Luncheon declares… Amaila will become reality by hook or by crookPDFPrintE-mail
Written by Telesha Ramnarine   
Wednesday, 25 September 2013 23:14

HEAD of the Presidential Secretariat (HPS), Dr. Roger Luncheon declared, yesterday, that the Amaila Falls Hydropower Project will become a reality “APNU or no APNU, AFC or no AFC.”
Speaking at his usual post-Cabinet media briefing in Office of the President, Shiv Chanderpaul Drive, Georgetown, he does not mind the statement “by the hook or by crook” as it reflects the Administration’s intention to make

renewable energy available.

“We are absolutely, down to our bones, committed to this reality. By hook. The hope still exists. There is still that hope that the current configuration could be, in some way, resurrected. I do know that we are, assiduously, pursuing making renewable energy becoming a reality. APNU or no APNU, AFC or no AFC. By hook,” Luncheon maintained.

Not too long ago, Government had said the Amaila Falls Project is too important and big to fail and, despite widespread condemnation by the Opposition, it was keeping its doors open to allow for a national consensus on the scheme.

Public Works Minister, Robeson Benn had told the Guyana Chronicle that Government is still hopeful that the Opposition would “see the light” and have their concerns, misunderstandings and confusions sorted out.

“We have spent billions of dollars developing the road. It is fairly well built; many of the sections are completed. For the first time in the history of the country is the opportunity to have a complete, large hydropower project, meaning anything over 60 megawatts. In this case, for Amaila, it is 160 megawatts,” he stated.

National consensus
Benn added: “We would think, given the importance of this project to the economic development of the country that it is too important and too big to fail. We would want to still open the door to the Opposition parties (APNU and AFC) to allow for the opportunity to have a national consensus on this project. And so we are still holding the door open.”
The minister had also emphasised that Amaila is not simply a Government or a PPP/C project. “It is also an APNU project and an AFC project, because it is a national project. But the Government is seeking ways, legally, to examine what avenues are open to advance the project.”

The Amaila Hydropower Project is expected to generate reliable, affordable and clean energy and is a fundamental component of Guyana’s Low Carbon Development Strategy (LCDS).
It is intended to, significantly, lower Guyana’s carbon footprint while reducing the country’s long term energy costs and exposure to the volatility of imported oil prices.
The venture involves the construction of a hydropower plant in the area of west-central Guyana, where the Amaila and Kuribrong Rivers meet and electricity produced there will be delivered in Georgetown and Linden by a transmission line.

HEAD of the Presidential Secretariat (HPS), Dr. Roger Luncheon declared, yesterday, that the Amaila Falls Hydropower Project will become a reality “APNU or no APNU, AFC or no AFC.”

Amaila Falls Hydropower Project a reality => Correct

Luncheon speaking the Truth

How much can he Hide

and how long can he hide the truth

We all seeing it everyday

Poor Roger do not know what to say anymore

Now eee talking from front & Back like Kwamee

Yuh think Luncheon made a mistake

by calling them "Crook"

You must be overwhelmed to know what's happening in the AFC camp. If the PPP wants to build the Hydro Project with or without APNU/AFC then so be it. What's your gripe? Your party and APNU have problems of their own, and the PPP is hoping to provide renewable energy for the nation. You should be ashamed to post all that crap in the face of progress. Oh, I forget...good news does give you guy's heartache and pain. 

you right by crook

Shet you rass and go back an watch Sesame Street on PBS. Dis too much fuh you brain fu absarb.

How much can he Hide

by calling them "Crook"

How much can he Hide

by calling them "Crook"

You're right Mitwahji, have fun and salute everything at the expense of the AFC. I mention earlier that jalil was bitter, and he's taking out his anger on the PPP for the crumbling AFC. In this world, you blame Peter for Paul's problem. BTW, the Hydro-power will commence in about six months....with or without APNU/AFC, or by hook or crook. yall keep fighting! 

you right by crook

Shet you rass and go back an watch Sesame Street on PBS. Dis too much fuh you brain fu absarb.

nan i donot feel like looking at your family right now

The Presidential Secretariat gave us hope that the Amaila Hydro Project will become a reality and fulfill the promise that the nation can finally realize the benefits of clean and cheaper energy, and here we have APNU/AFC back-stabbing supporters playing Mickey-mouse on a major undertaken by a working government. If APNU/AFC and their supporters has no interest in renewable energy, this news should not be a hindrance to their lives. The PPP said it clear that they're not looking for opposition consensus on going forward with this venture. The Hydro-Electricity is not only a dream for the nation, but it's also a fundamental component of Guyana’s Low Carbon Development Strategy. If your intention is to derail the topic or to distract attention from this news, you're doing justice to your failures.

And your point isssss?

The Presidential Secretariat gave us hope that the Amaila Hydro Project will become a reality and fulfill the promise that the nation can finally realize the benefits of clean and cheaper energy, and here we have APNU/AFC back-stabbing supporters playing Mickey-mouse on a major undertaken by a working government. If APNU/AFC and their supporters has no interest in renewable energy, this news should not be a hindrance to their lives. The PPP said it clear that they're not looking for opposition consensus on going forward with this venture. The Hydro-Electricity is not only a dream for the nation, but it's also a fundamental component of Guyana’s Low Carbon Development Strategy. If your intention is to derail the topic or to distract attention from this news, you're doing justice to your failures.

Amaila Project is hisssstory. Stop hisssleading us.

The reality of achieving Hydro-Electricity will be history in the making if that's what you mean. I respect your opinion to be pessimistic about Guyana's future. However, I will stay positive and praise the idea that it's still alive.

I am for Hydro too. If the project is so lucrative why are private investors not rushing in?

I don't know the details of the new approach of achieving the project, but I believe is has to be a public/private investment venture. 

Mitwah these are all questions you should direct at the AFC they seemed to have all the answers about the "investors" as Dominic Gaskin was explaining in the press several weeks ago.

The AFC in this particular issue actually came out swinging and they were vocally repeating Brassington's garbage verbatim.

SMH.....sad.

And your point isssss?

It is an extremely difficult and long way for you to understand/know simple issues.

And your point isssss?

That's when you know they're avoiding the issue at hand and hoping to escape. That line of question used many times on GNI by the short-sighted bell ringers. It's not easy to deal with kanwa people.  

And your point isssss?

It is an extremely difficult and long way for you to understand/know simple issues.

JB na fight de PNC card carrying member.....

eeee get the Burnham training....

eeee believe if a PNC Engineer says so...it is so