Let us confront the racial devil in our midst

I would usually welcome and embrace any call by anyone, from any place, at any time, to remove prejudice from the midst of thinking, visions, and practices.  There was one such call uttered here recently by an influential figure.  I confess readily to instant skepticism; such is the creep of cynicism, the chronic crises of confidence that bedevil this nation, and especially when they originate from up there and out there.  What to make of this?  What should I do with it?  What can be done with this?

I began by asking myself; yet another soundbite?  One more media opportunity?  Still more lip service?  How long and how far will this be pursued against the frightening tide of fratricidal domestic racial history?  How much will be laboured to untangle hardwired racial memory, confirmed racial intellect?  Talk is cheap; it is why this nation is so poor in spirit, so impoverished in addressing the things that matter most.  The government is not innocent, or possessing of clean hands either.  Three years later, there is just as much, if not more of that eternal Guyanese hymn cum battle cry, now symphony: it is our turn. It is our time.

Again, I ask, to do what?  To be how?  For what purpose?  But we know, at least I do, the answers to all three questions, as well as the long list of unasked ones.  We know full well also of the scope and implications embedded in those answers that would make any hoped-for civilised, progressive society reel.  In a nutshell, however genuine or hypocritical or misleading this newest call for the removal of the racial element from the Guyanese environment (all of it), it comes down to this, one hand cannot clap.  One voice may make a choir, but not a country.  Thus, I would settle for reduction of the bitter entrenched bigotries that gets the better of us, and which batter and cripple into mere shadows of what we can be, how we ought to be.  Even reduction is a tall order; practically an unreachable one, but I say again, it is not a one-way street; cannot be, and is worth the effort.

Racial healing cannot be realised through one-off postures for the record, to register yet another hollow meaningless message.  This thing has to be felt, then projected, then lived.  And then starting over and building with another coat of cleansing knitting paint, and through one more board replaced and formed in this divided tottering house called Guyana.  Without a doubt, this society lacks foundation.  The occasional candles of racial understanding flicker uncertainly, weakly.  When the national light is this low, then I do not think that any citizen can see their way forward through such impenetrable entrapping darkness.

As an aside, I laud all those commentators and critics, and people and pundits and politicos, who have waxed powerfully and persistently about the glitter and gore of oil.  Hats off!  Yet, there is a part of me that wonder what would be the result if only some of them would take the gloves off and display half the interest, spend a quarter of the energy, and exhibit a mere fraction of the vision, in dedication to the talking and tabling and reckoning of Guyana racial (mis)fortunes.  Reckoning with such consistency just might open the door to reconciling; some form and degree of it.  I believe that where there is a will, there is a way past insuperable obstacles, including one’s own limitations.  This I believe immovably.

We will have a way with the oil money.  What will be the way with ourselves when there is only raw distrust and intractable antagonisms that intrude and overwhelm the interactions, the thinking of the day?  It would have been easy to lash the messenger from the other day; credibility, history, personality.  But to what end? To get where?

Instead I say, that as this society huddles at fateful crossroads at the feet of beckoning mountaintops, let there be sanity, let there be wisdom.  Let there be the understanding that comes from cultivated respect and appreciation.  Tolerance is not enough.  Harmony and unity may be demanding too much, elusive dreams neither followed nor realistic.  But let there be the commonsense genius of widespread acknowledging that we cannot go on this way.  And then may there be the resolve to act, to carve and create a different Guyana from that which has always been.

At least, let us try.  Together.  I submit that we have never truly tried and confronted the racial devil in our self-created local hell.  I believe that if we tell ourselves that we can, then we will.  We just may get somewhere.

Yours faithfully,

GHK Lall

Source:

Is this banna in the government right now? I was wondering what is he doing to fix the problem?

You sound so much like Rohee.

And, Mits, whats your party, the AFC, doing to fix this problem?

AFC is not my party.  I am not a member of any political party. 

BTW, no one party in Guyana can fix this problem. Look at the results of the 2015 election. It shows how divisive, dangerous and destructive is the great race divide. It will be there long after we are gone.

Is this banna in the government right now? I was wondering what is he doing to fix the problem?

BTW, no one party in Guyana can fix this problem. Look at the results of the 2015 election. It shows how divisive, dangerous and destructive is the great race divide. It will be there long after we are gone.

Guyana should take a lesson from other countries like South Africa, and learn how they settled their race problem.

Give us some examples.

Examples?

You are right.

I am drawing these ideas from a political science class I took...

Its going to be a difficult problem to solve. Guyana needs to look at countries that had race problems and how they addressed them...Mali, northern Africa, India, Malaysia, Singapore, etc. 

But if I had the power...

1) It would start with a Truth and Reconciliation Commission...simply to examine the problem since the country gained independence...There is blame on all sides...and instead of brinksmanship and one upmanship, and "Abee on Tap", politicians need to understand that this is a new beginning. This means apology and public cleansing on all sides, esp the PPP and PNC (the other parties are insignificant because politics is between the PPP and PNC). 

2) Politicians then have to stop playing a zero sum political game...more cooperation and sensitivity...they have to control their supporters and condemn them when the situation warrants. 

3) Institutional change and balance should follow: balance in bureaucracy, civil service, army, police, etc, and economic empowerment for Africans,  Amerindians and poor Indians.

4) Power-sharing, or making decisions by incorporating the opposition (regardless of which government is in power) will help. 

Unfortunately, politicians will be politicians, and the expected oil money will only further divide the nation. 

Were you not on the executive of the Canadian arm of the AFC? Did you Quit?

KP,how the r@ss you doan know Mitwah ?,I man deh suh far and know him a little.

LOL! So many peeps on this Board knows me.... Netherlands, England, Sweden, St. Martin, BC, NY, NJ and a few other states. I even hang out with his insurance buddy when he visits from GT. I think he is grabbing on to that Yugli fella buckta. KP bhai, Samlall is sick.

Because you all belong to the same PARTY.

OK boss. Party affiliation doan know about that.

ne.

You must be the only person who actually thinks that South Africa settled its race problem.  Go to youtube and look for Big Debate.  That nation continues to have serious problems of ethnic insecurity.  The only thing new is that whites have now joined the others in claiming ethnic exclusion.

4) Power-sharing, or making decisions by incorporating the opposition (regardless of which government is in power) will help. 

Unfortunately, politicians will be politicians, and the expected oil money will only further divide the nation. 

I suggest that you take a look at South Africa as it is in 2018 and not what people in 1994 hoped that it would become.   South Africa is like Guyana in that one cannot have a conversation in any aspect of what it is without getting into ethnic insecurities.  Like Guyana all ethnic groups claim grievance.  And like Guyana the politicians are quite happy to manipulate this.

Give us some examples.

Examples?

You are right.

I am drawing these ideas from a political science class I took...

Its going to be a difficult problem to solve. Guyana needs to look at countries that had race problems and how they addressed them...Mali, northern Africa, India, Malaysia, Singapore, etc. 

But if I had the power...

1) It would start with a Truth and Reconciliation Commission...simply to examine the problem since the country gained independence...There is blame on all sides...and instead of brinksmanship and one upmanship, and "Abee on Tap", politicians need to understand that this is a new beginning. This means apology and public cleansing on all sides, esp the PPP and PNC (the other parties are insignificant because politics is between the PPP and PNC). 

2) Politicians then have to stop playing a zero sum political game...more cooperation and sensitivity...they have to control their supporters and condemn them when the situation warrants. 

3) Institutional change and balance should follow: balance in bureaucracy, civil service, army, police, etc, and economic empowerment for Africans,  Amerindians and poor Indians.

Fixing the race problem in Guyana is easy. Focus on the problems in Guyana and identify qualified individuals to address them. If the administration and others in private enterprise focus on problems and solutions, ethnic differences will fall by the wayside.

I suggest that you take a look at South Africa as it is in 2018 and not what people in 1994 hoped that it would become.   South Africa is like Guyana in that one cannot have a conversation in any aspect of what it is without getting into ethnic insecurities.  Like Guyana all ethnic groups claim grievance.  And like Guyana the politicians are quite happy to manipulate this.

Will do...thanks.

Take a look at how Rwanda reconciled after the Genocide of 1994.   They remade the country from the bottom up, new constitution and all.  Laws and measures to prevent ethno-centric politics. 

I say desolve the PPP and PNC and start over. 

Will do...thanks.

Take a look at how Rwanda reconciled after the Genocide of 1994.   They remade the country from the bottom up, new constitution and all.  Laws and measures to prevent ethno-centric politics. 

Based on this logic, we might have to have a genocide...and violence on both sides. Guyana will not recover from such a tragedy...the world will not allow for this.  Maybe the way of South Sudan vs. Sudan or partition, as Kwayana suggested...this is still a better option than the one you are proposing..

Neither of these are acceptable solution. 

Will do...thanks.

Based on this logic, we might have to have a genocide...and violence on both sides. Guyana will not recover from such a tragedy...the world will not allow for this.  Maybe the way of South Sudan vs. Sudan or partition, as Kwayana suggested...this is still a better option than the one you are proposing..

Neither of these are acceptable solution. 

Somehow, that’s what I had expected from you.  What this shows is there are solutions to head off such catastrophes.  It shows reconciliation is possible even after these extremes and lessons could be learned and examples taken.

They are not in the same party.  Django is PNC.  Mitwah is AFC.

Let us confront the racial devil in our midst

I would usually welcome and embrace any call by anyone, from any place, at any time, to remove prejudice from the midst of thinking, visions, and practices.  There was one such call uttered here recently by an influential figure.  I confess readily to instant skepticism; such is the creep of cynicism, the chronic crises of confidence that bedevil this nation, and especially when they originate from up there and out there.  What to make of this?  What should I do with it?  What can be done with this?

I began by asking myself; yet another soundbite?  One more media opportunity?  Still more lip service?  How long and how far will this be pursued against the frightening tide of fratricidal domestic racial history?  How much will be laboured to untangle hardwired racial memory, confirmed racial intellect?  Talk is cheap; it is why this nation is so poor in spirit, so impoverished in addressing the things that matter most.  The government is not innocent, or possessing of clean hands either.  Three years later, there is just as much, if not more of that eternal Guyanese hymn cum battle cry, now symphony: it is our turn. It is our time.

Again, I ask, to do what?  To be how?  For what purpose?  But we know, at least I do, the answers to all three questions, as well as the long list of unasked ones.  We know full well also of the scope and implications embedded in those answers that would make any hoped-for civilised, progressive society reel.  In a nutshell, however genuine or hypocritical or misleading this newest call for the removal of the racial element from the Guyanese environment (all of it), it comes down to this, one hand cannot clap.  One voice may make a choir, but not a country.  Thus, I would settle for reduction of the bitter entrenched bigotries that gets the better of us, and which batter and cripple into mere shadows of what we can be, how we ought to be.  Even reduction is a tall order; practically an unreachable one, but I say again, it is not a one-way street; cannot be, and is worth the effort.

Racial healing cannot be realised through one-off postures for the record, to register yet another hollow meaningless message.  This thing has to be felt, then projected, then lived.  And then starting over and building with another coat of cleansing knitting paint, and through one more board replaced and formed in this divided tottering house called Guyana.  Without a doubt, this society lacks foundation.  The occasional candles of racial understanding flicker uncertainly, weakly.  When the national light is this low, then I do not think that any citizen can see their way forward through such impenetrable entrapping darkness.

As an aside, I laud all those commentators and critics, and people and pundits and politicos, who have waxed powerfully and persistently about the glitter and gore of oil.  Hats off!  Yet, there is a part of me that wonder what would be the result if only some of them would take the gloves off and display half the interest, spend a quarter of the energy, and exhibit a mere fraction of the vision, in dedication to the talking and tabling and reckoning of Guyana racial (mis)fortunes.  Reckoning with such consistency just might open the door to reconciling; some form and degree of it.  I believe that where there is a will, there is a way past insuperable obstacles, including one’s own limitations.  This I believe immovably.

We will have a way with the oil money.  What will be the way with ourselves when there is only raw distrust and intractable antagonisms that intrude and overwhelm the interactions, the thinking of the day?  It would have been easy to lash the messenger from the other day; credibility, history, personality.  But to what end? To get where?

Instead I say, that as this society huddles at fateful crossroads at the feet of beckoning mountaintops, let there be sanity, let there be wisdom.  Let there be the understanding that comes from cultivated respect and appreciation.  Tolerance is not enough.  Harmony and unity may be demanding too much, elusive dreams neither followed nor realistic.  But let there be the commonsense genius of widespread acknowledging that we cannot go on this way.  And then may there be the resolve to act, to carve and create a different Guyana from that which has always been.

At least, let us try.  Together.  I submit that we have never truly tried and confronted the racial devil in our self-created local hell.  I believe that if we tell ourselves that we can, then we will.  We just may get somewhere.

Yours faithfully,

GHK Lall

Source:

Racism is a social contruct, not the result of hardwire memory. 

The man came back to drink the soup. 

Lall figures that if he puts some nice phrases together, it  will obfuscate his soup drinking  and he fails to understand that there are social, economic and other processes and institutional mechanisms and actors that continue to promote racism to achieve their own objectives.

Z

Where did you get the idea that they settled their race problem? Do some reading instead of throwing fluff around? Did the truth hearings or having a ANC government do that? Tell me about violence against whites by blacks, white violence against blacks, racism against Indians and other groups, how the wealth inequality has been addressed and reversed, how unemployment and poverty among blacks have been alleviated, and so on.

Z