Over $110M in ‘Because We Care’ cash grants distributed in Linden

-Your children’s education should be your first priority—Minister Manickchand tells parents in Linden

MORE than 11,000 children from Linden on Friday benefited from the Government of Guayna ‘Because We Care’ $10,000 Cash Grant initiative.

Minister of Education, Priya Manickchand with teachers after the distribution of vouchers

Distribution of the vouchers started on Friday in Linden and some $110M were distributed to parents at twelve school-locations. Those locations included the Bamia Primary, MacKenzie Primary, Amelia’s Ward Primary, Coomacka Primary, Linden Foundation Secondary, Bay Rock Community Centre, New Silver City Secondary, Harmony Secondary and Wismar Hill Secondary.

Addressing parents at the Bay Rock Community Centre, Education Minister, Priya Manickchand implored parents to keep their children in school and be interested in their lives. Speaking as a parent, Ms. Manickchand posited that every parent wants what is best for his or her children. “What do we want for our children? We want to ensure that they can live a life that is better…, that they have more than you had, not just more things, but a richer, more comfortable life, foster and maintain better relationships…I am saying to you that more is possible for your children,” the Minister exhorted.

Parents applauded the recommendation that should the ‘Because we Care’ $10,000 Cash Grant initiative continue next year, it should be given on the condition that children attend school frequently, perhaps having an average percentage of attendance at school for a given school term. She admonished parents to use the grant wisely, “Your children’s education should be your first priority,” she noted.

“Guyana has a reason to be proud of this programme,” Manickchand noted, adding that it is the only country in the Caribbean, offering financial support to every child and not children selected based on economic or social conditions. She added that the ‘Because We Care’ $10,000 Cash Grant programme is another initiative aimed at giving parents additional support to equip their children for school.

Parents have until November 30, 2014 to en-cash their vouchers at any Western Union or Bill Express location.

Source. Guyana chronicle

Originally Posted by GT Stingaa:
oh lawd Sachin yuh jus committed blasphemy dea

I hear the baby pig already ask  "mamma how yuh mouth suh long" to mama replied "yuh guh grow a am 'out"

Sachin, you can make your arguments forcefully,  but desecration that picture of the Minister of the Government takes you to a level not worth engaging. That's an unprincipled act and only reflects the lack of inner strength of Sachin.

You would be wise to ask for an admin edit to remove that offensive picture; and this has nothing to do with politics.

Funny.  The PPP presides over the WORST educational system in English speaking Caribbean and rather than fixing it they suddenly decide to bribe parents by giving them US$50.  How sad it is that Guyanese are reduced to the point where they think that such a trifling amount is meaningful.

Well you give them something nah!!! SSH

That is new rebranded PPP "We are scared" program.......

Therefore we have to bribe everyone to beg all yuh fuh vote fuh abee.

You ARE one of the biggest FOOL on the Planet. You need to get your head examined!!!

Comrade low breed there are many remedial english and comprehension classes available at various institutions in Queens I suggest and recommend that you explore.

HEHEHe The Ebglish man speaks. Laad Ah Mercy.