Rohee dismayed at long list of unsolved serious crimes

Posted By Stabroek editor On March 18, 2013 @ 2:38 pm In Local News | 

Home Affairs Minister Clement Rohee has rapped the police for the long list of serious unsolved crimes including execution-style killings.

Failure of the police to solve these crimes has long been commented on by the media and the rest of civil society.

In his address to the police officers conference on Thursday, a copy of which was released today, Rohee said:

“I have noted, with dismay, the long list of unsolved serious crimes particularly execution type murders that remain on the records of the Guyana Police Force.

“We have reached a stage where some members of the public and the press have tended to insinuate that the Force lacks the ability or will to solve these high profile cases.

“The Ministry of Home Affairs is far from happy with this state of affairs. The Force would have to review its current investigative capacity and take corrective action.

“One such step recommended is the intensification of the training of detectives of the Guyana Police Force, CID, but that would have long term benefits.

“Because of the immediacy of this problem, more dedication must be shown by the investigators of the Force in bringing perpetrators to justice.

“The inability of the CID to solve this large number of serious crimes is affecting public confidence in the Force. This negative trend must be reversed”.

It was probably Rohee’s bluntest statement on the matter to the police during his tenure as Home Affairs Minister and comes amid a raft of programmes announced to revamp the police force and its image. An overseas consultancy has been retained for this.

A number of high-profile execution-style killings occurred last year including those of Ricardo Rodrigues and Marlon Osborne. No one has been held for these two even though at least four or five men with high-powered guns were involved in the attacks.

This year, two miners were gunned down and there are reports that these were contract killings. Dave Wills and Gavin McNeil were both targeted by gunmen who appeared intent on killing them. Another man, Imtiaz Roopnarine, was killed earlier this year in similar fashion after leaving a guest house. There has been no charge in any of these cases.

============= 

When political parties run drug criminal drug rings crimes will go unsolved. The afc/pnc flirtation with cocaine in chowmein, cocaine in water coconut, cocaine in polouri and ezjet smuggling is testament to their wickedness. Their teams of lawyers in the leadership advise the criminals how to cover their tracks. 

Yeah? So tell us nuh, who do you use for leadership on covering your hide?

what a sanctimonious fool! All these years he had to address it and change it so why this crocodile tears?

Rhoee has always spoken out against the police's lack of professionalism in solving crimes. You must have had wax in your ear. The fact is that the police force is the playground of the AFC/PNC who use their positions to collect bribes and flirt with the underworld. That is why you see crimes go unsolved. 

what a sanctimonious fool! All these years he had to address it and change it so why this crocodile tears?

Rhoee has always spoken out against the police's lack of professionalism in solving crimes. You must have had wax in your ear. The fact is that the police force is the playground of the AFC/PNC who use their positions to collect bribes and flirt with the underworld. That is why you see crimes go unsolved. 

He is in charge of it and as you say he has always talked of it rather than do anything about it. The police decay to its present abominable corrupt state with your family who was the PPP enforcer and got his behind murdered in Kuru Kuru. He and his buddy were notorious "police badmen" for a good while in Jagdeo early years.

I don't know why some people on this forum believe that  a APNU/AFC gov't would be corruption-free. Look at the history of the PNC and also the personal history of these politicians in both parties and you will find a whole lot of undesirable things.

He is in charge of it and as you say he has always talked of it rather than do anything about it. The police decay to its present abominable corrupt state with your family who was the PPP enforcer and got his behind murdered in Kuru Kuru. He and his buddy were notorious "police badmen" for a good while in Jagdeo early years.

He is not in charge of the rank and file, it is Brummel who is in charge. Remember how you screamed when your buddies claimed that Rhoee was going over rank and giving orders to the rank and file in Linden.  The PNC/AFC run the police force and have their union and poltical party to protect them from the home affairs minister.

You do have an active imagination, I had no family who was an enforcer and murdered in Kuru Kuru.

He is not in charge of the rank and file, it is Brummel who is in charge. Remember how you screamed when your buddies claimed that Rhoee was going over rank and giving orders to the rank and file in Linden.  The PNC/AFC run the police force and have their union and poltical party to protect them from the home affairs minister.

You do have an active imagination, I had no family who was an enforcer and murdered in Kuru Kuru.

LOL! Goads in denial or trying to distance himself from his "police badmen" fambly.

GUrdy, if that is true, then wouldn't it be the best decision to let an APNU or AFC person become a minister and let them give it a try? If they succeed, the country will benefit, if they fail then you can blame them from now till thy kingdom come. Tell Rummy and Corhee. I meant Ramotar and Rohee.

i see people hang themself in jail as a new trend under rohee i suggest rohee do the same hang himself and spare the guyanese people all the pain and suffering his ministry is causing

You said he was your family  and pitched a fit when he lost his head.

Rohee as minister of home affairs in an autocratic government has more influence over the police than you want to admit. He also could have persuaded Jagdeo to take up the British offer to change their culture via training, providing us with a state of the arts lab and general rank and file overhaul.

If the police is in a mess, and they are, it is because  of the Administration and since Rohee heads this area he ought to bring it to accountability.

Note he did not say a damn about what happened on the Marudi Trail and the creep who beat those people are still on patrol.

Accountability comes from having standards and paying attention to the little details so the big picture comes into focus.

Originally Posted by Bruddaman:

GUrdy, if that is true, then wouldn't it be the best decision to let an APNU or AFC person become a minister and let them give it a try? If they succeed, the country will benefit, if they fail then you can blame them from now till thy kingdom come. Tell Rummy and Corhee. I meant Ramotar and Rohee.

The PNC/AFC already control the police, giving them a minister job would only validate and legitimize the power they already have over the force.  

You said he was your family  and pitched a fit when he lost his head.

Rohee as minister of home affairs in an autocratic government has more influence over the police than you want to admit. He also could have persuaded Jagdeo to take up the British offer to change their culture via training, providing us with a state of the arts lab and general rank and file overhaul.

If the police is in a mess, and they are, it is because  of the Administration and since Rohee heads this area he ought to bring it to accountability.

Note he did not say a damn about what happened on the Marudi Trail and the creep who beat those people are still on patrol.

Accountability comes from having standards and paying attention to the little details so the big picture comes into focus.

Prove this as you save all posts. Now, Rhoee has not been minister of Home Affairs for very long, only during Jagdeo's second term. But yet you continue to blame him for incidents prior to his tenure.

In fact the British themselves are incompetent as you see they are among the most corrupt of police forces. They even have a map of corruption.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-21154316

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/new...ated-corruption.html

Shocking 62% rise in police officers being investigated for corruption with eight out of ten accused of illegally disclosing information

http://www.guardian.co.uk/news...olice-corruption-map

The police corruption map of England and Wales

The Independent Police Complaints Commission has revealed details of corruption allegations against police forces across England and Wales and has detailed where the 8,500 are from. Click on police force to get the data

Prove this as you save all posts. Now, Rhoee has not been minister of Home Affairs for very long, only during Jagdeo's second term. But yet you continue to blame him for incidents prior to his tenure.

In fact the British themselves are incompetent as you see they are among the most corrupt of police forces. They even have a map of corruption.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-21154316

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/new...ated-corruption.html

Shocking 62% rise in police officers being investigated for corruption with eight out of ten accused of illegally disclosing information

http://www.guardian.co.uk/news...olice-corruption-map

The police corruption map of England and Wales

The Independent Police Complaints Commission has revealed details of corruption allegations against police forces across England and Wales and has detailed where the 8,500 are from. Click on police force to get the data

Indeed I have the post somewhere and I am sure Amral  has it as well. I care little if you now disown your relative but you also back tracked on what you stated h ere that you were a pedigreed smuggler so lying comes easy to you/

Do you compare what is happening in GUyana to the Police in England? Do you think that a police can beat a woman and child in public and still remain on the job? Surely you can again lie to yourself but it does not mean the world will see it as you fabricate it.

Indeed I have the post somewhere and I am sure Amral  has it as well. I care little if you now disown your relative but you also back tracked on what you stated h ere that you were a pedigreed smuggler so lying comes easy to you/

Do you compare what is happening in GUyana to the Police in England? Do you think that a police can beat a woman and child in public and still remain on the job? Surely you can again lie to yourself but it does not mean the world will see it as you fabricate it.

Once again you prove yourself to be a buffoon of the highest order, making unsubstantiated claims about me. 

Now back to the British, they are the worse offenders when it comes to human rights. History is clear about this so don't try to paint them as paragons of virtue.

Once again you prove yourself to be a buffoon of the highest order, making unsubstantiated claims about me. 

Now back to the British, they are the worse offenders when it comes to human rights. History is clear about this so don't try to paint them as paragons of virtue.

Dude, just like those little white lies you tell every time you insist that some thief or the other is in the AFC and is at his trade shoring up elections cash stockpile, so is these white lies denying what you said and what others can verify.

The British in the current era is setting a high bar. To look tack to the colonial past and re imagine them as then is a waste of time. Further, whatever are their colonial legacy you are an inheritor of it. I do not see you wanting to go back to Madras to be a Brahamin's foot stool.

Stormy, Drugee learnt to practice his decepttion from his mother. Know what I mean??? heheheheheheh!

What a low life lil antiman you are.  You cannot confront the man, so you infer negativity about his mother.  He should make you swallow your teeth.