Mahaicony Cottage Hospital Paediatric Ward ‘out of service’

February 11, 2016 5:14 pm Category: Health, latest news, Local News A+ /A-

Residents living near the Mahaicony Cottage Hospital on the East Coast of Demerara (ECD) are complaining that the health facility’s paediatric ward is non-functional and has been that way for a very long time.

hospital

Some even contest that although the ward was constructed and equipped with a few items it still cannot accommodate the number of patients (young children) as it should.

INews was told that in cases where these young children have to be monitored overnight they have to be taken to the Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation (GPHC) instead.

According to one man the paediatric ward at the Mahaicony Cottage Hospital is a “white elephant” since it cannot and is not being used for the purpose it was intended, regardless of the fact that the hospital has a paediatrician who works there.

As such the residents are hoping that the relevant authorities would take into consideration the fact that the GPHC is a great distance from the Mahaicony Cottage Hospital and work at rectifying the issue soon.

asj posted:

More shame for the PNC/APNU seems like they are thieving the money and there are none to service the Health Centers.

ASJ dem people dat it bim deh like dat fuh wan LAAAAAAAG time. suh why yuh blaming de Govt. Yuh PPP scamps mek it get like dat.

Pointblank

Close the hospital or privatize it. This is a white elephant inherited from the PPP/C.

You mean to seh, with all dem mouth, dem cannot do better.  Me thought dem was Guyana solution!!  Is just shut down, lick down and bruk-up.  You need to go back to yuh toilet paper agreement and see what is says on that!!!

Close the hospital or privatize it. This is a white elephant inherited from the PPP/C.

They should not close this hospital.  It is the only medical facility serving the residents of Mahaica, Mahaicony, Abary, West Coast Berbice.  My uncle was the Administrator of this hospital for decades working with the legendary Dr. Cecil Harricharan. 

This hospital has nothing to do with the PPP.  I believe it was built in the 1950s.

PNC: ABEE NAH KNOW TO BUILD ONLY BRUK, IF HE BRUK CLOSE AM DOWN OR SELL AM TO ABEE FAMLEE FUH CHEAP.

GRANGER; MEH WANDA WHY DEM PEOPLE MEK ME PRESIDENT, ME RASS NAH GAT NO IDEA TO RUN GOVT.