Proposed boundaries would make it one of the largest in the city

Posted: Thursday, February 6, 2014 10:30 am

Merchants along one of the borough’s busiest and longest commercial strips are moving ahead with plans to create a business improvement district.

Liberty Avenue business owners have proposed a BID for the shopping district stretching from the Van Wyck Expressway in Richmond Hill to Cross Bay Boulevard in Ozone Park — a distance of about 40 blocks. That would make it one of the city’s longest.

Vishnu Mahadeo, president of the Richmond Hill Economic Development Corp., said the plan to establish the BID began last year.

“What we have done is look in terms of the needs of the community,” he said. “We have launched the needs-assessment survey and created a database of merchants.”

Mahadeo said a steering committee has been formed to identify the boundaries of the BID, conduct outreach and inform business owners of what it would do. The city Department of Small Business Services has named a team to assist in the BID’s creation. Business owners gathered for a networking gala last Friday at Liberty Palace at 130-11 Liberty Ave. to discuss the proposal. The next step will be holding public meetings on the proposal.

The plan is supported by state Sen. James Sanders (D-Jamaica) and Councilman Eric Ulrich (R-Ozone Park), whose staff has assisted with its creation. The Queens Economic Development Corp. also backs the BID.

In the meantime, Mahadeo said business owners have lobbied the city for more services on Liberty Avenue, including increasing garbage collection from two days a week to three and adding more receptacles; planting more trees and cleaning up graffiti.

Retail shops, markets and restaurants line nearly the entire length of Liberty Avenue from the Van Wyck to 104th Street. The more bustling eastern end of Liberty Avenue is often seen as the main commercial hub of South Richmond Hill.

West of 104th Street to Cross Bay Boulevard, there are a few private homes, a playground and two lots, one used by the 106th Precinct to store impounded cars; the other, at 103rd Street, is vacant and was once used by a moving company to park its trucks, but a sign on the fence says it is to be developed into a commercial space.

The entire strip between the Van Wyck Expressway and the Brooklyn border was rezoned last December. Ulrich said part of the rezoning’s goal was to allow for more commercial development along Liberty Avenue, especially along the section west of 104th Street.

In the last two decades, several new stores have opened on the western end of the proposed BID, including several franchises like CVS, IHOP, Duane Reade and Aaron’s as well as at least a dozen small mom-and-pop stores.

Since the 1970s, more than 40 BIDs have been created citywide. If the Liberty Avenue BID is created, it will be only the second one in South Queens after the Woodhaven BID, which covers Jamaica Avenue between 100th Street and Dexter Court.

Other BIDs in the borough include Bayside Village, which covers Bell Boulevard, the 82nd Street Partnership in Jackson Heights, the Sutphin Boulevard BID in Jamaica and Ridgewood’s Myrtle Avenue BID.

Originally Posted by raymond:

what are the main benefits of a BID?

Ray, One of the best benefit is it will bring Businessmen together closer. We all know how Guyanese Businessmen are.

Originally Posted by Stinger:

bring businessmen closer youse a funny gyurl

I wonder how many of abbe coolie businessmen will pay the additional BID fees for this togetherness

uncle Vish, pls share yuh ideas on how yuh plan to Improve de Districk of RH

I want to be there when he tells abbe coolies that he's planning on having an additional business tax levied pon abbee coolies fuh fund his BID salary

come in uncle Salted poke, how much yuh plan on tekkin fram de tax jar

Something equivalent to wan Minista salary

After all dis chap is very experienced in economic development

Vishnu is doing a great job and this news is welcome for entrepreneurs and consumers alike to have an extension of businesses along the Liberty corridor to Cross Bay Blvd. Kudos Vish!

yea man, here's businessman numero uno pumpin up uncle Salty volume

RHEDC is jus like de tiefin PPP, ayuh rass too blind to realize when you're being hosed

Are you talking to me?

Yes yuh drunk bastard

Why are you so ready and willing to jump on Vishnu and RHEDC and denounce what he proposed for the RH community? You should come and counter his proposals as false and advise the people what is right and just. May be you know something we don't. So, come on out and tell us differently. Old people say if you can't offer anything, don't belittle others in their givings.

Raymond,

The mail benefits are:-

Improved Services to the Business community.
- Sanitation
- Security
- Beautification
- Retail Attraction
- Improved Access to City Services

A BID unifies all businesses to work toward a common goal, that often economically revitalized Business District.

A BID mitigates retail sales leakage by allowing the area to compete more effectively for regional market share through the generation of greater local marketing resources and strengths.

A BID supports businesses in the area through commercial recruitment, retention and promotion as well as through the sponsorship of “shop at home” and downtown image-building campaigns.

A BID creates a strong unified voice to represent business interests to local government agencies.

A BID funds other projects such as clean-up programs, decorations, parks and special events.

A BID assists in leveraging public and private resources for program activities, development projects and other commercial revitalization efforts.

Originally Posted by raymond:

what are the main benefits of a BID?

Vish M
Thank you dear sir.

Vishnu is doing a great job and this news is welcome for entrepreneurs and consumers alike to have an extension of businesses along the Liberty corridor to Cross Bay Blvd. Kudos Vish!

Vish M

Stinger's intention was to bring up old disagreement between me and Vishnu as though we're not entitle to agree or disagree on individuals matters. What I said about Vishnu in past times remains as a disagreement in that time. We have to concentrate and focus on current affairs and work toward the future for the greater good of our community. I find Stinger to be a wicked person who is dirt bent on belittling a man for what he is doing while he has nothing good to offer. Thanks to Raymond for closing the grave that Stinger dug and hoped to gain some unaccomplished moments for himself. Stinger is trying to sell Vishnu and RHECD as corrupt as the PPP into the idea of stealing from the Guyanese community. Even Joker make a comment to that regard. I think if my conversation was to join Stinger and cuss people and call them names like buggerologist, only then I may fit in with certain individuals on GNI. Now, who is the creep disguised in sheep clothing? Stinger or Vishnu? This is what happen when you're dealing with immature people.

bring businessmen closer youse a funny gyurl

Elton John, I don't expect you to understand since a leach and Crabdaag like you who like to try and bring yuh competition down will NEVER see your EVIL.

Stinger's intention was to bring up old disagreement between me and Vishnu as though we're not entitle to agree or disagree on individuals matters. What I said about Vishnu in past times remains as a disagreement in that time. We have to concentrate and focus on current affairs and work toward the future for the greater good of our community. I find Stinger to be a wicked person who is dirt bent on belittling a man for what he is doing while he has nothing good to offer. Thanks to Raymond for closing the grave that Stinger dug and hoped to gain some unaccomplished moments for himself. Stinger is trying to sell Vishnu and RHECD as corrupt as the PPP into the idea of stealing from the Guyanese community. Even Joker make a comment to that regard. I think if my conversation was to join Stinger and cuss people and call them names like buggerologist, only then I may fit in with certain individuals on GNI. Now, who is the creep disguised in sheep clothing? Stinger or Vishnu? This is what happen when you're dealing with immature people.

easy dere cuz. Joker had nothing to do with any of this. I barely know what you're talking about.

I have said it in the past and I will repeat it, Vishnu Mahadeo is not a thief.

We disagree on quite a few things including RHEDC getting involved in political and religious activities. 

To compare Vishnu with Jagdeo and the PPP is just not correct.

Last edited by Chief