Giant leap: Isro to launch India's maiden Mars mission today

Vanita Srivastava , Hindustan Times  Sriharikota, Andhra Pradesh, November 05, 2013

First Published: 00:44 IST(5/11/2013) | Last Updated: 02:46 IST(5/11/2013)
Ads by Google VA Home Loans - $0 Down www.VeteransUnited.com  - See If You Qualify For A VA Loan. Up to $417K with $0 down.
<input id="ctl00_ContentPlaceHolder1_HTStoryPageControl_HTStoryPageShareControl_hdnAns" name="ctl00$ContentPlaceHolder1$HTStoryPageControl$HTStoryPageShareControl$hdnAns" type="hidden" />
Font Size
A | A+ | A-
Subscribe Breaking News Alert
<input id="txtEmail" type="text" value="Enter email" /><input class="submit" id="btnTest" type="submit" value="Submit" />

India will  take its  next  major step forward in the space programme after the successful launch of Chandrayaan-1 in 2008, when scientists of Indian Space Research Organisation (Isro) launch their maiden mission to Mars on November 5, at 0238 pm from the Satish Dhawan Space Centre in Sriharikota, Andhra Pradesh.

<input id="ctl00_ContentPlaceHolder1_HTStoryPageControl_StoryPhoto1_hdntotal" name="ctl00$ContentPlaceHolder1$HTStoryPageControl$StoryPhoto1$hdntotal" type="hidden" value="8" />

PSLV-C25, the 25th mission of PSLV and fifth in the XL configuration, will carry the 1,337 kg Mars Orbiter Satellite into a 250 km X 23,500 km elliptical orbit. The cost of the mission is Rs. 450 crore.

The 56 hours 30 minutes countdown for the launch had started on Sunday at 06.08am.

The coasting phase between the third stage (PS3) burn-out and the fourth-stage (PS4) ignition is longer for this mission. The total flight duration before the Orbiter is injected is nearly 40 minutes. This is longer than the average time of 20 minutes for earlier spacecrafts.

Isro chairman Dr K Radhakrishnan says: “There are several technological and scientific challenges in this mission.  This is India’s first interplanetary mission. We had to calibrate our hardware to withstand a territory not experienced before.”

Comment: Mars Orbiter Mission is an incredibly low-budget mission

The spacecraft will move from the Earth’s sphere of influence and go to the heliocentric (sun-centric) orbit on December 1, 2013 at 0042 hours. It will remain in the trans-Martian orbit for nearly 300 days before finally entering the Mars orbit on September 24, 2014. It will then have to be re-oriented and slowed down to enter the Martian orbit or else it will vanish.

The Orbiter has five indigenously-designed payloads to carry different scientific experiments once it reaches the Martian atmosphere. The Methane Sensor is specifically designed to measure methane and map its sources on Mars.

The Mars-men: Indian scientists who made Mars Orbiter Mission possible

One of the main objectives of this mission is to develop technologies required for design, planning, management and operations of an interplanetary mission.

The launch window for the MOM mission is from October 28, 2013 to November 19, 2013.

Science and faith: Ahead of Mars mission, temple run goes hand in hand with rocket science

More: Mars mission to boost India's credentials for global missions

<input id="ctl00_ContentPlaceHolder1_HTStoryPageAlsoSee_strQ1" name="ctl00$ContentPlaceHolder1$HTStoryPageAlsoSee$strQ1" type="hidden" value="india mars mission" /> <input id="ctl00_ContentPlaceHolder1_HTStoryPageAlsoSee_SOid" name="ctl00$ContentPlaceHolder1$HTStoryPageAlsoSee$SOid" type="hidden" value="1147187" />

Yes let us pray that this device be guided to its orbit around Mars. It would be a great accomplishment. On that low budget if they do this then greatness will follow. They are already saving lives and helping poor people with this low budget space programme. 

Originally Posted by raymond:

this is the biggest waste of resources...they should be building toilets across the country instead

Those who want Toilets have, some don't want. Shit sweet over the train tracks for them. Remember, India is a Democracy unlike it's neighbor.

Waste of money?? Think before you open yuh mouth nah man. Just try a little harder.

India is the world's largest democracy, the most corrupted country and home to 1/3 of the world's poverty, yet they can bypass the moon and head straight to Mars. Bharat mata ki jai! 

Nature works in mysterious ways. The folks that eat and live among excrement becomes immune to the environment. One less problem for the government and the dalits are not adjustable to improved living conditions.

this is the biggest waste of resources...they should be building toilets across the country instead

Those who want Toilets have, some don't want. Shit sweet over the train tracks for them. Remember, India is a Democracy unlike it's neighbor.

Waste of money?? Think before you open yuh mouth nah man. Just try a little harder.

How is it not a waste of money? Let's see you put those brain cells to use...

India is the world's largest democracy, the most corrupted country and home to 1/3 of the world's poverty, yet they can bypass the moon and head straight to Mars. Bharrat mata ki jai! 

What does Jagdeo mother have to do with this?

Bannas, I am surprise at your lack of basic knowledge. It will benefit ALL Indians and perhaps the World. Not only will it take Technology to Remote Areas but these Missions are done for many purposes.  If you still need more Info, I am right here.

I ran a factory that employed about 300 technologists, engineers etc... that made electronic sensors and other electronic parts for the NASA space program... until the manufacturing went to China.

Good Things From Space - Space technology touches and enhances practically every aspect of life on Earth. Much of what improves our lives - think healthcare, communications, travel, recreation, entertainment - benefits directly from technology originally developed for or improved for space exploration. Technologies developed to get us "out there" come home to improve life on Earth.

http://www.spacefoundation.org.../space-certification

I ran a factory that employed about 300 technologists, engineers etc... that made electronic sensors and other electronic parts for the NASA space program... until the manufacturing went to China.

Good Things From Space - Space technology touches and enhances practically every aspect of life on Earth. Much of what improves our lives - think healthcare, communications, travel, recreation, entertainment - benefits directly from technology originally developed for or improved for space exploration. Technologies developed to get us "out there" come home to improve life on Earth.

sUH YUH SAYING EASY LESSONS GOOD FOR dUNCES.

GPS, Wireless communications, radiation therapy, remote controls, robotics....etc...

How exactly has this technology helped the millions of poor in India?

Bannas, I am surprise at your lack of basic knowledge. It will benefit ALL Indians and perhaps the World. Not only will it take Technology to Remote Areas but these Missions are done for many purposes.  If you still need more Info, I am right here.

You haven't said anything of substance

They (the tech jobs) will be coming back.Everywhere people are getting suspicious of China's predatory nature. The us lifted them out of the middle ages and instead of paying it forward China has begun to operate under the paradigm of the colonial powers. China participates in nothing without gain being a motive and is grotesquely exploitative whereever it is given a chance to dig in. 

You haven't said anything of substance

yuH EVER HEAR BOUT mEDICAL, scientific, environment and things???

Good question.

India's space program is directed toward communications and other satellites that have a direct benefit to its people.

"But most space programmes are designed to get satellites into Earth's orbit for the sake of better communications, mapping, weather observation or military capacity at home. These bring direct benefits to ordinary people. Take one recent example: a fierce cyclone that hit India's east coast last month killed few, whereas a similar-strength one in the same spot, in 1999, killed over 10,000. One reason for the improvement was that Indian weather satellites helped to make possible far more accurate predictions of where and when the storm would hit. Otherwise, improved data on monsoon rains, or generally shifting weather patterns, can help even the poorest farmers have a better idea of when to plant crops."

The BBC adds that the inspirational and national prestige aspects of the Mars mission are not to be sneezed at. India has a growing middle class, technically trained, and a good space program is part of a mix of policies that encouraged that development. Space exploration should be seen as not so much a distraction from but a part of an ongoing effort to encourage economic development and the quality of life for a country's people. 

http://voices.yahoo.com/why-in...has-so-12393490.html

Good question.

India's space program is directed toward communications and other satellites that have a direct benefit to its people.

"But most space programmes are designed to get satellites into Earth's orbit for the sake of better communications, mapping, weather observation or military capacity at home. These bring direct benefits to ordinary people. Take one recent example: a fierce cyclone that hit India's east coast last month killed few, whereas a similar-strength one in the same spot, in 1999, killed over 10,000. One reason for the improvement was that Indian weather satellites helped to make possible far more accurate predictions of where and when the storm would hit. Otherwise, improved data on monsoon rains, or generally shifting weather patterns, can help even the poorest farmers have a better idea of when to plant crops."

The BBC adds that the inspirational and national prestige aspects of the Mars mission are not to be sneezed at. India has a growing middle class, technically trained, and a good space program is part of a mix of policies that encouraged that development. Space exploration should be seen as not so much a distraction from but a part of an ongoing effort to encourage economic development and the quality of life for a country's people. 

http://voices.yahoo.com/why-in...has-so-12393490.html

WATAK!!!   Wake up and smell the Coffee Ray. I hear wan Hospital in Manhattan ah clean out RUSTY brains.

Nehru, behave yourself. Ray is a good person. His questions are stimulating and honest.

Me and Ray tight. I like to get his Mojo going. He has good intentions. He is not a Bla Bla mouth like most of them Bhias.

When last did Africa made a valuable contribution ? We see the racism shown here towards Indians.

Jai Hind

trust a racist to see racism at every turn...why bring Africa into this discussion?

Since when pointing out that India has a major toilet problem is racist?

man...you're beyond stupid

When last did Africa made a valuable contribution ? We see the racism shown here towards Indians.

Jai Hind

trust a racist to see racism at every turn...why bring Africa into this discussion?

Since when pointing out that India has a major toilet problem is racist?

man...you're beyond stupid

and yugli2.

If going to Mars would solve the toilet problem, then I am all for such technology...

This is the problem with you small time thinkers. Progress must be conducted in parallell. You don't drop all progressive initiatives to concentrate on one problem that you perceive to be more important. 

The US has sent a man to the moon but yet have poverty? Should they have solved poverty before attempting to send the man to the moon? Should Apple have tried to solve world hunger before developing the iphone and ipad?

That is why you are relegated to being a print supply salesman, your lack vision.

If going to Mars would solve the toilet problem, then I am all for such technology...

This is the problem with you small time thinkers. Progress must be conducted in parallell. You don't drop all progressive initiatives to concentrate on one problem that you perceive to be more important. 

The US has sent a man to the moon but yet have poverty? Should they have solved poverty before attempting to send the man to the moon? Should Apple have tried to solve world hunger before developing the iphone and ipad?

That is why you are relegated to being a print supply salesman, your lack vision.

who said anything about poverty? I am talking about toilets you fool...imagine a so called developed country still got people shitting in the streets

Ray, Easy lesson good fuh Dunce. The Indian Middle Class is BIGGER than the Population of the USA.  I will be here most of today, so keep asking or simply keep embarrassing yuhself.

Poverty in the US is like middle class in India...let's keep things in perspective

Really???/  WOW I am learning everyday on GNI.

you're welcome

Ray, Easy lesson good fuh Dunce. The Indian Middle Class is BIGGER than the Population of the USA.  I will be here most of today, so keep asking or simply keep embarrassing yuhself.

yuh real stupid...I am not talking about actual numbers...it's more about ratios...but then you too idiotic to learn

IDIOTS always try to show they are intelligent BUT you beat them ALL. before you open yuh STUPID mouth, stick to packing Print paper!!!

Who is IDIOT #1 on Guyana Friends?

what's with all you fools attacking what I do for a living? 

Who is IDIOT #1 on Guyana Friends?

You and Yuh Mamoo.

saw this on a blog...

"Being Indian some of these comments are revolting, no we aren't going to rape Martians, no we aren't going to overpopulate Mars, no we aren't funded by Indian owned gas stations and no the money for the program doesn't come from stealing food from the poorest in our country. Either be happy for us or STFU."

India's space mission to Mars liftoff with mix reactions from rich and poor alike. What I learn is that a country's national pride worth more that 300 million starving citizens. Who are we to say otherwise?