Home > TOP STORY > K/News engages in BLACKMAIL to intimidate persons
K/News engages in BLACKMAIL to intimidate persons
Mr. Glenn Lall, Kaieteur News publisher 

K/News engages in BLACKMAIL to intimidate persons

- using illegally amassed private information as trump card

THERE has been a great debacle within the media recently, concerning the illegal tapping, distortion and manipulation of a conversation between the Attorney General (AG) of Guyana Anil Nandlall and a senior reporter of Kaieteur News Leonard Gildarie. While many critics have been swift to condemn the conversation that was attributed to the AG, those same critics have been silent on the trespasses and violations made by the Kaieteur News, more specifically its publisher Glenn Lall, who made public the recording and lodged a copy of same with the Police.Even though the Government highlighted the illegality of Kaieteur News, recording and distorting a private conversation of one of its ministers, not much heed has been paid to the impunity with which the Kaieteur News has been invading the fundamental right of persons to their privacy, unhindered. A right that if circumvented will damage the very fabric that constitutes the pillars of an ordered society.
These underpinnings of the Glenn Lall’s refusal to respect that fundamental right to the sanctity of privacy, has started to unravel itself. It is now in the public domain that Lall has in his possession illegal recordings of members of the Judiciary, the Diplomatic sector, other Government functionaries, the business community and members of the combined Opposition – A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) and the Alliance For Change (AFC).
Speaking to this newspaper under the condition of anonymity, out of fear of being targeted, a well-known public source said, “the recent release of the Attorney General’s recording in a distorted form has demonstrated the willingness of the Publisher of Kaieteur News to use this private information that he has amassed through illegitimate means as a tool, or as a trump card to exact revenge, blackmail, or intimidate persons.”
APNU’s Member of Parliament (MP) and attorney-at-law James Bond, who recognised this and publicly admonished Lall for invading the privacy of others, was met with intimidation from Lall, who it is reported, threatened to use a recording that he has of Bond against him. Bond had said, “Glenn, you have a responsibility, as a citizen, not to violate the rights and privacies of other citizens. By spying on your own people, you have endangered their sources and betrayed the confidence of your staff. No one is going to feel comfortable speaking to any member of your staff. You have crossed the line and you are wrong.” Bond’s remarks, which were made on Facebook, have since been removed because of the reported threats made to him by Glenn Lall.
This by itself provides “glaringly and unbiasedly, the unethical, illegal and immoral depths that the Publisher of Kaieteur News is willing to go to promulgate his agenda with impunity”, the source said.
The Government in a statement has since emphasised that Lall orchestrated those illegal attacks of recording and distorting private conversations and hacking into the emails of public and private personalities, in an attempt to avoid an impending audit by the Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA), as a result of criminal charges filed against Lall and his relatives for evasion of taxes to the tune of $100M on the importation of two luxury vehicles.
Observers have said that it is only a matter of time before those same organisations that have been condemning the Government Minister and remaining silent on the fundamental issue of the infringement on a person’s right to privacy, become, or if not already are, part of that invasion of privacy which the publisher of Kaieteur News is seemingly promulgating.
The source also pointed out to this newspaper that “only in Guyana can a man openly blackmail the Government and other personalities under the rubric of freedom of the press to avoid impending criminal charges and not be put in jail. Had this been the case in the United States it would’ve been an entirely different ball game.”

AG’s threat against KNews…Govt. refuses to recognize wrongdoing – APNU MP

November 4, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

The actions of Attorney General, Anil Nandlall, as unveiled by the recently exposed audio recording, points

Shadow Home Affairs Minister, Winston Felix

to a man who obviously knew of an imminent crime and did not reveal it to persons in authority. His action borders on misconduct if not criminal. This is the view held by Shadow Home Affairs Minister, Winston Felix, himself a former Commissioner of Police. Yesterday Felix held a special media briefing at Congress Place to address the out of control crime situation in Guyana. Weighing in specifically on the recently publicized audio recording between Attorney General Nandlall and Kaieteur News reporter Leonard Gildarie, Felix told reporters that for a government to take the position that it has, means that it is clearly in denial. According to Felix, “You heard the recording, I heard them, the public has heard them, right thinking people heard the recording and I don’t think that anyone who calls for the Attorney General’s resignation is on the wrong path. If anybody is on wrong path it is the Government that refuses to recognize wrongdoing and correct it.” Felix was adamant that the Government must now practise what it preaches and observe the rule of law. “Sometimes you must turn around from your evil ways; you must find a point to turn from your evil ways…They mouth it; they talk about it; they must know that it is a system in the law that requires them to respect and observe the law and ensure that everyone is treated equally under the law.” Felix said that Nandlall, a person in his office with his training and experience, ought to know that if a crime or a potential crime comes to his attention then he needs to report it to the proper authorities so they can take action. “Thank God for how things played out. I don’t know what would have happened in Saffon Street,” said Felix. Gildarie, the reporter at the centre of the brouhaha along with Nandlall, has since expressed a fear for his life and

Anil Nandlall

that of his family. In a public statement over the weekend, Gildarie said that while he was advised by his attorneys not to make any public pronouncements on the matter, “I am not restrained from expressing deep fears for my safety and that of my family.” Ever since the expose involving the Minister of Legal Affairs, several bodies have called for his resignation. Transparency Institute Guyana Inc. (TIGI), the Guyana Human Rights Association, the Guyana Bar Association, the Guyana Association of Women Lawyers and the Guyana Press Association have been among those bodies. A report along with the transcript and an audio recording has been lodged with the Guyana Police Force. In that now infamous recording Nandlall, while hurling a number of obscenities, conceded knowledge of an imminent attack against Kaieteur News, where the innocent could also be cut down as collateral damage. Nandlall also said that several powerful persons would have become sensitive to the reportage by this publication, among them a family member whom he had to restrain. In that now infamous recording, Nandlall can be overheard telling Gildarie to get out of the Saffon Street office, which he described as a “dangerous place”. He hinted at an intended hit on Lall and the establishment. The Government has since come out in defence of Nandlall saying that it was a loose private conversation which was illegally recorded and further manipulated.

It is only a matter of time before this man ends up in jail.

It is only a matter of time before de low breed brigade gets thrown in jail.

Why you think dem scared to call elections and trying to buy votes?

Hold your breath until he gets thrown in jail.

Skelly

Lall is headed to jail.

Skelly

Lall is headed to jail.

Lall might be headed to jail but Haas man is saying that the AG is heading to jail.

I thought this low breed was complaining about people making more than 2 posts a day?

Don't you see what a spunt he is? Blasted low breeds.

Nandlall, de chatree is you wuss nitemare.

I thought this low breed was complaining about people making more than 2 posts a day?

Don't you see what a spunt he is? Blasted low breeds.

Nandlall, de chatree is you wuss nitemare.

Nandlall may claim to be a chatree but you is a low breed he seh suh.

Glenn Lall's newspaper online edition got 122,647 hits yesterday.

If the court grants yuji's wish, Lall will attain jail status like Nelson Mandela.

There will be international and national protests demanding FREE GLENN LALL.

But the PPP won't want that.

The PPP would much prefer another course of action which Nandlall described colourfully: “Is not newspaper they gonna use as a weapon they got they got weapons and when you attack people like that and they have no way of responding they gun just walk with their weapons in that same fú¢king Saffon Street office and wha comes suh do and innocent Peter gah pay fuh fû¢king Paul.”

Glen lall will find out who is BOSS.

Correct.

This is not about Glen Lall reporting on what he feels should be reported on but this is about Glenn Lall violating the laws of Guyana and acting as if he if above the laws of Guyana.

Some jail time will served him right even a few weeks in the slammer will do him some good.

Jail him for violating Guyana's laws.

Stop talking trash and describe for us in ultra details what laws did Glen lall violate? show us the laws that Glen lall violate. I will also add why hasn't the PPP police arrested Glen Lall up to now?

What are they waiting on?