Maduro is a weak and unpopular President.  As a result he may be silently leaning on the Essequibo issue for support and playing a double game to keep his position. As the only independent English speaking country in South America we need to address this border issue and the future of this country  once and for all.  Do we join with and become part of a greater power such as the United States to endure that our future survival on the South American continent continues. That question needs to be put to the Guyanese people in a referendum instead of just relying on the sweet words of Carol for survival as a nation.  

Originally Posted by Wally:

Maduro is a weak and unpopular President.  As a result he may be silently leaning on the Essequibo issue for support and playing a double game to keep his position. As the only independent English speaking country in South America we need to address this border issue and the future of this country  once and for all.  Do we join with and become part of a greater power such as the United States to endure that our future survival on the South American continent continues. That question needs to be put to the Guyanese people in a referendum instead of just relying on the sweet words of Carol for survival as a nation.  

That is what he is doing indeed. And we in Guyana have a silly president who is supporting Argentina for Falkland. 

Originally Posted by Wally:

That is what he is doing indeed. And we in Guyana have a silly president who is supporting Argentina for Falkland. 

the ppp cannot protect its own people in guyana how will they protect guyana and its borders 

The recent actions by the Venezuelan government took place on water. It might be a good time for Guyana to put the territorial dispute (land) in the context of a maritime resolution. The latter is about economic interests and Guyana should be favored. Guyana already won the Suriname maritime dispute and with the brains behind that dispute (the old PNC stalwarts - Ramphal and Jackson) Guyana should be well served.

Imagine they have to turn to the old Burnham stalwarts. The PPP has no one with brains. All they have nurtured are the opportunists like Mr Rev Al, Mr Nehru, Mr Ronald Sugrim, Mr Yuji, Mr Demerara_Guy and Mr Skeldon_man. 

skeltonman is not a ppp supporter he is just a natural racist and a thief

Wow, something just light up in your dull brain that never occurred to anyone before.  I knew you had traces of QC smarts still embedded in your little grey matter.

Maduro is not as strong as Chavez was, especially with the military. There is a potent constituency within Venez political and civic circles who want to uphold that claim.  This is why Chavez never took it to the nation but instead allow Guyana to develop/exploit the territory without objection.  By doing this he is signalling a relinquishment of the claim.  Unfortunately, his biology did not hold out.

TK go re read you history. It is the old Burnham men that promised Venezuela that it will reopen the border issue if Venez supports Guyana's gaining independence in 1966. Since then the border claim continues to raise its ugly head. Do your research and come back.  

Originally Posted by Ronald Sugrim:

TK go re read you history. It is the old Burnham men that promised Venezuela that it will reopen the border issue if Venez supports Guyana's gaining independence in 1966. Since then the border claim continues to raise its ugly head. Do your research and come back.  

The history of the conflicts are different, the parties involved are different so so wise man Kari cuttah come with his "innovative" cookie-cutter proposal, so avant-garde to awake the sleeping Buddah.

Wow, something just light up in your dull brain that never occurred to anyone before.  I knew you had traces of QC smarts still embedded in your little grey matter.

Oh skont.....now I'm in trouble.....but then again yuh rass won't know smarts if it hit you in that shittybattie face of yours....

Bai, don't rely on it to get the groceries, you might just starve.

Originally Posted by Ronald Sugrim:

The Port-of-Spain Protocol (12-year renewable) had nothing to do with the 1966 Independence. There were no agreements prior to that following the late 1800s. It was after the Ankoko shootings and the failed Rupununi insurrections as well as the 12-mile off-shore dispute that the two countries signed the 1970 accord.

So talk of promises are......insert your own conclusion here....right Ronald?