Linden pact signed – Prime Minister calls for harmony

Georgetown, GINA, August 21, 2012 -- Source - GINA

Prime Minister Samuel Hinds and Region Ten’s Chairman

Sharma Solomon signing the agreement this afternoon

The Government and the Region Ten delegation this evening at the Office of the President signed the agreement that was initialled on Friday last, and which was deferred yesterday, following both parties attaining mutual understanding on four areas of concern.

Prime Minister Samuel Hinds said that it is with a sense of relief but also hope that the Government entered into this agreement. Mr. Hinds said that government is pleased that the agreement was reached and the major issues would be reviewed by others who would not have been as deeply involved as they were.

“It is important that we recognise that our action, activity and work provide us with the material things and the goods and services that we can enjoy in society…not only our individual work is important but the way we can live together in harmony…the way that our views can overlap…these determine how we can live in harmony,” the Prime Minister said.

He added that government has always been motivated by the recognition of the need and its desire to work for equal rights and justice for all Guyanese.

“We recognise too, that we are constrained by the goods and services that we produce and are available to us here in our country… and the way to get this has been to focus on improving the education and skill of our people, their abilities and also to work to improving harmony in our country”.

He noted that the period of unrest followed from very different views of the same situation and that Government is happy an accord was reached.

Region Ten Chairman Sharma Solomon said today’s signing of the agreement between the Government and the Region is seen by Linden as the first step by government in recognising their constitutional right to self determination, economic social and political and involvement in decision making that impact their lives.

He added that it is also an achievement for Guyana as it signals what a people can achieve through mutual respect when those elected to govern recognise that, with such a responsibility comes the duty to respect the rights of those who have entrusted them the priviledge to govern when the people hold their government accountable for the delivery of good governance.

Both parties agreed to; the establishment of a technical team to investigate the electricity situation in Linden with specific terms of reference for the committee; the establishment of an economic committee with specific terms of reference for the committee; the establishment of a Region 10 Regional Land Selection Committee and Region 10 to apply for a broadcasting licence and the government will facilitate the granting of that licence in keeping with the law along with the dish and transmitter that were given to the Linden community to be handed over to the Regional Democratic Council.

The agreement was reached after several rounds of discussions with the Region Ten delegation, A Partnership or National Unity and the Alliance for Change.

Lindeners began protesting last month against electricity tariff increase that came into effect from July and, even as discussions were ongoing between Government and Region Ten delegation, the protest turned ugly as during a clash between police and protestors three persons were shot dead.

Several vehicles were burnt and buildings razed to the ground including the Linmine Secretariat, Linden Care Centre and more recently the One Mile Primary school that housed 830 students.

Representatives of the Government and Region Ten witnessing the signing of the agreement at Office of the President

Roads were blocked with debris, timber and other items while some were dug across forcing vehicles to stop. Motorists were forced to pay exorbitant sums to be allowed to pass while some reported that they were also robbed.

Government stated that ‘extremist elements’ had hijacked the protest to promote their agenda.

President Donald Ramotar visited the town late last week and met with residents and stakeholders, following the joint services taking control of Linden.

The protest took its toll on the mining sector as protestors refused to allow vehicles with food and fuel to pass through, severely affecting residents in hinterland communities.  While some diverted through the Bartica- Potaro road this proved to be a longer, more expensive venture.

Originally Posted by kidmost:

so who is footing the bill for rebuilding the properties burnt , offices, care center and school ?

Kidmost angry mobs destroying govt property after being attacked by agents of the govt is not unusual.

This is why decisions to fire live rounds is one that should never be taken lightly.

Blame lies with the govt.  We will see whther it was the officrs on the ground or whether it extends up to Rohee.  What is clear was that there was no justification for the use of live rounds.  I cant even recall whether in Burnham;s time he did this.

so who is footing the bill for rebuilding the properties burnt , offices, care center and school ?

Kidmost angry mobs destroying govt property after being attacked by agents of the govt is not unusual.

This is why decisions to fire live rounds is one that should never be taken lightly.

Blame lies with the govt.  We will see whther it was the officrs on the ground or whether it extends up to Rohee.  What is clear was that there was no justification for the use of live rounds.  I cant even recall whether in Burnham;s time he did this.

How can you remember if yuh KAKAHOLE tek over yuh Brains.

Originally Posted by Ronald Sugrim:

Burnham used some live stuff on Rodney and a few others. Know your history.

Did Burnham fire into protesting crowds with LIVE ROUNDS?

The PPP has done its share of dirty work against those who it doesnt like. Freddie Kissoon can tell you all about that.  Himself and others.

That happens to those who live in another country and pretend to be expert on Guyana.

Wow now you are follwoing Nehru, the class clown of GNI whop most of us have an ignore and who even PPP supporters refuse to hang around with.

Hmmmmm.  Ronald is every thing OK with you?

Maybe you need to go to the kid's forum because its clear that we are too bright for you.

Nehru is an old drunk who passes out in the street.  Is that the company you want to keep?

Who funded it in the first place?

A question deserves an answer, not another question, green giant.

Now you are getting personal with Nehru. Banna I got to go. The stock market is booming for me. I might make a few thousands rather than indulging in this tripe.

If you think that Nehru's comments are indicative of a normal person feel free.  Most assuredly almost no one else here thinks so.

Its good to know, Linden has finally returned to a state of normalcy, despite the naysayers and opponents of the state, Linden will raise again, the government has always and will always look into and improve the socio-economic situation in Linden.

we here on this site will start counting the days and weeks and years when linden will get some of those promises we will start with the tv station.what a stupid country when the people of a country have to fight for a tv station

Originally Posted by Conscience:

government has always and will always look into and improve the socio-economic situation in Linden.

OK in 2006 3200 voted PPP out of a total of 13,000 voters.

In 2011 1,700 voted PPP out of a total of 15,500.

So more people voted yet fewer voted PPP.

Could it be that they are telling you that you babble nonsense?

And this is before they knew that the PPP planned to hike electricity rates, a fact which it hid from them when it campaigned late last year.

Who funded it in the first place?

It is common knowledge that the afc/pnc financed the burning of linden. The man who burnt the school said he was paid by the rabble rousers, you know who you are.

Druggie take all this evidence to Minister Rohee so he can arrest the entire leadership of APNU and the AFC.

Clearly he doesnt know and has no proof because he has yet to arrest any, except for some low level characters.  At least one of whom said he was paid and almost certainly would have said who paid him...yet this has not been disclosed.

The opponents of the state can't escape blame for the unfortunate events that occurred in Linden

Get it into your head the PPP is not the state. They are a minority government in place by a race based electorate. The events at linden was a consequence of people exercising their right an shot in cold blood by agents of the administration who are to this point unrepentant.

Further, they are with grunts like you dedicated to disparaging the protests, abjuring responsibility for the killings and claiming the people are the villains. Well,

Marcos did the same when the Aquino protests started. He murdered a few and in the end went down in infamy. Similarly, Gaddafi sought refuge in a overflow sewer pipe when he could have met his detractors head on and sought to lessen their pain. He would have still been in power.

The Linden protest was hijacked by opponents of the state,but failed in their bid to cease power through the back door, the people of Buxton must also be commended for not supporting David Hinds and his wild dream to cause traffic mayhem on the Demerara East Coast....the containment of the Linden protest in Region 10 spoke volumes.....the reason why the protest didn't spread to the other parts of the country is because the rest of the country pays the same electricity tariffs that the Lindeners bitterly opposed, its within human nature to resist change, but change is inevitable, the highly subsidizes electricity in Linden could not go on much longer...

If you are intent on self deception, you are welcome. Linden will remain a canker sore on the backside for the PPP for the long term.

Hinds has wild dreams but his dreams were tranquil ones when he was seriously rebuking Buxtonians for being unable to restrain their kids from marauding in nearby communities.  I hope he had concerned himself with bringing them out to a march and a candle light vigil for the cause but in time he will learn.

Buxtonians are as alienated from the PPP now as ever. That much is real since nothing has been done to reverse their state of neglect. They know well the PPP's excesses since they sit squarely between obscene displays of their opulence and corrupt practices with the rise of palatine boulevards on both sides of their community while they remain in a pig sty.

Linden will remain a canker sore on the backside for the PPP for the long term.

From 1957, MacKenzie and area voted for the PNC.

Only in 1953, MacKenzie and area voted for the PPP.

who the hell care who they vote for the fact remain that linden is a part of guyana and entitle to equal benfit as the rest of the country,a good government should make shore that linden is develop with the same pace as the rest of the country.and for god sake free up the TV stations and radio station for all who can afford to invest

Dont' know what the deal is with the tv station but they should have their own even if they use it to promote mo fiah slow fiah.  However Linden has gotten more than their fair share, govt allocations to region ten has increased 1700% since 92.  in fact I have always argued that govt has bent over backwards for the people of Linden but the magre dwags turn around and bite them. hhahaha

Dont' know what the deal is with the tv station but they should have their own even if they use it to promote mo fiah slow fiah.  However Linden has gotten more than their fair share, govt allocations

Yes a whole US$ 150 per person, accoprding to the PPP.