This is an excerpt from the Lucas Report on SN:

In the case of GuySuCo, the impact of this type of behaviour on the taxpayers of Guyana is hard. In the first instance, the taxpayers gave annual subsidies to GuySuCo which it took. What GuySuCo consciously did was transfer about three times the amount of the subsidies to consumers overseas. When Guyanese take account of the money that they get from the European Union (EU), GuySuCo still ends up transferring twice as much taxpayers’ money overseas. Under these conditions, GuySuCo is doing absolutely nothing for Guyana since also it is taking a portion of its foreign earnings to pay the subsidies of foreign consumers. Without a restructured GuySuCo, it is impossible to see how the government could reduce VAT and pay higher wages to public servants, both of which have the potential to help the economy grow faster and stronger.

What does the above in bold mean?  I thought that Guysuco was a net foreign exchange earner even though it might be in the red locally?  What drives Guysuco's "foreign expenditures?" Fuel has to be number 1.

I can only opine that since the cost of producing 1 ton of sugar is greater than the selling price of that 1 ton, then the overseas consumer is being subsidized. It doesn't mean that we're spending foreign currency in this subsidy, except if you impute the foreign component that goes into producing this 1 ton of sugar (like fuel, fertilizer, etc.); but it does mean that monies have to be taken from some other source. This is one way of buying down unemployment - albeit an inefficient way.

Guyana's cost of production has always been above world market price, but the guaranteed market and pricing by the several arrangements over the years have shielded this industry from making market reforms.

I can only opine that since the cost of producing 1 ton of sugar is greater than the selling price of that 1 ton, then the overseas consumer is being subsidized. It doesn't mean that we're spending foreign currency in this subsidy, except if you impute the foreign component that goes into producing this 1 ton of sugar (like fuel, fertilizer, etc.); but it does mean that monies have to be taken from some other source. This is one way of buying down unemployment - albeit an inefficient way.

Guyana's cost of production has always been above world market price, but the guaranteed market and pricing by the several arrangements over the years have shielded this industry from making market reforms.

Got that.  But is there a benefit for a corporation to be a net foreign exchange earner even it is running at a loss locally?  Let's say a reasonable loss; obviously not Guysuco

Well guaranteed prices and markets are by and large over.  So what is the rationale for Guysuco, except for as an employment program?  Think of the sale of Guymine, and the subsequent loss of employment by most bauxite workers.

Why bring Guymine in this?  Take a vacation bro I will make sure dem coolie bais don't tek ova when yuh gan.

Originally Posted by VVP:

Why bring Guymine in this?  Take a vacation bro I will make sure dem coolie bais don't tek ova when yuh gan.

Let him have his say. You can avoid reading it-look for his name, If u should read his comments and disagree-doan reply to it. Because u know how it is going to end up.

Caribj speaks for a great many of his people who share his views. They must not be quieted.  

Guysuco, spends several millions of US$ each year for spare parts. At one point in its history, payments were made to Fletcher & Stewart in the form of sugar which was traded on the Commodities market in Britain.  

In spite of all your cries of multi-ethnic unity and all...when it comes to economics you still see it as Afro vs Indo, no? You still reason in terms of zero-sum...the dankey cart economy is static in your world?

Guysuco, spends several millions of US$ each year for spare parts. At one point in its history, payments were made to Fletcher & Stewart in the form of sugar which was traded on the Commodities market in Britain.  

We need to see an unbiased analysis of Guysuco which the new govt seems to be undertaking.  When you take things like depreciation into effect an investment might not be as bad as it seems.  For example, if the new skeldon factory last for 500 years and do not need another $ of upkeep then the investment might not be bad...of course this is an unrealistic example but I hope they take things like depreciation and useful life into account when they do an analysis.

I can tell you now. From my experience with Chinese made equipment, I will not be surprised if some doan have to be replaced this year. 

Why not?  Two failing state owned companies.

Wait you don't like how the PPP threw thousands of blacks on the bread line?

Granger is more humane, so don't worry.  As some one said here what happened in Linden was pure revenge by the PPP.  Of course implying that Lindeners deserved the poverty.

Originally Posted by TK:

In spite of all your cries of multi-ethnic unity and all...when it comes to economics you still see it as Afro vs Indo, no? You still reason in terms of zero-sum...the dankey cart economy is static in your world?

Multi ethnic fairness suggests that both groups be treated EQUALLY.

Now what is wrong with that?  BTW there are many Afros working at Guysuco.

Caribj speaks for a great many of his people who share his views. They must not be quieted.  

Oh yes we remember "lazy and ungrateful blacks" and the cheers when Guysuco was sold off and thousands lost their jobs.

I will NEVER let you forget that, while you engage in your pretense.

But take cheer.  Granger will NEVER treat Rose Hall as badly as the PPP and their supporters viewed Linden, where their protests of their condition was met with a volley of bullets, three dead and several injured.