AFC must honour its pledge to Diaspora Guyanese

April 12, 2012 | By | Filed Under Letters 

DEAR EDITOR,
During the election campaign, the AFC said it would appoint four Guyanese from the Diaspora as its M.Ps.  The party campaigned on that pledge. I and other Diaspora Guyanese are still waiting for the party to make these appointments.

There are several competent overseas-based Guyanese who supported and were affiliated with the party.  Most of the party’s funding for the campaign came from the Diaspora. These individuals are still waiting for their appointments as M.Ps to make their contributions to the nation.

The party won seven seats. It has disappointed those of us in the Diaspora who expected the party to fulfill its campaign pledge.  If the party can’t honur this commitment, how can we expect it to honour other pledges?

It is not too late for the party to honour its commitment.  All the AFC has to do is request four of its M.Ps to resign and appoint four of us from the Diaspora and all will be well.  Otherwise, the AFC will give the impression it is no different from the other parties that make false promises to win votes and then abandon its supporters.

Vishnu Bisram

Dude, go back to creating fake Polls and leave the AFC to their business. If they had the seats they would award it. Those in the diaspora who actually worked and deserve seats are not complaining.

I would however concede one seat should have been awarded to someone in the diaspora. That would have filled their obligation given only had so many seats to allocate. But they did what was expeditious for them and bishram, no supporter of theirs, has no say.

Let me use this opportunity of GNI to speak for myself since I was integrally involved in the last election. It would be unfair for AFC to offer four seats to the Diaspora when it only won seven. I certainly did not expect any and I prefer staying in academia and policy circles. I know guys like Sase felt the same way. Let the Guyanese folks who live there permamently take up these positions. We are here watching their backs.

SNAKEOIL AH PLENTY. NEXT ELECTION DEM GUN PROMISE GOLD AND DIAMOND NOT ONLY TO THE DIASPORA BUT THE ENTIRE NATION. LIKE I SAID DURING THE ELECTION, TALK IS CHEAP, PROMISES ARE JUST THAT, AN EMPTY PROMISE AND KFC IS SIMPLY THE GREATEST SNAKEOIL SALESMEN ON THE PLANET.

I hope some day soon, yuh get a project taht keeps u real busie. That way u b useful there and not as useless here.

SNAKEOIL AH PLENTY. NEXT ELECTION DEM GUN PROMISE GOLD AND DIAMOND NOT ONLY TO THE DIASPORA BUT THE ENTIRE NATION. LIKE I SAID DURING THE ELECTION, TALK IS CHEAP, PROMISES ARE JUST THAT, AN EMPTY PROMISE AND KFC IS SIMPLY THE GREATEST SNAKEOIL SALESMEN ON THE PLANET.

---------

Bai wut I can say...nuff nuff snake oil all over de place...barrels pun barrels bai. Yuh bai tell us about de US$580 mill/per year LCDS snakeoil. De man spent over G$1.5 bill in airfare/hotels/parties promoting this massive snakeoil. Den de man give us Fip's snakeoil road. Den dem give us de US$200 mill snakeoil sugah factory...bai snake aile bun snake aile...rass.

Nehru Bai, instead of beautiful prose above in CAPS no less, leh me and you sing suhaani raat

Originally Posted by Tar_K:

Let me use this opportunity of GNI to speak for myself since I was integrally involved in the last election. It would be unfair for AFC to offer four seats to the Diaspora when it only won seven. I certainly did not expect any and I prefer staying in academia and policy circles. I know guys like Sase felt the same way. Let the Guyanese folks who live there permamently take up these positions. We are here watching their backs.

Is this an admission that the AFC will always be a fringe spoiler party while the PNC and PPP battle it out?   You are wise to keep one foot in America as backup. hhahahaha

Originally Posted by Tar_K:

Is this an admission that the AFC will always be a fringe spoiler party while the PNC and PPP battle it out?   You are wise to keep one foot in America as backup. hhahahaha

You are quite the myopic dullard. The major parties did nothing but hold each other to a stalemate with one or the other dominating and forming totalitarian government decades at a time. The AFC changed that.

As for your fringe party concept; what would you call a party in Sweden or Denmark where they proliferate in double digits and where it takes many to  coalesce  to form the government?