Less than 12% of oil revenue for Guyanese

Share on Facebook
Tweet on Twitter

With optimism high about oil and gas production in Guyana being inevitable and much talk about the tremendous economic benefit this can bring to Guyana, many may be disappointed to learn that, according to sources, the country will receive less than 12 per cent of oil revenue when production starts within the next few years.tank

According to sources, Guyana’s chunk of any oil revenue was pegged at less than 12 per cent. ExxonMobil anticipates it will begin pumping oil by 2020 – about 100,000 barrels per day in the initial stages.

The Government was expected to renegotiate the exploration contract with ExxonMobil, but what is not known is if this 12 per cent is what was agreed to initially when this contact was inked 17 years ago or what was derived from the renegotiation process.

When contacted, Natural Resources Minister Raphael Trotman said he was travelling in an emailed response and did not respond to Guyana Times’ follow-up email for a comment on the issue.

In July, Finance Minister Winston Jordan had insisted that he requested a review of the contract with ExxonMobil, since this was Government’s way of ensuring that Guyana got the best possible deal from the extraction of oil when production began.

“At the end of the day… you have to say whether we are doing what is best for the interest of the national population and I can tell you we are indeed doing that. A 2009 agreement or 2006 agreement or whenever the agreement was originally made was at a time when there was no discovery of anything, now there is oil,” Minister Jordan had said.

While there has been much talk from the Government about the potential of oil revenues to transform Guyana, there has been very little information on what exactly is the Government’s share of the earnings.

Already Guyanese were told not to expect too many jobs in the oil and gas industry here, as most of the jobs will be for foreigners with the requisite expertise.

On May 20, 2015, ExxonMobil announced a significant oil discovery in the Stabroek Block with its Liza 1 well hitting more than 295 feet of high-quality oil-bearing sandstone reservoirs. Then, there was a second announcement in June 2016 that the drilling results from the Liza 2 well, the second exploration well in the Stabroek Block, located some 120 miles offshore Guyana, confirmed a “world-class discovery” of oil with a recoverable resource of between 800 million and 1.4 billion oil-equivalent barrels. Exxon’s Liza 3 well was spud last month and that result is expected in coming weeks.

ExxonMobil Corp was recently fined a whopping US$74 billion for underpaying royalties in the central African nation of Chad where the company has been drilling for 15 years.

According to international reports on the mega fine by Chad courts, the amount is about five times more than that country’s Gross Domestic Product, which the World Bank estimates at US$13 billion. The High Court in the capital, N’Djamena, announced its ruling on October 5 in response to a complaint from the Chad Finance Ministry that a consortium led by ExxonMobil had not met its tax obligations. The court also demanded the Texas-based oil giant pay US$819 million in overdue royalties.

"According to sources, Guyana’s chunk of any oil revenue was pegged at less than 12 per cent. ExxonMobil anticipates it will begin pumping oil by 2020 – about 100,000 barrels per day in the initial stages.

The Government was expected to renegotiate the exploration contract with ExxonMobil, but what is not known is if this 12 per cent is what was agreed to initially when this contact was inked 17 years ago or what was derived from the renegotiation process.

12% revenue was agreed on by the PPP,so what's the big fuss,I am sure this gov't will renegotiate.

Cost of oil Feb-2016 == about $ 25/barrel.

Cost of oil Feb-2000 == about $ 26/barrel.

Now factor in inflation to make the 1999 value equivalent to 2016.

Value for 2016 == less than value for 2000.

Cost of oil Feb-2016 == about $ 25/barrel.

Cost of oil Feb-2000 == about $ 26/barrel.

Now, you're coming up with a bullshit excuse after you've been exposed for lying. You said "price of oil now". Now is not Feb 2016. The price of oil now is around $51.00 per barrel. The price of oil 17 years ago in October was $19.71. Also there was no mention of inflation so stop trying to be disingenuous.

In any case, the PPP government should have factored in the risk of prices changing when signing the contract so trying to use the fluctuation in price as an excuse is just ludicrous.  

Now another view, take the costs for July which is available ...

Cost of oil July-2016 == about $ 40/barrel.

Cost of oil July-2000 == about $ 27/barrel.

Also in this situation ...

One can take any month or the average for the year, it will be seen that the cost in 2016 is less than for 2000.

Now is October 2016, not July 2016. 17 years ago is October 1999. 

Price of oil in October 2016 is approx $51.00 per barrel.

Price of oil in October 1999 is $19.71. You did not mention anything about inflation but even if we take 1999 dollars and factor in inflation it cannot reach $51.00. $20.00 in 1999 dollars would be $28.86 in 2016 dollars according to the inflation calculator.

http://www.dollartimes.com/inf...unt=20&year=1999

You've been exposed for lying once again ole man.

By the way, 2016 - 17 = 1999, not 2000. Like you didn't learn anything much on the back bench at Central.

Also $27.00 in 2000 is only $37.95 in 2016 dollars so even if we use your bogus lies you are still wrong.

Expectation of huge revenues from oil will not only motivate the PNC to rig elections to stay power.  It would make them kill with impunity to stay in control Guyana.  Hard times are ahead of us. Be careful what you wish for.

Price of oil in October 1999 is $19.71. You did not mention anything about inflation but even if we take 1999 dollars and factor in inflation it cannot reach $51.00. $20.00 in 1999 dollars would be $28.86 in 2016 dollars according to the inflation calculator.

By the way, 2016 - 17 = 1999, not 2000. Like you didn't learn anything much on the back bench at Central.

Also $27.00 in 2000 is only $37.95 in 2016 dollars so even if we use your bogus lies you are still wrong.

2000 to 2016 = 17 years.

Your choice to juggle issues to sate your personal desires.

2000 to 2016 = 17 years.

Your choice to juggle issues to sate your personal desires.

You said "price of oil now". Now is October 2016. October 1999 to October 2016 = 17 years. Where did you learn to count?

October 1999 to October 2000 = 1 year, October 1999 to October 2001 = 2 years. Use your fingers and toes until you reach 2016 and you will see that it is 17 years from October 1999 to October 2016.

2000, 2001, 2002 .... 2016 == 17 years.

Nice try. Who counts years like that? A child born in 2000 would be sixteen years old in 2016. 

You said "now" which happens to be October 2016. October 1999 to October 2016 is 17 years. October 2000 to October 2016 is 16 years, Dummy.

One year is October 2000 to October 2001. Don't you know how to calculate your age yet?

"According to sources, Guyana’s chunk of any oil revenue was pegged at less than 12 per cent. ExxonMobil anticipates it will begin pumping oil by 2020 – about 100,000 barrels per day in the initial stages.

12% revenue was agreed on by the PPP,so what's the big fuss,I am sure this gov't will renegotiate.

I doubt Guyana Govt can renegotiate.  12% is probably not the end but with the initial costs and 100k BPD, Exxon is not making much money either. Guyana cannot do much until production and prices goes up.

ba$eman posted:

I doubt Guyana Govt can renegotiate.  12% is probably not the end but with the initial costs and 100k BPD, Exxon is not making much money either. Guyana cannot do much until production and prices goes up.

We discussed this at length a few years back. That is what the PPP said 12 cents per dollar earned. We will be lucky to get 3 cents. Note this value is on crude not end product. For every gallon of crude there is about 1.3 gallon of product. Refining increases volume of as various products from gasoline, engine oil petroleum jelly, jet fuel etc...all of lesser density are produced. The gasoline produced alone covers the value of the barrel of crude. Jet fuel, and other by products are gravy. Refining the oil makes a lot more money than selling the crude.

Alyuh rass nah pump one drop and alyuh done arguing fuh mo money.  Alyuh juss like rawan rass.

It may be 17 years ago but it still holds.  You cannot make an agreement for someone to risk capital and then when you strike gold, want to renegotiate.  The risk to Exxon is they could have sunk $100's of millions and came up empty, as they did for so many years.  You people are jokers.  What the Govt could do is add some addendum with regard to volumes and market prices so Guyanese could benefit from these in the future.

What do you think the gov't should do with the royalties from oil??

Developed Infrastructure,open up the Interior of the country.

Me thinks that's Granger plans.

I got a bridge to sell you in NY.

I could remember that when Home Oil was in Guyana prospecting for oil, and they did find oil in commercial quantities and of very high quality. They were forced to concrete their well head, and pack their traps and move out.

Some says that LFS told them clearly. 51 percent to 49 percent or nothing. Guyana keeps 51% and they get 49 percent.

asj posted:

I could remember that when Home Oil was in Guyana prospecting for oil, and they did find oil in commercial quantities and of very high quality. They were forced to concrete their well head, and pack their traps and move out.

Some says that LFS told them clearly. 51 percent to 49 percent or nothing. Guyana keeps 51% and they get 49 percent.

Well, what's new, Burnham was a jackass.  He want to risk nothing but get his big share.   This is what he did with local Indians, he instituted a wealth transfer program to his constituency.  Sooner or later you lose corn and husk!

Home Oil found small amounts of oil in the Takutu Basin but not in commercial quantities. Other companies also tried in the same area but no commercial quantities have been found.

I think one of the first things they should do is double or triple the size of the police to battle crime. Make the GPF an effective crime fighting force. Our people, especially business people should not have to live in fear 24/7. 

Good thought,with employment created by Infrastructure Development criminal activities [Robbery] will be wiped out.

With effective policing the issue of profiling is inevitable and that would certainly lead to political action. 

ba$eman posted:

Well, what's new, Burnham was a jackass.  He want to risk nothing but get his big share.   This is what he did with local Indians, he instituted a wealth transfer program to his constituency.  Sooner or later you lose corn and husk!

Really?  And what did all of those half starved cane cutters and rice farmers have that any one wanted?  In the early 70s most Indians were worse off than most blacks, and higher levels of under weight Indo kids was evidence of that.

The small Indo business people didn't even know what income tax was, much less pay it. 

So cease with your racist braying.

Make the GPF an effective crime fighting force. Our people, especially business people should not have to live in fear 24/7. 

Now why didn't the PPP think of that when they benefitted from gold royalties a few years ago?

Make the GPF an effective crime fighting force. Our people, especially business people should not have to live in fear 24/7. 

Now why didn't the PPP think of that when they benefitted from gold royalties a few years ago?

They tried hard to build a disciplined force but did not have sufficient resources to what I think they can do with royalties from oil.  Oil should produce hundreds of times more royalties that Gold.