Leonora Technical Institute graduates first batch – as Gov’t continues to expand technical education

The Leonora Technical and Vocational Institute, located in Region Three, has produced its first batch of 140 graduates who completed  skills training in areas such as, Agro-Mechanic, Data operations, Office Administration, Electrical Installation, Carpentry, Metal work Engineering, Motor vehicle repairs and Welding.

One of the students receiving her certificate from Leonora Technical and Vocational Training Centre’s Administrator, Ms. Chung-Hinds

One of the students receiving her certificate from Leonora

Technical and Vocational Training Centre’s Administrator,

Ms. Chung-Hinds

The centre was commissioned in 2011 and officially commenced its courses last January with 253 students in the fulltime and part-time classes.  Forty-five percent discontinued their courses because of unforeseen circumstances. Of the remaining students, 96 of them were exposed to work attachments in the private and public sectors.

Chief Education Officer (Secondary), Melcita Bovell during brief remarks at the graduation ceremony at the centre, West Coast Demerara, said that the Ministry of Education is committed to ensuring that every child across Guyana receives the opportunity to be the best he or she can be.

Best graduating student, Sheena Goodridge receives her prize from Chief Education Officer [secondary) Melcita Bovell

Best graduating student, Sheena Goodridge receives her

prize from Chief Education Officer (secondary)

Melcita Bovell

Bovell stated that when the Ministry began the expansion of education throughout the country, it was recognised that not only early childhood, primary and secondary education are important, but every child who didn’t have the opportunity to obtain a secondary education. Today nine such institutes have been established by Government to ensure that young people are equipped with skills. These are located in Region Two, Three, Four, Five, Six, and Ten.

“If we have to develop Guyana then we have to equip our young people with the skills and training that are needed to literally lead and take over our country…these young people are the leaders and builders of this country,” she said.

She pointed out that the education sector is expanding, and the Ministry continues to raise the bar and demand that every officer within the Ministry keeps up.

Chief Education Officer [secondary) Melcita Bovell speaking at the Leonora Technical and Vocational Training Centre graduation

Chief Education Officer (secondary) Melcita Bovell speaking

at the Leonora Technical and Vocational Training Centre

graduation

“We know that sometimes we do not give them the tools in order for them to raise the bar but we know that we have a committed work force, we know that we have persons who understand why they were placed there,” Bovell said.

The students will have the opportunity to leave the institution with confidence, integrity, high self- esteem and self respect, and with certified entrepreneurial skills.

She said that all those students who would have left for whatever reason, that the institute’s door is still open to them.

Some of the graduates of the Leonora Technical and Vocational Training Centre

Some of the graduates of the Leonora Technical and

Vocational Training Centre

The institute’s principal Mrs Chung Hinds expressed gratitude to the teachers, parents and Ministry of Education for their support, and commended the students for enduring the one year course. She urged them to take full advantage of the opportunity given to them  to elevate themselves.

This is a good program to turn out "employable" youths.  The PPP now needs to rein in corruption.

One, one Dutty ah build Dam. We getting there Bhai. The NEW SHERIFF is working on that.

This is a good program to turn out "employable" youths.  The PPP now needs to rein in corruption.

One, one Dutty ah build Dam. We getting there Bhai. The NEW SHERIFF is working on that.

Bai, dem one one dutty getting wash away in the tide of corruption.  What is needed is a truck load of dutty to bruk up corruption.

Look, Jagdeo is responsible for the shady deals and Contracts being awarded to questionable individuals. We cannot reverse those bad decisions. However, let us give the NEW Sheriff a chance to do things his way.

Congratulations to the graduating students,technical knowledge are needed in developing countries.I commend the government for establishing this institution.

Look, Jagdeo is responsible for the shady deals and Contracts being awarded to questionable individuals. We cannot reverse those bad decisions. However, let us give the NEW Sheriff a chance to do things his way.

like a true antiman slave, u supported EVERY ONE of those "shady deals and contracts" by Jagdeo . . . screaming fishwife epithets @ anyone who demurred and pointed out the obvious

now u come here running the same scam with Donald Ramotar . . . really?

and yes, despite your hope, the criminal "deals" can & will be "reverse[d]" . . . people will go to jail

Originally Posted by Django:

Congratulations to the graduating students,technical knowledge are needed in developing countries.I commend the government for establishing this institution.

EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT!  EXCELLENT!

Not every Guyanese can attend a University, but every Guyanese can acquire a skill or a trade. 

GIVE PRAISE TO THE PPP & THE POSITIVITY WE ARE SEEING FROM THE PPP GOVERNMENT.

Originally Posted by Django:

Rev: PPP have done some good for the people which i commend.

Them shady deals giving away valuable resource to friends

and family i will not condone.

Django bhai:

The PPP is as imperfect as political parties come---PPP politicians have helped themselves and their friends to the milk and honey.

But progress and growth in Guyana has been undeniable under the PPP. We have seen a lot of POSITIVITY from the PPP during their tenure in the executive branch.

What do Guyanese see when they examine the AFC/PNC ? They see anger, hatred and intolerance---they see NEGATIVITY.

BOTTOM LINE:

The imperfect PPP is best suited to lead Guyana right now.