NEW YORK (CBSNewYork) – A grand jury has reduced the charges against a man accused in the beating of an off-duty police officer that was caught on video.

Hayden Holder, 29, who was originally charged with attempted murder in the Nov. 17 beating of off-duty NYPD Sgt. Mohammed Deen, was arraigned Monday in Queens. The entire incident was captured on cellphone video and later posted to Facebook.

The attack occurred early in the morning on Liberty Avenue in Queens, and officials said both men had been drinking that night. Investigators have determined Deen was not blameless in the incident and may have instigated the fight, CBS 2″s Lou Young reported.

Holder now stands charged with felony assault and remains held without bail. He still faces up to 25 years in prison.

His parents said they are grateful the charges have been reduced.

“They’re portraying my son as somebody who he’s not,” Holder’s stepfather, Patrick Jagdeo, said as he was overcome by tears.

“He is a very good kid,” Holder’s mother, Madonna Jagdeo, said.

Police officers who came to the courtroom to show their support for Deen were disappointed by the reduced charges.

“These guys all came out here to support him and show that they really care that he was the victim of a crime” said Vincent Guida of the Sergeants Benevolent Association.

“We’re disappointed in the fact that the charges were reduced, but we’re just hopeful that the court system works the way it’s supposed to work,” said Paul Capotosto, also of the Sergeants Benevolent Association.

Deen is out of the hospital and undergoing therapy. He may have lost vision in one eye as a result of the beating, Young reported.

The aggravated assault trial is expected to get under way in the spring.

Hayden Holder

Parents Jagdeo

Images (2)
  • Hayden Holder: Hayden Holder
  • Parents Jagdeo: Holder's Parents

Originally Posted by Kapadilla:

Hope he gets the full 25!!!

Pavi when yu having henny and poke cuttahs?

Whenever yuh buying.

Pavi bai meh na control de visa card bai.

I heard from reliable sources  that this police officer liketo mamaguy himself. He lives in Westchester County but love to come to Queens to show off and party at  the various bars and nightspots.

God and witnesses only know who was the aggressor between these two drunks.

I heard from reliable sources  that this police officer liketo mamaguy himself. He lives in Westchester County but love to come to Queens to show off and party at  the various bars and nightspots.

God and witnesses only know who was the aggressor between these two drunks.

It does NOT matter who was the aggressor, dat Animal kicked a man that was knocked out. He also charged the man's defenseless wife!!!!!!!!!!!! He is a bloody PIG!!!

Chief, By aggressor you mean who was talking trash??? I am NOT condoning trash talking but trash talking is NO reason to hit anyone.

Alcohol and trash talking is a deadly combination!!

Chief, By aggressor you mean who was talking trash??? I am NOT condoning trash talking but trash talking is NO reason to hit anyone.

you better watch it when you drunk on liberty ave oh shit you always drunk on liberty ave

Chief, one can take away from the reporting that both parties had culpability in starting the fight. One can even say the victim goaded the attacker into the fight.

But your comments, omission, leads me to think of the Indian woman who had a pipe inserted into her vagina AFTER being gang-raped. Let's say that woman goaded the 5 animals into raping her. After raping, leave her alone. Now back to the Liberty Ave fight, after putting a whipping on the "goader" (no reference to GNI posters here ) why not leave him be. But no, he instead went after the wife (even if she was a second participant and obvious defender of her man), AND bashed the head of an unconscious man and repeatedlt cuffing him right, left....and we know that blindness in one eye may be because of this.

Now, Chief, are your comfortable with your response?

Chief, one can take away from the reporting that both parties had culpability in starting the fight. One can even say the victim goaded the attacker into the fight.

But your comments, omission, leads me to think of the Indian woman who had a pipe inserted into her vagina AFTER being gang-raped. Let's say that woman goaded the 5 animals into raping her. After raping, leave her alone. Now back to the Liberty Ave fight, after putting a whipping on the "goader" (no reference to GNI posters here ) why not leave him be. But no, he instead went after the wife (even if she was a second participant and obvious defender of her man), AND bashed the head of an unconscious man and repeatedlt cuffing him right, left....and we know that blindness in one eye may be because of this.

Kari, You are nothing but a soup drinker and ASS kisser!!!!

???????

???????

Dat is what you call trash talk!!!

Kari,

Many things are politically incorrect and we dare not say it or else we get the wrath of everyone.

A policeman need not go around in private especially in his community thumping his chest. Furthermore this is not the first NYPD AND WILL NOT BE THE LAST WHO MADE BAD JUDGEMENT  by getting wasted and get into fights.

Kari,

Many things are politically incorrect and we dare not say it or else we get the wrath of everyone.

A policeman need not go around in private especially in his community thumping his chest. Furthermore this is not the first NYPD AND WILL NOT BE THE LAST WHO MADE BAD JUDGEMENT  by getting wasted and get into fights.

Well said...especially Guyanese cops. They love to show off their badges when them drunk.

Your using the Indian woman rape victim to compare to two drunken idiots is poor in taste.

It could have been the other way around" drunken cop shot another drunk"

???????

Dat is what you call trash talk!!!

????????

I thought I was backing up your point to Chief:

It does NOT matter who was the aggressor, dat Animal kicked a man that was knocked out. He also charged the man's defenseless wife!!!!!!!!!!!! He is a bloody PIG!!!

????????

Your using the Indian woman rape victim to compare to two drunken idiots is poor in taste.

Chief, You had High Wine by mistake today???

Chief, let a bit of common sense prevail here. What use is it to beat continue beating up a senseless knocked out person? What does it say about the person doing the beating? What does i say about the person making a comment about the victim getting what he deserves (okay, if you will, for argument's sake) BUT NO COMMENT AT ALL about the other Party?

Balanced commentary Chief; not to palander about drunken c00lie cops showing off. There are good c00lie cops too. Don't paint all with one brush. All c00lie wata rice nah de same. You nah de same as Nehru, right?!

Nerhu,

You are out of order to address Kari in this matter.

It is obvious you do not know Kari

Vish M

Now I know why Nehru does not remember things...

Like all the corruption and tings.....

What I cant forget is the definition of Nee Nee Mack Nee Makarham Video.

Originally Posted by Vish M:
Nerhu,

You are out of order to address Kari in this matter.

It is obvious you do not know Kari

Vish, If someone poke Fun at me, don't I have the right to do the same??  Kari is a good Chap but he went to Essequibo and drank Black Water.