It's a good Idea to flood Guyana with Indians.

Too late. Granger already visited Africa. And the Caribbean islands. Didn't you know over 100,000 black man being imported and put into Berbice? Shaitan said it was even more. Go look for the thread. Hurry up, go look quick before yuh get drunk.

Originally Posted by Itaname:

Too late. Granger already visited Africa. And the Caribbean islands. Didn't you know over 100,000 black man being imported and put into Berbice? Shaitan said it was even more. Go look for the thread. Hurry up, go look quick before yuh get drunk.

I would not stoop to your level of social strata.

Guyanese Indians are throughout the Caribbean-they work among black folks. Who are the majority. And in some instances, those black governments of the islands would give lucrative contracts to Indians for their services. That alone must prove that Indians are not racists. However, in Guyana, blacks have open discrimination against East Indians. Never changed since Burnham days. East Indians were denied jobs then and now. Seems like Guyana have nothing good for itself.

An Indian led government is immediately considered anti-black. And now Granger is openly anti-Indian. I can't blame him to be like dat, dem thieving kulies in the PPP gave the President the notion that kulie people are dishonest and he fraid to appoint any to be by his side.

Indians from India claim that there is little cultural difference between Indo and Afro Guyanese and that both are woefully ignorant of the culture of India.

It depends.  If you are educated, you are accepted easier, except for a few die-hards.  Baseman was accepted very well when I was in India.  I said in another thread, in India, education trumps a whole lot of biases.  In India, customs are very regional, this is why some Indians may not recognize the customs in Guyana.

Originally Posted by VVP:
Itanme, are you go to stereotype a whole race because of what a kid said?  Kind of sad discussion showing we have a long way to go.

Not one kid VP. This is a pattern of behavior I experienced growing up and living in Guyana as a black man. Textbook racism - that the Indian is superior to blacks in every way - spiritually, mentally, economically, culturally, in food etc. Plays out on GNI every day from Yugi, Cobra, Nehru, Observer, Skeldon Ape, Rama, Anan, Baseman and others, probably the majority of indians posting here.

My opinion - this behavior is common among rural indians who are mostly Hindu. Indians from GT or Indians who are Muslim or Christian do not generally have this disposition to other races. In fact, they are victims themselves - "town coolie", "fullah man", "sellout" (the christian) and so on. This has been my experience. I'd venture that most if not all the names of posters I mentioned above are Hindus. At least one is a pandit.

My sister in law is an Indian from the countryside of hindu roots. Forty years of marriage to my brother, 4 kids, grand kids and still her family rejects her. Forty years later they won't speak to this wonderful woman and keep her at a distance cause she "tek a black man".

Yes VP, we have a long way to go. How does one change the mindset of this group who is so culturally and perhaps religiously opposed to black folks and only a narrow group meet their approval? There is something seriously wrong with them.

I think the rural Indians are more racist than the urban ones.  I don't think it has much to do with religion.  The part I cannot understand is that it is the urban Indians who mostly felt the brunt of the racial riots, so you would think they should be more racist.  Someone needs to do a study on this.

We had a PPP regime where almost all of the top leadership slots were Indians.  Now we hear you and others wailing about what APNU is doing.  Did you wail when the PPP engaged in an almost complete wipe out of Africans from leadership?  NO.  But now that APNU might be engaging in similar behavior, you have lots tu say.

LIAR!!  I never condemned the racial composition of the ministries.  In fact when Maxwell and other were condemning the number of ministers I defended it because I figured that because it is a coalition of a number of parties they had to have a large number of ministers.  I never said there were to little Indians ministers.  However, I did condemn the composition of the boards where Indians and females are underrepresented...even Trotman agrees with this now.  There is no question that there are qualified Indians and females out there.

By the way when I told you my brother defended Africans for free or little charge this is what you said:

..  I could tell you he used to defend a lot of them for free or next to nothing.  .

Yes.  Like the white liberal you like to see blacks in a dependent position.  Objects of your charity and pity, but not as equals.

Why should I waste my time having further conversation with you.

Originally Posted by VishMahabir:

If this is true, carib has a point here. This forum, unlike any others I have seen, allows any nonsense to pass as free speech, including cussing out and bullying people.

How come you are silent about the racism and discrimination by the PPP/C?

I just joined the forum recently banna. 

Indians from India claim that there is little cultural difference between Indo and Afro Guyanese and that both are woefully ignorant of the culture of India.

You are a bloody liar and also ignorant in that you don't even know the indo_guyanese culture. 

Do the Indians living in Queens have much interaction with the Indo Caribbean population?  NO!

They think that you all are too "Afro Caribbean".

. That alone must prove that Indians are not racists.

Oh yes, your endless screams of "black man baad".  Then you wonder why I jump all over you when you babble this nonsense.

The fact that Indians might get contracts shows that its is the BLACKS in those countries who aren't racist, and award contracts based on MERIT.

Here again you with your RACIST INDO KKK FILTH.  So an Indian gets  a contract and he is fully compensated, the fact that he accepts this contracts shows that he is doing blacks a favor?  What manner of idiot are you?

It depends.  If you are educated, you are accepted easier, except for a few die-hards.  Baseman was accepted very well when I was in India.  I said in another thread, in India, education trumps a whole lot of biases.  In India, customs are very regional, this is why some Indians may not recognize the customs in Guyana.

Asian Indians in NYC do not consider Guyanese Indians to be an educated group.

You are a bloody liar and also ignorant in that you don't even know the indo_guyanese culture. 

Do the Indians living in Queens have much interaction with the Indo Caribbean population?  NO!

They think that you all are too "Afro Caribbean".

That's not true. You are a liar. You are making up stories as you go along.

If this is true, carib has a point here. This forum, unlike any others I have seen, allows any nonsense to pass as free speech, including cussing out and bullying people.

How come you are silent about the racism and discrimination by the PPP/C?

I just joined the forum recently banna. 

Yet in this short time you have been quick to damn as racist any commentary by blacks of PPP racism.   Do you think that you can use that as an excuse and then think that you can opine about what ever racism that APNU might be engaged in?

Asian Indians in NYC do not consider Guyanese Indians to be an educated group.

You are a liar. Your racist mentality and hate for Indos is eating you from the inside. You are full of shit. Go play with yourself now.

Itanme, are you go to stereotype a whole race because of what a kid said?  Kind of sad discussion showing we have a long way to go.

Not one kid VP. This is a pattern of behavior I experienced growing up and living in Guyana as a black man. Textbook racism - that the Indian is superior to blacks in every way - spiritually, mentally, economically, culturally, in food etc. Plays out on GNI every day from Yugi, Cobra, Nehru, Observer, Skeldon Ape, Rama, Anan, Baseman and others, probably the majority of indians posting here.

My opinion - this behavior is common among rural indians who are mostly Hindu. Indians from GT or Indians who are Muslim or Christian do not generally have this disposition to other races. In fact, they are victims themselves - "town coolie", "fullah man", "sellout" (the christian) and so on. This has been my experience. I'd venture that most if not all the names of posters I mentioned above are Hindus. At least one is a pandit.

My sister in law is an Indian from the countryside of hindu roots. Forty years of marriage to my brother, 4 kids, grand kids and still her family rejects her. Forty years later they won't speak to this wonderful woman and keep her at a distance cause she "tek a black man".

Yes VP, we have a long way to go. How does one change the mindset of this group who is so culturally and perhaps religiously opposed to black folks and only a narrow group meet their approval? There is something seriously wrong with them.

I think the rural Indians are more racist than the urban ones.  I don't think it has much to do with religion.  The part I cannot understand is that it is the urban Indians who mostly felt the brunt of the racial riots, so you would think they should be more racist.  Someone needs to do a study on this.

Who cares what you "think". Write on what you know. It's dangerous to form conclusions from assumptions.

My "think" is based on experience.  However, I did call for a study to be done...I will show up as a witness 

You are a liar. Your racist mentality and hate for Indos is eating you from the inside. You are full of shit. Go play with yourself now.

Typical displays of Mitwah being quite simple. 

Asian Indians are snobbish amongst themselves, know that your origins are from the lower castes, and from some of the poorest parts of India, see that your cultural identity has been diluted by your his exposure to Afro Caribbean creole culture, and treat you likewise.

Now you can scream, jump, and prance and have a nervous breakdown, but these are the facts.

I assume that being consdered to have strong elements of creole culture is what has you in this panic!

1.  Rural Indians have less contact with Africans, depending on where they live, and so are sometimes more anxious in interacting with them, and more prone to believe the stereotypes. 

2.  Urban poor Africans are similarly isolated from Indians, and so are also motre distrustful, and inclined to believe the stereotypes.

3.  Having said that the Indians who have the power to discriminate against Africans tend to be the urban ones, and so I do not accept your theory that rural Indian racism is what creates the image among Africans that Indians are racist. 

4. The Africans who are able to enforce racist practises against Indians (most obviously in the Burnham era) tended to be the more elite, so there again the poor urban African is less able to discriminate against Indians.

Racism in Guyana is enforced by the elites of the group, often with the non elites of the other group being the ones who suffer most.  While less educated people are often less PC, so will more likely utter racist remarks, it is the racism of the elites which hurts.  This has caused the ethnic morass that Guyanese have been trapped in, especially since 1957, when the colonials began to liove us alone.

My "think" is based on experience.  However, I did call for a study to be done...I will show up as a witness 

Amna Ally needs to justify her existence by commissioning a study that looks at two things.

1. What is the root cause of the ethnic insecurity dilemmas of the African and the Indian?

2.  Is this based on perception, or are there real factors which bolster this insecurity.

Once this has been done then solutions can be crafted to deal with the problem.

We have yet to hear what she is supposed to be doing, and I hope that it isnt some "kumba yah" nonsense, because Guyanese of various ethnic groups arent afraid of, or ignorant of each other, on a day to day basis.  We fear the institutional power when it is accompanied by ethnic domination.

What is the usual rationale for Indo insecurity. African domination of the armed forces, and of the lower ranks of the civil service (the people who they interface with when they have to deal with gov't)? 

The African insecurity is believed to be the perception that Indians are clannish, and so inclined to exclude non Indians, especially blacks, and so having Indian domination of BOTH the economy and the political environment guarantees complete marginalization of blacks.

Neither insecurities are based on hatred of their neighbors of different ethnicities, as is the case in places like Lebanon, or even the USA.

1.  Rural Indians have less contact with Africans, depending on where they live, and so are sometimes more anxious in interacting with them, and more prone to believe the stereotypes. 

2.  Urban poor Africans are similarly isolated from Indians, and so are also motre distrustful, and inclined to believe the stereotypes.

3.  Having said that the Indians who have the power to discriminate against Africans tend to be the urban ones, and so I do not accept your theory that rural Indian racism is what creates the image among Africans that Indians are racist. 

4. The Africans who are able to enforce racist practises against Indians (most obviously in the Burnham era) tended to be the more elite, so there again the poor urban African is less able to discriminate against Indians.

Racism in Guyana is enforced by the elites of the group, often with the non elites of the other group being the ones who suffer most.  While less educated people are often less PC, so will more likely utter racist remarks, it is the racism of the elites which hurts.  This has caused the ethnic morass that Guyanese have been trapped in, especially since 1957, when the colonials began to liove us alone.

I guess PC is politically conscious.  Isn't the statement I highlighted a contradiction.  The less educated will more likely utter racist remarks...the elites (educated) is supposed to be less racist.  DO NOT associate elites with politicians only.  The politicians are the ones who feed on the uneducated and create divisions.  This is the same in the USA.  The more the population becomes educated the more difficult will it be to create division.

As often as I have talked about the Indo business elites, why would you think that this is only about politics?  These are the people who EMPOWERED the PPP to be racist.

Educated people are more concerned that they not appear racist. In addition they are more likely to be in multi ethnic environments, and so more likely have to interact with people of different ethnicities.  So more likely to ensure that they have some access to these.

With a new government which has strong African input you bet that the Indo/Portuguese business elites who once excluded blacks, now are rushing to "befriend" the African elites.

Less educated people are less likely to be in this situation, and more likely to find themselves in ethnically homogenous environments.  So "black monkey", or "coolie daag" will come from the mouths of the less educated, but that does not mean that the more educated and elite do not harbor the same attitudes.  Just more cleverly disguised.

A friend of mine, a black British person of Guyanese ancestry was in Guyana in the company of Jagdeo and some of his crew, Indians, Portuguese and other non blacks.  That evening there were many blacks in the bar.  It not being one of the cheaper places these blacks would have been fairly elite. 

One of the crowd said (to no one in particular) that they are too many of a certain type of people (touching his hair).  The others laughed. As is often the case anti black people often exclude black foreigners when they stigmatize local blacks, so for some weird reason didnt think that he would notice, or care. 

Now are those people any different than the ignorant cane cutter who yells out 'Black Monkey" when he gets into adrunken brawl.  Hardly, except of course that they can actually determine who gets hired, who gets contracts, etc, and if they feel that Guyanese blacks are inferior, then we know what they will do.

Now that power in Guyana is no longer solely in the hands of an Indian elite, but now spread to include an African political elite, we might see similar behavior on the part of some African elites.  Oh no, they will never say "coolie dog", but might also subtly engage in communications to exclude others.