Biographical Summary of Dr. Cheddi Jagan

Name: Cheddi Berret Jagan
Date of Birth: March 22,1918. Port Mourant, Corentyne, Berbice, Guyana
Died March 6, 1997

Parents: Son of indentured plantation workers; mother (Bachaoni) and father (Jagan) along with two grand mothers and an uncle came to the then British Guiana from Uttar Pradesh, India.

Personal : Married August 5, 1943, to Janet Rosenberg of Chicago, Illinois USA;
has two children: Cheddi (Joey) and Nadira

Education: 1933-1935: Queen's College, Georgetown
1936-1938: Howard University, Washington, D.C. USA
1938-1942: Northwestern University. Dental School, Chicago,
USA, Doctor Dental Surgery (DDS)
1938-1942: Central YMCA College, USA. Bachelor of Science (B.Sc)

Trade Union and Political Career:
1946: Organised and spearheaded the formation of the Political Affairs
Committee and the PAC Bulletin.
1947-1953: Elected Member of the Legislative Council
1950: Founded the People's Progressive Party.
1952-1953: President of the Rice Producers' Association.
1953: From April to October, headed PPP elected government
and was Minister of Agriculture
1954: spent 6 months in jail for breaking movement restrictions order.
1957-1961: Headed second elected PPP government and was
Minister of Trade and Industry.
1961 –1964: Headed the third elected PPP government as Premier and
Minister of Development and Planning.
1964-1973, 1976-1992: Leader of the Parliamentary Opposition.
1970 - 1997: Honorary President, Guyana Agricultural General Worker's Union;
General Secretary of the People's Progressive Party.
Oct. 9, 1992 - March 6, 1997: President of the Co-operative Republic of Guyana.

Image may contain: 1 person, smiling, closeup
Image may contain: 4 people, including Priya Persaud-Jagdeo, people smiling
Image may contain: 1 person, smiling, eyeglasses and closeup
Image may contain: 2 people

Biographical Summary of Dr. Cheddi Jagan

Name: Cheddi Berret Jagan
Date of Birth: March 22,1918. Port Mourant, Corentyne, Berbice, Guyana
Died March 6, 1997

Parents: Son of indentured plantation workers; mother (Bachaoni) and father (Jagan) along with two grand mothers and an uncle came to the then British Guiana from Uttar Pradesh, India.

Personal : Married August 5, 1943, to Janet Rosenberg of Chicago, Illinois USA;
has two children: Cheddi (Joey) and Nadira

Education: 1933-1935: Queen's College, Georgetown
1936-1938: Howard University, Washington, D.C. USA
1938-1942: Northwestern University. Dental School, Chicago,
USA, Doctor Dental Surgery (DDS)
1938-1942: Central YMCA College, USA. Bachelor of Science (B.Sc)

Trade Union and Political Career:
1946: Organised and spearheaded the formation of the Political Affairs
Committee and the PAC Bulletin.
1947-1953: Elected Member of the Legislative Council
1950: Founded the People's Progressive Party.
1952-1953: President of the Rice Producers' Association.
1953: From April to October, headed PPP elected government
and was Minister of Agriculture
1954: spent 6 months in jail for breaking movement restrictions order.
1957-1961: Headed second elected PPP government and was
Minister of Trade and Industry.
1961 –1964: Headed the third elected PPP government as Premier and
Minister of Development and Planning.
1964-1973, 1976-1992: Leader of the Parliamentary Opposition.
1970 - 1997: Honorary President, Guyana Agricultural General Worker's Union;
General Secretary of the People's Progressive Party.
Oct. 9, 1992 - March 6, 1997: President of the Co-operative Republic of Guyana.

Image may contain: 1 person, smiling, closeup
Image may contain: 4 people, including Priya Persaud-Jagdeo, people smiling
Image may contain: 1 person, smiling, eyeglasses and closeup
Image may contain: 2 people

All these remembrances of Cheddi Jagan only put wedges between Indos and Blacks. We should put emphasis on Arthur Chung and Walter Rodney who mean something to the Nation. Indians are their own enemies. They display too much of nothing but keep on glowing in the dark when Guyana means much more than Cheddi Jagan.

Thanks Bibi for starting this thread.  

I did not agree with all his policies however, he and his wife were, arguably, the two most  honest politicians ever graced the Guyana political landscape. 

Its such a great pity, they handed the party over to the most corrupt set of politicians within the camp whose values were furthest from theirs!

The jagans lived for the people. The current cabal live for themselves. 

I hope the forces of honesty and integrity, which still resides in the party, retake control and return it to a party of the people!

So you wanted the FATHER OF THE NATION to go to people house and take them to Camp Ayangana and to tie them down with rope, it that what you expected from our HERO???

Burnham didn't have that trouble to recruit his people to serve their country. Look how many waste coolie we have today. They drink rum, tun them belly a tap and wait for foreign money to drink again, beat their wives, and commit suicide. The discipline in the National Service and Army would have done them good and prepared them to challenge life in positive ways. 

I did not agree with all his policies however, he and his wife were, arguably, the two most  honest politicians ever graced the Guyana political landscape. 

Its such a great pity, they handed the party over to the most corrupt set of politicians within the camp whose values were furthest from theirs!

I hope the forces of honesty and integrity, which still resides in the party, retake control and return it to a party of the people!

Well said Mr. Baseman. 

Yes, he would have been 100 years old in about two weeks.  There are many observances being planned around the world beginning with Bharrat Jagdeo next Sunday at Babu John.  And concluding with Dr. Frank Anthony and team on March 25th in New York.  ACG Canada has one in your hood. 

I will be there. Thanks for starting this thread. It seems like some posters are bent on derailing it. 

National Service was the raping camp the members were forced to do menial jobs such as cleaning trenches it was a form of free labour. 

That's what national Service means to service your country and test your willpower from the trenched to jungle lifestyle. You sound like them sweet skin fellas who don't like mud water to smell like shit. National Service is not for you bhai.

Yes, he would have been 100 years old in about two weeks.  There are many observances being planned around the world beginning with Bharrat Jagdeo next Sunday at Babu John.  And concluding with Dr. Frank Anthony and team on March 25th in New York.  ACG Canada has one in your hood. 

I will be there. Thanks for starting this thread. It seems like some posters are bent on derailing it. 

Name names, Mitwah. Ask admin to clean up after we are done.

Why is it so hard for the diehard PPPites to see this and to understand that not supporting the PPP in it's current state does NOT meant anti-coolie or anti-PPP?

as true as the day is long 

Why is it so hard for the diehard PPPites to see this and to understand that not supporting the PPP in it's current state does NOT meant anti-coolie or anti-PPP?

I know this has been discussed and talked about in length. I will support the PPP instead of the PNC any day and anyone with a Pea brain can see why. I know your observation of Anti C and Anti PPP is not directed at me so I will not respond to that.

I am confident that I can support the PPP and at the same time speak out against their ills, wrong doing, bad policies and mistakes, which I have been doing for over a decade now.

National Service was the raping camp the members were forced to do menial jobs such as cleaning trenches it was a form of free labour. 

I am really sorry to learn that happened to you. That's a terrible personal frame of reference.

I did not request you opinion  so go play with yourself.

LOL! this is so immature. 

That's what national Service means to service your country and test your willpower from the trenched to jungle lifestyle. You sound like them sweet skin fellas who don't like mud water to smell like shit. National Service is not for you bhai.

Burnham set up national  service  so as to get Indian girls  looking for government jobs they have to serve. The blacks look at NS as a way of getting three square meals for free. I know of cases where girls were raped  I had a meeting with Norman McLean to discuss  one particular case and the accused was discharged.  It was the nursery  for breeding douglas..

Last edited by kp

Burnham set up national  service  so as to get Indian girls  looking for government jobs they have to serve. The blacks look at NS as a way of getting three square meals for free. I know of cases where girls were raped  I had a meeting with Norman McLean to discuss  one particular case and the accused was discharged.  It was the nursery  for breeding douglas..

Mahadai Das and many others.

I had several male cousins who served in the GNS.  They said there was “mixing” but what they saw was voluntary and consensual.  It was not widespread, but few Indians women liked to play “cool” and hang with the Afro crowd.  Also, they saw some Afros girls hanging around Indian guys. 

I don’t know if that was burnham intention, but people hanging out together, friendships develop.  

I believe it was insensitive for the Gov’t to require females to go.  GNS for females should have included an option to serve while remain at home. This was our tradition back then.  

The male relatives who went, all their sisters were forced to drop out of UG and get married.  It was unforgivable that the PNC effectively denied many females their education.  It was a big loss to the nation.  

BTW, Douglas bin deh round before burnham was even born. Today you have more douglarization and there is no GNS!

Joey had big friggin mouth when the PPP was in Govt NOW his mouth in his Kakahole. This has been a disease many "Indians" have. They can roar like a Lion against their own but park their mouths in their kakaholE WHEN IT COMES TO OTHERS!!!!

This is Jagan son what do you expect? Like father like son!

Shett yuh poke!

Thank you, Bibi Haniffa, for posting this article in remembrance of the late Dr. Cheddi Berret Jagan and also on the occasion, in a few weeks, on his 100th date of birth.

Will you remember Jagdeo for making Indians punching bags of the Afors?

Indians are strong in the mouth but physically weak to confront their fears.

Thank you, Bibi Haniffa, for posting this article in remembrance of the late Dr. Cheddi Berret Jagan and also on the occasion, in a few weeks, on his 100th date of birth.

Who are Afors??????

Stepping on eggs doesn't make you smart, girl. Go figure.