Lisa Ramotar hired as Gold Board’s new GM

January 3, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 

The Guyana Gold Board (GGB) has a new General Manager (GM) -Lisaveta “Lisa” Ramotar, daughter

New GM: Lisaveta Ramotar

of President Donald Ramotar.

Ramotar was hired on a one-year contract after 15 applications were received. The post became vacant late last year after former GM, Anantram Balram, resigned amidst investigations of fraud at the Bartica, Region Seven branch of the GGB.
A Government official with close relations to the Board confirmed that Ramotar, one of the Head of State’s three children, started work yesterday.
She was reportedly interviewed by GGB’s Chairman, Dr. Gobind Ganga and Board Member, Jeffrey Thomas.
Kaieteur News understands that the choice for the position came down to Ramotar and former Chief Executive Officer of the Guyana Telephone and Telegraph Company, Dr. Yog Mahadeo.
GGB as the Government buyer for gold has taken on extreme importance in recent years as gold prices went up, placing the metal as the country’s highest foreign currency earner.

The new GM holds a Masters Degree in Finance and Investment from the University of York in the United Kingdom and a Master of Business Administration (M.B.A.) from the University of Toronto in Canada. She also has 12 years working experience, including at the World Bank.
Last year, Ramotar said she wanted a fair chance like every Guyanese.
“There was never a question of if I’ll return home, because I never had the idea of living abroad. Guyana is home. I left to go out there and develop myself so I can come back and build a life here… in my country… around the culture that was embedded in me.”
Back then, Ramotar was worried that should she be able to obtain a job suitable for her ability, some people might point fingers at her, as they did her brother, Alexei Ramotar, who is currently the Manager of the E-Governance Project. That project is in deep trouble now.
“That’s why I am worried, because Alexei is very qualified. He got his Masters at one of the best universities and now just because our father is the President, people are not thinking about the fact that he has a skill that can aid in the development of Guyana…rather, some are deliberately spreading lies about a super salary to discredit him and my dad. But the bottom line is that he is qualified to do what he does.”
Ramotar had said that it is a fact that she and her brothers began studying to pursue jobs within their respective fields long before her father became President.
She was of the firm belief that being the children of the President and First Lady, should not stop them from being given equal opportunities to go after their dreams.
“We are Guyanese, and this is our home, and we have equal rights to build our lives here, and that is what we want…for people to judge us on our capabilities, and not our affiliation to the President.”
The former World Bank employee added that even though her father is the Head of State, she still drives her old car and does the same things she used to do before. These include jogging, baking goodies and also eating them.

I wonder what Dr Yog Mahadeo's response to this appointment would be.

Exactly one month ago, Donald Ramotar confirmed Dr Gobind Ganga as Governor of the Bank of Guyana.

We know now the same Dr Ganga interviewed Lisa Ramotar for the Gold Board's top job.

Old people seh: hand wash hand mek hand come clean.

Young people go seh: who look stupid now, de Donald or John Adams?

Qualify or not, its a good plant if Ramotar don't make it for a full pension.

He learning a lot from Jagdeo. How to slap and to build a mansion. 

Robert Persaud must not be too happy.

Han wash han... Quote from old people historian.

Last edited by Tola

[from left) Minister of Finance, Dr. Ashni Singh, New Central Bank Governor, Dr. Gobind Ganga, President Donald Ramotar, Deputy Governor of the Central Bank , Leslie Glen and Junior Finance Minister, Juan Edghill

Dr Gobind Ganga next to Ramotar after receiving his instrument of appointment. Ganga was Acting Governor since last May. He should have been appointed substantive Governor since then, as he was working at the Bank of Guyana since 1995.

The Guyana Gold Board (GGB) has a new General Manager (GM) -Lisaveta “Lisa” Ramotar, daughter of President Donald Ramotar.

Kaieteur News understands that the choice for the position came down to Ramotar and former Chief Executive Officer of the Guyana Telephone and Telegraph Company, Dr. Yog Mahadeo.

Ramotar had said that it is a fact that she and her brothers began studying to pursue jobs within their respective fields long before her father became President.

She was of the firm belief that being the children of the President and First Lady, should not stop them from being given equal opportunities to go after their dreams.

“We are Guyanese, and this is our home, and we have equal rights to build our lives here, and that is what we want…for people to judge us on our capabilities, and not our affiliation to the President.”

Lisa Ramotar hired as Gold Board’s new GM, January 3, 2015 | By | Filed Under News

Excellent choice, regardless of family relationship.

The unrestricted thiefin and nepotism continues without giving a damn for the average man.

If any citizen speaks up the dictatorship will give dem 2 slap and send dem packing.

I am not sure if the President lacks basic understanding of Perception. His son, now his daughter. In my opinion, this is unacceptable. Even if she is the BEST Candidate, it is a very bad decision. The Standard in Guyana seems to be very low with regards to Cronyism, nepotism and favoritism. As the President I expected him to be able to foresee and understand the views and perception of the Guyanese Public and beyond. Is the President and Govt blind and deaf with regards to such issues???  I am very DISAPPOINTED!!!

I met Donald when he was appointed General Secretary of the Party. At the request of the ACG, I personally paid for the evening. He visited Canada. Even at that gathering, he was more concerned on the advancement of his children. He was pre-occupied with University in the area and how his son could get acceptance. He is like all parents-want the best for their children.

Unfortunately, they are not making it on their own.

This is ah real joke!!!!!

Time for a Muslim leader to stop all this nonsense

They have muslim leaders in Saudi Arabia and look what happens there. All dem so called prices and princesses are running the country and its wealth like it is their own.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

They have muslim leaders in Saudi Arabia and look what happens there. All dem so called prices and princesses are running the country and its wealth like it is their own.

Guyana don't have Kings, prince and princesses

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Guyana don't have Kings, prince and princesses

Neither did Saudi Arabia, until one of the Bedouin families decided to promote themselves to royalty. Jagdeo is a queen however, so let's not forget that.

Much to do about nothing. It seems that Lisa was already accomplished before getting this appointment. Why should she recuse herself from an opportunity just because her father is the president. The Bush daughters did not stop bingeing just because their father was the president. I say give her the opportunity. At least she appears duly qualified.

Nehru, review the issues again with a perspective and panoramic view.

Has the political personalities in other parts of the world affected the the advancement of their children?

Perhaps, start with the US_of_A and determine if the children of the Presidents and Vice Presidents were denied the opportunities to progress in their fields of expertise because of the the position of their fathers.

Has the political personalities in other parts of the world affected the the advancement of their children?

Perhaps, start with the US_of_A and determine if the children of the Presidents and Vice Presidents were denied the opportunities to progress in their fields of expertise because of the the position of their fathers.

Yea dem pickney does run de fiber optic line in de Merika. Hey hey hey...

please, just follow the chain of events that led to this appointment...don't play dumb

Originally Posted by ksazma:

Much to do about nothing. It seems that Lisa was already accomplished before getting this appointment. Why should she recuse herself from an opportunity just because her father is the president. The Bush daughters did not stop bingeing just because their father was the president. I say give her the opportunity. At least she appears duly qualified.

I think a basic course in government ethics may educate you as to why this is a problem................

I think overall it would be very important for any new government that takes office in Guyana to launch a major education across all government entities about ethics..........................

http://www.scu.edu/ethics/prac...s/government_ethics/

It should be a constant focus week after week for at least the foreseeable future.

She is a humble girl who lives a very simple life.  She is also very sharp when it comes to math. Those are not easy university programs that she graduated from. Guyana should be proud that she went back home. She could have easily stayed here in North America and enjoy the sweet life like the rest of us here on this board but she choose to go back home. She is a good girl.

Originally Posted by sachin_05:

Burnham and even Cheddy didn't give their kids preferential treatment....these inbreed takes it to a even lower level.....

How did Van West Charles became Health Minister??/

Burnham and even Cheddy didn't give their kids preferential treatment....these inbreed takes it to a even lower level.....

Doh is a good one dey bai Pavi. Hey hey hey...yuh geein dem bais upper cut. 

Van West Charles was not Burnham kid....

Perfect example of nepotism, the PPP should know better and do better. But then again they continue to embrace burnham and everything burnham.

When it comes back to it the PPP is already worst than Burnham and the PNC ever was.

Originally Posted by Wally:

She is a humble girl who lives a very simple life.  She is also very sharp when it comes to math. Those are not easy university programs that she graduated from. Guyana should be proud that she went back home. She could have easily stayed here in North America and enjoy the sweet life like the rest of us here on this board but she choose to go back home. She is a good girl.

You can have all the education in the world being able to strike out on your own however and not rely on Daddy's cronyism and corruption in the PPP demonstrates that even with all those courses taken at University she may have missed the ones on ethics.

But was his SIL. He Data benefited but I dont expect you to see the connection.

PAVI but yuh Bai Sattar gee all he pickney dem wuk at GRA. GRA is he own lil piggy bank. Hey hey hey...And how yuh like how Ashni wifie a audit he books. LOL...hey hey hey...

please, just follow the chain of events that led to this appointment...don't play dumb

The chain of events are outlined in the procedures for the selection of a person to fill the position.

You may play games; I do not.

The chain of events are outlined in the procedures for the selection of a person to fill the position.

DG yu is a bad bai then. Hey hey hey...

sounds like a bunch of words strung together to defend nepotism

Nepotism is Nepotism - the PPP however could care less about any of this. As long as they get to thief everything else is immaterial.

nep·o·tism
ˈnepəˌtizəm/<input 
noun

1. the practice among those with power or influence of favoring relatives or friends, especially by giving them jobs.
    synonyms:favoritism, preferential treatment, the old boy network, looking after one's own, biaspartialitypartisanship
    "hiring my daughter was not nepotism—it was just good business"

I think a basic course in government ethics may educate you as to why this is a problem................

Alright. Question - with so much of the industries in Guyana owned and operated by the government of Guyana, how does someone like Lisa aspire for higher professional achievements? Does she have to do so outside of Guyana?

There are equally many private companies available in GY. 

Additionally I will ask you that the rest of Guyana has to contend with a 30% unemployment rate. I am also very aware that many private companies have a difficult time finding top talent in GY. If she is that great she would easily be able to find a job at New GPC, DIH, DDL, Pegasus, John Fernandes and CO, Neal and Massy, Grace Kennedy, Sterling, MACORP, I could go on and on and on............GBTI, Demerara Bank, Republic Bank, IDB, Shall we continue?

Are you telling me that the only option for employment that this woman has is government? are you friggin kidding me? 

If that is the case what does that say about the PPP and their great success the past 22 years that we are always hearing about.

Oh I forgot, GTM, Hand in Hand, Bai Shan Lin or Coffee Day Company, you mean none of those companies have any vacancies for this Princess?

None of them would want to hire her? really?