Home > TOP STORY > Over $110M in ‘Because We Care’ cash grants distributed in Linden
Over $110M in ‘Because We Care’ cash grants distributed in Linden
Minister of Education with Children of the One Mile Primary School at Bay Rock Community Centre

-Your children’s education should be your first priority—Minister Manickchand tells parents in Linden

MORE than 11,000 children from Linden on Friday benefited from the Government of Guayna ‘Because We Care’ $10,000 Cash Grant initiative.

Minister of Education, Priya Manickchand with teachers after the distribution of vouchers

Distribution of the vouchers started on Friday in Linden and some $110M were distributed to parents at twelve school-locations. Those locations included the Bamia Primary, MacKenzie Primary, Amelia’s Ward Primary, Coomacka Primary, Linden Foundation Secondary, Bay Rock Community Centre, New Silver City Secondary, Harmony Secondary and Wismar Hill Secondary.

Addressing parents at the Bay Rock Community Centre, Education Minister, Priya Manickchand implored parents to keep their children in school and be interested in their lives. Speaking as a parent, Ms. Manickchand posited that every parent wants what is best for his or her children. “What do we want for our children? We want to ensure that they can live a life that is better…, that they have more than you had, not just more things, but a richer, more comfortable life, foster and maintain better relationships…I am saying to you that more is possible for your children,” the Minister exhorted.

Parents applauded the recommendation that should the ‘Because we Care’ $10,000 Cash Grant initiative continue next year, it should be given on the condition that children attend school frequently, perhaps having an average percentage of attendance at school for a given school term. She admonished parents to use the grant wisely, “Your children’s education should be your first priority,” she noted.

“Guyana has a reason to be proud of this programme,” Manickchand noted, adding that it is the only country in the Caribbean, offering financial support to every child and not children selected based on economic or social conditions. She added that the ‘Because We Care’ $10,000 Cash Grant programme is another initiative aimed at giving parents additional support to equip their children for school.

Parents have until November 30, 2014 to en-cash their vouchers at any Western Union or Bill Express location.

More slavery at work Comrade Low Breed, you see how proud it is making you?

You go to Linden and tell them to return the money to the PPP. Let them know this is vote buying.

To the contrary, they should take it and use their minds to grasp its intent and do what is moral.

Au Contraire Comrade low breed, my advice to them is take the money but vote against de slave owners......

Oh haas pee, did you not read where I said they will take the money and still vote PNC? Memory failing heh?

Comrade low breed that is good for the people of Guyana and I give you high praise for your amazing insight. 

Honorable yuji, am I missing something?

You post a news report with two pictures. One shot shows minister with two teachers. The other shows minister with 42 kids.

Where are the Linden masses?

Pictures from other regions show flocks of folks.

GOD BLESS THE GOVT O GUYANA. LOOK HOW DEM PEOPLE IN LINDEN HAPPY, HAPPY. DESPITE TH FACT THAT 80% OF THEM WILL VOTE FOR THE PNC(AND THAT IS THEIR GOD GIVEN RIGHT) THE GOVT IS ONE FOR ALL THE PEOPLE OF GUYANA. AND DAT YOU CAN PUT IN YOUR PIPE AND SMOKE IT!!

Honorable comrade low breed? I like the ring of that.......you are onto something here Gilly you are a master indeed you are.

Me nah get blind yet bai. Me watch de pickcha and me count dem pickney and everybaddy. Me see big diffrence fram dem adda foto dat gat people laka rice in Essequibo and Burbice.

You post a news report with two pictures. One shot shows minister with two teachers. The other shows minister with 42 kids.

You missed it. That's the extent of the Linden mass. Money nah share so you nah see dem.

To the contrary, they should take it and use their minds to grasp its intent and do what is moral.

Storm keeps a keen eye on Priya. The Rev was right about Storm's crush on Priya.

again...read

"People should be reminded that the money they receive or will be receiving is their own. The Ministry of Education is merely responsible for executing that which was approved by the parliament. However, this project has deliberately turned out to be a PPP/C political campaign tool. Parents should know that the $10,000 they receive is not, like the Minister of Education wants them to believe, some act of benevolence on the part of the PPP/C regime.

People must be reminded that their representatives in the parliament voted to ensure that they get back $10,000 of their taxpaying dollars to cushion the high cost of living they continue to experience as a result of realities such as; the back-breaking VAT, low wages, high levels of unemployment, among other damning socio-economic and political actualities.

As if the public billboards and posters were not enough, the regime and the Minister of Education have decided that they will employ a most humiliating process for the distribution of the people’s money. So head teachers and school districts are asked to organize elaborate ceremonies where the special guests are entertained as our children are made to perform for them. The “masters” then make their campaign speeches to the largely unsuspecting audience who will later find their portrait in a PPP election campaign commercial.

The pomposity of these people knows no boundary. Recall a few weeks ago when they landed in a hinterland community, children and parents were cajoled into ushering them from the airstrip and planting garlands around the necks of these modern day massas.

All this the people are told they must do before they can collect their own money. What lunacy and insolence!

Gil

I posted an unaltered article. Keeping it clean these days.

For those who cannot read more than two paragraphs, I've pulled out a section which should make it easier to comprehend.

People must be reminded that their representatives in the parliament voted to ensure that they get back $10,000 of their taxpaying dollars to cushion the high cost of living they continue to experience as a result of realities such as; the back-breaking VAT, low wages, high levels of unemployment, among other damning socio-economic and political actualities.

As if the public billboards and posters were not enough, the regime and the Minister of Education have decided that they will employ a most humiliating process for the distribution of the people’s money. So head teachers and school districts are asked to organize elaborate ceremonies where the special guests are entertained as our children are made to perform for them. The “masters” then make their campaign speeches to the largely unsuspecting audience who will later find their portrait in a PPP election campaign commercial.

For those who cannot read more than two paragraphs, I've pulled out a section which should make it easier to comprehend.

Cain, which shit rag you find this piece of rubbish from?

Skelly, borrow a page from yuji's book and stop wallowing in filth.

You are saying it's ok for Cain to ask this shit question and not me? Is that being objective? But then again being objective is all relative.

Minister of Education with Children of the One Mile Primary School at Bay Rock Community Centre

Minister of Education, Priya Manickchand with teachers

after the distribution of vouchers