Marlon Jarvis

April 9 2019

A Lethem hotelier was yesterday remanded to prison after he was charged with the illegal possession of 118 pounds of cannabis and 3.5 pounds of cocaine as well as attempting to bribe police to discontinue the investigation.

Marlon Jarvis, 44, stood before Chief Magistrate Ann McLennan in a Georgetown court, where she read him the two charges.

The first charge alleges that Jarvis, on April 3rd, at Tabatinga, Lethem, had 53.74 kilogrammes (equivalent to 118.4 pounds) of cannabis, and 1.59 kilogrammes (equivalent to 3.5 pounds) of cocaine in his possession for trafficking.

It was also alleged that on the same date and at the same location, he willfully attempted to pervert the course of justice by handing $180,000 to Samuel Trotman and directing him to give it to the police to drop the narcotics investigation of which he was the focus.

While Jarvis denied the narcotics charge, he was not required to enter a plea to the second charge since it was indictable.

Police prosecutor Gordon Mansfield told the court that on the day in question, Lethem police, acting on information, went to an unfurnished flat structure and carried out a search. Prior to the search being conducted, the prosecutor noted, the police observed someone running from the building as they were approaching but they were unable to apprehend the person.

Mansfield said during the search of a room in the building, the narcotics were found. Further investigations were then carried out and those led to the arrest of Samuel Trotman. Mansfield added that while Trotman was being questioned by police, the accused called him and the conversation between the two was recorded.  Jarvis, it is alleged, spoke about paying $1.2 million to the police for the drugs to be returned to him but indicated that he only had $200,000.

Mansfield said a sting operation was later set up. Trotman was released from police custody, he added, and he was later visited at his home by Jarvis, who allegedly gave him $180,000. Jarvis was then arrested by police. Following the advice of the Director of Public Prosecutions, Trotman was released and Jarvis was charged, the prosecutor added.

After the prosecutor’s objections, attorney Jerome Khan, who represented Jarvis, asked for bail. He contended that there was no aggravating circumstance, no evidence of the defendant’s involvement, that the drugs were not found on his person and that he did not give any police officer any sum of money.

However, the magistrate later remanded Jarvis to prison until April 18th, when the case will be called at the Lethem Magistrate’s Court.

A Lethem hotelier was yesterday remanded to prison after he was charged with the illegal possession of 118 pounds of cannabis and 3.5 pounds of cocaine as well as attempting to bribe police to discontinue the investigation.

I thought only under BJ Guyana had a narco trade and was considered a narco state? Does this mean PNC campaign fundraising got busted?

It escalated under the PPP...its not going to be easy to wipe it out. It can be controlled. There is a large market outside the country. Guyana is like a layover area, so there will always be a market outside. The difference is the extent of government implication...

Remember Roger Khan?

When people refer to the "narco state" I think they are saying that the PPP govt had some connection with the drug dealers, as indicated by Wikileaks info (I think a minister was implicated in some sort of spy equipment deal that only a government could get access to it).

Django had posted some info on this a while back.

It escalated under the PPP...its not going to be easy to wipe it out. It can be controlled. There is a large market outside the country. Guyana is like a layover area, so there will always be a market outside. The difference is the extent of government implication...

Remember Roger Khan?

When people refer to the "narco state" I think they are saying that the PPP govt had some connection with the drug dealers, as indicated by Wikileaks info (I think a minister was implicated in some sort of spy equipment deal that only a government could get access to it).

Who said in 2014-2015 they will wipe out the narco business? HAPANU or PPP?

Remember Roger Khan?

Well done Sherlock. Re-stating what's already established is good idea when you have nothing of substance.

Yuh eva recall reading of ANY drug busts under the PPP? Any at all? Now there are actual drug busts. A BLACK man who owned multiple hotels in Guyana and is an alleged drug mastermind was arrested and awaiting trial. The fact that he was black didn't deter the coalition govt. from turning he rass in.

Suh as usual, yuh talking sheer shit and barking about pnc fundraising and assorted red herring shit. There was hardly a significant drug bust in Guyana when yuh Indian mattie in the PPP was running tings and good Indian folks called them on it. Ah believe Sat Sawh was one. Men of honor, not like you. 

But den yuh called it "progress" as building after building was erected to launder drug money.

The PNC is just upset that RK helped the police force in crushing the anti-Indian terrorists operating from the backlands of Buxton.  The PNC has a rich history with illegal dealings with cult leaders, drug peddlers, and obeahmen from since the days of Burnham. Don't let these people fool you that RK's drug dealing is their cause for concern. Most of the drug dealers in Guyana are African people but they don't want to admit that. They have a political agenda to once again suppress Indians and they will stop at nothing to besmirch the character of anyone who stands in their way. RK drug trade was illegal and immoral but his actions to save the lives of innocent Indians brought the wrath of the PNC on his head. 

Yuh eva recall reading of ANY drug busts under the PPP? Any at all? Now there are actual drug busts. A BLACK man who owned multiple hotels in Guyana and is an alleged drug mastermind was arrested and awaiting trial. The fact that he was black didn't deter the coalition govt. from turning he rass in.

Suh as usual, yuh talking sheer shit and barking about pnc fundraising and assorted red herring shit. There was hardly a significant drug bust in Guyana when yuh Indian mattie in the PPP was running tings and good Indian folks called them on it. Ah believe Sat Sawh was one. Men of honor, not like you. 

But den yuh called it "progress" as building after building was erected to launder drug money.

he refused to share in his business. 

antabanta posted:

Remember Roger Khan?

Well done Sherlock. Re-stating what's already established is good idea when you have nothing of substance.

No shyte sidekick Watson...dont you have a book to read...or you read them all?

antabanta posted:

Remember Roger Khan?

Throw this book worm to the robins.

antabanta posted:

Many books yet to read. I'm a little occupied with the one I'm writing. That's the full extent of your rebuttal?

antabanta posted:

Many books yet to read. I'm a little occupied with the one I'm writing. That's the full extent of your rebuttal?

What are you writing a book on?

Remember Roger Khan?

Who said in 2014-2015 they will wipe out the narco business? HAPANU or PPP?

Banna...it was the PPP which refused to allow the DEA to set up base in Guyana...

antabanta posted:

What are you writing a book on?

We're friends now or something?

Under tha PPP the police would ah tek de bribe and it wood ah done dey.

Pointblank
antabanta posted:

No thanks. I'm strictly a ladies man.

as in STUD or GIGOLO?

Take your pick. Are you cruising?

will be...in a few weeks...on Carnival Cruise Line...

You playing FRESH with MALE posters, you hoping to pick up something on GNI, I told you Ronan has the HOTS for you. Make a play.

Pointblank posted:

Under tha PPP the police would ah tek de bribe and it wood ah done dey.

What makes you think that this is not done today? It is probably more prevalent today and not being reported. Maybe they are so many that they can pick and choose their price. Let's not forget the saying, "when haag use to eat shit, you cyan't stap dem?.