Lindeners being misled by bad leadership- Prime Minister
- reminds that electricity subsidy has lessened not removed  

Georgetown, GINA, July 18, 2012 -- Source - GINA

Prime Minister Samuel Hinds who holds responsibility for the electricity sector in Guyana, this evening said that it is unconscionable for anyone to call for the initial subsidy that Lindeners were enjoying, to be maintained.

He was at the time speaking on a special programme along with PPP/C Member of Parliament, Manzoor Nadir, on the National Communications Network (NCN).

The PM explained that in 2011, the $2.6M of electricity subsidy to Linden averaged out to about $17,000 per month, per household and. This means, that about 4,000 to 5,000 domestic consumers in Linden received a subsidy of $204,000 per year each.

“With electricity prices subsidised by 90 percent or more in Linden, it does not make economic sense…the average consumption of power in Linden at the domestic level is 2 to 3 times what it is in other parts of the grid. So the consumers in Linden have an opportunity to lower the level of consumption and lower their cost…this is a reform in the electricity supply,” he said.

Prime Minister Samuel Hinds and PPP C , Member of Parliament Manzoor Nadir with moderator Paul Moore during discussions on the Linden electricity issue

He recalled that in 1976, the late Forbes Burnham was of the view that the provision of electricity in Linden should be integrated into the national grid, which was a step in integrating the society as a whole.

With regards to the planned five-day protest actions that commenced today, the Prime Minister expressed his disappointment at the closing of the bridge as well as the move by the Linden Utilities Co-op Society Limited (LUCSL) to shut down of the electricity which in turn affected the water system (all of the water stations in the Wismar-Christianburg area were shut off).

Moreover, those leading the protest have been threatening the operators of the water and electricity stations on the Mackenzie side, which continued to function.

The blocking of the bridge has implications for person travelling to and from Lethem. Prime Minister Hinds lamented.  “This inflicts untold harm on Linden and I feel very strongly about it, because this Government and particularly myself, have been advocating Linden as the place to be; to businesses and as the place that would be the gateway to and from Region Nine and Northern Brazil.”   

He said people have been falling for leadership that has in effect, misled them and there are also a few who are willing to use force to keep Linden locked up.

“The problems for Linden rest on the heads of those leaders who are leading this shutting down of Linden and the closing of the bridge…I am encouraging everyone who has suffered losses to take the instigators to court; sue them for those losses,” he urged.

Meanwhile, Nadir said that the issue is having all of Guyana paying a fairly equitable rate for electricity and not one group of people enjoying a highly subsidised rate. He made reference to Mahdia and Port Kaituma, which are now in the electricity system and have a similar structure; whereby a certain amount of kilowatts are given at a very low rate, while they pay a higher rate for consumption above a certain limit.   

This structure is particularly designed to ensure that vulnerable citizens are protected from undue financial burdens.

“50 kwh at $5 is $250, the pensioner who is burning 50 kwh per month on the coast has to pay $2,500 minimum, almost 11 times what a Lindener would pay…these are some of the hard decisions that have to be made and this PPP/C Administration made them over the last 20 years that is why this economy has rebounded. We have made the hard decisions and put in place safety nets for the vulnerable,” he explained.

He pointed out too, that it is not the case where the entire Linden is on a starvation budget and as such these adjustments have to be made. He explained too, that once people learn to conserve on the use of electricity, the price will remain almost the same as when electricity was heavily subsidised. 

Referring to the protest actions, he said that, that appear to be driven by a few people who wantonly use electricity and have their own vested interest at heart. He added that, “while you have a right to protest and let your voices be heard, you do not have the right to prevent another person from enjoying their rights and that is the fundamental pillar of democracy.”

A press release issued today by the Office of the Prime Minister stated at present prices, generation costs in Linden will be about $ 60 per kWh, and when commercial and overhead costs are included, the cost is increased to $75- $80 per kWh.

In the release, the PM reminded that subsidy to citizens in Linden is not being removed, all at ‘one go’, but rather, in reasonable stages to allow for adjustments by the people of Linden, and to allow also for adjustments of household budgets. 

“Every year in which the electricity reform is put off, and in which the people of Linden grow and make more decisions based on electricity subsidised at a rate of 90 percent or more make the eventual adjustment even more difficult,” he said.

The new tariff structure, which took effect from July 01, has been structured, taking account of the call from opposition parties in Parliament that it be structured in such a way that the initial quantities of electricity taken, are heavily subsidised.

This arrangement allows for every family to share more equally in the subsidy, and those with lower incomes are impacted least of all.

“This Government would not give up its vision of Linden as truly the second town of Guyana, leading in the inward growth and development of our country, but we need the help of the average, reasonable Lindener to restore normal conditions in Linden, as early as possible, and to minimise the damage being inflicted on Linden,” the release stated.

“The problems for Linden rest on the heads of those leaders who are leading this shutting down of Linden and the closing of the bridge…I am encouraging everyone who has suffered losses to take the instigators to court; sue them for those losses,” he urged.

Meanwhile, Nadir said that the issue is having all of Guyana paying a fairly equitable rate for electricity and not one group of people enjoying a highly subsidised rate. He made reference to Mahdia and Port Kaituma, which are now in the electricity system and have a similar structure; whereby a certain amount of kilowatts are given at a very low rate, while they pay a higher rate for consumption above a certain limit.   

This structure is particularly designed to ensure that vulnerable citizens are protected from undue financial burdens.

50 kwh at $5 is $250, the pensioner who is burning 50 kwh per month on the coast has to pay $2,500 minimum, almost 11 times what a Lindener would pay…these are some of the hard decisions that have to be made and this PPP/C Administration made them over the last 20 years that is why this economy has rebounded. We have made the hard decisions and put in place safety nets for the vulnerable,” he explained.

Unless someone can say the PM is lying, the Govt is on the correct side.  Furthermore, instigators and law breakers should be taken to court by anyone who suffered losses due to their actions.

I still cannot understand the warped mindset and logic which some "leaders" use to argue against rate equity.  There is just no shame, no sense of decency in aome people.

What acts of terror? You folks are truly malevolent. Four people died at the hands of a reckless police and a number of others are injured. There has not been a word of regret from the administration and Ramotar is yet to show his piggish face and offer some consolation. These are the things that breeds anger.

You bnare a STINKING LIAR. Gwan suh yuh dutty DAAG!!!!

50 kwh at $5 is $250, the pensioner who is burning 50 kwh per month on the coast has to pay $2,500 minimum, almost 11 times what a Lindener would pay…these are some of the hard decisions that have to be made and this PPP/C Administration made them over the last 20 years that is why this economy has rebounded. We have made the hard decisions and put in place safety nets for the vulnerable,” he explained.

Unless someone can say the PM is lying, the Govt is on the correct side.  Furthermore, instigators and law breakers should be taken to court by anyone who suffered losses due to their actions.

I still cannot understand the warped mindset and logic which some "leaders" use to argue against rate equity.  There is just no shame, no sense of decency in aome people.

I honestly believe that the joint opposition is on a path to cause turmoil in Guyana and to the people as long as the PPP is ruling. They gave that indication from the beginning when Ramotar's administration took office. They showed ill fate towards the tripartite agreement. They cut the national budget by GY$20B, and went against everything that is good for the country. We don't have to understand the logic and mindset; we just have to follow the pattern and the power of one seat majority to set the course of destruction by the joint opposition. They even mention no confidence in the ruling party, and now they're invoking riot as a peaceful protest. There is nothing good will ever come out of APNU/AFC even if you tried. The writing is on the wall.

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

I honestly believe that the joint opposition is on a path to cause turmoil in Guyana and to the people as long as the PPP is ruling. They gave that indication from the beginning when Ramotar's administration took office. They showed ill fate towards the tripartite agreement. They cut the national budget by GY$20B, and went against everything that is good for the country. We don't have to understand the logic and mindset; we just have to follow the pattern and the power of one seat majority to set the course of destruction by the joint opposition. They even mention no confidence in the ruling party, and now they're invoking riot as a peaceful protest. There is nothing good will ever come out of APNU/AFC even if you tried. The writing is on the wall.

AMEN!!!

The PPP had a closed fist on the nations administration for 2 decades. For the first time the opposition really can check them legislatively. Why would they now want to overthrow the government when with illustrating their poor administration and corruption they have a better hand at actually being a part of governing?

You understand your illogical grasping for an excuse to this heavy handed incident. The only mindset one can speak to is the mindset of autocrats who are averse to a flourishing of democracy with true checks and balances. That would be a wedge to their kith and kin corrupt rule through appropriating the state assets as their personal milk cow.

One does not expect you to see any good in one hald of the population represented by APNU and the AFC. You defended the corrupt PPP their naked transfer of state assets through the agency of NICIL to their cronies and ther misuse of the Nationally owned media as a propaganda tool and like it that way. That is democracy to you.

Too bad, it is not. Democracy has not been given a chance to bloom under the PPP. Instead they governed with the old Soviet model of a vanguard party and a cabal of Leninist suffocating deliberations or fostering merit. It is an ideologically bound party that is absent of creative energy (always residing on individual expression). They are about group think, and all others be dammed.

wHEN i LISTEN TO DEM nATARASS DIS I DOES WONDER IF THEM BORN BRAIN DEAD OR SHIT GOT INTO THEIR BRAINS.

You are so smooth; such elegant prose are like poetry to the ear. Wisdom such as yours has not seen the light since Solomon the wise walked the earth!

The events at Linden was seen by many as an opposition ploy to incite voilence in an attempt to make the country ungovernable, the burning of bridges, vehicles and the ruling political party building, are also seen as acts of terrorism

Originally Posted by Conscience:

The events at Linden was seen by many as an opposition ploy to incite voilence in an attempt to make the country ungovernable, the burning of bridges, vehicles and the ruling political party building, are also seen as acts of terrorism

Quite the crap of constantly speaking with the omniscient voice as though you are the sole authority of what Guyanese think. People died. Not by the opposition hands but by reckless agents of the opposition.

Indeed damage to property occurred but as a consequence of seeing friends and neighbors dead in the street not because of a disagreement with electric rates. That was why they stood with their young children on a bridge. They did not come with guns and knives. Agents of the PPP came with the violence. Not one of them got a scratch!

I honestly believe that the joint opposition is on a path to cause turmoil in Guyana and to the people as long as the PPP is ruling.

They gave that indication from the beginning when Ramotar's administration took office. 

PNC + TUF => Burnham + D'Aguiar - 1964 - 1992

PNC + AFC => Granger + Trotman/Ramjattan - 2012 - ????

Originally Posted by Ronald Sugrim:

The above comment was meant for Stormborn. 

Bai, click on that lil icon at the bottom for reply with quote.  You will not make too many enemies, and sh1t flies if you thread on Nehru's toes.

The above comment was meant for Stormborn. 

Bai, click on that lil icon at the bottom for reply with quote.  You will not make too many enemies, and sh1t flies if you thread on Nehru's toes.

I honestly believe that the joint opposition is on a path to cause turmoil in Guyana and to the people as long as the PPP is ruling.

They gave that indication from the beginning when Ramotar's administration took office. 

I presume some succinct connection is supposed to be conjugated from your peculiar predicate calculus that points to a license to shoot people!

You are talking bull. The opposition instigated and then watched at the place was wracked with violence. Its a common trick when you want to start a war.

I understand, the barbarians there were in need of suppression! Keep that in mind when they truly come armed next time and shoot back. You ignoramus are what foster the reckless and corrupt rule of the PPP. One Georgia politicians was noted to say the decrepit violent state of Georgia prisons was a reflection on the caliber of its prisoners!

But why am I saying this? My dog at least will try to understand.

I presume some succinct connection is supposed to be conjugated from your peculiar predicate calculus that points to a license to shoot people!

Your useless ramblings are always amusing.

You are so smart Rahiem! even my beagles are astounded at your illuminating brilliance. I know I read it to them and the continued snoring.

The gist of the matter.

You are your dog talking only to yourselves.

You truly need new material! but since we are talking about dogs; there is that memorable aphorism about dogs and new tricks. I will expect to see a recycling of the  "look in mirror" sooner than later!

You are so smart Rahiem! even my beagles are astounded at your illuminating brilliance.

I know I read it to them and the continued snoring.

As you wiggle in your isolation.

The gist of the matter.

You are your dog talking only to yourselves.

You truly need new material! but since we are talking about dogs; there is that memorable aphorism about dogs and new tricks. I will expect to see a recycling of the  "look in mirror" sooner than later!

You are conversant with your special position and tricks.

You are so smart Rahiem! even my beagles are astounded at your illuminating brilliance.

Dear me! I have to correct. This is a new line. Are you taking the new Alzheimer drug? Could this be an indication it dose indeed work to remove brain plaque?

Dear me! I have to correct.

This is a new line. Are you taking the new Alzheimer drug?

Could this be an indication it dose indeed work to remove brain plaque?

You continue to spill thousands of useless words daily on the forum.

After making the needed adjustments, you might start to interact in an acceptable manner.

Dear me! I have to correct.

This is a new line. Are you taking the new Alzheimer drug?

Could this be an indication it dose indeed work to remove brain plaque?

You continue to spill thousands of useless words daily on the forum.

After making the needed adjustments, you might start to interact in an acceptable manner.

tout tout! your few words are so profound! Shoot me when you are the norm for acceptable!

Linden don't consist of "special people"they should pay the same tariff for electricity as the rest of the country

And when PPP supporters goet contracts in Linden ought they not to hire Lindeners instead of importing PPP supporters.  I know that racism has fried their brains but you cannot run Guyana as if only Indians matter and expect others to tolerate this indefinitely.

Linden don't consist of "special people"they should pay the same tariff for electricity as the rest of the country

And when PPP supporters goet contracts in Linden ought they not to hire Lindeners instead of importing PPP supporters.  I know that racism has fried their brains but you cannot run Guyana as if only Indians matter and expect others to tolerate this indefinitely.

Diversion.

Diversion.

Sorry not a diversion. If Lindeners dont have jobs and then are told to pay more for electricity it is dishonest of you to think that they ought not protest.

Lindeners (and other blacks) have long protested that PPP expenditures in black areas are usually awarded to PPP contractors who deprive them of employment, hiring Indians.

This is why Lindeners protest.

Diversion.

Sorry not a diversion. If Lindeners dont have jobs and then are told to pay more for electricity it is dishonest of you to think that they ought not protest.

Lindeners (and other blacks) have long protested that PPP expenditures in black areas are usually awarded to PPP contractors who deprive them of employment, hiring Indians.

This is why Lindeners protest.

Have you visited Buxton, Enterprise, Agricola, etc and see the struggles of those hard working peoples?   And you are asking them to subsidize Linden.  You have no shame and have weak morals.

Hmmmm. Mnay Lindeners originally came from Buxton, Agricola and other black villages.  In fact those villagers might think that they ought to protest too!!!!  They all think that the PPP is a racist black hating group and this is just pure bad minded vengeance because black people refsued to vote PPP.

When it comes to subsidies can you tell me why a poor black civil servant ought to subsidies the education of a wealthy Indian land owner who refuses to pay income tax?

And when PPP supporters goet contracts in Linden ought they not to hire Lindeners instead of importing PPP supporters.

Specific to PPP supporters at McKenzie, historically, whenever they get contracts; when needed, they would import employees from outside of the area, regardless of their political support.

Indians live in Linden too and so do Amerindians. They will all be required to pay. And the PPP has pumped millions into Buxton but they are still not satisfied. Why? 

Bhai, Like yuh like hear Dankey Bray, that is all he is capable of.