stop thinking that they will be treated on the basis of "fear" instead of "fair".

This goes for BOTH races.  And BOTH races have a valid narrative about why they fear rule by the other race.

.  You have a point about the squandering by the PPP but what is the PNC doing to move the nation forward? You haven't answered this yet as you are content to accept mediocrity from these new breed of crooks in office solely based on the fact they are Black. 

I wonder why you keep on insisting that I think that the PNC is doing a good job.

My points are that

1. The PPP was a waste and left a mess.

2.  You need to concede that this created an issue for the gov't which followed.

My contention is that the coalition gov't lacks the ability to move Guyana away from its 1932 economy.  

The mere fact that they think that ambassadors are going to ink trade deals is indicative of that.  Diplomats aren't business people.  This is why most nations, Jamaica being one, ensure that they have trade specialists, who usually have some private sector experience, within their embassies.

You support the inept and corrupt PPP because they are Indians.  I don't condone incompetence merely for reasons of ethnic loyalty. That is your forte!

ba$eman posted:
.!

And when they embrace Fip that wil be further proof that the PNC=PPP.  I have said this numerous times.

Now are you claiming that wasting millions of dollars on a man who couldn't even build a drive way was good economic policy on the part of the PPP.

And if the PPP couldn't handle the simple part of the project, building the road, then why your shock that most Guyanese were skeptical that they could actually build and maintain the dam, which was a US$1 billion+ project.

The PPPs track record on mega projects is extremely disgraceful, and the Fip fiasco proves that Amaila would have been an even bigger scandal than Marriott, the Berbice Bridge, Skeldon, Provident stadium, Guysuco, Buddy's Hotel, and the mega airport.

When the PNC embraces the PPP people and policies, it means the PPP was doing the correct thing with the hand they had.  The PNC will find that, after eliminating options, they will be staring at those resembling the PPP's.  The choices available to Guyana are very limited at this point in time!!

ba$eman posted:

When the PNC embraces the PPP people and policies, it means the PPP was doing the correct thing with the hand they had. 

So if the PPP was corrupt, and the PNC follows their corrupt and crony tactics, that makes them correct?

If the PNC embraces Fip, or behaves in a similar manner with one of their cronies, they are as wrong as the PPP was when they did so.

ba$eman posted:

When the PNC embraces the PPP people and policies, it means the PPP was doing the correct thing with the hand they had. 

So if the PPP was corrupt, and the PNC follows their corrupt and crony tactics, that makes them correct?

If the PNC embraces Fip, or behaves in a similar manner with one of their cronies, they are as wrong as the PPP was when they did so.

YOU are claiming they were corrupt.  I am saying it's all YOUR own imaginations.  YOU cannot accept that, so when the PNC adopts or embraces that/those which/who they once criticized, then they are corrupt...in YOUR little mind.

It is about YOU, no one else!!

ba$eman posted:

YOU are claiming they were corrupt.  I am saying it's all YOUR own imaginations.  YOU cannot accept that, so when the PNC adopts or embraces that/those which/who they once criticized, then they are corrupt...in YOUR little mind.

It is about YOU, no one else!!

In 2011 you screamed that the PPP was corrupt, and backed the AFC(imagine that). 

When I said that the AFC had flawed tactics, as they were ignoring the black areas, or indeed Indian areas outside of Berbice, you screamed that I was a PPP milk drinker, who wanted the AFC to fail.

You couldn't claim that I was a PNC, as I was calling them dumb, lazy, and stupid.  So you pulled the fact that the PPP was supposedly giving me milk to pull down the AFC.

You only fled from the AFC when they began to join with APNU, to oppose the PPP.  So the racist in you recoiled at that, and you fled back to the PPP.