Breaking News: Historic Umana Yana gutted by fire

September 9, 2014 3:46 pm Category: latest news A+ / A-

FIRE[www.inewsguyana.com] – The structure called the Umana Yana, located in Kingston, Georgetown is currently engulfed in flames, the fire service has confirmed.

Firefighters are currently at the scene trying to retrain the blaze amid high winds.

iNews will the provide details as it becomes available.

The 55-foot high cone-shaped benab (or shelter) was constructed by Amerindians of the Wai Wai tribe from thatched allibanna and manicole palm leaves, and wallaba posts lashed together with mukru, turu and nabbi vines.

It was specially constructed to serve as a V.I.P. lounge and recreation spot during the Non-Aligned Foreign Ministers Conference held in Georgetown in August 1972.

Gilly, we should all wait and see the investigation result, unless you get reliable information that it's arson leads to NICIL direction.

I'm betting you, nothing will come out of the "investigation". Just like nothing came out of that other investigation almost 20 years ago into a fire near the Umana Yana. Remember?

Nokta was local government minister, his ministry was in Kingston, there were questions about certain contracts, Cheddi Jagan raised his bushy eyebrow, Nokta panicked, fire lashed down his ministry's records division. Nothing came out of the investigation. But Jagan gave Nokta another ministry to run.

Gilly, we should all wait and see the investigation result, unless you get reliable information that it's arson leads to NICIL direction.

I'm betting you, nothing will come out of the "investigation". Just like nothing came out of that other investigation almost 20 years ago into a fire near the Umana Yana. Remember?

Nokta was local government minister, his ministry was in Kingston, there were questions about certain contracts, Cheddi Jagan raised his bushy eyebrow, Nokta panicked, fire lashed down his ministry's records division. Nothing came out of the investigation. But Jagan gave Nokta another ministry to run.

Point taken. However,  I am convince something will comes out of this later.

I can see with you. I didn't buss up yuh political virginity enough the other day. Unfinished business, Cobs.

Seriously, yuji22 keeps reminding us when we point out his nasty posts that politics is dirty business. The PPP has taken dirty politics to a new low. Well, not the whole PPP. The Jagdeo-Rohee cabal.

I can see with you. I didn't buss up yuh political virginity enough the other day. Unfinished business, Cobs.

Seriously, yuji22 keeps reminding us when we point out his nasty posts that politics is dirty business. The PPP has taken dirty politics to a new low. Well, not the whole PPP. The Jagdeo-Rohee cabal.

Gilly, yuji or HM_Redux dirty politics doesn't represent the PPP or the AFC. BTW, thanks for standing up in my defense against Mr. HM_R yesterday.  You and I cannot solve everyone's problem.

Gilly, yuji or HM_Redux dirty politics doesn't represent the PPP or the AFC. BTW, thanks for standing up in my defense against Mr. HM_R yesterday.

Cobs, you must show some respect for HM_R. He is definitely not dirty nor racial like yuji22. In my book he's a good fellow. Behave yourself and treat him as an uncle, the same way you regard our Uncle Nehru.

By the way, in my book Nehru is a good fellow too. He just a lil contrary, that's all.

Gilly, yuji or HM_Redux dirty politics doesn't represent the PPP or the AFC. BTW, thanks for standing up in my defense against Mr. HM_R yesterday.

Cobs, you must show some respect for HM_R. He is definitely not dirty nor racial like yuji22. In my book he's a good fellow. Behave yourself and treat him as an uncle, the same way you regard our Uncle Nehru.

By the way, in my book Nehru is a good fellow too. He just a lil contrary, that's all.

Gilly, on the contrary, people must earn respect. Myself and Nehru earn each other respect. You as a former educator should know the value of discipline and respect. If you follow my posts, you will see that I refrain from getting in personal attacks and stay on topic, while members call me antiman, ***** and other demeaning names because I am not on the same page with them. This forum is for us to agree to disagree on issues within our respective political parties and our country's affairs. BTW, I have respect for all members on GNI. Mitwahji can attest to that. Peace out, brother Gilly.  Rass, and today is not Friday yet.

Preliminary report shows that the fire at Umana Yana was caused by an electrical spark, and the government agrees to rebuild it as soon as possible.

All who jump the gun to blame the PPP and NICIL should apologized.  

Bhai Cobra,

Nah hole you breath. The PPP caused the electrical spark. Drugs money will rebuild it. There will be kickbacks from the contractor.

Preliminary report shows that the fire at Umana Yana was caused by an electrical spark, and the government agrees to rebuild it as soon as possible.

Bhai Cobra,

Nah hole you breath. The PPP caused the electrical spark. Drugs money will rebuild it. There will be kickbacks from the contractor.

HEHEHE DEm Jataha daily Mantra. YUh give dem dem own medicine. Good one Skeldon.

When I say everything PPP I mean it. Some members has a personal dislike for the PPP that they would blame them for anything and everything prematurely. If their intention is to blame them innocently, there is a price to pay for being disingenuous. The attorney general has the same issue with Mr. Ramjattan for publishing false information against the PPP. They say the chip don't fall far from the block. 

That structure was an eye sore. That area can be used to generate economic activity.

what kind of economic activity,the whole of main st is dead,you is a fool guyana is trying to promote tourism and this is a main feature of guyana first people,but then again you is a ppp maybe you want to build a chinese store  

Bhai Cobra,

ask ramator he just fire one of guyana finest contractor,it one less place for your family to rob people when they visit  

Bhai Cobra,

ask ramator he just fire one of guyana finest contractor,it one less place for your family to rob people when they visit  

It'll be one more place for Kwamee, Jagdeo and Rohee to sexually exploit you. Be careful what you ask for.

That structure was an eye sore. That area can be used to generate economic activity.

YUJI thanks for sharing the official PPP position.  There you have it the  OFFICIAL POSITION.

Yuji is probably an eyesore.

the only symbol the native people had in GT and yugi think it okay to burn it down,a true ppp guyanese

YUJI thanks for sharing the official PPP position.  There you have it the  OFFICIAL POSITION.

the only symbol the native people had in GT and yugi think it okay to burn it down,a true ppp guyanese

That's exactly the point, warrior.

yuji22 has been boasting all along that Amerindian votes will give the PPP its majority next elections.

Now, for yuji22 Amerindian voters are eye-catching but the Amerindian benab in GT is an eyesore.

You think yuji22 schizophrenic, warrior?

yuji22 has been boasting all along that Amerindian votes will give the PPP its majority next elections.

Now, for yuji22 Amerindian voters are eye-catching but the Amerindian benab in GT is an eyesore.

Gil

yuji is a hot blooded capitalist and wants to see every piece prime land utilized properly.

A much larger Umana Yana can be built in a dedicated area. yuji is not opposed to the rebuilding it but build it elsewhere.

Okay, I accept the fireman's preliminary report for now.

If the government changes its mind and doesn't rebuild the Umana Yana, however, we shall see the Invisible Hand that caused the "electrical spark" in the Visible Hand that will take over that property.

Gil

yuji is a hot blooded capitalist and wants to see every piece prime land utilized properly.

A much larger Umana Yana can be built in a dedicated area. yuji is not opposed to the rebuilding it but build it elsewhere.

You are full of shit. Why don't they just use whatever piece of land and utilize that properly. Build the dam building exactly where it stood.

You've been caught talking shit and now want to make it better...it ain't.