Team here to shoot documentary for History Channel
A TEAM of international explorers/cast members working for the television History Channel arrived in Guyana yesterday to work on an eight-part documentary series which will highlight the pristine beauty of this country’s natural resources.

Acting Tourism Minister Irfaan Ali with the President of New Rivers Holding Guyana Incorporated, Tim Evans, at left, and supervising producer Scott Madden.
This initiative is expected to be of unprecedented benefit to the local tourism sector and pave the way for the creation of more international markets in the area of eco-tourism.

The History Channel was made aware of Guyana’s rich resources through New Rivers Holding Guyana Incorporated, an organisation that has, over the years, been searching for areas of exploration to promote eco-tourism locally.

Acting Tourism Minister, Mr. Irfaan Ali, briefing the media at theCheddi Jagan International Airport yesterday morning, said the project is one that is welcomed without hesitation, as it is seen as a further boost to the country’s economy.

“Guyana is poised to be the next great international destination to be discovered for eco-tourism as well. As you are aware, Guyana is becoming increasingly an exciting adventure, in terms of eco-tourism and, in terms of explorative tourism and that is as a result of the different packages that we offer,” he said.

Ali lauded the venture and noted that this is the first time Guyana was able to attract foreign interest at such a high level.
At the same time, the Minister said the project is timely, since, Guyana is at a stage when strategies are being implemented to advance the tourism and marketing sector.

“We have been advertising our brand as the Amazon Adventure and we are very delighted that we were able to attract this level of foreign interest in Guyana, at this time in the tourism sector when we are seeking to advance our marketing, seeking to broaden our focus and bring in people for various purposes,” Ali said.

He pointed out that the History Channel has a very wide reach internationally, especially in The United States and is consistently seeking new areas of exploration.
Ali said Guyana has the ability to provide the exploration team with what is needed to be successful throughout the undertaking and assistance will also be given if there is a need at any time.

“The U.S. market is one that is consistently looking for a different product, a product that rekindles them with nature, a product that gives them more adventure…Guyana has that ability. Guyana has more camping grounds… we have resorts. This is one of the only markets in this Caribbean area that you can go to and have various camping grounds,” he stated.

Ali said Guyana boasts many expensive markets, especially in the Essequibo region, that are undiscovered by the very people here in Guyana. “These are very expensive markets if you have 10, 15 episodes from the History Channel it would be good.”

Are there any good MEN AND WOMEN among us to put aside the BS and recognize that Guyana is moving forward with the oil exploration, the LCDS initiative, hydro power, and eco-tourism all at the same time? Mr. Ramotar is a multitask president. Yall have to stop blowing hot air and save your strength for old age. Jagdeo did an excellent job for Guyana, and Ramotar will do a greater job because he has a foundation to work on. BTW, which village does APNU & AFC run again?
Originally posted by ABIDHA:
Are there any good MEN AND WOMEN among us to put aside the BS and recognize that Guyana is moving forward with the oil exploration, the LCDS initiative, hydro power, and eco-tourism all at the same time? Mr. Ramotar is a multitask president.

Abby:

The stars are starting to line up for Guyana---the country will experience enormous and exciting growth and development in the coming years.

THERE IS NO STOPPING GUYANA!

And in Donald Ramotar--Guyana has a mature and responsible president who will provide leadership necessary to keep the country on the right track.

LONG LIVE GUYANA! AND MAY GOD BLESS THE WONDERFUL PEOPLE WHO RESIDE IN GUYANA.

Originally posted by Nehru:
Thank you Abidha. Like Obama said "Why ponder over spilt milk". Some will ALWAYS BRAY!!!

Next time address me by Abby like Rev Al. I like it very much. Big Grin
Not Abee? yippie
Originally posted by Nehru:
Thank you Abidha. Like Obama said "Why ponder over spilt milk". Some will ALWAYS BRAY!!!

Next time address me by Abby like Rev Al. I like it very much. Big Grin
Originally posted by Rev Al:
Are there any good MEN AND WOMEN among us to put aside the BS and recognize that Guyana is moving forward with the oil exploration, the LCDS initiative, hydro power, and eco-tourism all at the same time? Mr. Ramotar is a multitask president.

Abby:

The stars are starting to line up for Guyana---the country will experience enormous and exciting growth and development in the coming years.

And in Donald Ramotar--Guyana has a mature and responsible president who will provide leadership necessary to keep the country on the right track.

You people make me laugh. You are a bunch of simpletons who will get excited about anything. Look a team is going to do a documentary and you it sound as if oil was found and gushing in the Berbice river. Ramotar has a record of failure and he does not even look or sound presidential. I suppose he has one thing going and that he is Indian. But I am willing to give him the benefit of doubt and reserve judgement.
Deh gushing part coming later.
Originally posted by FC:
Originally posted by Rev Al:

Abby:

You people make me laugh. You are a bunch of simpletons who will get excited about anything. Look a team is going to do a documentary and you it sound as if oil was found and gushing in the Berbice river. Ramotar has a record of failure and he does not even look or sound presidential. I suppose he has one thing going and that he is Indian. But I am willing to give him the benefit of doubt and reserve judgement.
Originally posted by FC:
You people make me laugh. You are a bunch of simpletons who will get excited about anything.

FC:

Why all the negativity and pessimism regarding Guyana ? Is it because the country is run by the PPP ?

I guess like most PNC supporters you pray daily for Guyana to return to the days when the PNC was in charge and the country was poverty stricken, decrepit, destitute, and bankrupt.

IS THAT YOUR DREAM FOR GUYANA FC ?

Listen FC! Get rid of that negativity---stop worshipping the devil---cleanse that jaundiced mind of yours---and start wishing Guyana well.