Luncheon reduces Manickchand to a wild animal

July 9, 2014 | By | Filed Under Letters

Dear Editor,

Dr Roger Luncheon, Head of the Presidential Secretariat, may have intended to provide cover for and defence of acting Foreign Minister Ms. Priya Manickchand whose toast at the Fourth of July celebration of the Independence of the United States of America, and farewell for its ambassador to Guyana Mr. Brent Hardt has drawn widespread criticism. There have been words like “disgust”, “lacking decorum”, “descent into the gutter”. But none of these can compare with Dr Luncheon’s “feral blast” which by implication reduces Ms. Manickchand to the level of a wild beast. It is insulting and demeaning for Dr Luncheon to associate any person, and moreso a woman, with such language. Ms. Manickchand should reject such an association with her, or any action taken by her. I believe that she should have refused to deliver such a “toast” which could only damage the relations between Guyana and United States of America and the public’s perception of her. Apart from the “toast” itself and its reception by the audience, two things struck me that night. The first is that it was the Prime Minister Mr. Samuel Hinds who was listed on the programme to deliver the remarks and toast on behalf of the Government of Guyana. Mr. Hinds was in Guyana and indeed in Georgetown that evening. After recovering from the shock of the toast many persons surmised that the Prime Minister would never agree to deliver such remarks and therefore chose to absent himself from the occasion. The view too is that the substantive Foreign Minister Ms. Carolyn Rodrigues, having been forced to accept Cabinet’s imposition, would have fallen sick suddenly. The second is that while Mr. Robert Persaud, Minister of Natural Resources and the Environment  is a member of the Cabinet -which according to Dr Luncheon decided on Ms. Manickchand’s “feral blast” -he did not join Ms. Manickchand and Gail Teixeira in their unceremonious walkout after the blast. Indeed, Mr. Persaud and his wife later that evening engaged Mr. Hardt in a long and obviously polite conversation which ended with Mr. Persaud and his wife inviting the American Ambassador for a posed photograph. Dr. Luncheon is now confirming what many people think: that he had a big hand in Ms. Manickchand’s speech. But worse, his destructive role, in the mode of the animal headed for the abattoir, to use his animal anology, is lengthening. As Chairman of the NIS for twenty-two years he has single-handedly led that organisation to the precipice. He was prepared to defend, too, Mr. Bharrat Jagdeo whose best social skills were to cuss out citizens of this country. Now it seems that Dr. Luncheon, with his pernicious influence over an increasingly weak Cabinet is willing to risk Guyana’s relationship with important international players barring the Chinese on which his Cabinet is making Guyana increasingly and dangerously dependent. Dr. Luncheon must now tell Guyanese who were the Cabinet members who approved Ms. Manickchand’s feral blast.

Christopher Ram

Now those PPP/C scumbags on GNI should put Lunchman over the coals for his reference to his  “feral blast” which by implication reduces Ms. Manickchand to the level of a wild beast.

Where is all those PPP/C come to be women sympathisers

Roger saying.... Da Bourda Market Stink fish Woman..... de pon she own.

She cannot lie....The Truth is....

PPP refused to call Local Govt Elections since 1994....

Look at the Records below.....

Jalil

Tell us what happened in 2008 and 2009 ? 

I could care less what you think about me. I speak the truth and I all not allow anyone form any political party sway my opinion.

Priya stood her own and I call a spade a spade.

Yuji you tell us what happen in December 1997 ????

Did the PPP Call Local Govt Elections ????? Yes or No

Is the US Ambassador Right???

WHAT IS MISS PIGGY TELLING US?

Yuji you tell us what happen in December 1998 ????

Yuji you tell us what happen in December 1999 ????

Yuji you tell us what happen in December 2000 ????

Yuji you tell us what happen in December 2001 ????

Yuji you tell us what happen in December 2002 ????

Yuji you tell us what happen in December 2003 ????

Yuji you tell us what happen in December 2004 ????

Yuji you tell us what happen in December 2005 ????

Yuji you tell us what happen in December 2006 ????

Yuji you tell us what happen in December 2007 ????

Yuji you tell us what happen in December 2008 ????

Yuji you tell us what happen in December 2009 ????

Yuji you tell us what happen in December 2010 ????

Yuji you tell us what happen in December 2011 ????

Yuji you tell us what happen in December 2012 ????

Yuji you tell us what happen in December 2013 ????

Yuji you tell us what happen in December 2014 ????

Do not tell us In March 1997 Dr Jagan Dead.

We want know why no Local Govt elections were held in all those years????