Time to pause and reflect on the work and life of Guyana's late President Linden Forbes Sampson Burnham.
Yu mean the daawg was born?
Our late President created free education for every child in Guyana.
Bullshit.. Jagan created free education, that is how I was able to go to QC. jagan also created UG.
When Jagan assumed office as Premier, the first thing he did was make education free. Burnham was not even elected at that time.
A dictator at his best, using big words like d2 and not knowing what they mean. Imagine the man giving speeches to Blacks and 75% got to consult dictionary to understand what he says.
Om Jai Burnham.
Jai Burnham
Jai Jai Burnham
Om Jai Burnham.
Jai Burnham
Jai Jai Burnham
Freedom House is having a special service at 6pm this afternoon to honor the late great for paving the way for them, especially the rigged constitution.
Bullshit.. Jagan created free education, that is how I was able to go to QC. jagan also created UG.
Chill brother chill!!
Get your facts straight, it was under Forbes Burnham education became free form primary to high school.
In 1961 the government took steps that greatly increased access to education. Many new secondary schools were opened, especially in rural areas, and school fees were abolished. Two years later University of Guyana.
US library of Congress.
CIA Factbook.
who was in power in 1961? Even the Americans know.
In 1961 the government took steps that greatly increased access to education. Many new secondary schools were opened, especially in rural areas, and school fees were abolished. Two years later University of Guyana.
US library of Congress.
CIA Factbook.
According to the Americans, now we know who was the real daawg.
Guys
Give Chief his moment in the sun.
Skeldon and I can confirm that Chief was always a Burnham PNC man since his days from Corriverton.
That is his right.
Yugi are you going to the Freedom House Service tonight in honor of the late great?
Hindus and Muslims were granted national holidays for their festivals under the late President Burnham.
Yugi are you going to the Freedom House Service tonight in honor of the late great?
Bhai
I am in living in the Great White North. Too much snow here.
One good thing Burnham did was to support free education and you are right, he deserves credit for that.
He also gave the PPP a great constitution. He also deserves credit for that.
Bhai
One good thing Burnham did was to support free education and you are right, he deserves credit for that.
Ladies & Gentlemen
From the horse's mouth!!!!!
Put your hands togehter!!!
These PPP boys has no shame!!
Bhai
Ladies & Gentlemen
From the horse's mouth!!!!!
Put your hands togehter!!!
Thank you. Thank you.
The first festival for Carribean Arts was the brainchild of our late President.
Carifesta
How about Mash ?
Or was it part of Carribbean Arts ?
How about Caricom ? The man was a strong supporter of Caricom and gave the best speeches at Caricom.
How about his fight against Venezuela ? "Not One Blade of Grass".
And then came the bad things....
Rigged Elections
Banning of basic food times
Line up for Food and Gas
Blackout
and we know the rest..........
THE LIFE & LEGACY OF LFS BURNHAM, Part 1
August 6, 2010, marked the 25th Death Anniversary of Linden Forbes Sampson Burnham, Founder Leader of the Peopleâs National Congress and first Prime Minister and first Executive President of the Co-operative Republic of Guyana. Linden Forbes Samson Burnham played a significant role in the political social and economic development of Guyana. It was under his Leadership that Guyana attained political Independence and Republican status. It was under his leadership, in collaboration with other Caribbean Leaders, that CARICOM was initiated and developed. It was under his leadership that CARIFESTA became a reality. And, it was also under his leadership that many of the significant infrastructural developments in Guyana materialised. These include, the MMA Scheme, the expansion of the Black Bush Polder and the Tapacuma Drainage and Irrigation Schemes; the Demerara Harbour Bridge and the Canje Bridge; the entire network of coastal roads from Corentyne to Essequibo; and, the National Cultural Center, to name just a few. It was under the leadership of Forbes Burnham that education was made free for Guyanese from Nursery to University, Presidentâs College was built and initiated and the Guyana National Service was established. Two years ago, on a Motion by the Leader of the Opposition, Mr. Robert Corbin, M.P., the National Assembly of the Parliament acknowledged his many achievements and placed on record his contribution to Guyanaâs development. The month of activities, organized countrywide by the PNCR to celebrate his Life and legacy, commenced, fittingly, with an exhibition of speeches, biographical material and a photographic gallery at ACDAâs Emancipation Festival at the National Park on 1st and 2nd August 2010. On August 6, 2010, a floral tribute ceremony at the Mausoleum; Seven Ponds, Place of Heroes in the Botanical Gardens was held, while the main event to launch the month of activities, was held at 4:30 pm on the same day, at the Headquarters of the National Congress of Women (NCW), Kitty. During this month, the PNCR Column will feature reflections by those who participated in the commemorative events. Today, we begin with excerpts from the presentation by PNCRâs Vice Chairman, Dr. George Norton, MP, at the Wreath laying Ceremony of August 6th 2010.
A TRIBUTE TO L.F.S BURNHAM by DR. George Norton, Vice Chairman, PNCR If only I could change the words of that patriotic song, which was done for a true warrior in the 1978 Musical film âEvitaâ, composed by Andrea Lloyd Weber with lyrics by Tim Rice! I refer to âDonât cry for me Argentinaâ, sung by Madonna. If only I could change it to âDonât cry for me Guyanaâ, it would sound like this; âDonât cry for me Guyana The truth is I never left you All through my wild days My mad existence I kept my promise Donât keep your distance As for fortune and as for fame I never invited them in Though it seems to the world they were all I desire They are illusions They are not the solutions they promised to be The answer is here all the time I love you and hope you love me Donât cry for me Guyana.â This song was meant for the spiritual leader of the nation of Argentina, but it could have been suitably applied to Guyana, referring directly to The Founder Leader, Linden Forbes Sampson Burnham. He may not have wanted us to cry for him at the time of his passing, but he would have wanted us to be brave, to hurl defiance at our foes and to continue in the pursuit of our destiny. The weeping has ended and the shock has passed, and, like that music that has stopped playing, the melody lingers on. Let us not forget that one of the greatest legacies that he has left for us is the PNCR: an institutionalized Party that was founded, nurtured, developed, led and inspired by him for three decades and which we must maintain intact, strong, efficient and united. The greatest tribute we can pay to this founder and leader of our party, this builder of our nation, this role model and father figure, is to continue his good works and to cling to his ideals. The PNCR has the historic mission to continue the disciplined, methodical and strenuous work of LFS Burnham and to make his vision a reality. He dedicated his life to the creation of a just society in which all citizens could live in an environment of substantial freedom, happiness and prosperity.
HIS VISION This cannot be more aptly expressed as the Founder leader did himself, while addressing the leaders of all the Amerindian Communities in Guyana at that Historic Amerindian Conference of March 1969, held in Georgetown. I quote, âMy government aims at putting an end to this attitude which has been encouraged in the past, that Amerindians are one set of people; Africans are one set of people; Indians are one set of people; and each of them must live in their own little cubicle. We have all got to live together, we have got to move amongst one another and we have got to share with one another the experience and learning that each of us might have acquired over the years. We cannot develop the coast separately from the interior.â He went on to say âA man and a people are as important as they feel and as important as the contributions which they make to the building of the nation to which they belong. But that contribution can only be made if they are given the best opportunities of developing themselves, their experience and the abilities which God has given them. This is why my government has decided that all Guyanese, whoever they are and wherever they are, should have the best training and education which this country can offer. They should have the best medical service which Guyana can afford. The schools in the interior, for instance, must be as good as the schools on the coast.â These statements were so relevant then and never more appropriate as now, some 40 years after they were spoken. They demonstrated, in no uncertain way, the faculty of clairvoyance this great man possessed. Probably this is the reason it was said that he lived ahead of his time. In reality, his whole life was in such a hurry that when The Founder Leader walked, we trotted and ran, with the hope of barely keeping up with him. One of his great achievements, if not the greatest, was healing the wounds of a racially divided nation in the early sixties. No one who had witnessed the almost destruction of this country through civil disturbances would have believed that any single leader, within a few years, could have brought the two major races together and begin to inspire within them the desire of being one people, of belonging to one nation with one common destiny. The Founder Leader did just that. What manner of man is this? Many older Guyanese might be familiar with the question made famous by the late, Dr. Ptolemy Reid, Deputy Leader of the PNCR right here at the Seven Ponds, Place of Heroes in 1985, during the final words before the last post: âWhat manner of man is this?â I ask this same question about someone who could have been described in the following way by Dr. Mohamed Shahabudden, O.R., S.C., M.P. â Vice President, First Deputy Prime Minister and Attorney-General, a man of no mean order himself. He saw Forbes Burnham for the first time in 1953 in Holborn Hall, London, addressing students about the suspension of the British Guiana Constitution. This is how he described him: âHis speech rose ever so discreetly above a whisper and yet commanded total attention. His presentation was seasoned, his facts well marshaled. His arguments neat, his manner sober â almost judicial. I had no difficulty in recognizing him as a decidedly superior intellectâ. Speaking of him as a lawyer, Dr. Shahabudden went on to say, âHis language was literature. Lawyers will not easily forget his quiet, cultivated style of speaking. His cross-examination was penetrating, his advocacy forceful without being abrasive and his legal arguments seasoned and compelling. He was undeniably a brilliant lawyer.â And about his life in general, he said, âAbove all he was a true leader, with a special capacity to inspire, encourage and sustain flagging spirits even in the worst of times.â I again ask that question âWhat manner of man is this?â What was the manner of this man that he could have been so described by Sir Shridath Ramphal? âHis word was his bond. His friendship was unequivocal. In a crisis, there was no truer companion, no more a reliable comrade. His passionate loyalty was not only given to his friends, but also to the causes for which he cared. For the whole process of decolonization, for the principles of non-alignment, in the struggle against apartheid and to the cause of West Indian unity, his commitment was unreserved.â I would like to touch on a lighter side of his character and that is his sense of humor that was irrepressible and his quick wit, qualities that defused many a tense situation and won him many an argument. His humanity was touching and so many will remember his profound kindness. He had a sense of joy of life and he was fond of tantalizing. There was a saying that if you could not bear tantalize, donât let the Founder Leader know your story. He would insist that much of what he was recounting was not tantalize but tanta facts. According to Ms. Joyce Sinclair, he had his weaknesses â weaknesses which made him human. âI recall that this great man could not carry a straight tune. He just could not sing, yet he insisted on singing his favorite songs by Nat King Cole and sometimes Aretha Franklin. We would often seek to persuade him to whistle instead. This fell on deaf ears. He just proudly sang, for he was a lover of music, well grounded in the classics. All in all, Forbes Burnham was an extremely complex person who cannot easily be characterized in ideological terms. He was completely committed to the goals of national liberation and regional integration. He led Guyana to independence and defined the principles of statehood, which have been largely responsible for the countryâs non- aligned posture and its adherence to Caribbean community. His enduring legacies are the spirit of independence and self-determination. **************** The PNCR again invites all Guyanese to participate in the events planned during the month.
White flour does cause diabetics
fat boy banned flour, bread and roti for the health of the nation.
Walter Rodney was an African nationalist. Burnham did not like black people, so he had him assassinated
There was a top PNC man in Corriverton by the turn. His name Fat Clive who owned a Bakery shop.
This man was so fat and I always wondered why he was so fat. That answers it.
Anyway, he used to sell wheat flour Bread during the days when it was banned and the PNC played blind and allowed him to sell his bread.
Ask Chief is he remembers Fat Clive.
Clive used to love seeing Indian movies at Radio City cinema every Saturday.
What was the manner of this man that he could have been so described by Sir Shridath Ramphal? âHis word was his bond. His friendship was unequivocal. In a crisis, there was no truer companion, no more a reliable comrade. His passionate loyalty was not only given to his friends, but also to the causes for which he cared. For the whole process of decolonization, for the principles of non-alignment, in the struggle against apartheid and to the cause of West Indian unity, his commitment was unreserved.â
http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....-lfs-burnham-part-1/
THE LIFE & LEGACY OF LFS BURNHAM,
And, it was also under his leadership that many of the significant infrastructural developments in Guyana materialised.
These include, the MMA Scheme, the expansion of the Black Bush Polder and the Tapacuma Drainage and Irrigation Schemes; the Demerara Harbour Bridge and the Canje Bridge; the entire network of coastal roads from Corentyne to Essequibo; and, the National Cultural Center, to name just a few.
It was under the leadership of Forbes Burnham that education was made free for Guyanese from Nursery to University, Presidentâs College was built and initiated and the Guyana National Service was established.
Two years ago, on a Motion by the Leader of the Opposition, Mr. Robert Corbin, M.P., the National Assembly of the Parliament acknowledged his many achievements and placed on record his contribution to Guyanaâs development.(This Motion was supported by PPP in Parliament)
~~~~It was under the leadership of Forbes Burnham that education was made free for Guyanese from Nursery to University, Presidentâs College was built and initiated and the Guyana National Service was established.~~~
haha, PNC taking credit for Jagan's efforts.
ask Granger when he stopped paying school fees, he went to QC in the 60's.
PNC called University of a Guyana, Jagan night school, now they claiming credit! Hilarious!
US library of Congress.
CIA Factbook.
TI, CIA facts should be taken with a grain of salt. They got the facts on Saddam wrong, as it was later revealed.
Anyway, in reference to your quote, I want to say this:
True, Dr Jagan was elected Premier in 1961.
Having passed the common entrance examination in 1962, I secured a partial scholarship at Central High School in Georgetown. My parents had to fork out $36 per term as school fees.
In 1964, during the riots, I was beaten up on D'Urban Street. My parents requested a transfer to Zeeburg Government Secondary School and I was admitted in September, the start of the new school year. My parents had to pay $10 school fees for that term.
The PPP government ended in December 1964. The PNC-UF coalition took its place with Forbes Burnham as Premier.
In January 1965, at the beginning of the Easter term, no one had to pay school fees at Zeeburg Secondary School. What do you make of that?
Jagan and Burnham paid for their education. Granger went free because Jagan abolished school fees in 1961, when he was elected Premier of Guyana.
U.G. first started in the QC compound as night classes, and people were laughing at Jagan for establishing the first university in the nation.
There was a top PNC man in Corriverton by the turn. His name Fat Clive who owned a Bakery shop.
Anyway, he used to sell wheat flour Bread during the days when it was banned and the PNC played blind and allowed him to sell his bread.
yUGI,
Some of you make me get sick to the bone. What proof do you have that Mr Clive Williams was PNC?
Because he was Afro Guyanese you automatically labelled the man PNC.
wELL i HAVE NEWS FOR YOU , cLIVE WAS SO BADLY AGAINST THE pnc because he and his late father wer real bussinesmen and the banning of flour greatly affected their business.
Gilly,
there were private and public schools in a Guyana. Central was a private school. Yes, later, they were absorbed by Burnham. IETC was also a private school. The point I am making is that Jagan initiated the free schooling process. It was already in motion when he was kicked out and Burnham put in.
Jagan started with QC and Bishops making them free.
Jagan and Burnham paid for their education. Granger went free because Jagan abolished school fees in 1961, when he was elected Premier of Guyana.
U.G. first started in the QC compound as night classes, and people were laughing at Jagan for establishing the first university in the nation.
Jagdeo got everything free from Guyana to Russia and back to Guyana where he looted the coffers for he and his boys.
Why is Nehru missing on this auspicious occasion?
He probably gone to Guyana to attend the PPP wuk for the late Prso.
I never realized there are so many DAAG ASS KISSERS from Guyana. A DAAg IS A DAAAG IS A DAAAAG!!!
Gilly,
there were private and public schools in a Guyana. Central was a private school. Yes, later, they were absorbed by Burnham. IETC was also a private school. The point I am making is that Jagan initiated the free schooling process. It was already in motion when he was kicked out and Burnham put in.
Jagan started with QC and Bishops making them free.
Now you're making it clearer. And you're absolutely correct here.
Another thing: True, Dr Jagan built UG from scratch. All praise to him. But even though UG was a government institution, it charged tuition fees until the 1975-76 academic year. If I remember well, in 1969 the fee was $108/year.
Our late President created free education for every child in Guyana.
Man you full ah kaka. Free secondary education for every one who could not afford a secondary education and was qualified to attend a secondary school was a Dr.Jagan's doing. He built all the government secondary schools (including the free one you attended). Remember that Lutheran High School was not free. I could not afford to attend Lutheran even though I passed their admission test. I attended Line Path after it was built and opened in 1963.
Give Dr. Jagan his due. Burnham was a racist demagogue who depended on personal power. If you own something bigger than his, he would nationalise it. Rumours had it that if your penis was bigger than his, he would nationalise it.
I hope he went to hell if there is one.
yUGI,
Some of you make me get sick to the bone. What proof do you have that Mr Clive Williams was PNC?
Because he was Afro Guyanese you automatically labelled the man PNC.
wELL i HAVE NEWS FOR YOU , cLIVE WAS SO BADLY AGAINST THE pnc because he and his late father wer real bussinesmen and the banning of flour greatly affected their business.
Then I stand corrected.
I never knew that his last name was Williams. Thanks for sharing that.
Corriverton has a very rich history.
Plenty black people complained about Burnham, yet they voted for him, and loved the fat guy.
Plenty Indians voted for him and financially supported him too.