Lichfield centenarian, an invaluable prize- President Ramotar

Georgetown, GINA, January 8, 2012
Source - GINA

President Donald Ramotar greeting centenarian, Cecelia Rebecca Tappin at her West Coast Berbice home.

Guyana’s latest centenarian, Cecelia Rebecca Tappin, a Lichfield, West Coast Berbice resident was today honoured with a visit from President Donald Ramotar as her many family members, neighbours and friends gathered to celebrate her 100th milestone.

The President said that ‘Sister Tappin’ as she is fondly called, is an invaluable prize as she stands as a witness to 100 years of Guyana history and urged members of the community to take time off to record some of the events that she still recollects.

“We are a combination of our past and our present and the more we know about our past, the better we will be able to deal with the future that lies ahead…we are fortunate to live in a country, where we have a mix of several ethnic groups and several cultural backgrounds and this must be seen as a strength for us,” President Ramotar said.

Education Minister Priya Manickchand extending her wishes to Cecelia Tappin.

Education Minister, Priya Manickchand, who was also present at the ceremony, said that Government is committed to doing all in its power to ensure that its senior citizens enjoy their golden years.

Cecilia Tappin was born on January 8, 1912 to Sarah Reid and Holbert Williams. She was a vendor at the New Amsterdam Market and an active church member. She is survived by her six children, 24 grandchildren and 18 great grandchildren.

Wow! 100 years old and she looks like she could go on for another 100.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY SISTER TAPPIN.

Very nice gesture by President Ramotar to share in the celebration of Sister Tappin's 100th birthday.

Originally posted by bird:
She is survived by her six children, 24 grandchildren and 18 great grandchildren.

??

How you like dat eh? They celebratin the woman's b'day then they turn round and call the grim reaper pon she. hehehe
Originally posted by cain:
In the last pic, is Priya eating the decorations or is it some kind of magic show she's performing, extracting it from her mouth?

Bai, nah mek abie laff, wenn mi fuss see datt pikcha me taat was waan Sumo from Japan ah come visit abit ole people. Mi tink da lady muss tek gymn.